Re: The official tropical weather thread 2019

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » September 23rd, 2019, 11:40 am

TS Lorenzo on the outside...poses no threat to us though

Postby VexXx Dogg » September 23rd, 2019, 11:43 am

Just realized the live radar image seems to be cached on the 2nr app. It doh update. Works well on a regular browser tho

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » September 23rd, 2019, 11:51 am

VexXx Dogg wrote:Just realized the live radar image seems to be cached on the 2nr app. It doh update. Works well on a regular browser tho

Checking, it seems to be 2 hours behind.
In the interim you can tap the post in the app, tap "more" and tap "web view" for the latest image.

Postby sMASH » September 23rd, 2019, 12:48 pm

redmanjp wrote:
bluefete wrote:
shake d livin wake d dead wrote:
bluefete wrote:
shake d livin wake d dead wrote:Swing north

sMASH wrote:Ting may pass north mostly. Last year, north was under pressure, south only the usual suspects got high ish water.

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:
PariaMan wrote:
wickedtuna wrote:Any sat pics
Hmm starting to look interesting

Big red area developingScreenshot_20190921-193311.jpeg

Yeah it starting to look lil troubling

Tuner forecasters versus MET Office forecasters!!!!

Bai I trying to use meh own geography skills(which is none) cuz met office like they have no more updates

The MET office has to wait on the USA to tell them what to say.

to be fair our Met Office doh have ah plane actually flying into d ting and making measurements so they do depend on NHC for that data

i figured we did a more accurate job. it really did stay mostly norht with limited effects in south, to the effect that it seemed normal for south

Postby redmanjp » September 23rd, 2019, 12:52 pm

So are we still on Red Alert for Riverine Flood or not?

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » September 23rd, 2019, 12:55 pm

Projected path of Karen
144236_key_messages_sm.png

Projected path of Lorenzo
144724_5day_cone_no_line_and_wind.png

Sundar

Postby Sundar » September 23rd, 2019, 1:30 pm

MaxPower wrote:Sundar,

Wey u dey?

This is enough rain or you wanted more?

I want more.

Postby sMASH » September 23rd, 2019, 1:43 pm

rohani said we got more than last year, but thier works caused it to not have such drastic effect as last year. they said last year had a shorter duration of rain

Postby pete » September 23rd, 2019, 1:52 pm

Last year we had lots of rain in the week leading up to the couple of days of very heavy rainfall.

It was clear that they didn't do enough to maintain the watercourses from the time they came into power to that horrible flooding event. At least they did the required work to reduce the effect this time.

Joshie23

Postby Joshie23 » September 23rd, 2019, 2:50 pm

matr1x wrote:We can hope. Hope it makes it across.

Then maybe hunte (wanted to write the other thing) will say the reservoirs filled

Why, exactly?

Postby matr1x » September 23rd, 2019, 3:18 pm

Because no matter how much rain fall, the reservoirs just not filling.

Also, alt+delete the illegal Venezuelan immigrants

Postby redmanjp » September 23rd, 2019, 4:14 pm

Adverse Weather Discontinuation – Green Level
Adverse Weather - Issuance time: Mon, Sep 23, 2019 3:48 PM

RIVERINE FLOOD WARNING #2 – YELLOW LEVEL
Flood - Sun, Sep 22, 2019 3:00 PM to Tue, Sep 24, 2019 2:00 AM
Status - Actual Message Type - Update Alert - Flood Response - Monitor Urgency - Expected Severity - Moderate Certainty - Likely Category - Met

Start date (local time) Sun, Sep 22, 2019 3:00 PM
End date (local time) Tue, Sep 24, 2019 2:00 AM
Headline RIVERINE FLOOD WARNING #2 – YELLOW LEVEL

Description Riverine flooding remains a possible threat for areas near major river courses and tributaries, however, river levels are gradually decreasing. More information: www.metoffice.gov.tt/

Instructions Persons living near water courses and tributaries should continue to monitor weather conditions and river/water levels. Protect important assets and documents. Do not take unnecessary risks. Follow the instructions of government officials. Monitor official sources for information. More information: www.odpm.gov.tt

Area description Near major river courses and tributaries in Trinidad.

Joshie23

Postby Joshie23 » September 23rd, 2019, 5:12 pm

matr1x wrote:Because no matter how much rain fall, the reservoirs just not filling.

:lol: because a natural disaster has discernment such that 1) it dumps it -- millimetres of rain in the reservoirs alone and 2) only the illegal Venezuelans are displaced. I know you're trolling, but I have time. :wink:

Postby hydroep » September 23rd, 2019, 6:03 pm

Le *unte speaks...:|

Le Hunte: Dam filled with heavy rain
Shane Superville

There was at least one benefit to the heavy rainfall experienced over the past 48 hours and that was the return of one of the Water and Sewage Authority's (WASA) reservoirs with water, according to Public Utilities Minister Robert Le Hunte at a press conference this afternoon.

Responding to questions from reporters at the Ministry of National Security, Abercromby Street, Port of Spain, Le Hunte said while some dams have shown some increase in capacity, the Hollis and Navet dams were still below sufficient levels.

"Some of our dams are doing a little better, but it means in some areas we are still below the levels, especially in the areas of the Hollis and Navet dams continues in spite of being filled up by 100 million gallons of rainfall, they are still way below the required levels."

He said despite this shortfall he was pleased with the responses of officials and technicians from the TT Electricity Commission (TTEC) and WASA and promised that those without power would be reconnected before the end of the day.

He also said recorded rainfall surpassed the average expectation by 20 per cent.

https://newsday.co.tt/2019/09/23/le/

Postby matr1x » September 23rd, 2019, 6:24 pm

Joshie23 wrote:
matr1x wrote:Because no matter how much rain fall, the reservoirs just not filling.

:lol: because a natural disaster has discernment such that 1) it dumps it -- millimetres of rain in the reservoirs alone and 2) only the illegal Venezuelans are displaced. I know you're trolling, but I have time. :wink:

The first part was trolling.

2nd part was the delivery of a notice that illegals building and dumping building materials in waterways.

Now I know some of you will jump out and say that trinis do it too, but if they are such a good addition to the fabric of Trinidad life, why are they so dirty? You can call them immigrants all.you want. But don't forget illegal.

Joshie23

Postby Joshie23 » September 23rd, 2019, 7:12 pm

matr1x wrote:
Joshie23 wrote:

The first part was trolling.

2nd part was the delivery of a notice that illegals building and dumping building materials in waterways.

Now I know some of you will jump out and say that trinis do it too, but if they are such a good addition to the fabric of Trinidad life, why are they so dirty? You can call them immigrants all.you want. But don't forget illegal.

I don't know if a Venezuelan or immigrant in general hurt you, but anybody dumping anything in a watercourse..foreigner or not, are the scum of the earth and should be dealt with as such. Since you have this information at hand though, be a good patriotic TRINIDADIAN, pull out your smartphone when you see anyone dumping and send the video the media houses/authorities, let's embarrass them and make Trinidad clean again.

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » September 23rd, 2019, 7:24 pm

Over the years I have seen a lot of Trinis dumping in rivers

As a matter of fact this predates venes

Years ago I remember passing Aranguez and an east indian guy walked with a bucket of garbage to the bridge and just emptied it into the river

Postby The_Honourable » September 23rd, 2019, 7:54 pm

North south highway was clear. 30 mins from Mt Hope to Sando.

Re: Le Hunte: Dam filled with heavy rain

Now to waste it in leaks...

The official tropical weather thread 2019

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » September 23rd, 2019, 8:44 pm

Postby redmanjp » September 24th, 2019, 2:27 am

Postby Redman » September 24th, 2019, 7:57 am

Why can't they truck some of the water from these retention ponds to the reservoirs?

Postby Gladiator » September 24th, 2019, 9:09 am

Reddo... Stick to politics. That is an impractical solution that just does not make sense.
Redman wrote:Why can't they truck some of the water from these retention ponds to the reservoirs?

Postby hydroep » September 24th, 2019, 10:45 am

Sun blazing in Sando, 34°C outside.

Postby Redman » September 24th, 2019, 1:45 pm

Gladiator wrote:Reddo... Stick to politics. That is an impractical solution that just does not make sense.
Redman wrote:Why can't they truck some of the water from these retention ponds to the reservoirs?

Is it more practical for us to run dry.

Dams running dry isn’t practical.

We truck water everywhere,
If we in the sheit for supply then practical isn’t the issue.

Postby Rovin » September 24th, 2019, 2:34 pm

oh boy d weather rel baking hot like friday gone

here in chaguanas its now becoming a bit overcast

i wuda say let it rain but studying dem ppl in bamboo no3 who get flood out bad wouldnt want anymore rain for d rest of d wk ........

cornfused

Postby cornfused » September 24th, 2019, 2:50 pm

Heavy showers in the St. Augustine region now