The 2020 General Election Thread (AUGUST 10TH)

Who will you be voting for on Aug 10th

Poll ended at August 9th, 2020, 11:04 pm

PNM
22%
UNC
59%
COP
2%
PEP
13%
NNV
No votes
MSJ
No votes
NDP
No votes
PDP
No votes
Independent
4%

Total votes: 127

Re: The 2020 General Election Thread (AUGUST 10TH) Poll added

Postby zoom rader » July 17th, 2020, 12:14 pm

rspann wrote:I was hearing that she said put a blank next to Water ,put a blank next to crime etc and then fill in the blanks who responsible for all the problems and then she call him blank man . I didn't hear it but heard one of the talk shows discussing it . Anybody have the whole speech ?

Even if she said black man , I don't see anything wrong , because he said he was the blackest PM so he should account for his lack of helping black people after claiming to be black .
But Rowlee himself said he's too black to be PM

Afro folk should be proud to be called black man.

I call my PNM neighbour "injun" everyday and he does get Vex and he same colour as Rowlee

Postby zoom rader » July 17th, 2020, 12:17 pm

eliteauto wrote:
eliteauto wrote:zoom what does who I vote for matter to you?
Makes no difference that you vote PNM, they gonna win.

Your contracts safe

so then why do you need to repeat yourself daily about who I'm going to vote for? Why do you feel the need to repeatedly post abut contracts?
Cause you pretend to be neutral and post one set nonsense about 3rd parties, yet still you ant voting but PNM. You have ulterior motives hoping to catch the guilable tuners on here .

I yet to see you post a negative comment or expose any perceived curruption on PNM or even advising tuners not to vote PNM .

Then you quick to post negative articles from 1% media on mainly UNC.

99% of tuners know that you are pnm and you once asked that question to which they all responded and showed how much PNM you are.

You have to understand, there is neutral, and there is PNM neutral." Red Plastic bag also claims neutrality, and to be "on the fence" but his eventual choice revolves around the entire UNC leadership resigning, and the PNM changing not a damn thing. Get it?
Tuners see right through Elite and Redman as bogus.

Elite dun get make out , he basically full ah 5hit

One eye and Randolphinshan more credible than dumb and dumber

Postby The_Honourable » July 17th, 2020, 12:44 pm

So Phillip going against Colm Imbert... interesting.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » July 17th, 2020, 12:54 pm

2 unconfirmed changes for unc

Postby VexXx Dogg » July 17th, 2020, 2:38 pm

Ratiram back in!

https://trinidadexpress.com/elections/2 ... ium=social

datestamped today at noon

Postby zoom rader » July 17th, 2020, 2:41 pm

VexXx Dogg wrote:Ratiram back in!

https://trinidadexpress.com/elections/2 ... ium=social

datestamped today at noon
This musical chairs

Postby zoom rader » July 17th, 2020, 2:42 pm

The_Honourable wrote:So Phillip going against Colm Imbert... interesting.

No chance

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » July 17th, 2020, 2:55 pm

Why they get rid of Ganga Singh and Rambachan if Kamla going to remain? what is the point of this?

Everybody knows why she wears sun glasses to hide the blood shot eyes from all the rum she drinking.

Same problem Eric Williams had either smoking weed or endless rum he was drinking which is why he wore darkers.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » July 17th, 2020, 2:58 pm

matr1x wrote:Even if she said that, worse has been said about her. So it's a non issue.

Also, pnm is a vacuum of ideas and need to attack her. Pnm has no plan. ED, have you seen Trinidad over the last 5 years?

Yes I have seen all of Trinidad over the last 5 years, it has quickly turned into a latrine under the PNM

This doesn't however mean Kamla is winning she has a major substance abuse problem and due to this swing voters aren't going to vote for her.

She needs to leave NOW as in right now quickly before PNM wins again.

If PNM wins, Imbutt coming for all that cooking gas subsidy, electricity subsidy, water etc you name it and we aren't going to get better service what will happen is racket will run as usual. All this time it wasn't tax dollars they were thiefing from we it was oil money so it didn't matter to us. I don't want to be paying taxes to a bunch of thief who going to take it and give to their contractor padners and run racket.
Last edited by EFFECTIC DESIGNS on July 17th, 2020, 3:03 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby De Dragon » July 17th, 2020, 3:01 pm

rspann wrote:I was hearing that she said put a blank next to Water ,put a blank next to crime etc and then fill in the blanks who responsible for all the problems and then she call him blank man . I didn't hear it but heard one of the talk shows discussing it . Anybody have the whole speech ?

Even if she said black man , I don't see anything wrong , because he said he was the blackest PM so he should account for his lack of helping black people after claiming to be black .

The origins of this beatup might even be JUHN Scarfy himself. Think about it, what would be the reaction of the man who said he was too black to be PM, (almost like he regretted it), plays golf, enjoys paintings, wears scarves, and attends tea parties, be to being called a black man?

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » July 17th, 2020, 3:04 pm

The origins of this beatup might even be JUHN Scarfy himself. Think about it, what would be the reaction of the man who said he was too black to be PM, (almost like he regretted it), plays golf, enjoys paintings, wears scarves, and attends tea parties, be to being called a black man?

good point

Postby matr1x » July 17th, 2020, 3:16 pm

Can't wait for Corona to make it's full visit

Postby bluefete » July 17th, 2020, 3:22 pm

Note: Original article has picture of $27,000.00 withdrawal. Link at the end.

PNM candidate insists ‘My hands are clean’ in alleged fraud matter
by

Mark Bassant
17 hours ago
Thu Jul 16 2020

A cash withdrawal slip from RBC Royal Bank Arima branch with what appears to be the hand writing of Roger Monroe.

Percy Thomas center now deceased and Roger Monroe to his right (holding child) along with aunts and uncles at a birthday party for Percy Thomas a few years ago.

Mark Bassant

The family members of Percy Thomas are adamant that their nephew Roger Monroe the PNM’s candidate for Toco/Sangre Grande has been telling half-truths to the media.

They are refuting allegations that they had abandoned their ailing father and are also asking the police to reopen a fraud investigation into Monroe for allegedly using an expired power of attorney to withdraw money from his grandfather’s (Percy Thomas) account two days after he died on February 7, 2015.

But on a walkabout in the Valencia area on Wednesday evening when confronted by Guardian Media investigative team with documents in hand and asked about the allegations, Monroe said “my hands are clean,” and indicated that his lawyers were dealing with the matter and could say nothing more on the subject.

It was the first time that Monroe revealed in any measure that he was locked in a legal battle with his aunts and uncles over alleged financial impropriety.

At least five of Thomas’s children spoke exclusively to Guardian Media last week indicating that contrary to what Monroe had told another newspaper, that there was compelling evidence in their possession to back up their claims about a particular financial transaction he (Monroe) conducted following the passing of their father.

GML’s Lead Editor of the Investigative Desk Mark Bassant, left, questions PNM Toco/ Sangre Grande candidate Roger Monroe, during his walk about through Flamboyant Crescent, Valencia, on Wednesday.

Abraham-Diaz

They were also pursuing other legal action as it pertains to their father’s multimillion-dollar estate he left behind but were told by their lawyers not to ventilate the matter in the public arena.
Two months before Percy Thomas passed away of stage 4 Lymphoma, he had a power of attorney document prepared, which Guardian Media obtained allowing Monroe to execute any business on his behalf or handle any banking transactions and other business - but this power of attorney also stated that “and I hereby declare that these presents shall continue in full force and effect during the interval between the date of my death and the date upon which notice in writing of my death is received...”

Effectually this meant once Thomas passed away the power of attorney no longer had any valid legal standing.

Two days after Thomas died, on February 9, Monroe according to Thomas’s children attempted to withdraw $27,000 from an account in which he (Percy) was the secondary holder on the account, and his son Dexter Thomas the primary holder at the RBC Sangre Grande home branch.

Dexter Thomas provided Guardian Media with an interim summary statement showing transaction details of the account from January 10, 2014 to February 25, 2015. “The bank tellers informed me about the transaction and told Roger Monroe he could not receive the money because daddy had died and as you can see they had to credit the account back from the statement,” explained Dexter Thomas.

But hours later, Monroe went to the RBC Royal Bank branch in Arima on February 9, 2016, and withdrew $27,000 from the same account, which banking officials had prevented him from doing earlier that day.

The withdrawal slip obtained by Guardian Media showed that on the slip it was signed Roger Monroe “Ino (in care of) for Percy Thomas.”

“The reason why Roger went to RBC in Arima to withdraw the money, is because he could not take the money out from the RBC Sangre Grande home branch because everyone there knew the day my father died. How could he sign for my father if he had already died?” questioned another one of his sons Darren Thomas.

Thomas’s children said that they attempted for almost two years to convince Monroe to replace the money and when that did not work they reported the matter to the Fraud Squad department of the Trinidad and Tobago Police Service.

Dexter Thomas the primary account holder of the RBC account in Sangre Grande wrote to Fraud Squad on December 26, 2016, stating he was disputing the withdrawal on $27,000 made from his account by Monroe on February 9, 2015. In the letter that Guardian Media also obtained Thomas said, “I returned home to lay him(my father) to rest.

GML’s Lead Editor of the Investigative Desk Mark Bassant, left, questions PNM Toco/ Sangre Grande candidate Roger Monroe, during his walk about through Flamboyant Crescent, Valencia, on Wednesday.

Abraham-Diaz

On May 25, 2015, during a routine visit to RBC, I learned that my nephew Roger Monroe without permission or authority accessed my account using an expired “Power of Attorney” two days after my father’s death. I am asking that this Fraud Squad launch a formal investigation into this matter as I have not heard from my nephew regarding this matter, thus I have not been able to recover my funds. My nephew has distanced himself from the rest of the family, and openly admits to removing these funds from my account.”

On February 3, 2017 Darren Thomas made an official police report to the Fraud Squad in Port of Spain that was taken by a corporal.

Shortly thereafter another corporal was assigned to look into the case.

Eight months into the investigation in early October, Monroe apparently replaced the money into Dexter Thomas’s account.

On October 20, the investigating corporal called Darren Thomas and said,” there was nothing else the police could do.”

The Thomas family said they were mortified by the police actions. “It’s not the putting back of the money that is troubling here, it’s the fact that he allegedly used an expired document to withdraw the money and that’s where the problem lies,” said Dexter Thomas while speaking to us on a zoom meeting with his siblings early last week.

The family claimed that the investigating corporal in question who halted the investigation had in the past taken loans from their father- who was also a money lender and they also claimed the corporal might have received some form of inducement.

Following this latest development, Darren Thomas said he visited the Professional Standards Bureau (PSB) in early 2018 and made a report about the suspected conduct of the corporal in the matter.

The PSB investigates errant police officers.

Thomas said to date the PSB has not responded.

He also submitted a letter to the Police Complaints Authority on April 29, 2019.

On May 31, 2019, the PCA wrote back indicating that they were unable to investigate the matter because more than a year had passed.

The PCA’s letter to Darren Thomas stated, “After reading your report and carefully considering its contents, it has been determined that while the allegations contained in the report may fall within the PCA’s investigative remit, it does not fall within the year limitation period under Section 27(1) of the Act nor are there any special circumstances which make it proper for the PCA to conduct an investigation under Section 27(2) of the Act.”

The Thomas family said that the police should reopen the investigation into Monroe and pleaded with Commissioner of Police Gary Griffith to peruse the documents submitted to the Fraud Squad and PSB.

“We have always been good to Roger, he grew up with us all and we treated him well,” said Karen Thomas speaking from her home in the United States last week.

Several pictures were provided by the family showing Munroe and his uncles and aunts in happier times in the years gone by.

It was only when their father was diagnosed in 2014, that the relationship between them and Monroe became frosty.

The family who had spoken to Guardian Media at least three weeks before he was nominated as the candidate for that area by the PNM said they had been trying for years to set the record straight and gave Munroe numerous chances to reconcile differences and “do the right thing.”

PNM’s candidate for Toco/Sangre Grande Roger Monroe (in the hat) with aunts and uncles of the Thomas family in happier times.

They strongly maintained they had no political agenda in this matter. They merely wanted to clear their family’s name that they claimed was tainted by Monroe.

“I would like the people of Toco/Sangre Grande to know that Roger Monroe was very unfair to his family. My family just wants it to be transparent and fair to us before he represents the people of Toco/Sangre Grande,” said Dexter Thomas.

Karen Thomas, one of his aunts said, “We all trusted Roger but when Daddy was sick I noticed that Roger started acting funny and when he passed away he was withdrawn to us and tried to bury daddy before we even got home. Two things we learned from the two million things Daddy thought us was family, family, family, and principle you need to remember that Roger.”

Another aunt Dawn Thomas also residing abroad said they were hurt by the statements made by Monroe, “I love my nephew Roger Monroe very much but I am very disappointed with him. You betrayed our trust as a family. I was the aunt that was there with you always when you moved to Sangre Grande I know that you are fully aware that my parents Percy and Yvonne worked hard and started 99 per cent of the business without any shame you said Daddy gave you everything. Dexter, Karen, Paula, and I was there with my parents with older children. Even David and Darren came along to help. Roger, you cannot be a PNM candidate- without being fair, honest and loyal and make PNM proud and not disappoint them and be fair to your family.”

Another one of Monroe’s aunts Daisha Thomas based in Atlanta, USA said she initially posted the message on Facebook about Monroe. “I figured that was the only way we could be heard it was a need to vent our frustration as a way Roger Monroe professing to be his brother’s keeper while he left his family hanging. My motive was to bring awareness to the PNM party and to the constituents of Sangre Grande/Toco. It is very unsettling for me to consider that this person void of a moral compass would be elected to lead in any capacity. What you all are seeing now and during the campaign is what we saw for years leading up to daddy’s passing,” said Daisha.

The Thomas family said they were also dealing with another legal matter concerning Monroe and their father’s estate.

They say they were advised by their attorneys not to speak in detail about the matter but said Monroe was expected to receive a pre-action protocol letter from their lawyers any day now.

Roger Monroe was questioned about the allegations by Guardian Media and following is the exchange:

Mark Bassant (MB): One of the things they claim is that you used an expired power of attorney to withdraw money from his(Percy Thomas) Royal Bank account which I have here with me. You first went to the Sangre Grande branch where you were told by the tellers because he had died on February 7th that you could not withdraw.

Roger Monroe (RM): So what I can tell you is that matter is before the hands of my attorney and I will leave that right there.

MB: But you went that said day to the Arima branch......(Monroe interrupts)

RM: That matter is at the hands of my attorneys and I don’t want to jeopardize anything I leave that right there.

MB: But this is your signature here for Mr Thomas knowing that he already died. This is what I am asking.

RM: Sir that matter is at the hands of my attorney and I have been instructed not to make any comments.2:40

MB: Obviously your constituents want somebody who is transparent and fair to them and how does this affect your ability seeing in light of these allegations being made by your close family members.

RM: As you said earlier on its allegations my hands are clean and all will be revealed in due time, sir.

When Monroe was questioned about why the relationship between his aunts and uncles in the Thomas family had grown apart, he said, “I have no comment.”

https://guardian.co.tt/news/pnm-candida ... 79c8266bea

jhonnieblue

Postby jhonnieblue » July 17th, 2020, 4:30 pm

After watching the stupidity of supporters from both sides today exhibiting no social distancing and partying in the road I agree with this post. We need covid to fully hit and wipe out all them dumb trinis
matr1x wrote:Can't wait for Corona to make it's full visit

Postby De Dragon » July 17th, 2020, 4:47 pm

Let's see JUHN Scarfy spin/ignore/do something about this Monroe fella. Edmund Dillon robbed a man of similar age and infirmity and got nothing, Bamsee Squeezer robbed us of 159 K and got nothing. Weavy Buysperm robbed us to finance wigs/weave/eggs and sperm and got nothing. Arse Wari robbing us monthly with his unethical rent payments and got nothing. Roundabout Rohan robbed us of untold millions and got nothing. Pat Garcia Olivierre robbed us of thousands for a ATM show and got nothing.
Then again, Antoine bad talk the US and get booted, so maybe there is hope. :roll: :roll:

Postby MaxPower » July 17th, 2020, 9:47 pm

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:What the black govt do for allyuh in the last 5 years?

Made T&T little Venezuela.

The PNM has my vote.

Postby MaxPower » July 17th, 2020, 9:51 pm

What wrong with calling my Rowley a black man?

He black not so?

And allyuh like to say the white man this and white man that?

Indian this and indian that?

Postby sMASH » July 17th, 2020, 10:30 pm

MaxPower wrote:What wrong with calling my Rowley a black man?

He black not so?

he's not black, he's oreo :lol:

Postby sMASH » July 17th, 2020, 10:33 pm

bluefete wrote:Note: Original article has picture of $27,000.00 withdrawal. Link at the end.

PNM candidate insists ‘My hands are clean’ in alleged fraud matter
by

Mark Bassant
17 hours ago
Thu Jul 16 2020

A cash withdrawal slip from RBC Royal Bank Arima branch with what appears to be the hand writing of Roger Monroe.

Percy Thomas center now deceased and Roger Monroe to his right (holding child) along with aunts and uncles at a birthday party for Percy Thomas a few years ago.

Mark Bassant

The family members of Percy Thomas are adamant that their nephew Roger Monroe the PNM’s candidate for Toco/Sangre Grande has been telling half-truths to the media.

They are refuting allegations that they had abandoned their ailing father and are also asking the police to reopen a fraud investigation into Monroe for allegedly using an expired power of attorney to withdraw money from his grandfather’s (Percy Thomas) account two days after he died on February 7, 2015.

But on a walkabout in the Valencia area on Wednesday evening when confronted by Guardian Media investigative team with documents in hand and asked about the allegations, Monroe said “my hands are clean,” and indicated that his lawyers were dealing with the matter and could say nothing more on the subject.

It was the first time that Monroe revealed in any measure that he was locked in a legal battle with his aunts and uncles over alleged financial impropriety.

At least five of Thomas’s children spoke exclusively to Guardian Media last week indicating that contrary to what Monroe had told another newspaper, that there was compelling evidence in their possession to back up their claims about a particular financial transaction he (Monroe) conducted following the passing of their father.

Abraham-Diaz

They were also pursuing other legal action as it pertains to their father’s multimillion-dollar estate he left behind but were told by their lawyers not to ventilate the matter in the public arena.
Two months before Percy Thomas passed away of stage 4 Lymphoma, he had a power of attorney document prepared, which Guardian Media obtained allowing Monroe to execute any business on his behalf or handle any banking transactions and other business - but this power of attorney also stated that “and I hereby declare that these presents shall continue in full force and effect during the interval between the date of my death and the date upon which notice in writing of my death is received...”

Effectually this meant once Thomas passed away the power of attorney no longer had any valid legal standing.

Two days after Thomas died, on February 9, Monroe according to Thomas’s children attempted to withdraw $27,000 from an account in which he (Percy) was the secondary holder on the account, and his son Dexter Thomas the primary holder at the RBC Sangre Grande home branch.

Dexter Thomas provided Guardian Media with an interim summary statement showing transaction details of the account from January 10, 2014 to February 25, 2015. “The bank tellers informed me about the transaction and told Roger Monroe he could not receive the money because daddy had died and as you can see they had to credit the account back from the statement,” explained Dexter Thomas.

But hours later, Monroe went to the RBC Royal Bank branch in Arima on February 9, 2016, and withdrew $27,000 from the same account, which banking officials had prevented him from doing earlier that day.

The withdrawal slip obtained by Guardian Media showed that on the slip it was signed Roger Monroe “Ino (in care of) for Percy Thomas.”

“The reason why Roger went to RBC in Arima to withdraw the money, is because he could not take the money out from the RBC Sangre Grande home branch because everyone there knew the day my father died. How could he sign for my father if he had already died?” questioned another one of his sons Darren Thomas.

Thomas’s children said that they attempted for almost two years to convince Monroe to replace the money and when that did not work they reported the matter to the Fraud Squad department of the Trinidad and Tobago Police Service.

Dexter Thomas the primary account holder of the RBC account in Sangre Grande wrote to Fraud Squad on December 26, 2016, stating he was disputing the withdrawal on $27,000 made from his account by Monroe on February 9, 2015. In the letter that Guardian Media also obtained Thomas said, “I returned home to lay him(my father) to rest.

Abraham-Diaz

On May 25, 2015, during a routine visit to RBC, I learned that my nephew Roger Monroe without permission or authority accessed my account using an expired “Power of Attorney” two days after my father’s death. I am asking that this Fraud Squad launch a formal investigation into this matter as I have not heard from my nephew regarding this matter, thus I have not been able to recover my funds. My nephew has distanced himself from the rest of the family, and openly admits to removing these funds from my account.”

On February 3, 2017 Darren Thomas made an official police report to the Fraud Squad in Port of Spain that was taken by a corporal.

Shortly thereafter another corporal was assigned to look into the case.

Eight months into the investigation in early October, Monroe apparently replaced the money into Dexter Thomas’s account.

On October 20, the investigating corporal called Darren Thomas and said,” there was nothing else the police could do.”

The Thomas family said they were mortified by the police actions. “It’s not the putting back of the money that is troubling here, it’s the fact that he allegedly used an expired document to withdraw the money and that’s where the problem lies,” said Dexter Thomas while speaking to us on a zoom meeting with his siblings early last week.

The family claimed that the investigating corporal in question who halted the investigation had in the past taken loans from their father- who was also a money lender and they also claimed the corporal might have received some form of inducement.

Following this latest development, Darren Thomas said he visited the Professional Standards Bureau (PSB) in early 2018 and made a report about the suspected conduct of the corporal in the matter.

The PSB investigates errant police officers.

Thomas said to date the PSB has not responded.

He also submitted a letter to the Police Complaints Authority on April 29, 2019.

On May 31, 2019, the PCA wrote back indicating that they were unable to investigate the matter because more than a year had passed.

The PCA’s letter to Darren Thomas stated, “After reading your report and carefully considering its contents, it has been determined that while the allegations contained in the report may fall within the PCA’s investigative remit, it does not fall within the year limitation period under Section 27(1) of the Act nor are there any special circumstances which make it proper for the PCA to conduct an investigation under Section 27(2) of the Act.”

The Thomas family said that the police should reopen the investigation into Monroe and pleaded with Commissioner of Police Gary Griffith to peruse the documents submitted to the Fraud Squad and PSB.

“We have always been good to Roger, he grew up with us all and we treated him well,” said Karen Thomas speaking from her home in the United States last week.

Several pictures were provided by the family showing Munroe and his uncles and aunts in happier times in the years gone by.

It was only when their father was diagnosed in 2014, that the relationship between them and Monroe became frosty.

The family who had spoken to Guardian Media at least three weeks before he was nominated as the candidate for that area by the PNM said they had been trying for years to set the record straight and gave Munroe numerous chances to reconcile differences and “do the right thing.”

PNM’s candidate for Toco/Sangre Grande Roger Monroe (in the hat) with aunts and uncles of the Thomas family in happier times.

They strongly maintained they had no political agenda in this matter. They merely wanted to clear their family’s name that they claimed was tainted by Monroe.

“I would like the people of Toco/Sangre Grande to know that Roger Monroe was very unfair to his family. My family just wants it to be transparent and fair to us before he represents the people of Toco/Sangre Grande,” said Dexter Thomas.

Karen Thomas, one of his aunts said, “We all trusted Roger but when Daddy was sick I noticed that Roger started acting funny and when he passed away he was withdrawn to us and tried to bury daddy before we even got home. Two things we learned from the two million things Daddy thought us was family, family, family, and principle you need to remember that Roger.”

Another aunt Dawn Thomas also residing abroad said they were hurt by the statements made by Monroe, “I love my nephew Roger Monroe very much but I am very disappointed with him. You betrayed our trust as a family. I was the aunt that was there with you always when you moved to Sangre Grande I know that you are fully aware that my parents Percy and Yvonne worked hard and started 99 per cent of the business without any shame you said Daddy gave you everything. Dexter, Karen, Paula, and I was there with my parents with older children. Even David and Darren came along to help. Roger, you cannot be a PNM candidate- without being fair, honest and loyal and make PNM proud and not disappoint them and be fair to your family.”

Another one of Monroe’s aunts Daisha Thomas based in Atlanta, USA said she initially posted the message on Facebook about Monroe. “I figured that was the only way we could be heard it was a need to vent our frustration as a way Roger Monroe professing to be his brother’s keeper while he left his family hanging. My motive was to bring awareness to the PNM party and to the constituents of Sangre Grande/Toco. It is very unsettling for me to consider that this person void of a moral compass would be elected to lead in any capacity. What you all are seeing now and during the campaign is what we saw for years leading up to daddy’s passing,” said Daisha.

The Thomas family said they were also dealing with another legal matter concerning Monroe and their father’s estate.

They say they were advised by their attorneys not to speak in detail about the matter but said Monroe was expected to receive a pre-action protocol letter from their lawyers any day now.

Roger Monroe was questioned about the allegations by Guardian Media and following is the exchange:

Mark Bassant (MB): One of the things they claim is that you used an expired power of attorney to withdraw money from his(Percy Thomas) Royal Bank account which I have here with me. You first went to the Sangre Grande branch where you were told by the tellers because he had died on February 7th that you could not withdraw.

Roger Monroe (RM): So what I can tell you is that matter is before the hands of my attorney and I will leave that right there.

MB: But you went that said day to the Arima branch......(Monroe interrupts)

RM: That matter is at the hands of my attorneys and I don’t want to jeopardize anything I leave that right there.

MB: But this is your signature here for Mr Thomas knowing that he already died. This is what I am asking.

RM: Sir that matter is at the hands of my attorney and I have been instructed not to make any comments.2:40

MB: Obviously your constituents want somebody who is transparent and fair to them and how does this affect your ability seeing in light of these allegations being made by your close family members.

RM: As you said earlier on its allegations my hands are clean and all will be revealed in due time, sir.

When Monroe was questioned about why the relationship between his aunts and uncles in the Thomas family had grown apart, he said, “I have no comment.”

https://guardian.co.tt/news/pnm-candida ... 79c8266bea

training for calabar foundation 2.0

Postby zoom rader » July 17th, 2020, 11:04 pm

De Dragon wrote:Let's see JUHN Scarfy spin/ignore/do something about this Monroe fella. Edmund Dillon robbed a man of similar age and infirmity and got nothing, Bamsee Squeezer robbed us of 159 K and got nothing. Weavy Buysperm robbed us to finance wigs/weave/eggs and sperm and got nothing. Arse Wari robbing us monthly with his unethical rent payments and got nothing. Roundabout Rohan robbed us of untold millions and got nothing. Pat Garcia Olivierre robbed us of thousands for a ATM show and got nothing.
Then again, Antoine bad talk the US and get booted, so maybe there is hope. :roll: :roll:
How come eliteauto and Abstract Poetic don't post these tings

Postby zoom rader » July 17th, 2020, 11:58 pm

MaxPower wrote:What wrong with calling my Rowley a black man?

He black not so?

I would have been so proud if kams had use black man in favor of blank man.

Postby MaxPower » July 18th, 2020, 12:42 am

Zoom,

Any chance you could join me and Team Rowley?

Need u onboard man.

Postby Gladiator » July 18th, 2020, 4:22 am

Woman takes out protection order against Gypsy

Interesting and disturbing story....Gypsy the woman beater

https://www.guardian.co.tt/news/woman-t ... d67437a50b

Protection order taken against Winston Peters.

SHARLENE RAMPERSAD

sharlene.rampersad@guardian.co.tt

A Rio Claro woman is now speaking out about her alleged physical abuse at the hands of a People’s National Movement (PNM) candidate for the upcoming August 20 General Election, saying she fears for her life if the allegations remain private.

Currline Cooper told Guardian Media she was in a two-year relationship with Moruga/Tableland candidate Winston ‘Gypsy’ Peters, which began when she was 29 years.

Cooper, who is now 32, alleged that the relationship began while she was dealing with the deaths of close family members and a close friend in March 2018. It ended in March 2020.

On July 2, Cooper was granted an interim protection order against Peters, preventing him from being within 200 metres of her or contacting her - among other stipulations. The interim order was granted in Peters’ absence, as Cooper said police officers said they were not able to serve Peters a summons to attend court for the hearing.

That order will expire on July 23, when Cooper and Peters are expected to appear in court for a determination on the matter.

Cooper documented the relationship and alleged abuse in a letter to Prime Minister Dr Keith Rowley on May 20. Cooper said after she received no response to her initial email, she sent the email again on June 17.

Cooper sent a photo of the order and a copy of the emailed letter, including photo evidence she provided to support her claims of abuse during the relationship, to Guardian Media.

Cooper also provided a letter from a Port-of-Spain medical centre which stated she had been treated for emotional distress and had “evidence of physical trauma secondary to an abusive relationship.” That report was dated February 20, 2020.

Cooper said she spoke to officers in the Gender-Based Violence Unit of the T&T Police Service in February and asked the officers warn Peters not to make any contact her. She said she asked that Peters not be charged with an offence as she hoped he would have abided by the police warning and the matter would go away quietly. However, Cooper alleges Peters did not follow the police warning.

Currline Cooper’s medical report

Cooper said she also had a conversation with Laventille West MP Fitzgerald Hinds expressing her concerns about the relationship in February as well. She said Hinds told her “No one is above the law” and advised her to write to Rowley with her concerns.

Cooper said she sent the email to Rowley on May 20, 2020, after learning that Peters was being considered as the candidate for Moruga/Tableland. Four days later, on May 25, Peters, a former United National Congress MP for Mayaro and a Minister of Culture under the People’s Partnership government, was selected by the PNM.

In an interview with Guardian Media, Cooper said she felt she now had to tell her story.

“I basically decided to speak out because of fear for my life. I shared my story so in case anything, God forbid, happens to me,” Cooper said.

She said cases of women murdered in domestic violence cases in recent times has left her concerned.

“It’s damn if I do, damn if I don’t ... Yes, it’s before the court and they are seeing about but I’m still scared. So at least and I hope I don’t become a statistic, the public will be aware of my story,” Cooper said.

Cooper said up until March she lived in an apartment in Mt Lambert but has moved back to her parents’ house in Rio Claro.

She said she was employed at the National Carnival Commission (NCC) but after she filed for the protection order she was told her six-month contract would not be renewed.

Cooper denied there was political motivation or in her speaking out weeks before the General Election.

“It has nothing to do with politics. If I wanted to be political I could have gone to the UNC with my story.

Guardian Media reached out to Peters for a comment on the allegations by Cooper.

During a telephone conversation, Peters was told Guardian Media had a copy of the interim protection order filed by Cooper and he immediately responded, “I am not going to talk about that.”

He then ended the call.

Guardian Media also reached out to Laventille West MP Hinds seeking to confirm whether Cooper had spoken to him about the matter.

Hinds interjected during the questioning to say he has spoken to many constituents as an MP and he found it ‘unethical’ that he would be contacted about a conversation with one of his constituents. Hinds then ended the call.

Calls to Prime Minister Rowley’s cellphone went unanswered and messages sent via Whatsapp were marked as ‘Read’ but up until press time there was no response to the questions.

agent007

Postby agent007 » July 18th, 2020, 7:33 am

The girl was 29 years old and he was 64 at the time when they started a relationship? Geez Gypsy, if the story is true, you really sick. She could be your daughter!

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » July 18th, 2020, 7:50 am

Is how all these stories does just come out around election time

Postby Gladiator » July 18th, 2020, 8:02 am

And she was an employee at the NCC...another Darryl Smith
agent007 wrote:The girl was 29 years old and he was 64 at the time when they started a relationship? Geez Gypsy, if the story is true, you really sick. She could be your daughter!

Postby The_Honourable » July 18th, 2020, 9:58 am

I could see Gypsy doing this but keep in mind some women are vindictive so I would not run away with this story. She brought her evidence which is good. At the end of the day, the court have to deal with this.

Postby De Dragon » July 18th, 2020, 10:20 am

The_Honourable wrote:I could see Gypsy doing this but keep in mind some women are vindictive so I would not run away with this story. She brought her evidence which is good. At the end of the day, the court have to deal with this.

The timing is curious but she seems to have her ducks in a row, medical/Police report.
Let's see Mr Morality in Public Affairs handles this.
*Hint* We already got an inkling by his silence even after being contacted by GML. :roll:

Postby matr1x » July 18th, 2020, 10:39 am

Let's.see, anyone remember the ferty fiasco?

Postby nemisis » July 18th, 2020, 10:50 am

So what if she could be his daughter all that matters is that she isn't. She real sick gypsy could be her father.
agent007 wrote:The girl was 29 years old and he was 64 at the time when they started a relationship? Geez Gypsy, if the story is true, you really sick. She could be your daughter!