The official tropical weather thread 2018

Re: The official tropical weather thread 2018

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » October 20th, 2018, 12:51 pm

Phone Surgeon wrote:wreckers are pulling a steady hustle at grand bazaar and munroe road, to load up and drive you across the flood. not sure how much they charging though

Thank you will pass this info onto him.

Postby rspann » October 20th, 2018, 12:51 pm

I left 9am this morning to go south, couldn't go along the highway to caroni, so I went on the northbound lanes and reversed to caroni bridge. The traffic was standstill on both sides. Tried going through SMR and even went Sangre Grande to go through Biche. Everywhere was impassable. Anyone know if the water gone down on the highway as yet?

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » October 20th, 2018, 12:53 pm

rspann wrote:I left 9am this morning to go south, couldn't go along the highway to caroni, so I went on the northbound lanes and reversed to caroni bridge. The traffic was standstill on both sides. Tried going through SMR and even went Sangre Grande to go through Biche. Everywhere was impassable. Anyone know if the water gone down on the highway as yet?

From what I was told the water on the highway is RISING as we speak. Some next river bank bust

Postby sMASH » October 20th, 2018, 12:56 pm

My vehicle can handle some high ish waters. The problem I have is not seeing where the depressions are, to drive.
If there were markers to show where the roads edge are, I can drive but without that. Not taking the chance

Postby pugboy » October 20th, 2018, 12:56 pm

Tide is rising right now, so water levels not gonna go down as rain that fell yesterday still draining off
Gotta pray no more rain at least until low tide

Postby rspann » October 20th, 2018, 1:01 pm

I saw a convoy of Prado's and a Lexus jeep in Grande, shitkickers like he making a tour?

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » October 20th, 2018, 1:02 pm

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » October 20th, 2018, 1:07 pm

Kelly Village

No help from the government in this area for whatever reason. But as expected the response to the PNM areas is swift

Last edited by EFFECTIC DESIGNS on October 20th, 2018, 1:11 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » October 20th, 2018, 1:11 pm

KM_2NR

Postby KM_2NR » October 20th, 2018, 1:16 pm

rspann wrote:I saw a convoy of Prado's and a Lexus jeep in Grande, shitkickers like he making a tour?

According to the news he's on his way there. Godspeed everyone.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » October 20th, 2018, 1:19 pm

Idk why d fck he coming here now...since the beginning of the year people begging for all rivers to be cleaned...but nah...

Postby rspann » October 20th, 2018, 1:20 pm

The road to Toco ,the Port in Toco and the Highway to Sangre Grande more important than correcting all these problems

Postby rspann » October 20th, 2018, 1:22 pm

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:Idk why d fck he coming here now...since the beginning of the year people begging for all rivers to be cleaned...but nah...

He was leaving while I was going in. Allyuh in a real mess there. Nice paving and side walks though. Real good quality work.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » October 20th, 2018, 1:25 pm

rspann wrote:
shake d livin wake d dead wrote:Idk why d fck he coming here now...since the beginning of the year people begging for all rivers to be cleaned...but nah...

He was leaving while I was going in. Allyuh in a real mess there. Nice paving and side walks though. Real good quality work.

Hahaha 100% quality...I live in the vicinity of the passport office...so if by me floods.....Grande will drown

Postby rspann » October 20th, 2018, 1:25 pm

They have to kick mud water on them. Next two weeks is ten thousand each in flood compensation.

I don't understand going into flooded areas in Prado's. Why not in the army trucks if you really want to see the affected areas.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » October 20th, 2018, 1:25 pm

Assume everyone should have gotten this

Postby K74T » October 20th, 2018, 1:27 pm

Meem geh dat

Postby *$kїđž!™ » October 20th, 2018, 1:41 pm

This govt has really taken put ppl.thru hell in the last 3 years of office.....this could have been avoides or reduced if they.had proper maintenance of the waterways..
Smh...pnm...backward forever
IMG-20181020-WA0047.jpeg

l33t2

Postby l33t2 » October 20th, 2018, 1:45 pm

Before anyone says these floods can't be prevented, I sigh in disbelief.

I'm a former civil engineering (changed careers but I didn't forget my sheit) and I can write a thesis on everything we are doing wrong regarding flooding. Firstly, let's dispell the myths - it is not developments on the hills, it is not people living in swamps and it is not inadequate box drains.

There are 3 main things we can blame here:
1. Improperly dredged rivers - this isn't a joke people, if the water can't flow out into the oceans fast enough, it will back up somewhere and break its banks.
2. Littering and clogging of drains, sort of related to point one, but the amount of debris that causes improper flow is staggering
3. Lack of water retention ponds - I for the life of me can't understand why we don't have more of these built. It isn't expensive, it isn't hard to maintain and it will solve most of our major flooding

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » October 20th, 2018, 1:45 pm

Is only retarded people in charge would try to divert a major river in the rainy season and to top it off build a bridge( coalmine river)...woft yes...glenda is a waste...mp for the area and no where to be found

Postby rspann » October 20th, 2018, 1:47 pm

I'm not blaming the govt for the floods, as no amount of cleaning would have helped in this case. But oh God, help the people who are stranded and send out the whole army ,coast guard , do something. Send out the police to control traffic, people were stuck for hours, close the roads ,don't make people have to reach the water ,in traffic, and then have to turn around.

Postby redmanjp » October 20th, 2018, 1:53 pm

Guys is it safe to drive from POS to Mausica on CRH and back?

Postby hydroep » October 20th, 2018, 1:54 pm

CNC3 showing some footage of a Caiman swimming in the flood waters, right up by people gate yes...:shock:
Last edited by hydroep on October 20th, 2018, 2:05 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » October 20th, 2018, 1:58 pm

Allyuh a see the vid with the huge arse anaconda???

Postby rspann » October 20th, 2018, 2:00 pm

redmanjp wrote:Guys is it safe to drive from POS to Mausica on CRH and back?

I passed there twice ,to go grande and come back. No flood ,no traffic.

Postby hydroep » October 20th, 2018, 2:01 pm

Terry Rondon, Chairman of the Sangre Grande Regional Corp. saying after 20 years "we eh get it right".

No sh!t sherlock...:|

Postby Dizzy28 » October 20th, 2018, 2:05 pm

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:Assume everyone should have gotten this

Not special enough for both texts. Just got one.
Screenshot_2018-10-20-14-04-14.jpeg

Postby The_Honourable » October 20th, 2018, 2:06 pm

uh oh...

Diego Martin
44394692_938440283020220_6408481532259860480_n.png

d.d.s.

Postby d.d.s. » October 20th, 2018, 2:18 pm

Since diego looking bleak, can anyone say if it's safe to head pos price mart now? Wanna pick up some stocks.
Last edited by d.d.s. on October 20th, 2018, 2:18 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » October 20th, 2018, 2:20 pm

Judy Kanhai is live in my area