Property Tax in Trinidad & Tobago

drchaos

Re: Property Tax in Trinidad & Tobago

Postby drchaos » May 10th, 2017, 8:56 am

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:^ well Vassant now say if this Tax does go through and you do not pay it, they can come into your property and seize your vehicle or Stove or Fridge etc. Apparently this is the plan they are not gonna seize your house just like that they are starting with your appliances, electronics and vehicle first.

Aah boy Kamla eh the woman we give a 2/3 majority to repeal this thing and she drink rum for 5 years.

This over simplification of what kamla did makes this woman less sinister than she actually was. She lived in luxury off our backs, wasted the Boom year money on welfare programs so she could get back into power and continued the corruption she observed from the PNM (manning admin).

Postby 88sins » May 10th, 2017, 9:04 am

I say the general public that's oposed to this tax should march to the PM's official residence, as well as that of Clown Inbutt.

who willing?

Postby sMASH » May 10th, 2017, 9:42 am

the explain ur wealth/civil asset forfeiture thing, makes provision to seize ur assets. be it at home, in the bank, or ur actual home!
this asset valuation scheme in the property tax, allows them to size up what u have.

the avenues are there for them to take physical stuff from ur possession to repay debts. it might be more efficient or effective to just issue a directive to a bank to forward a sum of money to the governmnet as tax.

so, it could be like the VAT on a bill in a store combined with the backdated bank fee in a bank statement. when u watch ur bank statement u would see BIR deduction.

lol.

they AREN'T doing it, but i see no reason they would not choose to not to do it.

Postby 88sins » May 10th, 2017, 10:23 am

yuh see that nonsense about dipping into ppl bank account? that is a very dangerous road to go down.
the 1st time they dip into a man account, guess what? Everybody will either pull their $$ out the bank, or stop putting it in. If there's nothignin the account, there's nothing they can take.

Not only that, but these pig bottom eaters ahve absolutely zero idea how ppl live from one day to the next. yuh kno what it is, yuh last $1500-$2000 in the bank that supposed to be for food & transport cost to get you to work & kids to school, you go to get it & it gone? because these a-holes say you owing them tax? as far as I concerned, they will be DIRECTLY contributing to crime & unemployment.

Monkey Man

Postby Monkey Man » May 10th, 2017, 10:25 am

hay dudes dont beat up... atleast you can verify that you own your one vehicles online..right??

Postby matr1x » May 10th, 2017, 10:47 am

drchaos wrote:
EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:^ well Vassant now say if this Tax does go through and you do not pay it, they can come into your property and seize your vehicle or Stove or Fridge etc. Apparently this is the plan they are not gonna seize your house just like that they are starting with your appliances, electronics and vehicle first.

Aah boy Kamla eh the woman we give a 2/3 majority to repeal this thing and she drink rum for 5 years.

This over simplification of what kamla did makes this woman less sinister than she actually was. She lived in luxury off our backs, wasted the Boom year money on welfare programs so she could get back into power and continued the corruption she observed from the PNM (manning admin).

Inefficient yet. Sinister, doubt it. You forgetting the amount of hate and madness patos and demand used to spew? Rowley wants to appear moderate, but we all know better.

The employer may deduct the figure for paye, but it's government who sets the percentage.

Postby RedVEVO » May 10th, 2017, 2:51 pm

88sins wrote:I want to know something about this proposed BS tax
If the state seizes property for non payment of of this property tax, property is NOT revenue, so to get the revenue, they have to sell the seized property.
What's their proposed method for selling that property? Auction? Sealed bids/tenders? Behind closed doors aka racket ting?
What value will the seized property be sold for? Only for the taxation owed? Market value? If being sold only for the for taxation owed, where they getting the money yo compensate the property owner? yuh cant seize a property someone paid 2 million for, & sell it for 75K & leave them with nothing. So it hadda sell at market value.

I gettin the strong suspicion that some dutty politicians gonna be looking to buy seized properties at taxation owed amounts behind closed doors, only to sell at market values, swiftly making instant profits.

I lookin at Section 38, subsection 2 of the act

38. (1) The distress taken under section 37 may, at
the cost of the owner thereof, be kept for four days, at
the end of which time if the actual costs and charges of
and incidental to the distress are not paid, the same
may be sold.
(2) Out of the proceeds of such sale, there shall
first be paid the costs and charges of and incident to the
sale and keeping of the distress, and subsequently the
amount due in respect of the tax with such increase as
aforesaid, and the residue if any, shall be payable on
demand to the owner of the goods distrained upon.

so basically, yuh have 4 days to pay & then they can sell your property. After its sold, & they take what they want, if there's anything left over after the sale, only if you demand it you will get it, otherwise the state claims the balance.

The agenda with the property tax (PT) is to collect money .

Again $$$$ for Gov't - not us, the people ! Billions & Trillions pass through TT and nothing .

Gov't acting like the Kings & Queens in history where they just think they are
entitled to a piece of your property or money or gold etc. via tax, tax, tax.

We all know the story of Robin Hood especially with Keira Knightley and her slim,
sexy, non-fat dairy body.

The property tax is also a method of finding out everybody business and location of all the squatters .
The Gov't does not have this updated information. They will come after squatters and these people will be
evicted and land taken from them. It is happening already .

Again it is a trick being handed out by people who laughing all the way to the Bank - via work, contracts coming
soon. The TSTT/ Massy deal is an example . Where Govt find $255 Million so quick ? Meanwhile treasury people have to buy their own toiletries and water .

The property tax information will go into a computer database and you will be renting all your life since Gov't will tax overtime even when you decide to put in a extra room so your mother-in- law can have a place to stay or when homeowners and commercial upgrade property .

Gov't is asking you to be a valuator and sign a document telling them your business. And holding you legally responsible.

Some people running scared thinking their property will go in foreclosure . By the time that even start to happen
we will have a new Gov't.

Some others have so much money and so much property that they think they can just pay and have beauty
sleep .

The document you are being asked to sign is illegal .

You should protect your family and protest .

You want to be sheep and sleep . And talk woman/man gossip - power to you - It have all kinds.

Postby RedVEVO » May 10th, 2017, 3:01 pm

sinister_14 wrote:https://m.facebook.com/story.php?story_fbid=221416361696723&id=100014850829214

Yes .. Excellent explanation -

OP - Take a win !

Postby matr1x » May 10th, 2017, 6:54 pm

bluesclues wrote:
rspann wrote:1625 Se 10 Avenue 707
Fort Lauderdale, FL

Owner Name Ramadhar,prakash
Address 1625 Se 10 Avenue 707
City Fort Lauderdale
State FL
Land Use Condominium
Land Size
Legal Description Runaway Bay Condo Unit 707

I wonder if he paid his taxes for 2017 already ,or if he will refuse to pay it?
AXE DE TAX!

Axe de fatca

Lol

I spoke to him personally , and he has addressed this. He pays his taxes, but that is because he has to, Trinidad still has a chance to stop it as we have not crossed that threshold.

Of course pnm people want to make a scandal, but it's too late. Now let's talk about Fitzgerald hinds properties. Or Marlene Mcdonald.

dude2014

Postby dude2014 » May 10th, 2017, 9:17 pm

I asked before and I ask again, how much tax Rowley and Sharon has to pay on their property and why has they not done so?

What are we getting for this tax? It like buying tomatoes at the market and walking away with an empty bag.

If you put in toilet, (you will not allowed to pay latrine tax), which according to valuation division means you pay more.

No wonder a baby fell into a bucket of urine and they dont want to get rid of latrine in Laventille ........

Postby RedVEVO » May 11th, 2017, 4:57 am

matr1x wrote:
bluesclues wrote:
Fort Lauderdale, FL

City Fort Lauderdale
State FL
Land Use Condominium
Land Size

AXE DE TAX!

Axe de fatca

Lol

I spoke to him personally , and he has addressed this. He pays his taxes, but that is because he has to, Trinidad still has a chance to stop it as we have not crossed that threshold.

Of course pnm people want to make a scandal, but it's too late. Now let's talk about Fitzgerald hinds properties. Or Marlene Mcdonald.

Why is this important ? What is the purpose or agenda ?

People should focus on their own "business" meaning " Axe the Tax " in Trinidad.
Or talking with your MP, and gaining support to repeal the property tax.

It is amazing how a "dim lit" Tuner can access information on an attorney , publish his private information
with the importance and agenda unknown. Privacy laws in Trinidad are remote but it has an effect of
lowering security for the above mentioned attorney . Even if in a vindictive public Parliament .

However among private citizens it serves no purpose other than mayhem and gossip mongering among many.
Is this fair to anyone ? Maybe the next thing "dim lit" will do is to publish bank account details ?

The property tax information the Gov't is seeking can make such information available to anyone
and this has the effect of reducing security and safety to everyone - meaning you and your family's security in
a lawless TT .

Again, the request for information on the generic form is illegal.

"Axe the Tax "

trinibourbon

Postby trinibourbon » May 11th, 2017, 6:55 am

Wait.

What do you mean he pays it "because he has to"

Postby adnj » May 11th, 2017, 7:16 am

The information that is published here is public record in the USA. You can look up owner, address, number of bedrooms, bathrooms, square footage, year built, property taxes, purchase price, purchase history, projected value, and who has a lien on the deed. There are websites that serve up the information at no cost to anyone with a browser.

RedVEVO wrote:
matr1x wrote:
bluesclues wrote:
Fort Lauderdale, FL

City Fort Lauderdale
State FL
Land Use Condominium
Land Size

AXE DE TAX!

Axe de fatca

Lol

People should focus on their own "business" meaning " Axe the Tax " in Trinidad.

It is amazing how a "dim lit" Tuner can access information on an attorney , publish his private information
with the importance and agenda unknown. Privacy laws in Trinidad are remote but it has an effect of
lowering security for the above mentioned attorney . Even if in a vindictive public Parliament .

However among private citizens it serves no purpose other than mayhem and gossip mongering among many.
Is this fair to anyone ? Maybe the next thing "dim lit" will do is to publish bank account details ?

The property tax information the Gov't is seeking can make such information available to anyone
and this has the effect of reducing security and safety to everyone - meaning you and your family's security in
a lawless TT .

"Axe the Tax "

Postby rspann » May 11th, 2017, 7:53 am

Redvevo, you have to be a real dumbass, this info was in the newspapers and was raised in the parliament too. You are so amazed that someone can get the attorneys info, well , there are things that your dim mind cannot comprehend so it will amaze you. This info is public record in the USA .that is how you can access it.

The property tax is the law, this government is hell bent on enforcing it and when the time reach you will have to pay it too. They have already said they are not turning back. so all this nonsense you talking shows that you are the "dim lit " Kamla admitted she could have repealed it ,but she didn't so it's still law.

Postby rspann » May 11th, 2017, 8:00 am

Take a read dumbass.

...Imbert: Prakash paying $17,000 a year in Florida
Published on Apr 21, 2017, 10:38 pm AST
By Renuka Singh
0 CommentsArticle
Share:FacebookTwitter

ST AUGUSTINE MP Prakash Ramadhar, who piloted the “Axe the Tax” movement back in 2009, pays some $17,000 a year for a property he owns in Ft Lauderdale without any complaints.
This was stated yesterday by Finance Minister Colm Imbert during debate on a motion on the adjournment of the House on property tax raised by the Opposition on the imminent reintroduction of the property tax.
Imbert said the Opposition would rather make “wild, reckless accusations” on the issue of property tax than educate themselves.
He questioned why Ramadhar was not present during the debate, since he pays property tax in the United States without complaint.
“The Axe the Tax man pays $17,000 in taxes for his condominium in Ft Lauderdale, a little condominium,” Imbert said.
“He happily pays $17,000 per annum in property taxes. He happily pays it and doesn’t tell Uncle Sam a word, doesn’t tell the authorities in Ft Lauderdale a word. Every year he pays it,” Imbert said.
He said Ramadhar would not pay $1,000 locally for his property.
“Don’t want to pay one-tenth of what he pays for his property in the US. It is shameful,” Imbert said.
Imbert said the property tax has been around since 1970 with only a recent addition made by the People’s National Movement in 2009.
“They were in power from May 2010 to September 2015 and did not see it fit to adjust, amend, repeal or in any way change the provisions of the valuation of land act which requires the owner of land to submit a return,” Imbert said.

bluesclues

Postby bluesclues » May 11th, 2017, 8:03 am

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:
car wrote:What about the $500 if you don't fill out the form?

Well according to Vassant, once the PNM repeal this property tax you won't have to worry about the $500 penalty. I dunno he seem confident that once enough people stand up and refuse to pay this, the PNM will repeal this tax

Umm u do know that is how democracy works?

They have allyuh here real not knowing allyuh power in unity against a government objective.

Call all your councillors for your areas. Call your MP, make appointment and let them know you object to the tax strongly and that they will not see your vote again if it happens. Do that with anything you dislike. Force government to find alternative. They'll look for some other poor section to sodomize with they lazy self in the hopes that they won't know their rights or power either and so get thru.

Like they gettin thru with allyuh now. Because allyuh know allyuh object to the tax, but you going to work like normal and staying home to play game and watch tv when a protest is happening. And because the sun too hot. Well the pnm counting on that. Allyuh laziness to do something about it.

Postby matr1x » May 11th, 2017, 2:23 pm

So the fact he highlights they could have repealed it indicates that the law is shaft.

Postby rspann » May 11th, 2017, 2:28 pm

Blues, you correct, but you also know that is not how Trinis do it. There is no co operation , no togetherness. Nobody wants to pay the tax ,but what has anyone done ? You could recall anything we didn't like and protested against it ,and got real change? You feel I want to pay it and see them squandering it? You feel I comfortable driving my pickup down to Penal at 65 kph? I just accept it and go with the flow. All who talking now was there for five years with a majority and never repealed the law.

Postby rspann » May 11th, 2017, 2:30 pm

Blues, you correct, but you also know that is not how Trinis do it. There is no co operation , no togetherness. Nobody wants to pay the tax ,but what has anyone done ? You could recall anything we didn't like and protested against it ,and got real change? You feel I want to pay it and see them squandering it? You feel I comfortable driving my pickup down to Penal at 65 kph? I just accept it and go with the flow. All who talking now was there for five years with a majority and never repealed the law.

Postby sMASH » May 11th, 2017, 2:35 pm

bluesclues wrote:
EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:
car wrote:What about the $500 if you don't fill out the form?

Well according to Vassant, once the PNM repeal this property tax you won't have to worry about the $500 penalty. I dunno he seem confident that once enough people stand up and refuse to pay this, the PNM will repeal this tax

Umm u do know that is how democracy works?

They have allyuh here real not knowing allyuh power in unity against a government objective.

Call all your councillors for your areas. Call your MP, make appointment and let them know you object to the tax strongly and that they will not see your vote again if it happens. Do that with anything you dislike. Force government to find alternative. They'll look for some other poor section to sodomize with they lazy self in the hopes that they won't know their rights or power either and so get thru.

Like they gettin thru with allyuh now. Because allyuh know allyuh object to the tax, but you going to work like normal and staying home to play game and watch tv when a protest is happening. And because the sun too hot. Well the pnm counting on that. Allyuh laziness to do something about it.

^^ this.
trini- i want things to change.
also trini- i dont want to do the work let somebody else protest.

Postby RedVEVO » May 11th, 2017, 2:41 pm

adnj wrote:The information that is published here is public record in the USA. You can look up owner, address, number of bedrooms, bathrooms, square footage, year built, property taxes, purchase price, purchase history, projected value, and who has a lien on the deed. There are websites that serve up the information at no cost to anyone with a browser.

RedVEVO wrote:
matr1x wrote:
bluesclues wrote:
Fort Lauderdale, FL

City Fort Lauderdale
State FL
Land Use Condominium
Land Size

AXE DE TAX!

Axe de fatca

Lol

a lawless TT .

"Axe the Tax "

Yes, I know the info is available via internet and it was published in the news and highlighted in TT Parliament where the property tax (PT) was "debated."

The info was released under " Parliament Privilege " and used in an attempt to "bully" or "embarrass" a MP.
The MP has an "axe the tax" campaign . He believes it is unfair. I just happen to agree .

Even if it is Law, people can disagree . Because Gov'ts enact laws that are unfair !

Again what amazes me is that the"bulling" not "bullying" continues in this forum.

Why continue to bring up a person's private business ? Why harass a MP for helping poor people ?
Why highlight the attorney's address ? Why the tendency to engage in "bulling" ?
What is the agenda where it continues to breach on his / family's personal safety here and abroad ?

Some ( a wild guess ) do it just for a sense of confusion , to create mayhem or have "bulling tendencies" and $$$ but low class and like to woman gossip.

The property tax issue affects everyone . Even squatters . Every income group.

But it takes $$$$ and food etc., away from the average working family and worse for a poor income family - in "hard times"/recession.

Landlords do not work . They collect rent .

The Gov't does NOT need this money - The Gov't need to repeal this Law.
We already have stamp duty, VAT, surcharges , raise in gas/diesel prices, MVT, tax, tax, tax- non stop.

So if you rich $ and getting richer $$$ every day and your Tanty or Uncle own a gas station and you own a boat or a Benz or a big Pappy SUV and pay cash to buy land or for everything .. And you do work for Machel and Bunji you is a big boy who like walking in rubber slippers to show people you "with the village poor, but I is King Kong" and you can pay property tax and you happy and like "bullion" ... etc. etc.

Ok no scene.

But many believe the property tax is unfair . And it is financial punishment for everybody .

" Axe the Tax " - Tell to your MP.

drchaos

Postby drchaos » May 11th, 2017, 4:46 pm

Why all this hate for the rich REDVEVO? They did not just get rich from doing nothing. These guys got rich from their own/ family working their behinds off and making extremely smart decisions.

Instead of hating the rich ... start thinking like them and move yourself up the ladder.

Postby adnj » May 11th, 2017, 5:21 pm

With all due respect, my point is that if you buy property in the USA, the information regarding that property is not private but is in the public domain.
RedVEVO wrote:
adnj wrote:The information that is published here is public record in the USA. You can look up owner, address, number of bedrooms, bathrooms, square footage, year built, property taxes, purchase price, purchase history, projected value, and who has a lien on the deed. There are websites that serve up the information at no cost to anyone with a browser.

RedVEVO wrote:
matr1x wrote:
bluesclues wrote:
Fort Lauderdale, FL

City Fort Lauderdale
State FL
Land Use Condominium
Land Size

AXE DE TAX!

Axe de fatca

Lol

a lawless TT .

"Axe the Tax "

Yes, I know the info is available via internet and it was published in the news and highlighted in TT Parliament where the property tax (PT) was "debated."

The info was released under " Parliament Privilege " and used in an attempt to "bully" or "embarrass" a MP.
The MP has an "axe the tax" campaign . He believes it is unfair. I just happen to agree .

Even if it is Law, people can disagree . Because Gov'ts enact laws that are unfair !

Again what amazes me is that the"bulling" not "bullying" continues in this forum.

Why continue to bring up a person's private business ? Why harass a MP for helping poor people ?
Why highlight the attorney's address ? Why the tendency to engage in "bulling" ?
What is the agenda where it continues to breach on his / family's personal safety here and abroad ?

Some ( a wild guess ) do it just for a sense of confusion , to create mayhem or have "bulling tendencies" and $$$ but low class and like to woman gossip.

The property tax issue affects everyone . Even squatters . Every income group.

But it takes $$$$ and food etc., away from the average working family and worse for a poor income family - in "hard times"/recession.

Landlords do not work . They collect rent .

The Gov't does NOT need this money - The Gov't need to repeal this Law.
We already have stamp duty, VAT, surcharges , raise in gas/diesel prices, MVT, tax, tax, tax- non stop.

So if you rich $ and getting richer $$$ every day and your Tanty or Uncle own a gas station and you own a boat or a Benz or a big Pappy SUV and pay cash to buy land or for everything .. And you do work for Machel and Bunji you is a big boy who like walking in rubber slippers to show people you "with the village poor, but I is King Kong" and you can pay property tax and you happy and like "bullion" ... etc. etc.

Ok no scene.

But many believe the property tax is unfair . And it is financial punishment for everybody .

" Axe the Tax " - Tell to your MP.

Postby RedVEVO » May 11th, 2017, 5:31 pm

drchaos wrote:Why all this hate for the rich REDVEVO? They did not just get rich from doing nothing. These guys got rich from their own/ family working their behinds off and making extremely smart decisions.

Instead of hating the rich ... start thinking like them and move yourself up the ladder.

You judge.

Way beyond your level on the ladder.
I DO NOT hate the rich.
Hate is for the crazy.

Were you not the one who was criticizing ("or a hater" ) of a certain "rich" sector of people in Trinidad ?
It was your highlight in the " New Car Prices " Forum.

You "single handed" called them vicious names and then claim you send documents to your lawyers.
And copied them to your Mama.
Were you not warned by members in this Forum ?
Did you not "hijack" an excellent Forum on "New Car Prices" ?

So tell us all now what is your story ? Someone stole your password again ?
Explain where this "hate" and "ladder ting" logic coming from now ?

My agenda is very simple.
Axe the Tax.
It is unfair and it's punishment to everybody.

Postby matr1x » May 11th, 2017, 6:29 pm

I think it's time to talk about the alleged collusion between pnm financiers in the aboud and other senior Syrian families in the acquisition of the hills of lavantille using the conditions allowed for in the bill.

Think that could be slipped by huh? The Syrian families have been eying that area for decades

Postby rspann » May 11th, 2017, 6:41 pm

Redvevo ,you know a lot about bulling boy!

Postby RedVEVO » May 11th, 2017, 6:54 pm

rspann wrote:Redvevo ,you know a lot about bulling boy!

My agenda is " axe the tax " ..
My discussion is property tax (PT) and why it should be repealed.
It is logical and simple.

You are well known. But we need NOT know your behind knowledge.
Your "tendencies" and "tenants" know you.

Pay your PT and enjoy peace. Others want to protest.

Keep your business private or public but allow the attorney his privacy.
People's private business in public is for ridicule in TT.

Again, tell your MP " axe the tax."

drchaos

Postby drchaos » May 11th, 2017, 7:32 pm

RedVEVO wrote:
drchaos wrote:Why all this hate for the rich REDVEVO? They did not just get rich from doing nothing. These guys got rich from their own/ family working their behinds off and making extremely smart decisions.

You judge.

Way beyond your level on the ladder.
I DO NOT hate the rich.
Hate is for the crazy.

Were you not the one who was criticizing ("or a hater" ) of a certain "rich" sector of people in Trinidad ?
It was your highlight in the " New Car Prices " Forum.

You "single handed" called them vicious names and then claim you send documents to your lawyers.
And copied them to your Mama.
Were you not warned by members in this Forum ?
Did you not "hijack" an excellent Forum on "New Car Prices" ?

So tell us all now what is your story ? Someone stole your password again ?
Explain where this "hate" and "ladder ting" logic coming from now ?

My agenda is very simple.
Axe the Tax.
It is unfair and it's punishment to everybody.

Untwist dem panties quick cause genital hypoxia is a horrible thing!

Postby RedVEVO » May 11th, 2017, 7:39 pm

You continue to troll .
You continue to hijack discussions.
You continue to refuse to stop

Last time you were crying.
Mentioned your Mama had all the files.
Last time you e-mailing lawyers.
All public information.

You sure no one stole your password now ?
You sure your computer was not hacked ?

Property Tax is unfair.
Axe the tax.

racedriverpro

Postby racedriverpro » May 11th, 2017, 7:53 pm

Fellas fellas......

Don't mind us