D Diesel Report wrote:So the best and blackest PM said shut yuh mouth.
How many seats are we seeing the PNM win in the next general election?![]()
tourniquet wrote:Anyone have a clip of him saying that?
De Dragon wrote:tourniquet wrote:Anyone have a clip of him saying that?
No, but Jetski have one where Rowley have him in a roast fowl..............
timelapse wrote:Trinispougla wrote:sMASH wrote:Which is vital for the country?
Something u never had, or SUMTING that could turn into bandits and result in more children away from school?
OK fine. Don't pay people for their service. Whey they're not at work they can drive on the pt fortain highway or the Toco highway, anytime they please, cause they will have nothing better to do.
*pnm country*
swear with your logic the unemployment rate is like 30% yes....steupps. I articulate my position again JA-MAI-CA spent ov-er 3 bill-ion on a toll road in the midst of an In-ter-nat-ion-al mo-net-ary fund ad-just-ment pro-gramme. See i broke it up into syllables for you. Economic activity cannot stop simply because of a recession patna
Trying the high horse approach by appearing to be smart i see.
Let me make it even simpler for you- You cannot raise taxes on an economy to get out of a MC recession.Raising the cost of living is not economic activity to be proud of.
Trinispougla wrote:Local production does not only depend on government subvention. If you are speaking about agriculture. The reason im saying agriculture is other than the major manufacturers, tt's private sector is mostly retail or consumption oriented. Agriculture was at its worst during the oil years which follows patterns worldwide. The food import bill has been reduced by 1 billion thttp://www.trinidadexpress.com/2017050 ... mport-bill so that could be as a result of two things:an increase in production or changes in habits facilitated by trying economic circumstances. But increased production depends on productivity of workers(one of the country's weak points), private sector involvement which is severely lacking especially in agriculture. For example cocoa. Cocoa would be one of the best areas for local content to be put on the international market. Trinidad is undisputed in its claim that it produces the highest quality of cocoa in the world. But the production of TT cocoa is extremely expensive. Any involvement from government would have to be coupled with significant private sector assistance, something that the latter is not willing to do right now. If you are thinking about food crops, Trinidad has always been a high importer of food, even in the 1940s when Howard University had a conference called The Economic Future Of The Caribbean which is now available in print form.Because of the nature of the plantation, food crops have never been high priority items in the minds of farmers, certainly not enough to lower the import bill and hence a burgeoning food import bill is present. Trinidad even imports broccoli and cauliflower from Tropical East Africa. What i am getting at is saying that forex or taxes is the main cause of your business or agricultural business facing difficulties is irresponsible. Local content was never high in the first place aside from the major manufacturers. High local production has as much to do with government as it has to do with private sector involvement and atitudes
shake d livin wake d dead wrote:for some strange reason I getting a feeling this budget go real fcking dred...men go real feel it...some hardcore speculations in the air
Redress10 wrote:Trinispougla wrote:Local production does not only depend on government subvention. If you are speaking about agriculture. The reason im saying agriculture is other than the major manufacturers, tt's private sector is mostly retail or consumption oriented. Agriculture was at its worst during the oil years which follows patterns worldwide. The food import bill has been reduced by 1 billion thttp://www.trinidadexpress.com/2017050 ... mport-bill so that could be as a result of two things:an increase in production or changes in habits facilitated by trying economic circumstances. But increased production depends on productivity of workers(one of the country's weak points), private sector involvement which is severely lacking especially in agriculture. For example cocoa. Cocoa would be one of the best areas for local content to be put on the international market. Trinidad is undisputed in its claim that it produces the highest quality of cocoa in the world. But the production of TT cocoa is extremely expensive. Any involvement from government would have to be coupled with significant private sector assistance, something that the latter is not willing to do right now. If you are thinking about food crops, Trinidad has always been a high importer of food, even in the 1940s when Howard University had a conference called The Economic Future Of The Caribbean which is now available in print form.Because of the nature of the plantation, food crops have never been high priority items in the minds of farmers, certainly not enough to lower the import bill and hence a burgeoning food import bill is present. Trinidad even imports broccoli and cauliflower from Tropical East Africa. What i am getting at is saying that forex or taxes is the main cause of your business or agricultural business facing difficulties is irresponsible. Local content was never high in the first place aside from the major manufacturers. High local production has as much to do with government as it has to do with private sector involvement and atitudes
Where you all make up these assertions from? Common sense would tell you that if it was as high as you believed then anyone of the major companies would have already set up shop in Tnt right? We even have Nestle here that is a producer of major chocolate brands and they still don't have an interest in cocoa from Trinidad. Let's stop being delusional. Steupss.....Do we even know if chocolate/confectionary companies even care for high quality cocoa?
Now these are the lies that we really need to stop telling ourselves in order to actually progress. Do we really believe that our cocoa is of such high quality that that would give us a major advantage on the world stage? Most cocoa producers are not tiny countries like our own. A small country can never play a significant part in global agriculture. We have finite agricultural land.
shake d livin wake d dead wrote:rowly hada be ah real arse we...man tell people shut they mouth on national tv, then make ah tack back and say it was taken out of context
Gladiator wrote:Redress10 wrote:Trinispougla wrote:Local production does not only depend on government subvention. If you are speaking about agriculture. The reason im saying agriculture is other than the major manufacturers, tt's private sector is mostly retail or consumption oriented. Agriculture was at its worst during the oil years which follows patterns worldwide. The food import bill has been reduced by 1 billion thttp://www.trinidadexpress.com/2017050 ... mport-bill so that could be as a result of two things:an increase in production or changes in habits facilitated by trying economic circumstances. But increased production depends on productivity of workers(one of the country's weak points), private sector involvement which is severely lacking especially in agriculture. For example cocoa. Cocoa would be one of the best areas for local content to be put on the international market. Trinidad is undisputed in its claim that it produces the highest quality of cocoa in the world. But the production of TT cocoa is extremely expensive. Any involvement from government would have to be coupled with significant private sector assistance, something that the latter is not willing to do right now. If you are thinking about food crops, Trinidad has always been a high importer of food, even in the 1940s when Howard University had a conference called The Economic Future Of The Caribbean which is now available in print form.Because of the nature of the plantation, food crops have never been high priority items in the minds of farmers, certainly not enough to lower the import bill and hence a burgeoning food import bill is present. Trinidad even imports broccoli and cauliflower from Tropical East Africa. What i am getting at is saying that forex or taxes is the main cause of your business or agricultural business facing difficulties is irresponsible. Local content was never high in the first place aside from the major manufacturers. High local production has as much to do with government as it has to do with private sector involvement and atitudes
Where you all make up these assertions from? Common sense would tell you that if it was as high as you believed then anyone of the major companies would have already set up shop in Tnt right? We even have Nestle here that is a producer of major chocolate brands and they still don't have an interest in cocoa from Trinidad. Let's stop being delusional. Steupss.....Do we even know if chocolate/confectionary companies even care for high quality cocoa?
Now these are the lies that we really need to stop telling ourselves in order to actually progress. Do we really believe that our cocoa is of such high quality that that would give us a major advantage on the world stage? Most cocoa producers are not tiny countries like our own. A small country can never play a significant part in global agriculture. We have finite agricultural land.
Hey bro... the cocoa thing is real. We do have an internationally sought after cocoa and there is a huge market for it. If you want more information please visit the Cocoa Research Centre at UWI. Speak to the professor and blow your mind. Right now the Europeans granting 10M Euro to us to develop the industry. Our own government couldn't care less...
Redress10 wrote:Gladiator wrote:Redress10 wrote:Trinispougla wrote:Local production does not only depend on government subvention. If you are speaking about agriculture. The reason im saying agriculture is other than the major manufacturers, tt's private sector is mostly retail or consumption oriented. Agriculture was at its worst during the oil years which follows patterns worldwide. The food import bill has been reduced by 1 billion thttp://www.trinidadexpress.com/2017050 ... mport-bill so that could be as a result of two things:an increase in production or changes in habits facilitated by trying economic circumstances. But increased production depends on productivity of workers(one of the country's weak points), private sector involvement which is severely lacking especially in agriculture. For example cocoa. Cocoa would be one of the best areas for local content to be put on the international market. Trinidad is undisputed in its claim that it produces the highest quality of cocoa in the world. But the production of TT cocoa is extremely expensive. Any involvement from government would have to be coupled with significant private sector assistance, something that the latter is not willing to do right now. If you are thinking about food crops, Trinidad has always been a high importer of food, even in the 1940s when Howard University had a conference called The Economic Future Of The Caribbean which is now available in print form.Because of the nature of the plantation, food crops have never been high priority items in the minds of farmers, certainly not enough to lower the import bill and hence a burgeoning food import bill is present. Trinidad even imports broccoli and cauliflower from Tropical East Africa. What i am getting at is saying that forex or taxes is the main cause of your business or agricultural business facing difficulties is irresponsible. Local content was never high in the first place aside from the major manufacturers. High local production has as much to do with government as it has to do with private sector involvement and atitudes
Hey bro... the cocoa thing is real. We do have an internationally sought after cocoa and there is a huge market for it. If you want more information please visit the Cocoa Research Centre at UWI. Speak to the professor and blow your mind. Right now the Europeans granting 10M Euro to us to develop the industry. Our own government couldn't care less...
I'm not going to speak to a professor at UWI. What experience does he have in negotiating and purchasing cocoa for a chocolate company etc. We need to speak to these companies http://www.candyindustry.com/top-25-can ... anies-2013 and see what part we can play in the industry. like I said Nestle is a top 4 producer of chocolate in the world and they are right here in TnT. They haven't shown any interest in this industry's rejuvenation. That should tell you something.
Redress10 wrote:The Ivory Coast supplies 30 percent of the world’s total cocoa, leading the rest of the world by over half a million metric tons with a total crop of 1,448,992 tonnes. Companies like Nestle and Cadbury receive much of their cocoa from the Ivory Coast and Cocoa alone is responsible for almost two-thirds of the trade revenue coming into the nation.
Recently, serious concerns have been raised about cocoa production here. Child laborers, some of whom are subjected to 100-hour-long workweeks and physical abuse, have been discovered on many of the farms responsible for the nation’s gargantuan output. In addition to the harsh working conditions, child laborers on the Ivory Coast often do not receive any education whatsoever.
An Ivory Coast cocoa farmer made headlines last year when he was featured trying a chocolate bar in a video which went viral. Despite farming cocoa for his entire life, he had never tasted chocolate.
http://www.worldatlas.com/articles/top- ... tries.html
Like I said, I really don't think that the quality of the cocoa is high on the chocolate producers list of demands when purchasing cocoa for chocolate production. Our competitive advantage may be in actually using our same cocoa and producing "organic" high quality chocolate in the niche market. That requires a whole different level of skills and expertise.
Dizzy28 wrote:Redress10 wrote:Gladiator wrote:Redress10 wrote:Trinispougla wrote:Local production does not only depend on government subvention. If you are speaking about agriculture. The reason im saying agriculture is other than the major manufacturers, tt's private sector is mostly retail or consumption oriented. Agriculture was at its worst during the oil years which follows patterns worldwide. The food import bill has been reduced by 1 billion thttp://www.trinidadexpress.com/20170509/business/rambharat-1b-cut-in-food-import-bill so that could be as a result of two things:an increase in production or changes in habits facilitated by trying economic circumstances. But increased production depends on productivity of workers(one of the country's weak points), private sector involvement which is severely lacking especially in agriculture. For example cocoa. Cocoa would be one of the best areas for local content to be put on the international market. Trinidad is undisputed in its claim that it produces the highest quality of cocoa in the world. But the production of TT cocoa is extremely expensive. Any involvement from government would have to be coupled with significant private sector assistance, something that the latter is not willing to do right now. If you are thinking about food crops, Trinidad has always been a high importer of food, even in the 1940s when Howard University had a conference called The Economic Future Of The Caribbean which is now available in print form.Because of the nature of the plantation, food crops have never been high priority items in the minds of farmers, certainly not enough to lower the import bill and hence a burgeoning food import bill is present. Trinidad even imports broccoli and cauliflower from Tropical East Africa. What i am getting at is saying that forex or taxes is the main cause of your business or agricultural business facing difficulties is irresponsible. Local content was never high in the first place aside from the major manufacturers. High local production has as much to do with government as it has to do with private sector involvement and atitudes
I'm not going to speak to a professor at UWI. What experience does he have in negotiating and purchasing cocoa for a chocolate company etc. We need to speak to these companies http://www.candyindustry.com/top-25-candy-companies-2013 and see what part we can play in the industry. like I said Nestle is a top 4 producer of chocolate in the world and they are right here in TnT. They haven't shown any interest in this industry's rejuvenation. That should tell you something.
Do you even know whether nestle does here? It's not chocolate. Why would they care for cocoa then.
Our cocoa is very sought after and not by Mass market chocolatiers. If we can grow 30,000 tonnes per year up from the measly 700 tonnes we produce now it would be purchased with no worries.
Redress10 wrote:Gladiator wrote:Redress10 wrote:Trinispougla wrote:Local production does not only depend on government subvention. If you are speaking about agriculture. The reason im saying agriculture is other than the major manufacturers, tt's private sector is mostly retail or consumption oriented. Agriculture was at its worst during the oil years which follows patterns worldwide. The food import bill has been reduced by 1 billion thttp://www.trinidadexpress.com/2017050 ... mport-bill so that could be as a result of two things:an increase in production or changes in habits facilitated by trying economic circumstances. But increased production depends on productivity of workers(one of the country's weak points), private sector involvement which is severely lacking especially in agriculture. For example cocoa. Cocoa would be one of the best areas for local content to be put on the international market. Trinidad is undisputed in its claim that it produces the highest quality of cocoa in the world. But the production of TT cocoa is extremely expensive. Any involvement from government would have to be coupled with significant private sector assistance, something that the latter is not willing to do right now. If you are thinking about food crops, Trinidad has always been a high importer of food, even in the 1940s when Howard University had a conference called The Economic Future Of The Caribbean which is now available in print form.Because of the nature of the plantation, food crops have never been high priority items in the minds of farmers, certainly not enough to lower the import bill and hence a burgeoning food import bill is present. Trinidad even imports broccoli and cauliflower from Tropical East Africa. What i am getting at is saying that forex or taxes is the main cause of your business or agricultural business facing difficulties is irresponsible. Local content was never high in the first place aside from the major manufacturers. High local production has as much to do with government as it has to do with private sector involvement and atitudes
I'm not going to speak to a professor at UWI. What experience does he have in negotiating and purchasing cocoa for a chocolate company etc. We need to speak to these companies http://www.candyindustry.com/top-25-can ... anies-2013 and see what part we can play in the industry. like I said Nestle is a top 4 producer of chocolate in the world and they are right here in TnT. They haven't shown any interest in this industry's rejuvenation. That should tell you something.
Redress10 wrote:Also Trinispougla, I think we need to start attracting high networth individuals as another form of diversification. All the major countries have one and it is used to attract individuals with significant capital. In the UK etc all it takes is 1 million pounds of investment into the economy to be granted one. I think we should look at this option.
I think what we are severely lacking is serious FDI in all other areas apart from just oil/gas. We need to increase FDI and decrease foreign expenditure. The scary thing is that we don't produce anything so we have little to offer the world. I think that food is one area where w should be getting more than we are getting with our current expenditure. We shouldn't be paying exorbitant prices for foods when they are cheap in their countries of origin. So the mark up by local suppliers need to be examined and if possible get direct fdi from a foreign company in that area. We shouldn't be protecting greedy and inefficient conglomerates.
A major part of our problem is that the bare necessities are too expensive and appear as luxury goods.
Redress10 wrote:Where are we going to get the agricultural land to produce 30,000 tonnes of cocoa a year?
The point is that Nestle is already here yet they don't care for our cocoa. They are already here meaning that as a MNC they would have relayed back to HEAD OFFICE that our cocoa is of the highest quality and investments should be made in the industry to promote production. That hasn't been done for whatever reasons so that tells me that "high quality" cocoa is not really something that they care about.
30,000 tonnes put us on par with Venezuela. Look at the size of Venezuela.
Haiti produces 10,000 tonnes but look at the size of Haiti and the structure of its economy.
Where are you getting 30,000 tonnes from?