Re: Speed guns in effect in Trinidad & Tobago

Postby Morpheus » July 1st, 2016, 8:55 pm

I drive 80kph average now

Postby rollingstock » July 1st, 2016, 9:49 pm

drchaos wrote:You mean swype keyboard? I find it real accurate.

That sheit self. Like it have a mind of its own

Postby Habit7 » July 1st, 2016, 10:21 pm

drchaos wrote:
Habit7 wrote:
drchaos wrote:You realize I using that dumb argument to draw out a point about Arrive Alseep statistics with Habit right?

I agree your argument dumb but I am still not seeing your point neither your claimed scientific backing.

My statement has the same bogus "scientific" backing as arrive alseep has for their statistics on 55% of all accidents in T&T are caused by speeding.

Lard boy you making me spell it out for you.

So when a reputable NGO compiles statistics from police reports, they are comparable to your opinion?
www.newsday.co.tt/news/0,225849.html

drchaos

Postby drchaos » July 1st, 2016, 10:36 pm

Yes because they had no way of actually measuring speed of motorists in accidents. Its purely opinion!

I find you slowing down boy Habit ...

Postby De Dragon » July 2nd, 2016, 12:22 am

drchaos wrote:Yes because they had no way of actually measuring speed of motorists in accidents. Its purely opinion!

I find you slowing down boy Habit ...

But it'll still not prevent him from attempting to argue you to death though.............

drchaos

Postby drchaos » July 2nd, 2016, 8:18 am

Yeah habit have no choice to defend them bogus statistics ... when massa say jump is how high he hadda ask.

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » July 2nd, 2016, 9:03 am

Y'all honestly feel nothing changed though? Ok yeah you don't trust the figures from AA but things like serious accidents on the north/south east/west highways...y'all genuinely feel nothing has changed with respect to those?

Postby De Dragon » July 2nd, 2016, 9:40 am

Allergic2BunnyEars wrote:Y'all honestly feel nothing changed though? Ok yeah you don't trust the figures from AA but things like serious accidents on the north/south east/west highways...y'all genuinely feel nothing has changed with respect to those?

Feel? I still see the jackarsery on the roads every single day. The uncourteous uncaring dangerous driving continues unabated.

Postby Morpheus » July 2nd, 2016, 9:59 am

The sudden lane changes without signalling hasn't stopped. Bumpering hasn't stopped. Squeezing into small gaps and frigging up people's following distance hasn't stopped. No one keeps left.

So yeah accidents definitely are still happening. Just no mangled carcasses to clean up. Jaws of life getting a breather...

I would love to see the other jackarssery lessened.
Somehow those seem to annoy me more than "speeding"...

baigan

Postby baigan » July 2nd, 2016, 10:20 am

Lol trinidad needs a proper drivers ed in place to teach people. Not like the usual who take a few lessons then pay for their license.

And proper enforcement of the law. Just yesterday i saw a pickup truck break the light in front of a police and they didnt even budge ._.

BRZ

Postby BRZ » July 2nd, 2016, 10:22 am

baigan wrote:Lol trinidad needs a proper drivers ed in place to teach people. Not like the usual who take a few lessons then pay for their license.

And proper enforcement of the law. Just yesterday i saw a pickup truck break the light in front of a police and they didnt even budge ._.

Just start with all of those uneducated idiots who drive Tiidas and then move on to the slightly educated morons that driving Navaras, and the roads should improve just a little.

baigan

Re: RE: Re: Speed guns in effect in Trinidad & Tobago

Postby baigan » July 2nd, 2016, 10:24 am

BRZ wrote:
baigan wrote:Lol trinidad needs a proper drivers ed in place to teach people. Not like the usual who take a few lessons then pay for their license.

Just start with all of those uneducated idiots who drive Tiidas and then move on to the slightly educated morons that driving Navaras, and the roads should improve just a little.

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » July 2nd, 2016, 10:25 am

Allergic2BunnyEars wrote:Y'all honestly feel nothing changed though? Ok yeah you don't trust the figures from AA but things like serious accidents on the north/south east/west highways...y'all genuinely feel nothing has changed with respect to those?

Feel? I still see the jackarsery on the roads every single day. The uncourteous uncaring dangerous driving continues unabated.

That's not what I asked though. Context was with respect to serious accidents.

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » July 2nd, 2016, 10:26 am

Morpheus wrote:The sudden lane changes without signalling hasn't stopped. Bumpering hasn't stopped. Squeezing into small gaps and frigging up people's following distance hasn't stopped. No one keeps left.

So yeah accidents definitely are still happening. Just no mangled carcasses to clean up. Jaws of life getting a breather...

I would love to see the other jackarssery lessened.
Somehow those seem to annoy me more than "speeding"...

So no/fewer mangled carcasses is something to be ticked off as nothing major?

Postby Morpheus » July 2nd, 2016, 10:30 am

Umm where did I say that?

Accidents are still happening. The lower speeds mean there are less mangled carcasses. Less need for the Jaws of Life. So that is a positive.....

Get it?

Postby De Dragon » July 2nd, 2016, 10:51 am

Allergic2BunnyEars wrote:

Man ask yuh for a feel answer to a statistical question :roll: :roll:

Postby pugboy » July 2nd, 2016, 11:31 am

Thread going for troll bait of the year

Postby pugboy » July 2nd, 2016, 11:41 am

But do toet stop u guys, eh
So please carry on

Postby pugboy » July 2nd, 2016, 11:42 am

But don't let me stop u guys, eh
So please carry on

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » July 2nd, 2016, 11:46 am

Didn't stop you from attempting to answer it the first time. What's the problem now?

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » July 2nd, 2016, 11:47 am

Morpheus wrote:Umm where did I say that?

Accidents are still happening. The lower speeds mean there are less mangled carcasses. Less need for the Jaws of Life. So that is a positive.....

Get it?

Didn't see it look like a positive based on your post. Seemed to be a gloss over.

I get it now though.

Postby Morpheus » July 2nd, 2016, 11:57 am

No scene. Yeah I guess so. But I do mean that there are positives. People shouldn't deny that

drchaos

Postby drchaos » July 2nd, 2016, 1:31 pm

Bunny I still feel we need more data before we call it a success.

Heard from an NP person in the office that fuel sales are actually down over the last few months, she was thinking it was the price ... I was suggesting it may have to do with more drivers getting fuel economy due to more people driving at 80. Maybe both.

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » July 2nd, 2016, 2:03 pm

drchaos wrote:Bunny I still feel we need more data before we call it a success.

Heard from an NP person in the office that fuel sales are actually down over the last few months, she was thinking it was the price ... I was suggesting it may have to do with more drivers getting fuel economy due to more people driving at 80. Maybe both.

I agree more data is needed. But until then we can trade anecdotal stories back and forth. Like I can point to the slowdown of fatal crashes or large accidents on highways in the official accident thread. Noticed the change immediately after speed guns were introduced.

Personally I wish the speed limit was 160 kph but I will never argue against a speed limit that's in place and arguably reasonable.

Postby Les Bain » July 2nd, 2016, 3:14 pm

drchaos wrote:Bunny I still feel we need more data before we call it a success.

Since this speed limit "enforcement" I gas up once for the week. Before it was a full up then a small money top up.

drchaos

Postby drchaos » July 2nd, 2016, 3:24 pm

I no longer have to drive to work so I don't know how much less fuel I consume but most people here have reported sometimes 2 less liters per 100KM.

Postby De Dragon » July 2nd, 2016, 4:20 pm

Didn't stop you from attempting to answer it the first time. What's the problem now?

Take win soldier. I "feel" that statistics need analysis and time before premature pronouncements are made, but hey what do I know?

megadoc1

Postby megadoc1 » July 3rd, 2016, 8:04 am

to argue that speed is not the reason for accidents is foolish ,since the introduction of the speed guns there have been a reduction in those catastrophic reports that we've almost grown accustomed to.
people were getting into cars and taking them to very high speeds without considering the risks and consequences and made it bad for everyone.
but my observation is this ,there is less gridlock on the road heading north to south or vice versa since we no longer have to deal with the accidents that became a daily event , oh and lets not forget the traffic caused every time they block the lane to repair cable barriers, haven't seen much of that since

BTW any donations towards paying my ticket is appreciated :wink:

drchaos

Postby drchaos » July 3rd, 2016, 10:13 am

I disagree boy Megadoc ... Distracted and Undisciplined driving is by far the largest cause of accidents. Proper studies have been done example. Not some half assed study done by Arrive Asleep by just talking to the police who had no way of measuring speed.
http://www.telegraph.co.uk/motoring/roa ... appen.html

A tuner posted a documentary about Canada's highways where 55% of drivers break the speed limit by as much as 30 KPH, this is around 140 KPH and they have one of the lowest road deaths. Same with the UK, alot of speeding takes place. Almost everyone breaks the speed limit until they come to a speed camera zone then they slow down then speed up again. Also very low road death statistics This is observation from personal experience.

Again as almost everyone here has agreed it is too early to say there has been a significant drop in road deaths since the enforcement of speeds limits.

I say we start a Slush fund ... $10 ah tuner per month, Bunny can be the treasurer!
Present your speeding ticket and we cover 50% of it. You allowed 1 speeding ticket rebate every year.

Postby rspann » July 3rd, 2016, 12:25 pm

Allyuh want to speed and other man must pay, boy rock so yes! Bunny ears as treasurer? next thing d money finish and Jetta have APR2 kit.