Diversification! Oil prices falling!

Re: Diversification! Oil prices falling!

Postby The_Honourable » June 14th, 2018, 12:25 am

At the meeting Rowley also took aim at some commentators speaking about diversification.

"You always hearing about diversification, diversification. It's an annoying word. Because some people are still making $25 a week writing in newspapers and writing columns about diversification. Annoying. When you ask them 'diversify into what' they can't tell you. What would you do to diversify the economy, especially if you abandon the energy sector? They can't tell you. But they on television, they on radio, they on newspapers - diversification. Let me tell you what our diversification is. Our diversification is to find the things we can do and just do them."

He said one of the areas being looked at was tourism via the 800-room Sandals resort project in Tobago.

"All this questioning about 'what you going to give them' and 'what you going to get' and 'when you going to do it' coming from the pontificators who don't know their front from their elbow and those are the people who are trying to harass you when the day come into difficult circumstances. We are trying to lead you into the light; them turning down your bulb."

He said Government would be using the same model as with the Hilton and Hyatt where Government would build the resort and it would have the Sandals label.

"Anything we give to the Sandals project in Tobago we give to ourselves."

Last month Agriculture Minister Clarence Rambharat reported in Parliament the Memorandum of Understanding between this Government and Sandals Resorts International was signed on October 10, 2017.

Source: http://newsday.co.tt/2018/06/08/rowley- ... ive-to-tt/

Postby De Dragon » June 14th, 2018, 12:59 am

^^^ In other words, "we too MC lazy and clueless as a government to diversify", but hey oil and gas will never run out, and renewables aren't racing away at a pace right?

Postby RedVEVO » June 14th, 2018, 3:38 am

De Dragon wrote:^^^ In other words, "we too MC lazy and clueless as a government to diversify", but hey oil and gas will never run out, and renewables aren't racing away at a pace right?

Oil price double since PNM in Power.

But no Power to the people :roll:

3 years and nothing - but a fish market in Carenage .

Rowlee say it's best in the country , even best in the Caribbean :lol: :lol:

Miktay

Postby Miktay » June 14th, 2018, 9:32 am

Renewables arent the silver bullet most people think they are...

Postby sMASH » June 14th, 2018, 10:11 am

No, its not. But, it is the direction the world is trending to. Making money is not about do what is best or most sensible, but about selling something that someone wants to buy... and right now, that direction is renewables.

If u don't it would be like making and selling steam engines when the world is moving to ICE's.

Miktay

Postby Miktay » June 14th, 2018, 2:57 pm

sMASH wrote:No, its not. But, it is the direction the world is trending to. Making money is not about do what is best or most sensible, but about selling something that someone wants to buy... and right now, that direction is renewables.

If u don't it would be like making and selling steam engines when the world is moving to ICE's.

IOW Go along to get along.

No tanks.

Postby hydroep » June 29th, 2018, 12:44 pm

The oil market is on fire once again. On Thursday, crude spiked above $74 a barrel for the first time since late 2014.

Major Factors:

*Canadian oil disruption.
*Fall in Venezuelan and Libyan oil production.
*US Crackdown on Iran.
*Saudi Arabia increased output but has no spare capacity.
*Limits to North American output growth.

http://money.cnn.com/2018/06/28/investing/oil-prices-trump-iran-opec/index.html

Postby The_Honourable » June 30th, 2018, 10:33 am

There is a need to diversify the non-energy sector.

That's the call of experts at the Trinidad and Tobago group of professional associations annual breakfast which was held today.

Stakeholders in the tourism, agriculture and renewable energy sectors all called for more to be done to help the sectors grow to their full potential.

Postby adnj » July 2nd, 2018, 9:50 am

sMASH wrote:No, its not. But, it is the direction the world is trending to. Making money is not about do what is best or most sensible, but about selling something that someone wants to buy... and right now, that direction is renewables.

Renewable energy: solar elelctrical panels and water heating

Manufacturing: processed foods, plastics and aluminum

Services: cyber security, banking and finance, elder care, conventions and tourism

Transportation: transfer shipping, dry dock services

Miktay

Postby Miktay » July 2nd, 2018, 11:11 am

adnj wrote:

Renewable energy: solar elelctrical panels and water heating

Manufacturing: processed foods, plastics and aluminum

Services: cyber security, banking and finance, elder care, conventions and tourism

Transportation: transfer shipping, dry dock services

The lifecycle cost of solar power iz very high.

Postby The_Honourable » July 5th, 2018, 11:46 pm

talk talk and more talk...

Minister of Trade and Industry, Paula Gopee-Scoon, has challenged the private sector to recalibrate and maximise their contribution to this country's economic diversification thrust.

Addressing the Opening Ceremony of the Trinidad and Tobago Manufacturers' Association's Trade and Investment Convention at the Centre of Excellence in Macoya, Minister Gopee-Scoon said further development must include greater contributions by the private sector.

She encouraged the private sector to further promote efficiency, productivity, and innovation within the country.

Miktay

Postby Miktay » July 6th, 2018, 9:18 am

Well at least she on the right track...

Gubbament has a very poor record of diversification.

Postby The_Honourable » October 4th, 2018, 4:28 pm

Trinidad and Tobago must look beyond agriculture to diversify the economy. This, from Prime Minister Dr. Keith Rowley, as he spoke at the Project Launch for Alutech at the InTech Park in Tamana.

The construction of the Alutech facility was on hold for eight years. Dr. Rowley said this country should not be so heavily dependent on oil and gas and should develop a more varied diet of activity and exports.

Numb3r4

Postby Numb3r4 » October 4th, 2018, 10:54 pm

Diversification! Oil prices falling!

Yes...but what about gas prices?

Postby hydroep » January 23rd, 2019, 9:25 pm

Oil prices jumped to $ 52.00 a barrel in reaction to the Venezuela situation...

Break in US-Venezuela relations raises fresh concerns for oil market and OPEC
Tom DiChristopher

A sudden escalation in long-burning tensions between the United States and Venezuela could have far-reaching ramifications in the oil market, where the Bolivarian Republic remains a significant player despite its plunging output.

On Wednesday, the Trump administration announced it would back Venezuelan National Assembly leader Juan Guaido, who declared himself the country’s interim president earlier in the day. Shortly after President Donald Trump recognized Guaido, Venezuelan President Nicolas Maduro severed relations with the United States and gave U.S. diplomatic personnel 72 hours to leave the country.

The latest development raises the prospect that the United States will expand sanctions to U.S.-Venezuelan energy trade, a move that would be potentially devastating to Venezuela. The nation has seen its oil production crater in recent years, depriving the socialist republic of its lifeblood energy revenue and exacerbating a devastating economic crisis.

But the consequences could also ripple throughout the broader oil market and complicate OPEC’s relationship with the United States.

RBC Capital Markets is already forecasting an additional drop of 300,000 to 500,00 barrels a day from Venezuela in 2019. If the Trump administration pulls the trigger on energy sanctions, those declines could balloon to several hundred thousand more barrels, says Helima Croft, global head of commodity strategy at RBC.

The Trump administration has already slapped sanctions on Venezuela but has so far declined to block imports of Venezuelan crude to the United States. It has also held off on blocking exports of U.S.-origin diluents, which Venezuela needs to dilute its heavy oil. Those sanctions faced opposition from Republican lawmakers representing Gulf Coast states, where refineries process heavy crude into fuels.

The sanctions could put additional strain on global supplies of certain crude grades. In November, the Trump administration restored sanctions on Iran, a significant source of medium sour crude. Sanctions against Venezuelan crude would mean the U.S. is restricting flows from “two OPEC countries with barrels that are not easy to replace,” says Croft.

“This lower oil price environment may give Trump more cushion to implement these sanctions,” Croft said. “If this were back in October when oil prices were much higher, he may have punted on such a move.”

Trump’s recognition of Guaido as Venezuela’s leader appears to be a starting point, says Risa Grais-Targow, director for Latin America at risk consultancy Eurasia Group. She says Washington may be holding out the threat of sanctions to see how Maduro responds.

If the Venezuelan strongman’s regime arrests Guaido, Washington would likely respond with sanctions, though Grais-Targow thinks the White House may take a phased approach.

“They have a lot of tools in their toolkit. I don’t think they’ll go straight to an oil import ban,” she said. “The first move, if they go in that direction, would be a ban on the sale of diluents to Venezuela.”

That would nevertheless be a significant setback for cash-strapped Caracas. Venezuela gets about half of its diluents from the United States and often secures supplies through crude oil swaps, according to Grais-Targow.

Losing access to U.S. diluents would force Venezuela to source them from elsewhere, potentially requiring transactions in cash, a resource that is scarce in Venezuela, according to Grais-Targow.

“Their dollars are very strained. This would add to this,” she said. “If they can’t get those diluents, they can’t export.”

Another consideration is whether Washington freezes the Venezuelan leadership’s assets or alters the U.S.-Venezuela commercial relationship in other ways, Grais-Targow notes. That could mean designating the Guaido government as the legitimate steward of Venezuela’s assets, including U.S. refineries owned by Citgo, the refining subsidiary of state-owned energy company Petróleos de Venezuela.

The row also has potential implications for OPEC. Venezuela holds the group’s rotating presidency this year, which means the nation’s oil minister and PDVSA president Manuel Quevedo is OPEC’s sitting president for 2019.

Quevedo is a major general in Venezuela’s National Guard. In 2014, Sen. Marco Rubio included Quevedo in a list of Venezuelan officials that he said should face sanctions for human rights violations following a crackdown on protesters.

“If he is added to the U.S. sanctions list, that will be just one more headache for OPEC in the United States, where they’re already facing potential NOPEC legislation,” said Croft.

The No Oil Producing and Exporting Cartels Act, or NOPEC, is a congressional bill that seeks to apply U.S. antitrust laws to OPEC to prevent the group from coordinating production to influence oil prices.

https://www.cnbc.com/2019/01/23/break-in-us-venezuela-relations-raises-fresh-concerns-for-oil-market.html

Postby The_Honourable » March 8th, 2020, 8:01 pm

OPEC deal collapse sparks price war: ‘$20 oil in 2020 is coming’

Experts are calling dramatically lower crude prices as major OPEC and non-OPEC producers prepare for an all-out price war, in a sudden U-turn from previous attempts to support the oil market as the new coronavirus hammers global demand.

″$20 oil in 2020 is coming,” Ali Khedery, formerly Exxon’s senior Middle East advisor and now CEO of U.S.-based strategy firm Dragoman Ventures, wrote Sunday on Twitter. “Huge geopolitical implications. Timely stimulus for net consumers. Catastrophic for failed/failing petro-kleptocracies Iraq, Iran, etc - may prove existential 1-2 punch when paired with COVID19.”

The comment came as oil prices are down 30% for the year and a day after Saudi Arabia announced massive discounts to its official selling prices for April. Plunging price forecasts are also coming amid reports of a possible increase in production by the OPEC kingpin from its current 9.7 million barrels per day (bpd) to more than 10 million bpd.

With previously agreed OPEC+ production cuts expiring at the end of March, Saudi Arabia can theoretically pump as much as it wants — up to its capacity of 12.5 million bpd. And Russian Energy Minister Alexander Novak said Friday that essentially the wheels come off next month: “As from 1 April we are starting to work without minding the quotas or reductions which were in place earlier,” he told reporters at the OPEC+ meeting in Vienna, adding, “but this does not mean that each country would not monitor and analyze market developments.”

“Members look now to be preparing for a price war by announcing plans to actually increase output,” wrote Edward Bell, commodities analyst at Emirates NBD, in an analyst note Sunday. “The outcome is an astonishing reversal of what appeared to be a pending production cut to compensate for the decline in demand caused by the Covid19 (coronavirus) outbreak.”

International and U.S. oil benchmarks plummeted to multiyear lows on Friday, with Brent crude closing at $45.27, down more than 9%, while U.S. West Texas Intermediate sank more than 10% lower to $41.28, its lowest level since 2016.

More: https://www.cnbc.com/2020/03/08/opec-de ... oming.html

Postby pugboy » March 8th, 2020, 8:19 pm

np and unipet will be instructed to reduce prices of gasoline with immediate effect
diesel not affected as it is subsidized

Postby sMASH » March 8th, 2020, 8:32 pm

pugboy wrote:np and unipet will be instructed to reduce prices of gasoline with immediate effect
diesel not affected as it is subsidized

*laughs in clown*

Postby paid_influencer » March 8th, 2020, 8:38 pm

world economy crash in 3....2...1

PNM answer will be to raise taxes even more :drinking:

Postby zoom rader » March 8th, 2020, 9:19 pm

paid_influencer wrote:world economy crash in 3....2...1

PNM answer will be to raise taxes even more :drinking:
No

The PNM prime Minster went Ghana to learn how to plant yam

Postby sMASH » March 9th, 2020, 1:19 am

wait nah, crude oil price low??? lets buy up and refine like madd
... ohwait....

Postby rspann » March 9th, 2020, 7:02 am

Why go through all that when we could tax the last drop of blood from citizens? OPT. Customs duties , property tax etc.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » March 9th, 2020, 7:04 am

Reading this morning that this coronavirus will add to even lower prices

Postby rspann » March 9th, 2020, 7:09 am

Why all the worry , we going to sell yam just now.

Postby zoom rader » March 9th, 2020, 7:16 am

rspann wrote:Why all the worry , we going to sell yam just now.

No PNM person not planting no Yam, dem don't know about farming

Postby Redman » March 9th, 2020, 7:25 am

Once again the markets price in the end of the world as we know it.
Probably a great buy in opportunity

Postby teems1 » March 9th, 2020, 7:30 am

Could just buy and store.

It's not like it spoils.
sMASH wrote:wait nah, crude oil price low??? lets buy up and refine like madd
... ohwait....

Postby hydroep » March 9th, 2020, 7:51 am

Doh worry, T&T is a Gas Based economy. Oh wait...

https://www.nasdaq.com/market-activity/commodities/ng%3Anmx?timeframe=6y

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » March 9th, 2020, 8:07 am

Saudi did this before in 85/86 and oil dropped to at least 9usd per barrel. Very interesting to see how long they keep this up for(which can be very long because their foreign reserves are ridiculous)

Our economy on the other hand could end up being very shaky. Imballs may end up having to choose between

IMF
HSF
BORROWING

Nigeria has an economic structure similar to ours and they have adjusted their budget allocation. I await an announcement from the guavament wrt this matter

Postby zoom rader » March 9th, 2020, 8:09 am

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:Saudi did this before in 85/86 and oil dropped to at least 9usd per barrel. Very interesting to see how long they keep this up for(which can be very long because their foreign reserves are ridiculous)

Our economy on the other hand could end up being very shaky. Imballs may end up having to choose between

IMF
HSF
BORROWING

Nigeria has an economic structure similar to ours and they have adjusted their budget allocation. I await an announcement from the guavament wrt this matter
We are always shaky under PNM bro