Official 2NR | GT 5| Thread

Re: Official | Gran Turismo 5 |Thread| Redbull X1 Giveaways

Postby wagon r » January 17th, 2011, 11:42 pm

understand yuh logic....but the 4wd will also benefit from the TCS being on...so no one really loses out....and it's really for cars 500hp and over.

...which on the 'ring....needed.

[N7]Talon

Postby [N7]Talon » January 18th, 2011, 6:19 am

Traction control from what I've seen in career is just throttle control, and this can be done in a number of ways. 1 - If you can, use only about 10 - 20% of throttle through corners. 2 - Lightly tap throttle through the corners if you can't maintain 10 - 20% usage. 3 - Short shifting helps alot coming out of corners if a car is really energetic. My point is this, TC is the most beneficial driving aid and hence dulls the true driving experience. Besides, who in their right mind wants to not have 100% access to their throttle at all times? It kills in race speed drifts, power overs etc, and honestly, these maneuvers are simply just faster than the standard way of approaching a corner sometimes(at the cost of some tyre ofc :D)

Back on Topic for a brief moment.

Who wanna send me ah X1? I hearing myths and legends about dis ting speed.

DJ Q

Postby DJ Q » January 18th, 2011, 8:07 am

^not a myth.

It did 3.19 on the ring

Postby noshownogo » January 18th, 2011, 8:17 am

:shock: 3:19 yuh sayin, will take a try at that...

Postby wagon r » January 18th, 2011, 8:20 am

[N7]Talon wrote:Traction control from what I've seen in career is just throttle control, and this can be done in a number of ways. 1 - If you can, use only about 10 - 20% of throttle through corners. 2 - Lightly tap throttle through the corners if you can't maintain 10 - 20% usage. 3 - Short shifting helps alot coming out of corners if a car is really energetic. My point is this, TC is the most beneficial driving aid and hence dulls the true driving experience. Besides, who in their right mind wants to not have 100% access to their throttle at all times? It kills in race speed drifts, power overs etc, and honestly, these maneuvers are simply just faster than the standard way of approaching a corner sometimes(at the cost of some tyre ofc :D)

...all good points....but we see when yuh try to run online with dese fellas here.

DJ Q

Postby DJ Q » January 18th, 2011, 8:36 am

noshownogo wrote::shock: 3:19 yuh sayin, will take a try at that...

No way in hell I can do this

[N7]Talon

Postby [N7]Talon » January 18th, 2011, 8:57 am

wagon r wrote:
[N7]Talon wrote:Traction control from what I've seen in career is just throttle control, and this can be done in a number of ways. 1 - If you can, use only about 10 - 20% of throttle through corners. 2 - Lightly tap throttle through the corners if you can't maintain 10 - 20% usage. 3 - Short shifting helps alot coming out of corners if a car is really energetic. My point is this, TC is the most beneficial driving aid and hence dulls the true driving experience. Besides, who in their right mind wants to not have 100% access to their throttle at all times? It kills in race speed drifts, power overs etc, and honestly, these maneuvers are simply just faster than the standard way of approaching a corner sometimes(at the cost of some tyre ofc :D)

...all good points....but we see when yuh try to run online with dese fellas here.

oh I saw, honestly felt I was in ah smash bros sometimes.

Postby wagon r » January 18th, 2011, 9:45 am

yeah dat can happen sometimes....it all depends on who racin at the time and the power being used.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » January 18th, 2011, 9:50 am

wagon r wrote:understand yuh logic....but the 4wd will also benefit from the TCS being on...so no one really loses out....and it's really for cars 500hp and over.

...which on the 'ring....needed.
nuh really Gerry, when I put on TCS on the AWD cars in GT5 you cant slide them and the end up just slowing down or understeering

Postby honda hoe » January 18th, 2011, 10:03 am

noshownogo wrote::shock: 3:19 yuh sayin, will take a try at that...

wdmc :faint:

Tsuchiya

Postby Tsuchiya » January 18th, 2011, 10:52 am

wagon r wrote:biz....we hadda hunt for a new underdog killa car.....the secret is out.

yeah...but is 1 thing to drive it and 1 thing to tune it....ent 4eva in-de-back? :lol:

but i find a contestant, had a hard test run last nite wit Rensh and some other guy...and was 40hp under the limit and with the stock box and was harassin them on trial mountain.
Its our fav orange touge champ :twisted:

i gone to run wit my caterham cuz Rensh set the hp limit at 207. Jump in, cyah get in...weight restrictions. so i thinking how much weight i under by, maybe if i bought another stock 1.
min weight 840kg....caterham weight 380kg :lol: :lol: :lol: megee

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » January 18th, 2011, 1:22 pm

^ 380kg? dais potato you talking about there?

Postby wagon r » January 18th, 2011, 1:50 pm

Bizkit.....i thought of a few more....but we'll talk about that later....ah feel i going to buy groceries later though.....see how far i could get.

Postby pete » January 18th, 2011, 5:59 pm

When I tried the X1 on the ring I did it in 4:56 and wasn't a clean lap. To do that almost two minutes faster is really insane. Maybe with a wheel it might be a little easier cuz you can control the steering more precisely.

And my suzuki GSXR-4 is another light car that even with 270hp cud do a lap of tsukuba in 53 seconds.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » January 18th, 2011, 6:13 pm

looking at this vid you can see how close they got Suzuka in GT5

iDynamic

Postby iDynamic » January 18th, 2011, 6:28 pm

fellas since iim a bit busy trying different methods of ps3 hacking could all those who currently have redbull x1's continue sharing it with the tuners since there are tuners out here still requesting , ill do what i can when i get a chance to come back on but for now it will be good to share to those that want it.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » January 18th, 2011, 7:19 pm

^ sending one to Devi tonight

Postby pete » January 18th, 2011, 7:53 pm

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:looking at this vid you can see how close they got Suzuka in GT5

Man, someone posted a video of a S2K driving around the nurburgring and it is EXACTLY how it looks in the game.

ShIvAm

Postby ShIvAm » January 18th, 2011, 9:20 pm

^^ i was a bit confused as to whether it was the game or reality!

i have the X1 if anybody want...

Postby tr1ad » January 18th, 2011, 9:54 pm

run some money and cars.... yea i get lazy... first time i play in weeks

xauss

Postby xauss » January 19th, 2011, 10:44 am

Fellas las night's races were great...I really enjoyed the variety of cars, tracks and weather conditions that were set up. I had a chance to really see how much a properly tuned car can pay off when I took my NSX round for a few races...she's only got 388hp...so engine-wise bone stock except for better breathing...took off all the assists too...and I approached this tune from the perspective of building a machine for pure and utter handling performance...and boy oh boy was I pleased with the result! She more than held her own against machines that were built with lots more hp and AWD to boot!

I think I'll stick to this philosophy in tuning; make a car as good as it can possibly be without going the route of simply bolting on tons of [clarkson] POWERRRRRRR!!!! [/clarkson]. I think it would be worth the while for tuners to go back to the drawing board and re-think their approach to tuning their cars...it could prove to be very rewarding.

BTW the Mitsubishi iMieV makes the most ANNOYING HIGH PITCHED SOUND I HAVE EVER HEARD!!

I finally messed around with the Photo mode....here's what I came up with:
Mazda Raceway Laguna Seca.jpg
Toscana.jpg
Eiger Nordwand Short Track.jpg
Nürburgring 24h.jpg
Kyoto - Shoren-in.jpg

Postby 16 cycles » January 19th, 2011, 11:40 am

there's a seasonal event online requiring AWD and <398whp. - tokyo mountain track time attack

someone posted a 1.26 -

my best is 1.43 with 384whp

i figure i'm alot over the min weight....but how much to shave >15 secs off !!!

people out there insane yes

Postby wagon r » January 19th, 2011, 1:39 pm

^ no, just some take the game to another level.

Postby pete » January 19th, 2011, 4:12 pm

I think I did 1:37 with my evo and was like.. wtf 10 seconds faster?!

Postby 16 cycles » January 19th, 2011, 4:27 pm

^ understand !!!

gonna try race soft tyres soon and lighten up the body...sigh...need credits

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » January 19th, 2011, 4:37 pm

somebody send me an Opera S2000 pleeeaaassseee!!!!

Postby tr1ad » January 19th, 2011, 4:39 pm

ah wha a bull

Postby pete » January 19th, 2011, 4:47 pm

16 cycles wrote:^ understand !!!

gonna try race soft tyres soon and lighten up the body...sigh...need credits

You need to use comfort tyres

[N7]Talon

Postby [N7]Talon » January 19th, 2011, 5:50 pm

[ WuH TiMe So AlYuH MeN DoEs StArT ThE SwEaT ?? ]
Last edited by [N7]Talon on January 19th, 2011, 6:05 pm, edited 1 time in total.

4everstock

Postby 4everstock » January 19th, 2011, 5:53 pm

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:somebody send me an Opera S2000 pleeeaaassseee!!!!

if you don't get it by tomorrow, I can send it for you......used my gift thing for the day already