PC Tech/Gaming Info Thread

xaira

Re: PC Tech/Gaming Info Thread

Postby xaira » October 27th, 2010, 9:19 pm

personally even as an amd fan, i find the gtx 460 is the most attractive fermi derivitive, descent performance numbers and a real attempt by nvidia to keep the tdp/power consumption down

Postby M_2NR » October 27th, 2010, 9:27 pm

Chiney wrote:srry if i dont find the gtx 460 a nice card....

on the other hand..
like yuhself M2nr

i cant be any happier... EE GPU and i can throw this in a new system today and still run everything 1080p with excellent frames AND lifetime warranty and support from evga... this card is bess! considering im still a student. :lol: :lol:

plus i needed sumn fass and its dx11 8)

Postby Ronaldo95163 » October 27th, 2010, 9:39 pm

Yup The 460 is pretty cool. Actually i was looking at the 260 core 216 but then when i looked at the 460 1GB which was the same price i realized that it's faster, has more bandwidth, its GDDR5 and uses less power also its a DX11 card where as the 260 is only DX10, GDDR3 and uses more power and much more longer but supports 3 way sli where was the 460 can only do 2 way sli but thats not a problem for me though

Chiney

Postby Chiney » October 27th, 2010, 10:25 pm

ah hear allyuh
but my eye on d gts 450

for d price..it wokin!

Virus

Postby Virus » October 28th, 2010, 5:17 am

Tried out the 3d discover last nite and one word epic as a person who has both types of 3d i must admit for the hardware required its a shame most of you dont do it yet its really a different look on gaming especially when playing games like Just Cause 2 and Mafia

Postby Ronaldo95163 » October 28th, 2010, 5:29 am

Chiney wrote:ah hear allyuh
but my eye on d gts 450

for d price..it wokin!

i was planning on using that for physX rofl

Chiney

Postby Chiney » October 28th, 2010, 8:28 am

^^ overkill there
a gts250 is perfect for that

i have enough power to let physx run off some of the 480 power

searchingone

Postby searchingone » October 28th, 2010, 8:40 am

some advice needed...

which of these do you think the better buy?

Core i3-530 or Core i5-650

please copy and paste this entire link to view the comparison...the link keeps breaking when i do it normally...

Code: Select all

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Productcompare.aspx?Submit=ENE&N=100006519%2050001157%2040000343%20600005864&IsNodeId=1&bop=And&CompareItemList=343|19-115-222^19-115-222-TS%2C19-115-220^19-115-220-TS

please note that for me, there is a price difference of TT$640 :|

from the specs though i don't see much difference.....so a little insight would be helpful.
thanks.

xaira

Postby xaira » October 28th, 2010, 10:03 am

searchingone, the i5 is that much more expensive because it has a higher colck and also because it features turbo boost which automatically overclocks the cpu under load situations, i actually have a quite attractive combo if i may say so myself, you get the i3 540, a very attractive board and 4 gigs of ddr3 much cheaper than u would if u had to bring it down

viewtopic.php?f=11&t=333342

a comparison of the 540 and the 650

http://www.anandtech.com/bench/Product/143?vs=144

Chiney

Postby Chiney » October 28th, 2010, 10:15 am

i wuda hold out and get the i5 instead bro...check those out!

Postby bushwakka » October 28th, 2010, 10:17 am

^x2....

searchingone

Postby searchingone » October 28th, 2010, 10:22 am

thanks, xaira

what price you have the 540 for?

searchingone

Postby searchingone » October 28th, 2010, 10:48 am

Chiney wrote:i wuda hold out and get the i5 instead bro...check those out!

why? from the comparison they look very similar. the speed difference is that much noticeable? it worth the extra $600? :(

Chiney

Postby Chiney » October 28th, 2010, 11:41 am

to me..yes
to u ..i dont kno
tell me
wat are u intentions and wat do u play to accomplish after the build ? or with the build?

searchingone

Postby searchingone » October 28th, 2010, 12:06 pm

for autocad use, with a bit of 3d and rendering (but not too heavy)
not too heavy on gaming but should be able to run PES well....but i know that depends on the gpu so dais a different issue.

Virus

Postby Virus » October 28th, 2010, 12:39 pm

searchingone wrote:for autocad use, with a bit of 3d and rendering (but not too heavy)
not too heavy on gaming but should be able to run PES well....but i know that depends on the gpu so dais a different issue.

Well sir you answer your own question already :D also chiney why not let the cpu do your phy..... that also work well if you choose not to go another card

searchingone

Postby searchingone » October 28th, 2010, 1:09 pm

Virus wrote:
searchingone wrote:for autocad use, with a bit of 3d and rendering (but not too heavy)

Well sir you answer your own question already :D also chiney why not let the cpu do your phy..... that also work well if you choose not to go another card

eh? what you mean is I could use either the i3 or i5 and get good performance providing i have a good gpu? right? .....that $640 difference kinda heavy :oops:

Virus

Postby Virus » October 28th, 2010, 3:00 pm

Chiney wrote:i wuda hold out and get the i5 instead bro...check those out!

Thats my answer bro, i agree fully with chiney since the performance is difference and judging by what you have in mind i would say spend the extra

searchingone

Postby searchingone » October 28th, 2010, 3:11 pm

thanks!

Postby M_2NR » October 28th, 2010, 3:35 pm

get RAM too... lots of it *lots meaning 8GB* and fast as well... You could spend some of that money on an SSD. You will love yourself with that SSD and your applications... Note; not gaming aspect but CAD and 3D. A good gpu should back u up too for the rendering..

Chiney

Postby Chiney » October 28th, 2010, 9:07 pm

yep..m2nr is right

yeh virus..no cpu on physx..why? i have enough gpu power to share around..heck..1 480 is enough..anything more than 2 480s is jus e-penis and dumb thinking...really....

Postby Ronaldo95163 » October 28th, 2010, 9:43 pm

Can someone please tell me what is

e-pen....

jeevdude199

Postby jeevdude199 » October 28th, 2010, 9:50 pm

looking for a good budget case mid range help me out nah

Chiney

Postby Chiney » October 28th, 2010, 9:52 pm

check PRW Enterprises
they got some cool coolermaster mids gaming towers for nice prices!!

Chiney

Postby Chiney » October 28th, 2010, 9:53 pm

ROFL @ gracen

how old are u by chance bro?

e-penis is electronic penis..like email... it means ppl feel the power gpu power they have.the bigger there e-penis is...

Postby Ronaldo95163 » October 28th, 2010, 9:54 pm

Get the Sniper lol

Postby Ronaldo95163 » October 28th, 2010, 9:56 pm

Chiney wrote:ROFL @ gracen

how old are u by chance bro?

e-penis is electronic penis..like email... it means ppl feel the power gpu power they have.the bigger there e-penis is...

ohhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh rofl

im actually 5 lol

searchingone

Postby searchingone » October 28th, 2010, 10:10 pm

M_2NR wrote:get RAM too... lots of it *lots meaning 8GB* and fast as well... You could spend some of that money on an SSD. You will love yourself with that SSD and your applications... Note; not gaming aspect but CAD and 3D. A good gpu should back u up too for the rendering..

thanks for the advice...but not quite ready for ssd....this system isn't for me alone...when i build my own, i want it all lol

Postby Ronaldo95163 » October 28th, 2010, 10:16 pm

nice case pios