*** THE OFFICIAL HOME THEATER & AUDIO THREAD**

Re: *** THE OFFICIAL HOME THEATER & AUDIO THREAD**

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » November 23rd, 2010, 5:48 pm

ru$$ell wrote:Just listening to my Old Quintet II's comparing them to the RF's,i dunno how you said it was hard to tell the difference chiney from the SL5's.To me its obviously different,and i'm guessin with the 82's it would be night and day.
I would expect it would be night and day

the SL are known to be too bright which is not too good for audiophile grade speakers.

I often wonder about changing my SLs for floor standers, but I hardly listen to music other than the occasional 10 minute audition, so I am not sure how much of a difference the 42's or even the 82's would for movie watching

anyone willing to lend? :lol:

ru$$ell

Postby ru$$ell » November 23rd, 2010, 5:52 pm

^you have black hawk down blu ray? (i'm a sellout for this movie)

would let you demo my 52's if you want

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » November 23rd, 2010, 5:56 pm

^ I have it on original DVD, I hadda get that and Swordfish on bluray

I have Master and Commander on bluray

Postby M_2NR » November 23rd, 2010, 6:18 pm

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:^ it all depends on the video scaler that is in the device

there are alot of cheap devices that scale SD to HD, however the quality will depend on the ability of the scaler

In better devices scalers are often paired with video processors to improve definition.
Remember scaling 480i to 1080p doesn't automatically mean its going to look better, it is just making the crappy image larger which usually results in it being crappier (larger crap)
"garbage in, garbage out" unless there is a good processor that is deinterlacing, correcting the aspect ratio, improving the colour space, edge and detail enhancement etc etc etc

Good processors are Anchor Bay, Faroujda, HQV Reon among others that have scalers and processors in one.

Most good quality A/V receivers have these powerful scalers and processors built in, so all you do is plug your FLOW box into the receiver and it looks great!

read more here
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Video_scaler

thanks D!

i think i'll stay away from that item cuz im sure it will look like garbage. But i know for sure it will be useful for people who just want a converter from Comp RCA to HDMI. My padna was actually looking for one. I too as well for a PS2 but that disappeared and my padna ended up getting something else.

RapToR
Location: Wholesaler & Reseller --- FREE Delivery<--Almost Anywhere!

Postby RapToR » November 23rd, 2010, 7:44 pm

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:^ I have it on original DVD, I hadda get that and Swordfish on bluray

I have Master and Commander on bluray

Swordfish (Blu-Ray) - $120.00

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » November 23rd, 2010, 7:51 pm

M_2NR wrote:

there are alot of cheap devices that scale SD to HD, however the quality will depend on the ability of the scaler

In better devices scalers are often paired with video processors to improve definition.
Remember scaling 480i to 1080p doesn't automatically mean its going to look better, it is just making the crappy image larger which usually results in it being crappier (larger crap)
"garbage in, garbage out" unless there is a good processor that is deinterlacing, correcting the aspect ratio, improving the colour space, edge and detail enhancement etc etc etc

Good processors are Anchor Bay, Faroujda, HQV Reon among others that have scalers and processors in one.

Most good quality A/V receivers have these powerful scalers and processors built in, so all you do is plug your FLOW box into the receiver and it looks great!

read more here

thanks D!

i think i'll stay away from that item cuz im sure it will look like garbage. But i know for sure it will be useful for people who just want a converter from Comp RCA to HDMI. My padna was actually looking for one. I too as well for a PS2 but that disappeared and my padna ended up getting something else.
the thing is most HDTV's have scalers built in and most newer ones have good processors built in. Newwer HDTVs will have better scalers and processors than you might get with these cheaper converter boxes.

If you feed the TV an HDMI source it wont process or scale it because it would think that HDMI source would be digital and HD already. It would usually only scale or process an analog signal via the Svideo, component or composite inputs.

SO getting a crappy box to do the scaling for you might be worst than letting your TV do its thing with the composite VIDEO IN that it gets from the cable box or PS2. :idea:

Chiney

Postby Chiney » November 23rd, 2010, 10:54 pm

ru$$ell wrote:Just listening to my Old Quintet II's comparing them to the RF's,i dunno how you said it was hard to tell the difference chiney from the SL5's.To me its obviously different,and i'm guessin with the 82's it would be night and day.
I would expect it would be night and day

the SL are known to be too bright which is not too good for audiophile grade speakers.

I often wonder about changing my SLs for floor standers, but I hardly listen to music other than the occasional 10 minute audition, so I am not sure how much of a difference the 42's or even the 82's would for movie watching

anyone willing to lend? :lol:

for movies it is not NIGHT and DAY

for music..it sure is.....

dead serious...

Postby M_2NR » November 24th, 2010, 12:19 am

M_2NR wrote:

read more here

thanks D!

the thing is most HDTV's have scalers built in and most newer ones have good processors built in. Newwer HDTVs will have better scalers and processors than you might get with these cheaper converter boxes.

If you feed the TV an HDMI source it wont process or scale it because it would think that HDMI source would be digital and HD already. It would usually only scale or process an analog signal via the Svideo, component or composite inputs.

SO getting a crappy box to do the scaling for you might be worst than letting your TV do its thing with the composite VIDEO IN that it gets from the cable box or PS2. :idea:

Our TV is a 32" series 4 Samsung 720p right now :lol: i think my monitor is better than d TV (P2570HD) but i didnt look at it that way too! thanks for the flip side.
For the PS2 that was for my older monitor that didnt have component or composite.

Don't even tell me to get a new LCD eh... pops is /very/ happy with this TV >_>
(he was not listening to me at all when he bought it)

i have some/alot of saving to do.

Postby crazybalhead » November 24th, 2010, 6:57 am

Sigh Paradigms on the way out. 11 years yes. Suggestions?

Postby 16 cycles » November 24th, 2010, 7:13 am

^ new paradigms?

klipsch / psb / polk audio make some decent alternatives...

for AVR's - this seems to be interesting

http://usa.denon.com/US/Product/Pages/P ... 33894bf87f

Postby crazybalhead » November 24th, 2010, 7:19 am

Can't get new paradigms in Trinidad. Willing to pay to get them imported, but they are a funny company, no internet sales, no phone sales. The nearest dealer is in Venezuela.

Was thinking PSB's

ru$$ell

Postby ru$$ell » November 24th, 2010, 10:09 am

^you can ebay paradigm as well.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » November 24th, 2010, 10:19 am

^^ how about Definitive Technology?

Postby crazybalhead » November 24th, 2010, 10:20 am

That may be outside meh budget. And I've been looking at reviews, they seem more geared towards HT rather than music reproduction.

Thinking about it though.

Postby crazybalhead » November 24th, 2010, 10:21 am

Anybody actually owns a pair of PSB alphas and willing to do a review???

Postby 16 cycles » November 24th, 2010, 10:26 am

stratus mini - no alphas...sorry

Postby crazybalhead » November 24th, 2010, 10:30 am

Review it for me nah man!!

Postby 16 cycles » November 24th, 2010, 10:47 am

hmmm...aight....

using chris botti live in boston (blue ray), a couple cd;s from the telarc label and a few blue ray movies...

system- ps3
amp - acurus
2.1 psb/velo 18

the psb's are definitely tailored for music listening. They have a remarkable clarity to them and have a good range on their own for music.

in comparison with two other models from polk audio - shelf and towers - the psb rose just slightly above both wrt music - the polk towers being preferred for movies.

had moved the psb's out of a room - extended the room and placed the polk towers thinking that it might better suit the increased space...after listening to the towers for a while - the psbs were still preferred for music listening...

system in the extended room - parasound amp and preamp off of denon / nak head unit cd

i dunno if i help or confuse you here....if you have questions...holler

the amp / speaker combo was detectable with the acurus being a little brighter and the parasound slighty warmer but both superb for the price

Postby crazybalhead » November 24th, 2010, 11:02 am

Not confused. Very interesting.

idlemind

Postby idlemind » November 27th, 2010, 10:19 pm

Anyone have any experience purchasing a Plasma/LCD tv from Courts?

Main reason is for Courts 3mth/cash price plan.

Can anyone please advise if I should stay away OR if Courts 1yr/2yr warranty is any good

Thanks...

idlemind

Postby idlemind » November 28th, 2010, 12:39 am

decided not to go thru due to warranty stress if anything happens...

RapToR
Location: Wholesaler & Reseller --- FREE Delivery<--Almost Anywhere!

Postby RapToR » November 28th, 2010, 10:27 am

idlemind wrote:decided not to go thru due to warranty stress if anything happens...

samsung ftw !

biggy82

Postby biggy82 » November 28th, 2010, 2:32 pm

RapToR wrote:
idlemind wrote:decided not to go thru due to warranty stress if anything happens...

samsung ftw !

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » November 28th, 2010, 9:55 pm

^ what DLNA server are you using on the PC?

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » November 28th, 2010, 11:04 pm

^ you should be able to set which drives the DLNA server shares

the better solution is to get a DLNA compliant NAS and put all your drives in there.
once its on the network you can access it from your PC or the blu-ray player, or your OS3 or your xbox or even your phone!

Chiney

Postby Chiney » November 29th, 2010, 12:31 am

http://www.amazon.com/Definitive-Techno ... =de_a_smtd

*sigh*

would fit in nice with my klipsch

if only customs wasnt so flecked up

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » November 29th, 2010, 11:02 am

Chiney wrote:http://www.amazon.com/Definitive-Technology-ProSub60-150-watt-Subwoofer/dp/tech-data/B000TD6RIW/ref=de_a_smtd

*sigh*

would fit in nice with my klipsch

if only customs wasnt so flecked up
Good deal, nice speaker!

I woulda go with a Velodyne or Sunfire sub and Definitive LCR and surrounds
If I coulda afford it

doh worry about customs
I brought in my Klipsch Qunitet SL and a Klipsch Sub10, Panamax PM5400, Pioneer VSX 23-THX receiver, 200ft of speaker wire, cables and a Sanus low profile 60" TV mount in a Tropical Shipping barrel along with a 58" Plasma and didnt pay that much to clear it.

It helps if you can get someone in the US to remove all the equipment out of the store boxes and place it in the barrel with bubble wrap and foam. This is a sure sign to customs that you do not plan to sell the items and they are for personal use. :idea:

Chiney

Postby Chiney » November 29th, 2010, 12:00 pm

thats not a bad idea really!

hmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmm

i was planning on the DIY sub..
using an Image Dynamics sub and a bash plate amp.

but time is always the issue..

u got a good idea there though............

Postby crazybalhead » November 29th, 2010, 12:02 pm

Home made SUB FTW. I have a hollywood and a plate amp in a ported box.

Chiney

Postby Chiney » November 29th, 2010, 12:21 pm

^^ do tell!

cuz im studying
if i use the klipsch in the living room... i can try my hand in bringing in the definitive tech towers i want. i know the def.tech 10 sub wud work along very nice with the towers.

and well rears as well.