MG Man wrote:AdamB wrote:MG Man wrote:you stuck in delusion
happy with my delusion.
Delusion = Islam + Allaah as my LORD!!
Trying to figure out what is your motivation here, what are you looking for??
u eh figure it out yet?
MG Man wrote:Hagar was horrible, IMHO
AdamB wrote:MG Man wrote:AdamB wrote:MG Man wrote:you stuck in delusion
happy with my delusion.
u eh figure it out yet?
Doh matter to me, I've done my duty to invite you to Islam. It's all in the hands of GOD now.
MG Man wrote:AdamB wrote:MG Man wrote:AdamB wrote:MG Man wrote:you stuck in delusion
happy with my delusion.
u eh figure it out yet?
Doh matter to me, I've done my duty to invite you to Islam. It's all in the hands of GOD now.
god has no form according to you
AdamB wrote:bluefete wrote:AdamB wrote:
How then can you account for the Catholic Bible having 73 books and the protestant bible 66 books? 73-66=7 books outcast in the latter or 7 books added to the former?
That is a question I have never been able to get a good answer to.
Plus the Ethiopians have their own Bible with a total of 81 books in all.
But, notwithstanding, the basic message is the same in all Bibles.
No where in the bible does it say that the individual books were to be compiled together but it probably SEEMED GOOD TO SOMEONE.
Wonder when was the first time the Quran was put together and called Quran? Never really checked that out.
AdamB wrote:MG Man wrote:AdamB wrote:MG Man wrote:AdamB wrote:happy with my delusion.
u eh figure it out yet?
god has no form according to you
Don't look at how little your sins are but LOOK AT THE MAGNIFICENCE OF THE ONE YOU DISOBEY!!
MG Man wrote:notice how he neatly sidesteps any references made to the fact that there were different versions following the profit's death, and that there wasn't an 'official' version for over a century after he died..........
bit putting that aside, something always puzzled me about a book written by god (via a man), designed to appeal to all men in all ages:
why are there rules in the koran specificaly related to interaction with the prophet? Things like 'when you go to him for his charitable handouts, just take your food and leave, don't waste his important time' etc, why would that be put in the book? Rules only relevant to a few decades while he was alive are no longer relevant....he could have just put signs on his door etc
Why was tuff like that put in the book by god?
MG Man wrote:Chapter 3 'The God Delusion' by Richard Dawkins, Chapter 3
and why not comment on the other part of my post?
MG Man wrote: the fact that there were different versions following the profit's death
AdamB wrote:
The entire Qur'aan was memorized and recited before the prophet's death.
You are all in need of some optimism and some FAITH!! (Dspike included.)
AdamB wrote:Wives are jealous, yes...but Hagar was also his wife, that's what the bible says "he took her AS HIS WIFE."
Now Sarai, Abram's wife, had borne him no children. But she had an Egyptian maidservant named Hagar; so she said to Abram, "The LORD has kept me from having children. Go, sleep with my maidservant; perhaps I can build a family through her." Abram agreed to what Sarai said.
The situation is clear. Sarai is the wife of Abram, and Hagar is the servant of Sarai. It was a middle eastern custom in those times that a wife could give her slave to her husband and the child thus conceived would be counted as the child of the wife ("perhaps I can build a family through her").So after Abram had been living in Canaan ten years, Sarai his wife took her Egyptian maidservant Hagar and gave her to her husband to be his wife. He slept with Hagar, and she conceived. When she knew she was pregnant, she began to despise her mistress. Then Sarai said to Abram, "You are responsible for the wrong I am suffering. I put my servant in your arms, and now that she knows she is pregnant, she despises me. May the LORD judge between you and me." "Your servant is in your hands," Abram said. "Do with her whatever you think best." Then Sarai mistreated Hagar; so she fled from her.
Even after the agreement between Sarai and Abram (v.2), Hagar is still considered her maidservant (v.3). The language is important. It is not Abram who takes Hagar into his tent, but Sarai gives Hagar to Abram. Sarai is in charge. After Abram slept with Hagar and conceived, not only Sarai (v.5) but also Abram still talks about Hagar as Sarai's servant (v.6), not as his (new) wife. Furthermore, the narrator continues to call Sarai "her mistress" (v.4).
The phrase "to be his wife" in verse 3 is merely a euphemism for sexual intercourse. That is clear from the phrase that immediately follows it as well as from the original request (v.2). The context makes it clear that Hagar remained the slave not of Abraham, but of Sarai.
All throughout Genesis we find Sarai addressed as Abraham's wife many times (11:29,31; 12:5,17,18,20; 13:1; 16:1,3; 17:15,19; 18:9,10; 20:2,7,11,12,14,18; 23:3,19) by the narrator, by Abraham, or by God himself. Hagar is never called the wife of Abraham, whether by Abraham, or by Sarah, or by God and only once by the narrator in the above discussed verse 16:3.
The custom referred to in verse 2 is well known in history and for instance in Babylonian law a wife was entitled to get children from her husband through her slave, without any idea that the slave would receive the status of a legal wife. In the Bible the same custom is employed again by Abraham's grandson Jacob with Lea and Rachel, his wives, and their maidservants Bilhah and Zilpah (Gen. 29:31 - 30:23).
According to Qisas Al-Anbiya, a collection of tales about the prophets, Hagar was the daughter of the King of Maghreb, a descendant of the prophet Salih. Her father was killed by Pharaoh Dhu l-'arsh and she was captured and taken as slave. Later, because of her royal blood, she was made mistress of the female slaves and given access to all of Pharaoh's wealth. Upon conversion to Abraham's faith, the Pharaoh gave Hagar to Sarah who gave her to Abraham. In this account, the name "Hagar" (called Hajar in Arabic) comes from Ha ajruka, Arabic for "here is your recompense".
AdamB wrote:There's a conspiracy theory that PAUL and his cohorts hijacked Jesus' religion, so the question is : FOLLOW JESUS OR FOLLOW PAUL?
How then can you account for the Catholic Bible having 73 books and the protestant bible 66 books? 73-66=7 books outcast in the latter or 7 books added to the former?
No where in the bible does it say that the individual books were to be compiled together but it probably SEEMED GOOD TO SOMEONE.
Wonder when was the first time the books were put together and called bible? Never really checked that out.
d spike wrote:AdamB wrote:
Of faith and optimism I have plenty, don't sweat. LOL
What you could sweat about is the scribe of the Prophet I spoke about. Why did the prophet have him murdered?
Bring something factual evidence if you want to continue this line of discussion, please. Who is the scribe (his name) and when was he supposed murdered?AdamB wrote:There's a conspiracy theory that PAUL and his cohorts hijacked Jesus' religion, so the question is : FOLLOW JESUS OR FOLLOW PAUL?
AdamB wrote:
Almost everything that is the religion of Christianity today opposes what Jesus said, preached and taught. It is painfully obvious for those who have "eyes" to see.
quote]
AdamB wrote:d spike wrote:AdamB wrote:
Of faith and optimism I have plenty, don't sweat. LOL
What you could sweat about is the scribe of the Prophet I spoke about. Why did the prophet have him murdered?
Bring something factual evidence if you want to continue this line of discussion, please. Who is the scribe (his name) and when was he supposed murdered?
Wonder when was the first time the books were put together and called bible? Never really checked that out.
d spike wrote:I can appreciate the fervour of the Muslims, where ensuring that their scriptures remain exactly the way they were written, thus maintaining perfect originality of their writings through time.
The bible, however, is quite different in the way it was compiled, the multiplicity of authors of the individual parts (their idiom, personality, and even religious beliefs varied) and the time-span that it covers.
These writings were compiled almost 400 years after Christ's crucifixion, and some of it is made up of even smaller compilations.
The writings that were finally considered for membership in the Christian book club (aka the bible) at that time fell into three categories: protocanonical books (those everybody accepted as scripture), deutercanonical books (those that some accepted and some didn't), and apocrypha (books that weren't seen as scripture - the word is Greek for "writings").
When Luther came along and began his rant, he decided that it was a lot easier to solve the mess the Western Church was in by rejecting the parts of scripture that referred to the issues he had problems with. He ended up throwing some out onto the garbage heap of "not truly inspired" (seven deutercanonical books from the Old Testament and Hebrews, James, Jude, and Revelations from the New Testament) but later Protestants dragged them back inside the house - only the New Testament ones, though.
All these books are generally accepted as scripture by Christians, because of what they speak about (the belief that they contain revealed truth) not because of who wrote them.
AdamB wrote:...but Hagar was also his wife, that's what the bible says "he took her AS HIS WIFE."
d spike wrote:AdamB wrote:There's a conspiracy theory that PAUL and his cohorts hijacked Jesus' religion, so the question is : FOLLOW JESUS OR FOLLOW PAUL?
The FIRST intelligent thing you have said for all your "contributions" (for want of a better word)!!!! Care to go into details? (And state what you know or think - don't quote from one of those cheap anti-Christian pamphlets, eh...)
AdamB wrote:Almost everything that is the religion of Christianity today opposes what Jesus said, preached and taught. It is painfully obvious for those who have "eyes" to see.
AdamB wrote:Dspike,
When yuh done sweat in d bush, sweat the article below:
http://www.islamic-awareness.org/Quran/Sources/Sarh/
d spike wrote:AdamB wrote:...but Hagar was also his wife, that's what the bible says "he took her AS HIS WIFE."
So... have you figured out as yet what that meant?
AdamB wrote:d spike wrote:AdamB wrote:...but Hagar was also his wife, that's what the bible says "he took her AS HIS WIFE."
GENESIS CHAPTER 16 NOW Sarai Abram’s wife bare him no children: and she had an handmaid, an Egyptian, whose name was Hagar.
2 And Sarai said unto Abram, Behold now, the LORD hath restrained me from bearing: I pray thee, go in unto my maid; it may be that I may obtain children by her. And Abram hearkened to the voice of Sarai.
3 And Sarai Abram’s wife took Hagar her maid the Egyptian, after Abram had dwelt ten years in the land of Canaan, and gave her to her husband Abram to be his wife.
My point was that is IS STATED in the Bible that Abraham took Hagar AS HIS WIFE (TO BE HIS WIFE).
You can twist and turn the meaning as you wish (which is what Christians are generally accused of in relation to the wording and meaning of the bible) but the Bible said she was his wife. Whoever says otherwise, is possible accusing a great prophet (Abraham) of illegal sexual intercourse?? Or was it legal / permissible then...BUT NOT NOW??!!!
Also note the statement of Sarai "it may be that I may obtain children by her." Does this not suggest that the children would be legitimate?
megadoc1 wrote:AdamB wrote:d spike wrote:AdamB wrote:...but Hagar was also his wife, that's what the bible says "he took her AS HIS WIFE."
GENESIS CHAPTER 16 NOW Sarai Abram’s wife bare him no children: and she had an handmaid, an Egyptian, whose name was Hagar.
2 And Sarai said unto Abram, Behold now, the LORD hath restrained me from bearing: I pray thee, go in unto my maid; it may be that I may obtain children by her. And Abram hearkened to the voice of Sarai.
3 And Sarai Abram’s wife took Hagar her maid the Egyptian, after Abram had dwelt ten years in the land of Canaan, and gave her to her husband Abram to be his wife.
My point was that is IS STATED in the Bible that Abraham took Hagar AS HIS WIFE (TO BE HIS WIFE).
You can twist and turn the meaning as you wish (which is what Christians are generally accused of in relation to the wording and meaning of the bible) but the Bible said she was his wife. Whoever says otherwise, is possible accusing a great prophet (Abraham) of illegal sexual intercourse?? Or was it legal / permissible then...BUT NOT NOW??!!!
Also note the statement of Sarai "it may be that I may obtain children by her." Does this not suggest that the children would be legitimate?
adam b I know without a doubt that you did not read what d spike wrote At the top of the page!