Re: The GOOGLE | ANDROID Thread

Postby pete » July 2nd, 2014, 5:59 pm

You mean a used one for 1500 there?

Postby Trini Hookah » July 2nd, 2014, 6:04 pm

Small rant, off topic too...passed a green booth this afternoon and a young lady was purchasing a Blu and her sim was already cut (micro), the attendant proceeds to tell her it can't fit in the mini slot, that it would stick and it would be easier to purchase a new sim.

I mean charging $50 on retail stores to cut a sim is one thing, but to give that kinda advice...really? Even those adapters are harder to remove than anything else.

speedist

Postby speedist » July 2nd, 2014, 7:34 pm

Read on the android authority news app that battery life expected to improve by 36% with android L. Definitely my biggest peeve with smartphones right now.......

wheelbarrow

Postby wheelbarrow » July 2nd, 2014, 7:41 pm

LG G3 Mass Giveaway!: http://youtu.be/TmikWdsrz_U

Postby M_2NR » July 2nd, 2014, 8:12 pm

TBH if i had to buy another android phone, the Z1 compact (and if there is a z2 compact) is really nice. I used the Z1C and I really liked it's shape/size. It's ideal for one handed operation and the internals are awesome!

godson692

Postby godson692 » July 2nd, 2014, 10:42 pm

this is kinda off topic but what skybox provider do you guys recommend ?

Postby stev » July 2nd, 2014, 10:43 pm

"Ok Google"....."What does the fox say?" :lol:

Last edited by stev on July 2nd, 2014, 10:44 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby Trini Hookah » July 2nd, 2014, 10:43 pm

godson692 wrote:this is kinda off topic but what skybox provider do you guys recommend ?

Most of us in here are avid posters on the Skybox thread, have a look there.

godson692

Postby godson692 » July 2nd, 2014, 10:51 pm

Trini Hookah wrote:
godson692 wrote:this is kinda off topic but what skybox provider do you guys recommend ?

looking but cant seem to find it :/ link ?

Postby M_2NR » July 3rd, 2014, 4:35 am

Ismithx check this
uploadfromtaptalk1404376504182.jpg
looking familiar :lol: I took off location reporting/history and got that last night.
godson692 wrote:
Trini Hookah wrote:

looking but cant seem to find it :/ link ?

#Notsureifsrsorblindorusingbing

viewtopic.php?t=547355
The Official Skybox Thread: Take 2

Postby ismithx » July 3rd, 2014, 5:26 am

M_2NR wrote:Ismithx check this
Screenshot_2014-07-03-04-31-43.png
looking familiar :lol: I took off location reporting/history and got that last night.

damn...... mines took up 35%, but only because my screen is so power hungry.

My phone actually didn't enter sleep state for about a day. :(

Postby S_2NR » July 3rd, 2014, 7:10 am

stev wrote:so im looking for a Nexus 4 to buy for someone....

...whats an average, reasonable price for one these days?

buy a used one on amazon/ebay and ship it in yourself.
instruct seller to ensure an invoice is included. some people tell them to use a lower value on the invoice than what was paid and customs will use the value because its used. (do at your own risk though :lol: )
customs aint as shitty when it comes to used stuff.

im even seeing new ones on amazon for under $300
used from $175

sonygoup

Postby sonygoup » July 3rd, 2014, 7:41 am

Fellas what Anti Theft app u guys use? Currently using LookOut but it works on/off for itself :/

Postby M_2NR » July 3rd, 2014, 7:47 am

ismithx wrote:
M_2NR wrote:Ismithx check this
Screenshot_2014-07-03-04-31-43.png

damn...... mines took up 35%, but only because my screen is so power hungry.

My phone actually didn't enter sleep state for about a day. :(

Wt.... I rebooted as I noticed it. Its just overnight for me so meh. I thought they fixed this crap yes. Oh well. Best you really put on location stuff yes. It keeps it awake but not right thru :lol:

shottah_crew

Postby shottah_crew » July 3rd, 2014, 1:27 pm

rodfarva wrote:Lets take an individual seller/powerseller (without a retail outlet)

Cost of phone : $3000.00 Landed (lets say)
Markup of 10% : $300.00
"Total" Made : $300.00

To make $6000.00/Month Seller must sell 20 phones.
20 x $3000 = $60,000.00

Lets check overhead
Seller must have either the capital or a line of credit to purchase these phones - That has a value/cost
Seller must spend time procuring, invoicing and transacting the sale - seller's time has a value
Many sellers provide a delivery service - Cost of Gas, Vehicle maintainance
Seller must be able to absorb the cost of Defective stock, dead (unsold) stock, returned items

10% Profit margin for anyone who is not doing wholesale (or massive volume retail) business is senseless and I'd consider it self-robbery. No retail outlet or not.

Let's not forget phone bill, electricity, internet and power seller fees.

S_2NR wrote: All that is well and good but how come the markup is different in mall here vs a mall abroad?
Everything is cheaper abroad, everything.

If "everything is cheaper abroad", then the cost if living is lower and the dollar has more power. You can operate with a lower profit margin and still live at the end of the month... Not that it was necessary to explain that.

S_2NR wrote:My mind is on my pocket not analyzing and accepting rape because of "overhead" costs.

Well just because you don't think about it, doesn't mean its not real. So stop calling people robbers for charging a "lil $500" profit on a phone that cost $3200 landed. If a $500 for a phone like that is too high a mark up for the buyer, then he should be looking at bringing it in himself or living within his means. He could always ask ah famalee from merica to bring one, but either way no one begging or forcing anyone to buy anything.

Postby S_2NR » July 3rd, 2014, 2:52 pm

Just because someone thinks a price is too high does not mean they don't live within their means. In fact the richest people I know live simple lives and hate wasting money.

Beat up all u want bro. Obviously your bread is buttered by what I speak about. Skybox companies +amazon/ebay already taking out a chunk of allyu sales and it will continue to take more if you all can't adapt and get competitive. Watch raptor on this forum and take notes. He is adapting.

Btw. Rodfarva replied to me basically agreeing with me that there are blood suckers here and then deleted it yes. Is fraid yu fraid boy :lol:

Postby nervewrecker » July 3rd, 2014, 3:21 pm

anyone getting weird battery life on the nexus 7 fhd?

Charged mine like two days ago and last night it have 17% battery life. Havent used it since it charged.

battery app shows a steady decline.

blackberry z10 charger safe to charge nexus 4 with btw?

Postby M_2NR » July 3rd, 2014, 6:01 pm

If ollur corntinue I go har make a new topic eh.

Any who. I got 4 hours SOT today with H+ and about 30mins of high accuracy GPS with low signal in d bush aka south. Google Play Services v5 working Bess it seems. Will monitor this shocking occurrence tmrw yes.

shottah_crew

Postby shottah_crew » July 3rd, 2014, 6:57 pm

M_2NR wrote:If ollur corntinue I go har make a new topic eh.

I done. Apparently, we is big, bad, thieving dinosaurs.

nervewrecker wrote:anyone getting weird battery life on the nexus 7 fhd?

Charged mine like two days ago and last night it have 17% battery life. Havent used it since it charged.

battery app shows a steady decline.

blackberry z10 charger safe to charge nexus 4 with btw?

Nothing up with my Nexus 7 (13). I usually get 2 days with what I would describe as medium usage. All my devices use the same charging port so whichever is closest, it gets plugged into.

Running any custom ROMs etc?

Postby nervewrecker » July 3rd, 2014, 6:59 pm

Nope, all my devices stock.

I'll try switching it off when not in use from now on yes.

-Roach-

Postby -Roach- » July 3rd, 2014, 7:02 pm

Need some assistance... I have a S3 unlocked from Koodo mobile but the USSD codes dont work... Also the previous owner tried to 'root' the phone and tripped KNOX so it keeps giving a warning message.... I need this phone back to stock if anyone is capable of doing so... Willing to pay!

shottah_crew

Postby shottah_crew » July 3rd, 2014, 7:06 pm

nervewrecker wrote:Nope, all my devices stock.

I'll try switching it off when not in use from now on yes.

Try switching out the charger. It could be that it undercharging...

Postby nervewrecker » July 3rd, 2014, 7:09 pm

Undercharging? *shrugs shoulders*

Usually says 100% before I unplug it.

I'll compare to my mom nexus 7 and see if there is any difference with the two.

shottah_crew

Postby shottah_crew » July 3rd, 2014, 7:11 pm

-Roach- wrote:Need some assistance... I have a S3 unlocked from Koodo mobile but the USSD codes dont work... Also the previous owner tried to 'root' the phone and tripped KNOX so it keeps giving a warning message.... I need this phone back to stock if anyone is capable of doing so... Willing to pay!

Isn't Koodoo CDMA? Some GSM/CDMA hybrid phones don't work well with USSD codes. One workaround (if it is the case) is by calling voicemail or some 123 or something. When incall, pull back up the keypad and try *120# or whatever other USSD code. Should work.

-Roach-

Postby -Roach- » July 3rd, 2014, 7:23 pm

shottah_crew wrote:
-Roach- wrote:Need some assistance... I have a S3 unlocked from Koodo mobile but the USSD codes dont work... Also the previous owner tried to 'root' the phone and tripped KNOX so it keeps giving a warning message.... I need this phone back to stock if anyone is capable of doing so... Willing to pay!

Isn't Koodoo CDMA? Some GSM/CDMA hybrid phones don't work well with USSD codes. One workaround (if it is the case) is by calling voicemail or some 123 or something. When incall, pull back up the keypad and try *120# or whatever other USSD code. Should work.

They are GSM... Uses the micro sim... I'll give this a try... But do you know how to 'unroot' the phone back to stock?... Hate seeing that warning message every second...

shottah_crew

Postby shottah_crew » July 3rd, 2014, 7:29 pm

-Roach- wrote:
shottah_crew wrote:

They are GSM... Uses the micro sim... I'll give this a try... But do you know how to 'unroot' the phone back to stock?... Hate seeing that warning message every second...

No, sorry man. Haven't messed with phone software in years... Don't got the time no more.

kar_freak

Postby kar_freak » July 3rd, 2014, 8:13 pm

Htc one X+ screen cracked , does anyone know where I can have it repaired?

rodfarva

Postby rodfarva » July 4th, 2014, 11:09 am

S_2NR wrote:Btw. Rodfarva replied to me basically agreeing with me that there are blood suckers here and then deleted it yes. Is fraid yu fraid boy :lol:

I did, but after I typed it up (and posted it) I saw that you edited the post to say
S_2NR wrote:My mind is on my pocket not analyzing and accepting rape because of "overhead" costs.

I had agreed with some of what you posted up till that.

We started off by talking about individual sellers, then moved to mall stores. Its a different thing altogether, and maybe your referring to a few businesses that charge ridiculous markup for items, but based on what you said about 10% markup being robbery, I think not.

After you changed your post to include that, I didnt bother debating the point. Whats the sense? Your a consumer with beliefs about how things should be and its your Dollar.

Overhead is very real, and retailers will continue to operate as they have, and for the most part thrive and survive.