COVID-19 in Trinidad & Tobago (Local Updates & Discussions Only)

Re: Possible lockdown from Tuesday?

Postby maj. tom » August 28th, 2020, 10:21 pm

We past that stage long time. A lock down can't do sheit now.

Postby Gladiator » August 28th, 2020, 10:37 pm

I feel there is an international conspiracy to leave Covid to do its thing... take out the old, poor, sick and weak people from society. Leave a strong, robust workforce that can provide labour and pay taxes. All while the stinkin politicians and 1% of the world hide until it's all over.

Postby nervewrecker » August 28th, 2020, 10:39 pm

Gladiator wrote:I feel there is an international conspiracy to leave Covid to do its thing... take out the old, poor, sick and weak people from society. Leave a strong, robust workforce that can provide labour and pay taxes. All while the stinkin politicians and 1% of the world hide until it's all over.

when I say it they does vex.

Postby Rovin » August 28th, 2020, 10:46 pm

i already said in another thread with so much 'sudden' rise : a 1 mth lockdown might slow it back down ....

Postby pugboy » August 28th, 2020, 10:48 pm

They need to lockdown the bawders too

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » August 28th, 2020, 11:11 pm

Rovin wrote:i already said in another thread with so much 'sudden' rise : a 1 mth lockdown might slow it back down ....

If they do lockdown it's because it's growing not decreasing. I don't mind a lockdown, I just don't trust these imbeciles to make the right decision after making so many wrong decisions.

Postby zoom rader » August 28th, 2020, 11:44 pm

pugboy wrote:They need to lockdown the bawders too
Max will not be pleased

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 1476 cases, 15 deaths, 867 active, 594 discharged in T&T

Postby adnj » August 29th, 2020, 6:50 am

FrankChag wrote:
shake d livin wake d dead wrote:
Dohplaydat wrote:
shake d livin wake d dead wrote:
88sins wrote:I hope allyuh observing the pnm propaganda machine in motion.
Discharge the 400, even though they have not fully recovered and can still transmit the virus, and remove them from the active cases figure, in an effort to make the active cases figure loook lower than it actually is, and make it look like they doing such a marvelous job at treating and contained the spread of the infection.

Effective today I eh sure it'd be wise to fully and blindly trust the numbers MoH putting out.

Brethren...how long ah telling allyuh about MOH and their figures and their massive bullsheit cover ups

How the numbers for the rest of week looking shakes?

Initially I had said 1775 by Tuesday...but my last update indicate 2k by tuesday...

Somewhere between 2500 and 2700 by Sept 2nd, including the ppl at home, but I hope you're right.
Sigh, just the other day we were at 100 and sumtin...

i mean, chk that R2

IHME daily projections show a significant uptick in mid-October.Image

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 1554 cases, 19 deaths, 907 active, 628 discharged in T&T

Postby aaron17 » August 29th, 2020, 7:42 am

Lockdown no...
Rollback yes

killercow

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 1554 cases, 19 deaths, 907 active, 628 discharged in T&T

Postby killercow » August 29th, 2020, 8:23 am

Despite all the alleged progress being made (and trial vaccines available), what if the treatment options for Coronavirus ends up no further along that HIV? HIV was discovered since 1983 and although research (and potential vaccinations) were fast-tracked then, 37 years later we're barely any closer to a vaccine / cure now as we were then. What is the likelihood that Covid-19 won't end up the same way? A vaccine / cure was never developed for Sars-Cov-1 (and the one vaccine allegedly developed was never tested on humans and although it did prove effective in animal trials, it resulted in an immune disease), what is to say that the result will be any different for Sars-Cov-2? Is learning to live with the virus (just like HIV) something we must accept the possibility of? Will we muzzle up like dogs for the rest of our lives?
I'm all ears for opinions on this in the hopes that someone can disprove this possibility.

Postby redmanjp » August 29th, 2020, 8:26 am

so tomorrow would be 14 days or the max incubation period since the las lap beach/bar lime, so we should be seeing a decline next week? assuming test results are on time of course

Postby sMASH » August 29th, 2020, 8:34 am

give it about a two weeks prolly a month, jsut to let those people circulate a bit after.

sars cov2 could be just like the normal flu, every year u get a new strain and we get seasonal immunity.

screwbash

Postby screwbash » August 29th, 2020, 8:37 am

after divai and up to christmas season is level white oak and puncheon so by 2021 most cases gone.

Postby adnj » August 29th, 2020, 8:47 am

killercow wrote:Despite all the alleged progress being made (and trial vaccines available), what if the treatment options for Coronavirus ends up no further along that HIV? HIV was discovered since 1983 and although research (and potential vaccinations) were fast-tracked then, 37 years later we're barely any closer to a vaccine / cure now as we were then. What is the likelihood that Covid-19 won't end up the same way? A vaccine / cure was never developed for Sars-Cov-1 (and the one vaccine allegedly developed was never tested on humans and although it did prove effective in animal trials, it resulted in an immune disease), what is to say that the result will be any different for Sars-Cov-2? Is learning to live with the virus (just like HIV) something we must accept the possibility of? Will we muzzle up like dogs for the rest of our lives?
I'm all ears for opinions on this in the hopes that someone can disprove this possibility.
HIV/AIDS can be suppressed by behavior alone.
SARS vaccine development stopped with the last infections.
About 38M people have HIV/AIDS. More than 25M have tested positive for Covid-19.

Different priorities.

Postby redmanjp » August 29th, 2020, 8:53 am

sMASH wrote:give it about a two weeks prolly a month, jsut to let those people circulate a bit after.

sars cov2 could be just like the normal flu, every year u get a new strain and we get seasonal immunity.

hopefully getting either a vaccine or infected gives u some immunity to newer strains so that it becomes milder for everyone including high risk persons even if u do get infected with the new strain

Postby sMASH » August 29th, 2020, 9:48 am

redmanjp wrote:
sMASH wrote:give it about a two weeks prolly a month, jsut to let those people circulate a bit after.

hopefully getting either a vaccine or infected gives u some immunity to newer strains so that it becomes milder for everyone including high risk persons even if u do get infected with the new strain

i had posted before, but what some studies show, is that when u remove the more severe cases from the population, u tend to get the more severe strains taken out from the public. and subsequently, u let the weaker or less severe strains propagate, when u let those with the mildest symptoms interact. so what happens is, the ones that might have gotten and spread the virus, will more likely get the weaker ones. so if u have to get it, it will most likely be the less severe ones. and then, getting covid would not be a big deal, cause u would have selected for the weak strains, and thats all available. u bred it out of being harmful, though natural selection
this is not to say reopen the society back to normal, u still need to flatten curve to reduce the demand on the health care system. u keep ur social distance measures. but, u dont go haywire and dictatorial and oppress the whole society. just limit the super spreader activities.

2WNBoost

Postby 2WNBoost » August 29th, 2020, 10:00 am

^^ Well said.
It’s impractical to try to totally isolate from the virus.
We need to manage the spread by everyone doing their part.

Postby pugboy » August 29th, 2020, 10:10 am

“everyone doing their part” is easy to say
we are an undisciplined bunch you know

ST Auto

Postby ST Auto » August 29th, 2020, 10:14 am

118670840_3653605941335854_293239994457689522_o.jpeg
118580999_3653605708002544_5543308093407141735_n.jpeg

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » August 29th, 2020, 10:56 am

adnj wrote:
killercow wrote:Despite all the alleged progress being made (and trial vaccines available), what if the treatment options for Coronavirus ends up no further along that HIV? HIV was discovered since 1983 and although research (and potential vaccinations) were fast-tracked then, 37 years later we're barely any closer to a vaccine / cure now as we were then. What is the likelihood that Covid-19 won't end up the same way? A vaccine / cure was never developed for Sars-Cov-1 (and the one vaccine allegedly developed was never tested on humans and although it did prove effective in animal trials, it resulted in an immune disease), what is to say that the result will be any different for Sars-Cov-2? Is learning to live with the virus (just like HIV) something we must accept the possibility of? Will we muzzle up like dogs for the rest of our lives?
HIV/AIDS can be suppressed by behavior alone.
SARS vaccine development stopped with the last infections.
About 38M people have HIV/AIDS. More than 25M have tested positive for Covid-19.

Different priorities.

Yup
The R0 of Covid-19 is much higher.
SARS-CoV2/Covid is much more contagious than HIV/AIDS.

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 1577 cases, 19 deaths, 934 active, 628 discharged in T&T

Postby The_Honourable » August 29th, 2020, 11:54 am

Well written

Postby pugboy » August 29th, 2020, 12:29 pm

sars1 fizzled out on its own internationally after 9months.

china took precautions based on their experience with all the various flus, but many other countries
did not take much precautions.

covid ain’t showing no signs of fizzling out on its own even with almost all countries taking serious action.

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:The R0 of Covid-19 is much higher.
SARS-CoV2/Covid is much more contagious than HIV/AIDS.

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 1577 cases, 19 deaths, 934 active, 628 discharged in T&T

Postby pugboy » August 29th, 2020, 12:32 pm

he forget to add the other local expert dr lady who say it’s going to be a mild flu.

The_Honourable wrote:Well written

eitech

Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 1577 cases, 19 deaths, 934 active, 628 discharged in T&T

Postby eitech » August 29th, 2020, 1:04 pm

You can look at their “expert “ opinion that way or maybe they should have come out and say well we dont have a chance of not getting corona virus and by September this year we should have close to 1600 active cases and 20 deaths. It,s not that these ppl dont know but they withhold all the information to not cause panic. Whether it was the right thing to say at the time...idk. One can either withhold information or falsify it....same deception

Postby maj. tom » August 29th, 2020, 1:09 pm

So we've reached the stage where the doctors and scientists are the villains now.
Because it's got so bad, someone must be blamed. Captain Hindsight is a powerful ally to criticism of any system where the best experts that we have simply don't know how this will play out. But people need answers and quick solutions!

People are still thinking this will all be over soon like the 1918 flu (which had a 4th wave in 1920) and that we can eventually contain it like any other virus. It won't, and scientists have said it will always be here with us. It's a novel virus and has evolved to be more contagious and virulent than other viruses in human history. We need to come to terms with a situation like this rather than letting our fears feed our worst behaviours. We eventually will beat it, but it won't be this year, or even next year.

It's going to get much worse before we get over the hump.

Postby pugboy » August 29th, 2020, 2:00 pm

most of these expert doctor folks haven’t lived thru a true pandemic eh, their experience just marginally more than a reasonable intelligent person off the street who can read research on their own history.

eitech wrote:You can look at their “expert “ opinion that way or maybe they should have come out and say well we dont have a chance of not getting corona virus and by September this year we should have close to 1600 active cases and 20 deaths. It,s not that these ppl dont know but they withhold all the information to not cause panic. Whether it was the right thing to say at the time...idk. One can either withhold information or falsify it....same deception

fokhan_96

Postby fokhan_96 » August 29th, 2020, 2:19 pm

Yea all those people with masters and Phd in epidemiology not more different than the average joe
pugboy wrote:most of these expert doctor folks haven’t lived thru a true pandemic eh, their experience just marginally more than a reasonable intelligent person off the street who can read research on their own history.

eitech wrote:You can look at their “expert “ opinion that way or maybe they should have come out and say well we dont have a chance of not getting corona virus and by September this year we should have close to 1600 active cases and 20 deaths. It,s not that these ppl dont know but they withhold all the information to not cause panic. Whether it was the right thing to say at the time...idk. One can either withhold information or falsify it....same deception

Postby pugboy » August 29th, 2020, 2:32 pm

They got lot of stuff wrong, we authorized to say what we want now

fokhan_96 wrote:Yea all those people with masters and Phd in epidemiology not more different than the average joe
pugboy wrote:most of these expert doctor folks haven’t lived thru a true pandemic eh, their experience just marginally more than a reasonable intelligent person off the street who can read research on their own history.

Postby Strugglerzinc » August 29th, 2020, 2:56 pm

This man has started his BS.