The GOOGLE | ANDROID Thread

Re: The GOOGLE | ANDROID Thread

Postby pete » June 26th, 2014, 10:23 pm

So other than the camera the moto g is a decent phone? Much better than an s3 mini?

Postby M_2NR » June 26th, 2014, 10:57 pm

pete wrote:So other than the camera the moto g is a decent phone? Much better than an s3 mini?

if you're looking for smooth-ish, clean, bloatfree, long lasting battery android: YES

godson692

Postby godson692 » June 26th, 2014, 11:34 pm

Installed the L dev preview to my N5. Pretty stable thus far. The new UI design is pretty awesome, especially the new keyboard. Gonna run it for the day tmr and see how that goes.

Postby stev » June 26th, 2014, 11:41 pm

my hangouts keep crashing on Android L.

Also WIFI keeps disconnecting on sleep even though i set it not to.

godson692

Postby godson692 » June 27th, 2014, 12:17 am

My hangouts work but I'm getting FC on Twitter and FB. Wifi works as it should. Really wanna see batt life with Project Volta

Postby stev » June 27th, 2014, 2:49 am

just finish restoring kitkat :/ ....think im gonna wait for for the official release....

Postby S_2NR » June 27th, 2014, 2:56 am

kerwinishere wrote:Good chromecast is of actual use now.

Postby S_2NR » June 27th, 2014, 3:19 am

pete wrote:So other than the camera the moto g is a decent phone? Much better than an s3 mini?

ive had a moto g for a few months now.
what phone are you coming from? that would determine how happy you would be.
the camera while not spectacular is decent for any everyday shots to put on facebook, instagram, etc.
with the 4.4.3 update the camera got noticeably better.
also, samsung phones would be loaded with bloat and i hate touchwiz.
moto g and x both come with stock android with barely any bloat. you get some motorola apps which i think are useful.
you can get through a full day of use easily and still have about 40%. two days if you are a light user.
i normally get 6 hrs screen on time. phone charges quickly too; fully charged from dead in two hours.
also for a "cheap" phone it is very sturdy. no creaks or rattles.
call quality is also excellent compared to samsung and sony android phones ive used. leagues better than iphone for sure.
the loudspeaker is very very loud also, my phone ring volume is normally set to half of what its capable of.

the custom rom community is still growing but right now im using cm11 with art and its working wonderfully. no issues.
i may upgrade to the moto x+1 when it releases later this year though for the voice control and active notifications.

i think the moto g lte with the sd card is a good buy. you wont be disappointed. this is ultimately the best phone in this price point. i normally buy flagships/latest nexus devices and i honestly dont care to upgrade because the user experience on this phone is exceptional.
that was their focus with the x and g, user experience > specs.

if you wanna know anything else shoot me a pm or something

Postby S_2NR » June 27th, 2014, 6:45 am

Postby pete » June 27th, 2014, 7:16 am

It was to replace a guy's blackberry in work and maybe my S2. As the LTE one has an SD card slot that would definitely be better and I guess if I travel to the US I'd be able to get LTE there. Any accessories(cases/screen protectors etc) available locally or just bring them one time if ordering on Amazon?

Postby S_2NR » June 27th, 2014, 8:05 am

pete wrote:It was to replace a guy's blackberry in work and maybe my S2. As the LTE one has an SD card slot that would definitely be better and I guess if I travel to the US I'd be able to get LTE there. Any accessories(cases/screen protectors etc) available locally or just bring them one time if ordering on Amazon?

Coming from a blackberry it will be a big improvement in every regard.
I came from an s2 as well. Everything is better except the camera. The galaxy lineup is known for their cameras. If you dont use the camera that much you wont miss it.
Forgot to mention the form factor is great to hold in the hand. Very ergonomic device here, more so than the s2.

Cases for this phone locally would be near to non existent. Trinis only know samsung and iphone.
This phone goes for approx $3000 here. This crazy price and trinis just wanting to bling would lead to lack of accessories. I find generally the availability of phone accessories here sucks anyway. Its always ugly and overpriced.
Highly recommend amazon. Cheap, fast and you get exactly what you want.

Cases I use and would highly recommend:
http://www.amazon.com/Rearth-Ringke-Premium-Protector-Motorola/dp/B00GY6X9RK/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1403870432&sr=8-1&keywords=moto+g+rearth
http://www.amazon.com/Incipio-NGP-Case-Motorola-Moto/dp/B00H90KM2U/ref=sr_1_4?ie=UTF8&qid=1403870453&sr=8-4&keywords=incipio+moto+g

Shells:
http://smile.amazon.com/Motorola-Shell-Moto-Retail-Packaging/dp/B00G3PB5XM/ref=sr_1_1?s=wireless&ie=UTF8&qid=1403871054&sr=1-1&keywords=moto+g+shell

Screen protector I use and is highly recommended on xda:
http://www.amazon.com/amFilm-Motorola-Protector-Lifetime-Warranty/dp/B00I3MFCIW/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1403870488&sr=8-1&keywords=amfilm+moto+g

Postby pete » June 27th, 2014, 8:15 am

Crazy it would sell for 3000 if it's 200 on amazon.. might be 1900 landed with duties and VAT. :|

kerwinishere

Postby kerwinishere » June 27th, 2014, 8:45 am

It's all about profit. Tsk tsk tsk. It's great for the price IMO tho (should be around $2000 landed in all truth)

Postby Trini Hookah » June 27th, 2014, 8:46 am

Guys liking the G Pro a lot, anyone here has any hands on with one? Any noticeable flaws if any.

Size not a factor, as the notes were my favourite phones.

sonygoup

Postby sonygoup » June 27th, 2014, 7:46 pm

Oh yea paid 17usd sales tax on EBAY!!! When i was buy le moto g

Postby M_2NR » June 27th, 2014, 8:13 pm

Thinking of throwing in multirom and trying L but... My nexus works awesome except as an actual phone. I am having a ton of call issues. Calls dropping etc. anyone on digicel here having that issue? I'm gonna redo the ROM tonight but... was wondering.

Postby Trini Hookah » June 27th, 2014, 8:16 pm

M_2NR wrote:Thinking of throwing in multirom and trying L but... My nexus works awesome except as an actual phone. I am having a ton of call issues. Calls dropping etc. anyone on digicel here having that issue? I'm gonna redo the ROM tonight but... was wondering.

PM mih for bess price

Postby M_2NR » June 27th, 2014, 8:24 pm

no v70 no care :|

__

srs thing now. I flashed stock 4.4.4. Swear this nexus 5 feeling like an iPhone nah. Lag free and smooth. While mind you this installing a ton of apps in the background.

Postby stev » June 28th, 2014, 3:52 am

digicel playing d a55 lately...

i have a voice mail notification that I cant get rid of (no voice mail)....would call dem in d morning. tried every trick otherwise :/

anyone else had this problem?

Postby S_2NR » June 28th, 2014, 6:19 am

Android l keyboard.
Available on the play store

Postby RASC » June 28th, 2014, 7:58 am

Not finding it :|

Postby RASC » June 28th, 2014, 8:47 am

Got it..love it!

Postby nervewrecker » June 28th, 2014, 10:31 am

stev wrote:digicel playing d a55 lately...

i have a voice mail notification that I cant get rid of (no voice mail)....would call dem in d morning. tried every trick otherwise :/

anyone else had this problem?

since yesterday my net giving trouble.

Postby M_2NR » June 28th, 2014, 2:18 pm

Just be wary of them keyboards. Remember it can log your keypresses if malicious. Looks lovely though.

So Stev u telling me I gone back stock for no reason :lol:
At least my phone dialing as it should now. I actually turn on location history and reporting. Phone working like it never was on.

sonygoup

Postby sonygoup » June 28th, 2014, 9:23 pm

S_2NR wrote:
pete wrote:It was to replace a guy's blackberry in work and maybe my S2. As the LTE one has an SD card slot that would definitely be better and I guess if I travel to the US I'd be able to get LTE there. Any accessories(cases/screen protectors etc) available locally or just bring them one time if ordering on Amazon?

I came from an s2 as well. Everything is better except the camera. The galaxy lineup is known for their cameras. If you dont use the camera that much you wont miss it.
Forgot to mention the form factor is great to hold in the hand. Very ergonomic device here, more so than the s2.

Cases for this phone locally would be near to non existent. Trinis only know samsung and iphone.
This phone goes for approx $3000 here. This crazy price and trinis just wanting to bling would lead to lack of accessories. I find generally the availability of phone accessories here sucks anyway. Its always ugly and overpriced.

gonna buy that first case and screen protectors hope the screen protector not thick as sheit

Postby Trini Hookah » June 28th, 2014, 9:27 pm

Thought u selling?

sonygoup

Postby sonygoup » June 28th, 2014, 9:43 pm

Still gonna but bought a xbox one,recovering so next month and it fall down today in a maxi :/

Postby S_2NR » June 28th, 2014, 10:47 pm

sonygoup wrote:
S_2NR wrote:

gonna buy that first case and screen protectors hope the screen protector not thick as sheit

Please don't. My advice was meant for Pete. I really not up to you coming here and whining like a lil beyotch in two weeks if you don't like it.

Not even trying to sheit you up. You just come across as a pita.

Postby stev » June 28th, 2014, 11:34 pm

not sure if true...

edit: photo / comment is misleading....some of the top devs over at XDA confirmed that it isnt malicious.
Last edited by stev on June 28th, 2014, 11:54 pm, edited 2 times in total.