Food prices in Trinidad and Tobago

daring dragoon

Re: Food prices in Trinidad and Tobago

Postby daring dragoon » April 4th, 2022, 5:30 pm

dogg wrote:Sounds good!

Someone told me to use mylar bags. But I don't know anywhere that has those.

pugboy wrote:heat in oven at 180f for 20mins to kill any bugs and eggs then seal well
and out in good quality buckets with sealing covers

there are some rectangular buckets with good covers which snap down

dogg wrote:What's the best way to store two years worth of dried peas and beans?

My freezers are packed as is.

I don't have the beans yet, but I aim to stock up soon for the upcoming food shortages.

yea man you so chuppid to store precook beans. heat in oven will start to cook the beans and store in buckets for long.... you do your own conclusion. good luck, everyman for themselves. you tube it as it have more accurate info out there than to pre cook the beans. most dotish advice i ever hear.

Postby pugboy » April 4th, 2022, 6:07 pm

yeah 180f will cook them real tender, ready to eat

Postby eliteauto » April 4th, 2022, 8:37 pm

youtube cook>real cook

Postby bluefete » April 4th, 2022, 8:55 pm

dogg wrote:I do the grocery shopping for my household. I can guarantee that I buy more close to expiry date 2/1 than most people! Last weekend at Best Deal foods in Curepe I bought ALL the 2/1 butter they had. They're in my freezer right now. THat'll last a year if need be.

Yeah, but only a few supermarket items occasionally are on bogo specials. So Pricesmart is very handy IRL.

The first and last time I went there, a 100 box of Lipton tea was $60.00. That was about 2 years ago. That same box can now be had for $20.00 by X-Tra Foods at month end.

But I jelly cause you got 2/1 butter. Glad for you though. That is exactly how I shop.

dogg

Postby dogg » April 4th, 2022, 9:22 pm

err do you even cook breds?

You understand we're discussing dried beans right?

daring dragoon wrote:

pugboy wrote:heat in oven at 180f for 20mins to kill any bugs and eggs then seal well

dogg wrote:What's the best way to store two years worth of dried peas and beans?

I don't have the beans yet, but I aim to stock up soon for the upcoming food shortages.

yea man you so chuppid to store precook beans. heat in oven will start to cook the beans and store in buckets for long.... you do your own conclusion. good luck, everyman for themselves. you tube it as it have more accurate info out there than to pre cook the beans. most dotish advice i ever hear.

daring dragoon

Postby daring dragoon » April 5th, 2022, 3:00 am

dogg wrote:err do you even cook breds?

You understand we're discussing dried beans right?

daring dragoon wrote:

you do what you have to do yes. less people in the future means more for the survivors. good luck.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » April 5th, 2022, 7:04 am

Sooooooo egg prices on the up...that translates to most things in a bakery going up to. Nice nice

Postby timelapse » April 5th, 2022, 7:17 am

I wonder how all that oil,gas and concrete tastes?

Postby hover11 » April 5th, 2022, 7:24 am

timelapse wrote:I wonder how all that oil,gas and concrete tastes?
Up to now no moves on agriculture, what we really doing....Ah, I forget God is a trini :S

Postby timelapse » April 5th, 2022, 7:30 am

hover11 wrote:
Up to now no moves on agriculture, what we really doing....Ah, I forget God is a trini :S
They could eat they fete tickets as salad too

Postby adnj » April 5th, 2022, 7:55 am

hover11 wrote:
At no time in history has agriculture/forestry/fishing been a significant contributor to the TTO economy.

Postby timelapse » April 5th, 2022, 8:01 am

adnj wrote:
hover11 wrote:
At no time in history has agriculture/forestry/fishing been a significant contributor to the TTO economy.

Because we never bothered to pursue it properly on our own.Caroni was a broken model that sadly,we compare anything agriculture to.Tech has evened the playing field for agriculture, but thats remnants of massa, so we don't bother

Postby pugboy » April 5th, 2022, 8:04 am

our land size makes it hard for traditional agri cultivation to be of competitve quantity like in guyana
and its worse as successive govts give the agri land away to their party ppl

maybe aquaculture could be something to look at seriously, seems we import a lot of farmed shrimp
but that is another can of worms with pollution etc

Postby adnj » April 5th, 2022, 8:20 am

Hoover likes to compare TTO to Guyana.

Trinidad's agricultural sector GDP contribution is remarkably similar to Puerto Rico's.

Though aquaculture is a great idea, growth in the manufacturing, services, and tourism sectors are the most likely ways to replace oil revenues.

There is no real fix for rising prices but to earn more.

Postby hover11 » April 5th, 2022, 9:14 am

timelapse wrote:
adnj wrote:
hover11 wrote:

Because we never bothered to pursue it properly on our own.Caroni was a broken model that sadly,we compare anything agriculture to.Tech has evened the playing field for agriculture, but thats remnants of massa, so we don't bother
Why you even bothering to state the obvious, you see I didn't even bother to reply. FACT adnj, agriculture has always been the black sheep sector of our economy. FACT: IF WE don't spend money or pump money like we do to the other sectors how the fuckk do you expect to be a significant factor of production or GDP earner. FACT: we better get ready to eat oil and gas

Postby timelapse » April 5th, 2022, 9:43 am

pugboy wrote:our land size makes it hard for traditional agri cultivation to be of competitve quantity like in guyana
and its worse as successive govts give the agri land away to their party ppl

maybe aquaculture could be something to look at seriously, seems we import a lot of farmed shrimp
but that is another can of worms with pollution etc
Bro, there are men that grow mountains of weed in a 4x4 closet.Abandon the old mindset where you need fields Indoor farming is the way to go.You can science the fvck out of it and maximise yields and profits

Postby pugboy » April 5th, 2022, 9:48 am

ok
let’s try growing rice in a cupboard along with some bodi and tomato and a few lettuce on top the cupboard

Postby adnj » April 5th, 2022, 10:13 am

pugboy wrote:ok
let’s try growing rice in a cupboard along with some bodi and tomato and a few lettuce on top the cupboard
I agree with your aquaculture argument. It's the only one in this thread that's making any sense. Offshore kelp and fisheries are being introduced to help subsistence farmers worldwide.

Seaweed is Easy to Grow

Seaweed farming, especially kelp, circumvents many of the challenges present in both land crops and traditional aquaculture. Unlike land crops, seaweed does not require fertilizer or fresh water. Moreover, as opposed to aquaculture operations, such as fish farms, seaweed farming does not need enclosures or waste management. In addition, the crop requires almost zero attendance during the six months between seeding and harvest. Even the startup costs are quite low, as one can set up a large kelp farm with little more than a small boat. For these reasons, seaweed farming in Africa is economically feasible.

Seaweed is for More Than Consumption

Although kelp is known for being highly nutritious, it has plenty of other uses too. Efforts to promote seaweed farming in Africa seek to take advantage of these other uses. Kelp Blue, a company that aims to develop large kelp farms off the coast of Namibia, plans on selling its crop entirely in non-culinary industries. Dried and milled kelp can enrich soil so that it is more conducive to abalone farming. Moreover, other kelp extracts can serve as fertilizers for land crops. Kelp extracts can also be used as a vegan substitute for gelatin and as a component in pharmaceutical fibers that are used to treat cystic fibrosis. Besides its immediate economic usefulness, these kelp products are more environmentally sustainable than many of their substitutes.

https://www.borgenmagazine.com/seaweed- ... in-africa/

Postby timelapse » April 5th, 2022, 10:16 am

https://youtu.be/qJMZRIRkZWs
This is inside an office building.Think warehouse sized.
Then there's this https://youtu.be/0Qo5PT4RNKY
Think outside the box

Postby adnj » April 5th, 2022, 10:19 am

timelapse wrote:

https://youtu.be/qJMZRIRkZWs
This is inside an office building.Think warehouse sized.
Then there's this https://youtu.be/0Qo5PT4RNKY
Think outside the box
Look at agricultural practices in the Netherlands.

Postby timelapse » April 5th, 2022, 1:44 pm

We have better growing conditions than plenty places.Yet they growing more stuff than us.Heck , most of those greenhouses try to replicate OUR natural conditions

Postby adnj » April 5th, 2022, 2:29 pm

timelapse wrote:We have better growing conditions than plenty places.Yet they growing more stuff than us.Heck , most of those greenhouses try to replicate OUR natural conditions
Much more than the use of greenhouses. The Netherlands exports more agriproduct than nearly any other country. They do not focus on food security. They focus on export and employment.

Agriculture and horticulture

The Dutch agricultural sector produces mostly cereals (wheat in particular), feed crops (such as fodder maize) and potatoes. The horticultural sector focuses on vegetables and flower bulbs. Dutch greenhouses produce mostly vegetables and flowers like sweet peppers and roses.

Agriculture and the economy

After the United States, the Netherlands is the biggest exporter of agricultural produce in the world. The Dutch agricultural sector exports some € 65 billion of agricultural produce annually. This is 17.5% of total Dutch exports. One quarter goes to its largest trade partner, Germany. Accounting for 10% of the Dutch economy and employment, the agricultural and horticultural sectors play a crucial role.

https://www.government.nl/topics/agricu ... rticulture

Postby timelapse » April 5th, 2022, 2:53 pm

Let this sink in
"Oil and gas account for about 40% of GDP and 80% of exports, but only 5% of employment."
-Wikipedia
https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Economy_of_Trinidad_and_Tobago

Postby hover11 » April 5th, 2022, 2:57 pm

timelapse wrote:Let this sink in
"Oil and gas account for about 40% of GDP and 80% of exports, but only 5% of employment."
-Wikipedia
https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Economy_of_Trinidad_and_Tobago
How much locals BP and shell could really hire?
There is no reason why we cannot invest in agriculture and create employment while simultaneously feeding ourselves but na oil and gas will be here forever

Redress10

Postby Redress10 » April 5th, 2022, 5:06 pm

Drink the oil to wash down the fete tickets.

Country in crisis but ppl only studying fete.

A proper plantation that.

Postby hover11 » April 5th, 2022, 5:25 pm

Farmers say consumers can expect to pay $2 more per dozen eggs.

This while Government moves to address the rising cost of animal feed, which is now driving up the price of eggs.

Egg farmers warn that the latest price increase which took effect Monday will not be the last.

They say it is time Trinidad and Tobago addresses its dependency on imported feed materials.

Reporting and video courtesy CNC3

BEND OVER AND TAKE BULL

Redress10

Postby Redress10 » April 5th, 2022, 5:37 pm

hover11 wrote:Farmers say consumers can expect to pay $2 more per dozen eggs.

This while Government moves to address the rising cost of animal feed, which is now driving up the price of eggs.

Egg farmers warn that the latest price increase which took effect Monday will not be the last.

They say it is time Trinidad and Tobago addresses its dependency on imported feed materials.

Reporting and video courtesy CNC3

BEND OVER AND TAKE BULL

They don't care.

Ppl will starve if it mean they could fete.

Postby hover11 » April 5th, 2022, 6:49 pm

Owner of Linda’s Bakery Peter George said the company which took a decision to hold bread prices, when flour increased earlier this year, said that eggs will not impact that decision, as all of its bread items are eggless.

When asked about pastries that use eggs, George responded that the bakery already made minor adjustments on pastries and will have to assess the impact of the egg price increase, before making any decision.

George said “Hopefully the egg increase is not impactful on the pastry operations and there would be no need to adjust prices further, as the company understands the hardships being faced with consumer food prices.”

Meanwhile…..

Puff n Stuff owner Gregory Laing indicated that the popular bakery located in San Fernando, would be holding their hands on increasing pastry and bread items that use eggs.

Laing said ‘if the price of flour increases, which there is a rumor, then he will have no choice.’

Postby MaxPower » April 5th, 2022, 7:06 pm

There is no shortage of rum and cigarettes.

Postby paid_influencer » April 5th, 2022, 7:13 pm

okay, so I want to talk to you guys about failure. It is an important topic, failure is, and I have experience with failure. Here is what I've learnt. (Don't worry, this will be on-topic)

- Failure is inevitable. Failure will always happen given a long enough time frame.

- Do not over think failure. Do not drink lannate because of failure.

- Failure is not necessarily good or bad. Failure is a forced, unintended move to a new direction.

- The best option is always to expect failure and diversify to mitigate it.

With that in mind, this incessant focus on local agriculture is not a solution to food prices. Local agriculture is vulnerable. It is fragile. It will fail, hard, at some point. We cannot put all our eggs into that casket.

Diversification is the answer. Patrick Manning was right. He was always right. God bless him. God bless my Prime Minister.