Gladiator wrote:What do Governments have to gain from hiding the real Covid-19 statistics from their people?
Do you think that when it reaches here our Govt will be truthful?
Gladiator wrote:What do Governments have to gain from hiding the real Covid-19 statistics from their people?
Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:Guyana denies confirming its first case of COVID-19
Amid tensions surrounding Guyana's March 2nd general elections, the South American nation is now seeking to allay fears that it has a confirmed case of the COVID-19.
This follows local media reports which said a 52-year-old woman died at the Georgetown Public Hospital Corporation (GPHC) from the novel coronavirus.
At a media conference on Wednesday, Minister of Public Health Volda Lawrence shut down the allegations.
"There are rumours and messages on social media to all and sundry that Guyana has now had its first case of coronavirus. I want to categorically say from the medical standpoint that we have not received any evidence of such."
Also speaking at the press briefing was the Director of Medical and Professional Services at the GPHC Dr Fawcett Jeffrey. He said while the middle-age woman could have contracted the virus during her recent travels from New York City, blood samples must first be tested and confirmed.
"She did present to the Georgetown Hospital yesterday afternoon at about 5 pm and really, why she was there because she presented with uncontrolled diabetes and hypertension. Because of this comorbid condition that she had, she succumbed and had to be intubated and resuscitated. After being intubated, resuscitation succeeded but at about 8 this morning she succumbed to her diseases, basically diabetes and hypertension. [An] investigation was done and interrogation and the family members who were there with the person could not confirm any contact that she may have had with anyone with COVID-19. But of course suspicion, because you travelled on a plane, can exist. Samples were taken from her nasopharyngeal area and they were sent to the National Reference Lab.
Earlier on Wednesday, the World Health Organisation dubbed the coronavirus a global pandemic.
The outbreak first occurred in Wuhan City, China at the end of last year and has since spread to more than 114 countries. So far, there have been more than 118,000 cases and over 4200 deaths worldwide.
China has managed to reduce the number of new cases but the disease is taking a toll in countries like Italy and Spain.
https://www.looptt.com/content/guyana-d ... e-covid-19
screwbash wrote:CLOSE THE DAM AIRPORT FOR 30 DAYS, ONLY OUTGOING FLIGHTS. dont let that sheit reach here.
Gladiator wrote:Guys, I think its about time we start the serious talk and start sharing ideas on how to deal with this virus when it does come. We have a pretty good set of knowledgeable people on this forum, time to put away the politics for a couple weeks and come together to try to survive and keep our families safe.
For those with OSHE planning and disaster management skills: What do we prep for, what do we foresee happening on our 2x4 piece of the planet, how do we go about assessing our risks and mitigating?
For those of you in retail and supply chain management: What about getting extra food and water, what medicines will run out first, how will the supply chain for fuel and other necessities be affected, are there any shortages now?
For the guys in utilities: Would power and water be affected. What is T&TEC and WASA's policy and short term continuity plan?
For the guys in education: What would happen to schools? Is the ministry talking closure?
For Redman and Elite: What does the Govt really have planned, what will they do with schools and the public service, can we expect looting and unrest?
Rollingstock and Law Enforcement: How to protect ourselves if the police cant take up duty due to illness. Will there be a lock down if an outbreak does happen, Would the criminals see this as an opportunity to pounce? How would the authorities treat with prisoners?
For the medical fellas: What medication should we buy, how do we respond to the older people in our families falling ill. Any home remedies or preventative measures we can take, where to go if we get sick, Wear Masks or no masks?
Any Lawyers or Union men: If we get sick and stay home would our jobs be affected? Any Legal recourse?
Finance Men: Would Electronic banking go down if things get bad. Linx and VISA would be up or down if things get serious. Should we keep cash at home?
I know we have a range of expertise just from reading your posts over the years.... time to use our abilities for the betterment of the whole. I would like to make this its own thread if Mods would allow... go ahead if you think it would be better suited.
RedVEVO wrote:screwbash wrote:CLOSE THE DAM AIRPORT FOR 30 DAYS, ONLY OUTGOING FLIGHTS. dont let that sheit reach here.
And close the SEA ..
Only allow the export of illegal diesel ..
At the Port of Los Angeles, 145 drivers have been laid off and others have been sent home without pay as massive ships from China stopped arriving and work dried up. At travel agencies in Atlanta and Los Angeles, several workers lost their jobs as bookings evaporated. Christie Lites, a stage-lighting company in Orlando, laid off more than 100 of its 500 workers nationwide this past week and likely will lay off 150 more, according to chief executive Huntly Christie. Meanwhile a hotel in Seattle is closing an entire department, a former employee said, and as many as 50 people lost their jobs after the South by Southwest festival in Austin got canceled.
paid_influencer wrote:screwbash wrote:news saying 118000 people infected in a world of 7000 000 000 (7 billion) i tink this being exaggerated to make we panic. is best to wait till it reach before panic buying start.
watch the equator line for the infections, countries in the same line with china infected high, inline with trinidad infection low. just be vigilant. idont think stockpiling of food necessary right now.
I would wonder how much of this is testing bias. You test more, you find more cases. You don't test, you don't find cases.
We're only testing people with travel history. If there is community spread, we won't find it until it shows up at the ICU with bilateral interstitial pneumonia. At that point, it's already too late to stop it.
Alarmist is the right approach to take right now. We're talking about serious social changes that need to happen in days or weeks.
MaxPower wrote:Good morning Trinis,
Please do what u were supposed to be doing before all this coronavirus sheit...
Bathing, which includes all the muck at the back of neck.
Brushing your teeth, Trinis have a serious bad breath problem.
Washing your hands properly and regularly.
Coughing, sneezing and breathing on people.
Invest in personal hygiene items for home and on the go.
Get busy, Get educated, Get responsible T&T, allyuh really not ready if this outbreak if it get rampant.
screwbash wrote:MaxPower wrote:Good morning Trinis,
Please do what u were supposed to be doing before all this coronavirus sheit...
Bathing, which includes all the muck at the back of neck.
Brushing your teeth, Trinis have a serious bad breath problem.
Washing your hands properly and regularly.
Coughing, sneezing and breathing on people.
Invest in personal hygiene items for home and on the go.
Get busy, Get educated, Get responsible T&T, allyuh really not ready if this outbreak if it get rampant.
if again. a police stop in by chagauans yesterday and d man mouth stink, idk if is cavities or wat but dat bad breath was ripe. wasnt food or alcohol smell but a kinda dog sheit smell an i not trying to be mean to the man an no i did not get a ticket. he jus review the docs and tell me my insurance gonna expire jus now to remember before the electronic ticketing come.
screwbash wrote:CLOSE THE DAM AIRPORT FOR 30 DAYS, ONLY OUTGOING FLIGHTS. dont let that sheit reach here.
Some Lysol branded products have been tested and recommended by the USCDC for Covid-19 cleaning and disinfection.screwbash wrote:lysol is 50% alcohol and that is not enof to kill corona. shud be 60% or more. wasting money.better to buy bleach.
shake d livin wake d dead wrote:Word going around atm...there is one confirmed case here...sources: several doctors and dentists