Where has the best Gyros/Burgers/ Street food in T&T?

Re: Economical food places in Trinidad

Postby Habit7 » January 27th, 2012, 2:23 pm

I wonder if anyone recommended the roti shop that someone found a bloody plaster in their chicken roti, it was on TV6 news last night

Postby dougla_boy » January 27th, 2012, 2:24 pm

silent_riot wrote:I haven't eaten Peter's food in about 4 years. It was cheaper back then like $20-25, and all was sold out before 12noon. He could move with pace in there, dred.
Back then I used to check a hole in the wall on Warner street too.
slackerjack, nah the one closer to Pembroke St.- $13 rice & chicken; $15 noodles & chicken...or was it $11 & $13...anyway it was cheap.

bought lunch there earlier this week & today again.
rice, chow meain & chicken for $16.00.
food tastes good & my dogs dont run away from the left overs.

maybe ur dogs are cannibals?

Postby nervewrecker » January 27th, 2012, 2:35 pm

dougla_boy wrote:
silent_riot wrote:I haven't eaten Peter's food in about 4 years. It was cheaper back then like $20-25, and all was sold out before 12noon. He could move with pace in there, dred.
slackerjack, nah the one closer to Pembroke St.- $13 rice & chicken; $15 noodles & chicken...or was it $11 & $13...anyway it was cheap.

my dog & starving stray dogs dont eat left overs from oceans chinese rest. I talking starving stray dogs that does eat any damn thing.

btw the one on pembroke & park st named sea town in case anyone was wondering.

Postby dougla_boy » January 27th, 2012, 2:38 pm

dougla_boy wrote:

my dog & starving stray dogs dont eat left overs from oceans chinese rest. I talking starving stray dogs that does eat any damn thing.

they prob cook rat, dog no eat rat, cat eat rat.....

Postby 1UZFE » January 27th, 2012, 3:02 pm

The Bar in Freeport that sell the Pork and Chow Mein sandwhiches does rhel cutt...

silent_riot

Postby silent_riot » January 27th, 2012, 6:41 pm

DFC wrote:In point lisas, main road. there is a chinese food place, i cant seem to remember the name of the place though. but half of the building is a restaurant and the other half is a hideaway bar.

Name is Pearl Hall, btw.

silent_riot

Postby silent_riot » January 27th, 2012, 6:41 pm

Yeah, jack. Sea town is the place. It's legit.

Sumana.00

Postby Sumana.00 » January 27th, 2012, 8:56 pm

dougla_boy wrote:

I heard abt there its not far from work and loads of the attorneys and people from the judiciary eat there i'll check it out next week, fed up of smokey joe's now

Humes

Postby Humes » January 27th, 2012, 9:35 pm

$5 in pholourie from Hosein's. Another $5 for a juice. Yuh belly full, talk done.

De pholourie real tasty too.

Postby X_Factor » January 27th, 2012, 9:55 pm

BBQ connection by uwi has a 20$ special that runs pretty much the entire day, their food doesnt taste good all the time, but for the price u cant go wrong

if u follow the road, come onto orange grove road (i believe) and follow the road till you meet the bridge, there is a small food hut there(roti, curry, creole food) the prices are pretty decent and food tastes amazing

young ho lee's on elsocorro opposite the mosque has a 15$ box which is just enough

since i buy lunch every day, i negotiate with the places i visit regularly to purchase a 20$ lunch...bit smaller than the normal size, but it works till i reach home

droppa

Postby droppa » January 27th, 2012, 10:45 pm

surprise no one said panch on queen st, everything there does lash, esp with the mother-in-law, $25-30 lunch/broth(best ever)/soups

wen yuh wah sandwich yuh hadda go by kep!

wen yuh wah pork is by greasy spoon or first and last

the best find for me so far some may be a bit coward and say "not me there" but eastside bakery on duncan street and queen st cor has the best cheese pies and a healthy WW ham/turkey/tuna/cheese sandwich for $7, it healthy, cheap and tasty!

Postby nervewrecker » January 27th, 2012, 10:52 pm

silent_riot wrote:Yeah, jack. Sea town is the place. It's legit.

I rate them, value for $$$ & good service. place clean too.

Sumana.00 wrote:

I heard abt there its not far from work and loads of the attorneys and people from the judiciary eat there i'll check it out next week, fed up of smokey joe's now

yup, very true, I realised that this week.

Never had smokey joes btw, the girls from work buy there, they say it pretty expensive. I usually settle for my fries from next door to there.

Postby De Dragon » January 28th, 2012, 12:19 am

1UZFE wrote:The Bar in Freeport that sell the Pork and Chow Mein sandwhiches does rhel cutt...

Munroe, or Piaray's? (the one opposite)

Sumana.00

Postby Sumana.00 » January 28th, 2012, 3:34 pm

silent_riot wrote:Yeah, jack. Sea town is the place. It's legit.

I rate them, value for $$$ & good service. place clean too.

Sumana.00 wrote:

yup, very true, I realised that this week.

Never had smokey joes btw, the girls from work buy there, they say it pretty expensive. I usually settle for my fries from next door to there.

Depending on how much u eat I guess it could be alot with the weighing system even tho I found last time I hardly took any food and it was abt 30$

Postby nervewrecker » January 29th, 2012, 12:00 am

if I paying $30.00 for lunch I have to be able to eat twice from it. $2.00 again and I could buy from the chinese place twice lol
yes, I cheap.

Postby K74T » January 29th, 2012, 12:14 am

Co-sign on Alpine in Preysal :)

Re: Best places to eat T&T

Postby streetbeastINC. » February 21st, 2012, 8:04 pm

the place mentioned in GUAYA mayaro where exactly is it and how is it?

Postby pete » February 21st, 2012, 8:26 pm

Sea Wall?

hmm.. I see the guy gave it a 10/10.. I definitely wouldn't rate it so high. It's a last resort for me but the food tastes ok, ambiance leaves much to be desired. You pass the turn off to Pt. Galeota and stay on the main road, about 1.5km down the road, right after the new fishing terminal they're building it's on the left hand side. Not sure if they have a sign.. small lunch cost me about $30 last month and tasted ok.

Postby streetbeastINC. » February 21st, 2012, 8:35 pm

thanks for the reply Pete...its not a setting for a nice evening dinner then??? i find mayaro and toco should be more developed in terms of attracting ppl and tourists......i personally hate to go into pos where unfortunately has all the nice places...

Postby streetbeastINC. » February 21st, 2012, 8:40 pm

i recently ate in a rest in RIo claro cchinese rest. and there was a big sign that after ordering and before eating you must pay the waitress lol...

Postby pete » February 21st, 2012, 9:02 pm

streetbeastINC. wrote:thanks for the reply Pete...its not a setting for a nice evening dinner then??? i find mayaro and toco should be more developed in terms of attracting ppl and tourists......i personally hate to go into pos where unfortunately has all the nice places...

Nice evening dinner? nah! :lol:

Chinese restaurant upstairs Persads was an ok place for dinner but last month a guy from Mayaro told me how immigration came down and got rid of all the employees. :lol:

The Ranch is probably the best place down there. http://www.facebook.com/groups/57979091455/

Recently renovated, outside has a waterfall and ponds with fish, inside a kinda sports bar theme.

Postby Ted_v2 » February 21st, 2012, 9:07 pm

Burger land in palmise

about 2 mins from the park

BESS BURGERS

priced pretty good 20$ for a bigish cross size burger
25$ combo

chicken and chipz pretty good as welllllll

Postby streetbeastINC. » February 21st, 2012, 9:10 pm

yeh the ranch and queens beach hotel has an a class restuarant.....

TK!

Postby TK! » February 22nd, 2012, 12:15 am

trinitachi wrote:ok, so my gf b-day coming up, i have 3 places in mind and i'd like your thoughts and menu comparison of the following 3 places of interest:-
1. Tamnak Thai
3. Jaffa's
If you can, give me another dining place that you STRONGLY recommend.. looking forward to your input..thanks you in advance. BTW, my expense will range from 800-1200 for a party of 2(obviously). Thanks again.

crews inn lighthouse resturant. as with any date, pls make a reservation.

check cre-ole.com to compare dozens of resturants at a time. gives cuisine type, location, contact, price.

Postby shogun » February 22nd, 2012, 12:20 am

TK! wrote:
crews inn lighthouse resturant. as with any date, pls make a reservation.

Great ambiance, but the food is average, IMO.

Heard they were trying to steal the chef, from the restaurant at Peake's yatch service, a while back.

If they did/do, expect the food to improve.... that guy is a boss.

Re: Wicked Wings In Aranguez

Postby X_Factor » March 2nd, 2012, 11:57 pm

had the suicide earlier and i can say its the hottest thing i've ever eaten
i can tolerate a fair amt of pepper and i wasnt able to eat 2 pieces of wings..

the pepper taste didnt last long however

Postby Trini Hookah » March 3rd, 2012, 12:04 am

Men said the same about Atomic and I didn't feel a sting.

Haven't been there in a while though :(

Postby cinco » March 3rd, 2012, 12:07 am

me either
he stickin wid d wings tho

Postby Trini Hookah » March 3rd, 2012, 12:10 am

Last year de man telling me he was this close to acquiring land for the Central branch, and I ain't hear nothing after that.

One thing though, will buy these over yummy tummy ANYDAY. Yummy tummy's serving sizes inna mess.

Postby cinco » March 3rd, 2012, 12:12 am

he have a chaguanas location he just makin d funds to open the branch