Re: Wayne Kublalsingh Hunger Strike...

Postby bluestarz9 » November 29th, 2012, 7:36 pm

kublal like he ready to eat in public

Postby nemisis » November 29th, 2012, 7:46 pm

commonsense wrote:It is plain to see that there is a stinking, virulent afrocentric pro pnm movement on tuner. Rfari , habit7 , soul collector , eliteauto etc. are but some of the trolls who are allowed to prowl our fora and type as they please while our likkle indian moderators fraid to do anything to upset the e-gangsters. Tell me I'm wrong....

do recommend what the mods should do?

Postby eliteauto » November 29th, 2012, 7:58 pm

commonsense wrote:It is plain to see that there is a stinking, virulent afrocentric pro pnm movement on tuner. Rfari , habit7 , soul collector , eliteauto etc. are but some of the trolls who are allowed to prowl our fora and type as they please while our likkle indian moderators fraid to do anything to upset the e-gangsters. Tell me I'm wrong....

I'll ignore the obvious dearth of commonsense that ails you, your obviously racist anti-pnm myopic mind cannot begin to fathom that a dissenting voice to the current PP status-quo is in no way indicative of a pro-pnm choice despite what the PP champions will happily feed you with their Us vs Them. People like you are who are nothing more than useless sycophants who happily give your vote because We Time Now helps yo sleep at night and what is wrong with this country yuh chupid bag ah aloo.

btw what is wrong with Afrocentrism? *notice the capital A in the spelling? Yeah we superior like that*

section34

Postby section34 » November 29th, 2012, 7:59 pm

hopefully the first thing mods gonna do is make an example of 'commonsense' and ban that oui...no room for ANY kind of race talk whether express or implied on this forum nah....i surprised he eh include me on that list...and i indian..willing to meet anybody anywhere in case they doubting lol...

Postby eliteauto » November 29th, 2012, 8:02 pm

I don' think he/she/aloo should be banned, ppl like that are there to open the eyes of those who wish to see what prowls our nation

Postby nemisis » November 29th, 2012, 8:03 pm

@34, sounds good I recommend someone safe so that you won't get robbed or killed someone like.... Rs

Postby brams112 » November 29th, 2012, 8:07 pm

:o :shock: :?

Soul Collector

Postby Soul Collector » November 29th, 2012, 8:10 pm

eliteauto wrote:

I'll ignore the obvious dearth of commonsense that ails you, your obviously racist anti-pnm myopic mind cannot begin to fathom that a dissenting voice to the current PP status-quo is in no way indicative of a pro-pnm choice despite what the PP champions will happily feed you with their Us vs Them. People like you are who are nothing more than useless sycophants who happily give your vote because We Time Now helps yo sleep at night and what is wrong with this country yuh chupid bag ah aloo.

btw what is wrong with Afrocentrism? *notice the capital A in the spelling? Yeah we superior like that*

Well I was going to reply a lil different....but that could work :lol:

And just a btw, I man indian..I vote for these morons who in power now hoping for the best. But it turns out, they got the best of us.

PS: Go and fall dong somewhere nah :?

mrtrini45

Postby mrtrini45 » November 29th, 2012, 8:15 pm

brams112 wrote:

:o :shock: :?

i support you all the way :P

Postby brams112 » November 29th, 2012, 8:21 pm

mrtrini45 wrote:
brams112 wrote:

:o :shock: :?[/quot
i support you all the way :P

Postby rfari » November 29th, 2012, 9:39 pm

At least u have the belly to say wha u feeling. Most like u does usually keep it inside and froth up deyself.

Postby rollingstock » November 29th, 2012, 10:09 pm

eliteauto wrote:

I have no idea what you said, too many big words but i get the gist that you forked him up good. Serves his arse right.

Soul Collector

Postby Soul Collector » November 29th, 2012, 10:36 pm

http://www.foxnews.com/world/2012/11/29 ... tor-warns/

FOX NEWS wrote:Trinidad hunger striker vows to continue protest over highway as doctor warns of organ failure

PORT-OF-SPAIN, Trinidad – An environmental activist who has been on a hunger strike for more than two weeks vowed Thursday to press on even though a doctor hired by his relatives warned that he is on the verge of organ failure.
At the same time, a high-ranking government official called on Trinidad & Tobago's prime minister to compromise over a proposed highway extension being protested by activist Wayne Kublalsingh.
Kublalsingh was in the 15th day of his protest against a road project that he and a group called the Re-Route Movement claim will fracture the lives of numerous families and severely damage wetlands, leading to flooding problems and the loss of crops. The opponents say they want the highway rerouted, not scrapped.

Dr. Ashantie Charles-Le Blanc, the physician who has monitored Kublalsingh's health during his hunger strike outside the prime minister's offices, has said the frail activist is starting to show signs of kidney failure while shedding weight and muscle mass.
But Kublalsingh told The Associated Press that he planned to continue his protest until his "body collapses and falls apart" or the Caribbean country's prime minister agrees to a scientific study of the highway project's impact.
"I have to consider the suffering of the people in the village and how government proceeding with the highway in this manner ... will impact on the economics and politics of the country," said Kublalsingh, a 53-year-old part-time literature lecturer at Trinidad's University of the West Indies.
Prime Minister Kamla Persad-Bissessar has said she admires the activist's commitment and has expressed concern for him, but she added that her government will not give into his demands. She has said the proposed highway "will benefit hundreds of thousands of our citizens for generations to come."

On Thursday, Foreign Affairs Minister Winston Dookeran issued a statement urging Persad-Bissessar to display "compassion and compromise," especially now that the dispute is being noticed outside of this country of roughly 1.3 million people.
"Now that the matter is receiving the attention of the international media, the government must engage in meaningful conversations to ensure that Trinidad & Tobago is not paraded as an uncaring society in the eyes of the world," Dookeran said from the Dominican Republic, where he was attending a meeting.

Persad-Bissessar's office did not immediately respond to the statement from her Cabinet minister.
Earlier this week, Kublalsingh was briefly hospitalized and treated with intravenous fluids because of his hunger strike. He has been refusing food and water.
The $800 million highway project is to connect the southern city of San Fernando to one of the country's energy-producing towns, Point Fortin, which is the location of a major liquefied natural gas refinery at the southwestern tip of Trinidad.
Like many Trinidadians, Kublalsingh traces his ancestors to India, where hunger strikes were common during that country's decades-long independence movement and continue to be employed by modern-day activists. He has long been an environmental activist, most prominently in a campaign against an aluminum smelter that was eventually canceled after extensive protests.

MadCrix

Postby MadCrix » November 29th, 2012, 11:49 pm

i said it before and i will say it again, is trinidad, highway go build, ppl will move on and forget.. talk done.. i doh understand why ppl does beat up over thing they cah control.. lawd fadder.

i stand by my comment. the land u build yuh house on, is not yours.. plain and simple. read yuh deed. gov have the right to that land no questions asked.

Postby rfari » November 30th, 2012, 1:03 am

Prakash > kamla*warner^moonilal

We shouldn't ridicule Dr Kublalsingh
Prakash talks of 'unbecoming' behaviour of UNC Cabinet colleagues:
By Carla Bridglal carla.bridglal@trinidadexpress.com

Story Created: Nov 28, 2012 at 11:56 PM ECT

(Story Updated: Nov 29, 2012 at 8:19 AM ECT )

Congress of the People (COP) political leader Prakash Ramadhar has disassociated himself from "unbecoming and inappropriate" statements made by his United National Congress (UNC) Cabinet colleagues at a political rally in Debe on Monday night.

In a statement yesterday, the COP said while Ramadhar supported the Government's decision to continue building the highway to Point Fortin as long as all environmental concerns have been addressed, including the contentious Debe to Mon Desir stretch, "this is no reason to hold Dr Kublalsingh and his family up as the subject of ridicule and distasteful humour."

"The actions and antics of several of the speakers on Monday night were objectionable and unacceptable particularly from persons holding high office," the party said.

At the rally, several ministers, including National Security Minister Jack Warner, made disparaging statements about Kublalsingh, with Warner saying he should "kill himself quickly."

"As a member of the Cabinet, Ramadhar was part of the collective decision to go forward with the construction of the highway; (but he) holds strongly that to insult and denigrate citizens or their families, who are demonstrating the courage of their convictions is both offensive and foolhardy," the party added.

The COP is the second largest constituent of the People's Partnership coalition government, after the UNC.

Ramadhar, who is also Minister of Legal Affairs, spoke to reporters at the Hyatt Regency (Trinidad), Port of Spain yesterday, reiterating the sentiments of his party.

"I found some of the language unbecoming, inappropriate and we do need to set the right examples in society. Those of us who propose ourselves as leaders in the community must appreciate immediately that the eyes and ears of all our population, especially the young, are looking on and listening and we have to set that example if we want to create the society we want; we must live it by our words and actions," he said.

The Kublalsingh family is among the founding members of the COP.

"We cherish them. But founding member or not, the issue is not about party politics. It is about what is right and proper. The State has a right and duty to advance development but at the same time taking into consideration all the facts of the matter. A decision had been made and Dr Kublalsingh is now challenging that in the courts, and outside," Ramadhar said.

The constitutional motion filed on August 3 by the Highway Re-route Movement (led by Dr Kublalsingh) is set to be heard before the High Court today.

Ramadhar said, "We say let the court decide because then a precedent will be set that any citizen who is dissatisfied could do likewise (go on a hunger strike) or worse or less, but we can't operate a society by personal views. This Government has to look after the interest of all citizens. This decision to go forward is one that people wish to challenge; let it be taken to the courts."

www.trinidadexpress.com/news/We_shouldn ... 00331.html

WetR

Postby WetR » November 30th, 2012, 7:59 am

no real victors in this scenario.

what i can't stand are the trolls that just stand by and wish something catastrophic happens to prove a point. very poor, very very poor t+t. not patriotic at all. those with eyes.....!

Postby eliteauto » November 30th, 2012, 8:02 am

http://www.stabroeknews.com/2012/featur ... bject_map={%22579723802054%22%3A414310401973953}&action_type_map={%22579723802054%22%3A%22og.recommends%22}&action_ref_map=[]

WetR

Postby WetR » November 30th, 2012, 8:19 am

it is comforting to read or hear an opinion similar to our own

as long as we don't get tempted into a false sense of self righteousness

RIPEBREDFRUIT

Postby RIPEBREDFRUIT » November 30th, 2012, 9:37 am

20 women joined his hunger strike, im sure they ALL need to lose about 40 lbs EACH anyways.
but seriously- he ded yet?

Postby Team Loco » November 30th, 2012, 9:41 am

MadCrix wrote:i said it before and i will say it again, is trinidad, highway go build, ppl will move on and forget.. talk done.. i doh understand why ppl does beat up over thing they cah control.. lawd fadder.

i stand by my comment. the land u build yuh house on, is not yours.. plain and simple. read yuh deed. gov have the right to that land no questions asked.

well said.

Postby rfari » November 30th, 2012, 10:03 am

Kublalsingh OK if PM accepts JCC plan
By Renuka Singh

Story Created: Nov 30, 2012 at 1:09 AM ECT

(Story Updated: Nov 30, 2012 at 6:18 AM ECT )

Environmental activist Dr Wayne Kublalsingh will end his hunger strike if the Prime Minister agrees to the Joint Consultative Council's (JCC's) proposal.

After 15 days without food and water, Kublalsingh remained motionless for most of the day yesterday, only moving with help sometimes to and from the ambulance to his seat.

"I feel it is a very good proposal and we just have to wait and hear what the Prime Minister says about it. In the meantime we wait," Kublalsingh said.

"Once that committee is properly constituted and once I see it is independent and we have participation and she undertakes to do that significant review, I would step down from the hunger strike," he added.

While Kublalsingh's integral support team was still in attendance and there were several new faces with Re-Route T-shirts, he said it seemed the suffering had moved from Debe to outside the Prime Minister's office and after more than two weeks, it has not triggered a response from the Prime Minister.

He seemed ready to change tactics at one point and even asked his supporters for advice.

"If anyone has a suggestion as to what next, let me know," he said.

"We have transferred the suffering from up there (Debe) to here and it hasn't stopped. We have kind of reached toward the end of ideas, it is like we have reached the end of a chess game and we don't know which knob to push again," he said.

He said though he had already "gone past" the urge for food and water; he was concerned that his family and his supporters were beginning to wilt under the strained conditions of the hunger strike.

"I see you all suffering and I don't think that is fair," he said.

"We are all part of this action and when I came out of the ambulance just now I got the distinct impression that they were all suffering and the purpose of this action is to avoid suffering," he said.

He said the heat was the worst part of the hunger strike as the police had barred the group from setting up the tent they used in the first week.

"They took away our tent and that's not fair and we have to resolve that problem. This is a test of the Government to show how insensitive they are, their insensitivity is radically displayed," he said.

While several people came forward with various merits and demerits of his continued hunger strike, there were no suggestions on what to do next.

Head of the Movement for Social Justice (MSJ), David Abdulah, told him that the "conscience of the nation has already been awakened" by his actions.

"But what do we do now, David?" Kublalsingh asked.

"I am not going to stop and if I have to sit here by myself, I would do it," he told one family member who suggested he move from outside the Prime Minister's office and find a more comfortable place for his hunger strike.

"I have to remain here. You see if I'm out of here, I'm out of her conscience and they would say I am eating food home," he said.

Kublalsingh also apologised to Health Minister Dr Fuad Khan for cursing at him during his visit last Monday. Kublalsingh said while he was sorry for the words he used, he was not sorry for how he behaved.

"He was out of place to come and provide a Government ambulance. We have a private ambulance that is funded by my family and relatives and we don't really want the State to provide anything. I think it was a way of mamaguying me to say that the State is interested in me and interested in my health," he said.

Kublalsingh said he would try to inject a happier mood at the strike camp by bringing a few tents and some soft drinks for the supporters.

"We will bring ice and drinks and celebrate," he said.

Despite Kublalsingh's plans, police stationed nearby said he was not going to be allowed to put tents up near the Prime Minister's office.

Postby rfari » November 30th, 2012, 2:32 pm

FML *facepalm*

Canadians support Kublalsingh’s cause
Published:
Tuesday, November 27, 2012
Geisha Kowlessar

Text Size:

Freda Huson, centre, spokesman for the Unistoten-Wet’suwet’en (People of the Headwaters) people of the C'ilhts'ekhyu Clan and fellow Canadian environmentalist MacDonald Stainsby, left, talk with Dr Wayne Kublalsingh’s father Ray, at the hunger-strike camp outside the office of the Prime Minister, St Clair, Friday. PHOTO: ABRAHAM DIAZ
Canadian environmentalists have aligned themselves with the cause of hunger-striker Dr Wayne Kublalsingh. Freda Huson, spokesman for the Unistoten-Wet’suwet’en (People of the Headwaters) people of the C’ilhts’ekhyu Clan, has also called on President George Maxwell Richards to give a hearing to Kublalsingh and to look at what the Highway Re-Route Movement was proposing.

Huson, who visited Kublalsingh briefly as he lay on a wicker daybed outside the Office of the Prime Minister, St Clair, on Friday, said she was moved when she saw his gaunt frame. “I believe for the best interest, even for the President, their family and their children, they should reconsider and relook at what they (Kublalsingh and supporters) are trying to propose and what kind of destruction it will do to the people, the aquifers,” Huson said.

She is in Trinidad for a conference expected to be held at the end of the month on environmental issues with one of the topics being an examination of the dangers of tar-sand mining. Tar sands, sometimes also called oil sands, are deposits of clay, dirt and bitumen all mixed together which is spread during paving and road works.

Huson on Friday also handed out booklets titled, Tar sand in T&T? A look at the world’s dirtiest oil, from Canada to T&T. Throwing full support behind Kublalsingh, Huson said: “I believe what he is doing is for a very good cause. He’s reaching out for the future of the people.

“I come from a country where there are tar sands that totally decimated half of a province and the traditional peoples there. They are dying from rare cancers and they are no more moose there and they rely on the moose as opposed to beef. The salmon also have tumours,” Huson said. She said the use of tar sands was dangerous as it destroyed the land and aquifers.

She added: “It will take thousands of years for that to replenish itself. They say you can replant and replenish the land but you can’t. The land will survive but the people won’t. If you destroy your water, you destroy yourself, especially with this small island here. That is what concerns me.” Huson said when she read about Kublalsingh’s cause on Facebook she immediately became interested as it was similar to her own.

“We’re fighting for the future generation of our children because I don’t want to tell my children and grandchildren that we used to eat moose, we used to eat fish and they’re all gone,” Huson said. Macdonald Stainsby, another Canadian environmentalist, who wrote the tar-sands booklet, also visited Kublalsingh on Friday to offer support.

Stainsby, who said he had known Kublalsingh for quite some time, was not surprised by his strong conviction in carrying out his protest. “But the only nitpick I would make is probably that in a hunger strike, probably somebody might want to drink water so it can go on a bit longer. But I know Wayne is also determined to make his point as fast as possible. I am very supportive of what he is doing,” Stainsby said.

Like Huson, he too was moved by Kublalsingh’s condition. “I have a hard time looking at him. I have known him for some years and I respect him a lot. When I look at him I’m torn up. I’m used to seeing a lot of things but I don’t like to see somebody I know and care about in that condition.” He also took the T&T Government to task, saying an independent technical review of the project was never done, as previously promised.

“Basic democratic principle is when you have a population that you represent, you actually represent them in the way that you promised to do in the first place,” Stainsby added.

Postby gastly369 » November 30th, 2012, 3:38 pm

Postby zoom rader » November 30th, 2012, 3:47 pm

Epic waste of time chead that leads to no where. Only useless articles from non professionals and want to be reporters .

Postby rfari » November 30th, 2012, 3:57 pm

zoom rader wrote:Epic waste of time chead that leads to no where. Only useless articles from non professionals and want to be reporters .

And thanks for your contribution kind sir :mrgreen:

Postby kurpal_v2 » November 30th, 2012, 4:34 pm

Pondering a thought here.

What exactly are the environmental factors kubs is fighting for?

Tried asking ppl but few supported the cause to even care.

Re: Petition - Save Dr. Kublalsingh's Life & The Wetlands in

Postby SMc » November 30th, 2012, 4:37 pm

What the fork is this sheit?

I have about 10 e-mails from today with this heading and though I do care about the wetlands dont really give a toots about him.

Seeing that this is the only trinidad-based website/community/forum I am a memeber of where the arse they get my contact info from. ( I am not even on facebook)...I hope is not tuner based

Re: Re: Petition - Save Dr. Kublalsingh's Life & The Wetland

Postby Team Loco » November 30th, 2012, 4:40 pm

In before the merge

Postby rfari » November 30th, 2012, 4:52 pm

Check hrrm website
edit:
Last edited by rfari on November 30th, 2012, 4:58 pm, edited 1 time in total.

dukenukem4d

Postby dukenukem4d » November 30th, 2012, 4:54 pm

so that include yourself then zoom rader, so then stop commenting on this thread thas all, or you friendless ? from what i have read so far on this thread, there have been good constructive arguments both for and against so for an uninformed person like me it was most educational, all except your posts actually.