Energy Sector Thread - Operators, Engineers, Technicians Et Al

trinidrift

Re: Energy Sector Thread - Operators, Engineers, Technicians Et Al

Postby trinidrift » June 7th, 2017, 10:10 pm

Yes it is and the biggest problem is overtime which they are looking to cut asap. Hence the hiring but as been evident by this government the more poor people it has the better

jcrew

Postby jcrew » June 8th, 2017, 6:18 am

A pardner in the union is saying the report identifies more managers than workers. Saying the company too heavy. Plenty expats who being paid in forex and the money not staying with T&T. Guess we have to wait and see.

Monkey Man

Postby Monkey Man » June 8th, 2017, 10:08 am

hmmmmmmm i wish i use to hear so much ollur is hear yes

sinister_14

Postby sinister_14 » June 8th, 2017, 11:34 am

DreamWeaver wrote:Careful bout that Petrotrin career path dred. The Petrotrin report is in and hada get govt review next. Careful yuh get through and then they restructure and send home. Last in, first out eh

You are so right...they only giving ppl false hope....

trinidrift

Postby trinidrift » June 8th, 2017, 4:30 pm

Anyone else get called to desalcott?

jusdoit

Postby jusdoit » June 8th, 2017, 7:11 pm

jcrew wrote:
nervewrecker wrote:Anyone in here get called about the refinery operator thingy? Hearing men sour they eh get called as they heard calling start.

Yeah I get call. Went for the interview. Say they will be in touch.

Hi, how long after you submitted your documents for verification did Petro call you to do the exam? And how many days after doing the exam did they call you for the interview? This info might help everyone who's waiting for a call have an idea as to when they can expect feedback (if any)!

Postby nervewrecker » June 8th, 2017, 7:21 pm

trinidrift wrote:Anyone else get called to desalcott?

I havent applied in ages

urbandilema

Postby urbandilema » June 9th, 2017, 3:31 pm

I see score in cunupia having a training program in mechanical engineering if you'll looking and if you're young

Postby zoom rader » June 9th, 2017, 8:59 pm

Unless if you are toting real papers and have backing then apply.

This is a family & friends company

trinidrift

Postby trinidrift » June 9th, 2017, 9:04 pm

Unless if you are toting real papers and have backing then apply.

This is a family & friends company

Seriously? A Johnson and Johnson company? Idk anyone there so I guess my qualifications that good

Postby nervewrecker » June 9th, 2017, 9:11 pm

Coworker of mine said he worked there.

Numb3r4

Postby Numb3r4 » June 12th, 2017, 8:38 pm

Anyone has any experience with the nes.gov.tt registration process....

After registering do you have to wait for a Username?

lalloboy101

Postby lalloboy101 » June 13th, 2017, 8:39 am

Saw Massy WG hiring, I even got a call this week.

gencon

Postby gencon » June 13th, 2017, 8:40 am

What position you applied for?

Cooloh

Postby Cooloh » June 13th, 2017, 8:46 am

lalloboy101 wrote:Saw Massy WG hiring, I even got a call this week.

Good company to work for, best of luck!

sinister_14

Postby sinister_14 » June 13th, 2017, 11:26 am

Lng offering VSEP right now guys...pressure..

gencon

Postby gencon » June 13th, 2017, 1:27 pm

:mrgreen:

Drea

Postby Drea » June 13th, 2017, 1:36 pm

sinister_14 wrote:Lng offering VSEP right now guys...pressure..

http://www.cnc3.co.tt/press-release/atlantic-lng-offers-vsep-workers

airuma

Postby airuma » June 13th, 2017, 2:28 pm

jcrew wrote:A pardner in the union is saying the report identifies more managers than workers. Saying the company too heavy. Plenty expats who being paid in forex and the money not staying with T&T. Guess we have to wait and see.

I would never listen to the union. I, together with alot of people got retrenched from a private company because of union involvement. They are a bunch of idiots with a political agenda, the vast majority of companies they bargain for are state run companies. Mass privatisation by the state means.... the unions will be dead!

airuma

Postby airuma » June 13th, 2017, 2:34 pm

sMASH wrote:It hit the media that petrotrin's salaries is one of its biggest expense, and it needs to become more efficient... so they are laying the groundwork for some 'restructuring'.

Subcontractors working on petrotrin's compound are bound to pay petrotrin's labour rates. I used to joke that I would gladly take the job of a labourer in petrotrin.... plenty money and little to no responsibility!

Monkey Man

Postby Monkey Man » June 13th, 2017, 2:40 pm

airuma wrote:Subcontractors working on petrotrin's compound are bound to pay petrotrin's labour rates.

lolz
jus goes to show how much u really know about petrotrins operations. you would be surprised to know how much some of the most hard working(horrid work environments) sub-contractors work for in there.

airuma

Postby airuma » June 13th, 2017, 2:57 pm

Monkey Man wrote:
airuma wrote:Subcontractors working on petrotrin's compound are bound to pay petrotrin's labour rates.

lolz
jus goes to show how much u really know about petrotrins operations. you would be surprised to know how much some of the most hard working(horrid work environments) sub-contractors work for in there.

Sure right!.... especially having worked with the senior people in Ventech when the GTL plant was being installed/built!
So OSHA does not apply to petrotrin.... is that what you saying?

trinidrift

Postby trinidrift » June 13th, 2017, 3:03 pm

What allyuh go say about kenson?

Monkey Man

Postby Monkey Man » June 13th, 2017, 3:09 pm

airuma wrote:
Monkey Man wrote:

lolz

Sure right!.... especially having worked with the senior people in Ventech when the GTL plant was being installed/built!

nope pal. not saying that at all.

alot would make statements that they will work as cleaners/labourers in petrotrin while they sit in their ac room by a desk and chair and type that. but that type of work is very physically demanding and down right messy.

but all they hear is these people have no work and get paid big money......

Postby tr1ad » June 13th, 2017, 3:21 pm

Well said

car

Postby car » June 13th, 2017, 4:36 pm

Monkey Man wrote:
airuma wrote:
Monkey Man wrote:

lolz

nope pal. not saying that at all.

alot would make statements that they will work as cleaners/labourers in petrotrin while they sit in their ac room by a desk and chair and type that. but that type of work is very physically demanding and down right messy.

but all they hear is these people have no work and get paid big money......

When the oil price drop low all the decorative plants was removed from inside the offices because they were being rented. Next 2 week new plants appeared. And every day a person in a jacket suit and tie does come with a watering can and water it.

Numb3r4

Postby Numb3r4 » June 13th, 2017, 5:45 pm

lalloboy101 wrote:Saw Massy WG hiring, I even got a call this week.

Congratulations...all the best.

airuma

Postby airuma » June 13th, 2017, 9:36 pm

Can someone please post the current labour rates for Petrotrin. Back in 2009, a labourer was earning as much as a welder in a private company (around $34/hr i think) and they were still juicing overtime. Workers in these 24hr run plants arrange to stay home when their shift starts on a holiday so their co-worker will benefit from the double time rate. Petrotrin is the most inefficient company in Trinidad and Tobago and even though the inefficiency may start at the head, it certainly will not stop there.

Take a look here to see how their labour rates measure up against other energy service companies
http://energynow.tt/blog/how-do-petrotr ... rgy-sector
Last edited by airuma on June 13th, 2017, 9:42 pm, edited 1 time in total.

trinidrift

Postby trinidrift » June 13th, 2017, 9:40 pm

True but as the saying goes monkey see monkey do

Joshie23

Postby Joshie23 » June 14th, 2017, 8:54 am

airuma wrote:i) Workers in these 24hr run plants arrange to stay home when their shift starts on a holiday so their co-worker will benefit from the double time rate.
ii) Petrotrin is the most inefficient company in Trinidad and Tobago and even though the inefficiency may start at the head, it certainly will not stop there.

Do you have any factual evidence to substantiate both these claims? You know, it irks me to see people bad talk the Petrotrins and bad talk the ALNGs and bad talk the BPs when as I said before some of their biggest occupational hazards is probably a paper cut or the shivers from their air conditioned offices being too cold and even still, I'd bet my last dollar that should such a company post an advertisement hiring in whatever their area of expertise is, they'd apply. Further to that, should they receive an offer of employment, they'd never ask for a lower salary or worse yet they'd never decline and say 'No thanks, I personally think employees of _____ company are overpaid and lazy and I'd much rather sit at home and continue to bad talk you all over social media where no one knows my name or sees my face.' :roll: