*** The official car accident thread***

DMan7

Re: *** The official car accident thread***

Postby DMan7 » June 11th, 2023, 3:19 pm

Amber light is to slow down before stopping as it goes to red soon after amber. What I never understood was why don't the Red light also go to amber and then to green. People need to learn to slowly take off from a green light and not speed off immediately.

Postby j.o.e » June 11th, 2023, 5:40 pm

DMan7 wrote:Amber light is to slow down before stopping as it goes to red soon after amber. What I never understood was why don't the Red light also go to amber and then to green. People need to learn to slowly take off from a green light and not speed off immediately.

Because trinis would use the amber as a reason to launch
Would also over complicate the light programming

Postby paid_influencer » June 11th, 2023, 5:42 pm

green light is to launch that is the purpose of green

Postby Rovin » June 11th, 2023, 5:48 pm

even when u get green u shud be cautious & look to see if any jackass spending coming to rush d light b4 it changes on their side ...

Postby maj. tom » June 11th, 2023, 5:59 pm

I sure it have rellllll colorblind men who does be breaking the lights all over if they're not paying attention.

They (an international consortium) should change each light to a symbol that's easily recognizable to drivers at velocity, something like the pedestrian crossing symbols they now use. Like large square red for Stop. Rapid flashing orange triangle for caution. Maybe a follow trace green LED arrow for Go and direction. With new LED they can mix in some colors so that colour blind persons can distinguish the red/green better.

Postby Rory Phoulorie » June 11th, 2023, 7:40 pm

DMan7 wrote:Amber light is to slow down before stopping as it goes to red soon after amber. . .

What?

Go read your driving regulations booklet. Amber light means to stop, not slow down. You will get some leeway from the police with running the amber light, because depending on your speed, it may not be safe to try and stop the car depending on when the light turns to amber, your distance from the traffic light/intersection, and your speed.

DMan7

Postby DMan7 » June 11th, 2023, 7:42 pm

Rory Phoulorie wrote:
DMan7 wrote:Amber light is to slow down before stopping as it goes to red soon after amber. . .

What?

Go read your driving regulations booklet. Amber light means to stop, not slow down. You will get some leeway from the police with running the amber light, because depending on your speed, it may not be safe to try and stop the car depending on when the light turns to amber, your distance from the traffic light/intersection, and your speed.

So if amber is to stop then what is the purpose of the red light?

DMan7

Postby DMan7 » June 11th, 2023, 7:48 pm

Anyways this is the information I got about the amber light online.

What if the light is amber?
Amber usually means stop, unless it’s unsafe to do so. If you’re too close to the line at the time the light turns amber, you may be committed, and braking sharply could lead to an accident. Technically it’s legal to go through an amber light, but ideally you shouldn’t do this unless you have to.

If the traffic lights are at a pedestrian crossing, the lights tend to flash amber before turning green. This means you can proceed if the crossing is clear. If pedestrians are still crossing, wait until it’s safe to go.

Amber light is officially to stop but there are obvious caveats to it like listed above. Unofficially the amber light is to slow down and stop at the line as a sudden stop can cause the cars momentum behind you to suddenly hit you from behind. Not everything is a black or white, stop or go, the amber light exists within a grey area.

Alpha_2nr

Postby Alpha_2nr » June 12th, 2023, 10:24 am

Rory Phoulorie is spot on.

Amber is given as a "stop" at the line, unless unsafe to do so. This is based on the premise that by the time the same light subsequently turns red, no vehicle should be crossing the light into the intersection box and all should be stopped behind the line. Once you cross the line and enter the intersection box on a red light, it's breaking the law, regardless of speed.

DMan7 wrote:Anyways this is the information I got about the amber light online.

What if the light is amber?
Amber usually means stop, unless it’s unsafe to do so. If you’re too close to the line at the time the light turns amber, you may be committed, and braking sharply could lead to an accident. Technically it’s legal to go through an amber light, but ideally you shouldn’t do this unless you have to.

If the traffic lights are at a pedestrian crossing, the lights tend to flash amber before turning green. This means you can proceed if the crossing is clear. If pedestrians are still crossing, wait until it’s safe to go.

Amber light is officially to stop but there are obvious caveats to it like listed above. Unofficially the amber light is to slow down and stop at the line as a sudden stop can cause the cars momentum behind you to suddenly hit you from behind. Not everything is a black or white, stop or go, the amber light exists within a grey area.

^^Might have been better if you'd just taken the extract from the MVA instead, and got the correct "letter of the law" applicable to Trinidad, so to speak. The MVA is easily available online and says the following (found after all of 10 mins of searching through the document).

Article 102.h:

the full amber signal shown alone shall be taken
as prohibiting vehicular traffic from proceeding
beyond the stop line
except in the case of any
vehicle which when the signal first appears is so
close to the said line that it cannot safely be
stopped before passing the line

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » June 12th, 2023, 8:27 pm

The variable amber light timing at different lights is also a problem

How many people wait at lights at 3 in the morning with no one coming from any other direction

Postby Chimera » June 12th, 2023, 9:21 pm

Not facking me.

Depending on location If is after 11 I eh waiting long on any light. I eh speeding tru any light but I eh waiting too long either.

DMan7

Postby DMan7 » June 12th, 2023, 10:09 pm

That's why we need AI traffic lights, so they can make the decision to vary the lights depending on the situation. You know how much times I've waited by a light and there's literally no cars passing by at an intersection and there is none in sight if you look further down the road of the intersection too. Why do I have to wait like a dumbass by a light where there aren't any cars to control on the road in the first place?

Postby pugboy » June 12th, 2023, 10:29 pm

nah many lights have sensors already for that
eg movietowne lights by stadium, mucurapo rd to peakes
the sensors on right lane
so if you in left or not right up to line it won’t trigger

*** The official car accident thread***

Postby MaxPower » June 12th, 2023, 10:45 pm

Dizzy28 wrote:Business leaders, religious figures, senior public servants, state enterprises heads
pugboy wrote:always wondered how ppl does get pbr pass
apart from the regular cops, army etc

Also a $4000 could get you a pbr pass.

But i would never pay for a pass.

Never

DMan7

Postby DMan7 » June 12th, 2023, 11:01 pm

pugboy wrote:nah many lights have sensors already for that

.Nah I ain't talking about those sensors that existed for decades, I'm talking about actual AI built into the light system with cameras that the AI can use to make decisions based on the traffic situation at certain intersections to allow more or less traffic if there are accidents or higher amount of traffic at a particular intersection to give that light more time to change as opposed to others.

Postby The_Honourable » June 14th, 2023, 1:08 pm

Well yes...

Postby 16 cycles » June 14th, 2023, 2:34 pm

^ got run off on that same stretch by Piarco already - trucks don't seem to hold their end - worse if they are carrying a wideload...

Postby redmanjp » June 14th, 2023, 3:51 pm

DMan7 wrote:

.Nah I ain't talking about those sensors that existed for decades, I'm talking about actual AI built into the light system with cameras that the AI can use to make decisions based on the traffic situation at certain intersections to allow more or less traffic if there are accidents or higher amount of traffic at a particular intersection to give that light more time to change as opposed to others.

good working sensors should do it but either it doh have enough (to pick up that there isnt any traffic NOT just waiting by the line but higher up) or they just not working properly. if the sensor not working properly u think anything AI related go work properly?

maintenance is not in the trini dictionary

DMan7

Postby DMan7 » June 14th, 2023, 3:57 pm

redmanjp wrote:
DMan7 wrote:

good working sensors should do it but either it doh have enough (to pick up that there isnt any traffic NOT just waiting by the line but higher up) or they just not working properly. if the sensor not working properly u think anything AI related go work properly?

maintenance is not in the trini dictionary

Well you have a point there. Maybe another country can test this out.

Postby pugboy » June 14th, 2023, 4:02 pm

traffic is fairly predictable based on times/peak and unfortunately enough to overload any adaptive system at peak times

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » June 19th, 2023, 10:33 am

Bad accident heading east by Curepe interchange..some standstill traffic, police and ambulance on scene

e3a097bc-af40-491b-bbb6-6bc5aaff3050.jpeg

bded8461-6b32-4283-92c6-bccaa39973a8.jpeg

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » June 19th, 2023, 10:39 am

Men flattening the king of the road
IMG-20230619-WA0099.jpg

ruffrider27

Postby ruffrider27 » June 19th, 2023, 10:40 am

Stink & Dutty drunk , should see the idiot driving around the savannah.

DMan7

Postby DMan7 » June 19th, 2023, 10:41 am

Every long weekend is the same shite eh?

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » June 19th, 2023, 11:15 am

IMG_3090.jpeg

d4e414b9-83ad-407c-a5cc-7afdc0100c85.jpeg

DMan7

Postby DMan7 » June 19th, 2023, 11:17 am

Like a scene from a movie. WOW! :shock:

Postby 16 cycles » June 19th, 2023, 11:33 am

Passed it..no idea what that van hit....

Marct

Postby Marct » June 19th, 2023, 11:37 am

Looks like it flipped and rolled...

Postby bluefete » June 19th, 2023, 11:41 am

DMan7 wrote:

Why you talking about a setta high-tech things duncy head politicians know nothing about?

Postby bluefete » June 19th, 2023, 11:44 am

The_Honourable wrote:Well yes...

Look how easy it is for someone to die on the roads. That is why I automatically slow down when trucks are around. The amount of dotish truck driving I have seen is unbelievable.

Hope everyone is okay.