3ne2nr fishermen

Hyperion

Re: 3ne2nr fishermen

Postby Hyperion » February 25th, 2017, 1:22 pm

went Maracas yesterday, water was as flat as Scotland bay, no breeze and no whitecaps.

Postby rollingstock » February 25th, 2017, 2:06 pm

Carrying the kids out on the boat, hope they don't get sick

Postby rspann » February 25th, 2017, 2:14 pm

Hyperion wrote:went Maracas yesterday, water was as flat as Scotland bay, no breeze and no whitecaps.

True yesterday was real calm, but:

THOSE looking to escape the Carnival festivities this weekend are warned to watch for drama by the seas instead, as a disturbance in the Northern Atlantic Ocean could trouble Trinidad’s western coast over the next 48 hours.
Going camping is a popular activity over the Carnival weekend and campers and sea-goers overall are cautioned to be aware of the possibility of harsh conditions.
A bulletin issued by the Trinidad and Tobago Meteorological Service yesterday stated that a northerly, long-period swell event was forecast to begin affecting northern and western coastlines of Tobago from last night.
Numerical Weather Prediction (NWP) models forecast the swells to reach the northern and western coasts of Tobago by 8 p.m. last night and the northern and western coasts of Trinidad by midnight.
The coasts were expected to bear periods or wave intervals in excess of 12 seconds, meaning the time between successive wave crests will be 12 seconds or more.
“These long period swells may be low amplitude but as they approach shallow waters, the wave heights can increase sharply and as a result, may lead to battering waves, especially along the northern and western coasts of Tobago and to a lesser degree, the northern and western coasts of Trinidad,” meteorologist Saide Shakeer, stated.
Conditions will also be exacerbated during high tide. Tobago was last night expected to experience localised disruption to sea bathing and nearshore coastal activity.
TagsNEWSNEWS

Postby rspann » February 25th, 2017, 2:20 pm

rollingstock wrote:Carrying the kids out on the boat, hope they don't get sick

Yeah ,the kids, right.

m6

Postby m6 » February 25th, 2017, 7:24 pm

Water was extremely rough, with huge swells, earlier this morning in Las Cuevas. Boats had to be untied from the shore and moored out in the middle of the bay!

francis1979

Postby francis1979 » February 25th, 2017, 7:39 pm

Anyone having luck on a beach or rock
Looking to somewhere and throw a line

ryan99tt

Postby ryan99tt » February 26th, 2017, 10:11 pm

Couple of the mahi i kept to clean...

proton17

Postby proton17 » February 27th, 2017, 6:42 am

francis1979 wrote:Anyone having luck on a beach or rock
Looking to somewhere and throw a line

Tawat up to 2 pounds biting from shore in manzan, go past d river mouth in manzan, find where hv chip chip, when d tide almost full the fish are close in... no need to walk in and throw.

Shrimp bait.

Caught a few tawat and melwish yesterday, going back today..

Plenty stingray if u want a lil action too. Lol

Postby meccalli » February 27th, 2017, 4:43 pm

I end up in salybia today, caught a few grunt and a small mutton with some zagaya.

Postby Country_Bookie » February 27th, 2017, 5:10 pm

Any of u fellas fish in arena dam? how is it this time of year? thinking of going tomorrow.

proton17

Postby proton17 » February 28th, 2017, 6:54 am

Caught some more tawat and melwish yesterday.

Postby sMASH » February 28th, 2017, 11:28 am

was up salybia sunday, and a guy speared a big fish just about 50ft away from the bridge, just on the sides of the reeds. he was with snorkeling gear, but wasn't actually seeing anything. some guys on the bridge were directing him how to move, until he was right in front the fish.
i was told it was granticai... and seemed to be 30lbs...
im not a fish person, but that hunt was quite interesting.

HSA

Postby HSA » March 1st, 2017, 7:14 am

Went out in the gulf yesterday...the water was smooth until about 12noon...then the rain set in it was accompanied by high breeze and chops...

Fish biting in the shallows..hold some nice reds about 3-5 lb size...alot of tawat, grunt etc..a power and a trigger fish...

HondaPuss

Postby HondaPuss » March 1st, 2017, 4:26 pm

A few days ago i was net fishing at the dam in siparia. I caught a lot of cascadoo but one of them was white with a red mouth and fins. I have never seen one this colour before so if anyone knows about this they could explain a little

Postby *KRONIK* » March 1st, 2017, 5:02 pm

U eh take a piktyear?

altec

Postby altec » March 1st, 2017, 7:59 pm

aye proton 17, which river? going south from grande it have the river before the beach facility, there is a river after the long stretch to mayaro think is the nariva river, then the otoire river. I went mazan last week just after the beach facility and nothing except 1 or 2 catfish. There was plent chip chip though. If there place to park?

Postby meccalli » March 1st, 2017, 8:40 pm

HondaPuss wrote:A few days ago i was net fishing at the dam in siparia. I caught a lot of cascadoo but one of them was white with a red mouth and fins. I have never seen one this colour before so if anyone knows about this they could explain a little

Like this?

HondaPuss

Postby HondaPuss » March 1st, 2017, 8:43 pm

The one i caught was a little more pale

Postby meccalli » March 1st, 2017, 9:52 pm

It's an albino.

HondaPuss

Postby HondaPuss » March 1st, 2017, 9:58 pm

So i shouldn't have curried it?

BUSHMASTER

Postby BUSHMASTER » March 1st, 2017, 10:02 pm

Curry albino cascadu...hmmm

Postby meccalli » March 1st, 2017, 10:08 pm

HondaPuss wrote:So i shouldn't have curried it?

lol no, it doesn't matter. It's just a genetic condition, it's rare in the wild because albino animals are easier to see and are more prone to predation i.e most of them get eaten anyway because they don't camouflage.
A shop might have bought it though, if you breed 2 albino fish it's likely some of the progeny will also share the trait and aquarium guys like to have those odd fish.

V2NR 3.0

Postby V2NR 3.0 » March 1st, 2017, 10:42 pm

Chip Chip in season ?

proton17

Postby proton17 » March 1st, 2017, 11:20 pm

altec wrote:aye proton 17, which river? going south from grande it have the river before the beach facility, there is a river after the long stretch to mayaro think is the nariva river, then the otoire river. I went mazan last week just after the beach facility and nothing except 1 or 2 catfish. There was plent chip chip though. If there place to park?

After where the sea meets d nariva river, after dat river mouth, just drive a few minutes drive and anywhere there, it hv real plenty chip chip...

Normally d fish does be anywhere after d beach facility and before the last set of beach houses but the water cleaner past d river mouth, so most of the fish there...

altec

Postby altec » March 2nd, 2017, 7:00 am

tomorrow i going down... i waliking with squid, shrimp if i get, and I have gulp and fishbites to try also

proton17

Postby proton17 » March 2nd, 2017, 10:28 am

dont bother with gulp or squid, only catfish on squid.

gulp never work there for me.

fishbites are the best but still go with like 4 pound of shrimps, it hv real small zilwan eating out d bait before the better fish get a chance.

racedriverpro

Postby racedriverpro » March 2nd, 2017, 10:38 am

Where can I get fishbites locally?

altec

Postby altec » March 2nd, 2017, 11:23 am

I bought a pack with two 12 in strips on amazon. A piece about 2 inches/5cm lasts about an hour to hour and half before you have to replace. Tri fish in grande sell me about a pound of shrimp for $40.00. I cyah buy 4 lbs ah bait at that price.

Postby meccalli » March 2nd, 2017, 11:56 am

You can always use sandfleas. They're free lol. I always get those little longfin pompano with that.

ryan99tt

Postby ryan99tt » March 2nd, 2017, 1:24 pm

Caught a few of these last over the carnival...this one weighed just under 20lbs...