COVID-19 in Trinidad & Tobago (Local Updates & Discussions Only)

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 1384 cases, 15 deaths, 1177 active, 192 discharged in T&T

Postby MaxPower » August 26th, 2020, 2:37 pm

Anybody check on Slim aka matr1x?

Where is he?

Im getting worried as i know he has possible heart and breathing problems.

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 1384 cases, 15 deaths, 1177 active, 192 discharged in T&T

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » August 26th, 2020, 2:40 pm

Anyone heard from/saw rspann recently?

Postby 88sins » August 26th, 2020, 2:42 pm

redmanjp wrote:
RedVEVO wrote:
redmanjp wrote:
pugboy wrote:so a next shifts worth of docs and nurses gotta test and quarantine

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:Another nurse has tested +. She was attached to mt.hope. doctors and hurse in sfgh are feeling the pinch. Alot of bs going on down there

If they wearing ppe shouldn't have to

The numbers were manipulated .

They hid the real data .

now that they discharging +ve ppl they no longer have to count them- so number will go down artificially

Nah. They will still have to record all + tests, so the numbers will still keep climbing. Only way to slow the number of + test results, would be to slow down testing. And that won't work, because if they want that covid relief money they have to show we have cases going up. Not to mention the question of how they plan to explain the high number of deaths that will eventually come vs the low number of cases.

What's more probable is a small reduction in the rate of testing, and when you test + they send you home and after 2-3 weeks close your case and consider you to have had an outcome, that you survived and recovered from the infection, whether or not you actually did, unless you died. Doing that, they can easily manipulate the figures so it looks like the numbers holding steady when in fact it running rampant

Postby redmanjp » August 26th, 2020, 2:50 pm

i meant active cases. so yes they would count towards the total number but we would now see how many discharged, but now that no longer means recovered. so they could say we have only so much active cases and not bother to publish the ones at home for us to see, although for full transparency and to have a good picture of the outbreak they should.

Postby K74T » August 26th, 2020, 2:54 pm

Scotiabank Princes Town closed after employee tests positive for COVID -19

August 26, 2020

The Scotiabank Princes Town branch has been closed until further notice after an employee tested positive for COVID-19.
The employee who has been in quarantine since exhibiting symptoms is now
under the medical supervision of the Ministry of Health.
In a press release issued this afternoon, bank officials said employees who work in the branch are in the process of being tested and are self-isolating for the stipulated 14 days.
Senior Vice President and Managing Director Stephen Bagnarol said: “Our top priority is the health and safety of our employees and customers.” We have taken immediate action and will work with the authorities, including the Ministry of Health to ensure we adhere to the measures prescribed.”

The branch will undergo stringent deep cleaning and sanitization before reopening to safeguard the health and wellbeing of employees and customers.

- via CNC3

Postby MaxPower » August 26th, 2020, 3:36 pm

I really dunno who you Trinis fooling with “self quarantine”.

That will never happen coming from the vast majority.

So if the Govt wants people to self Q with no symptoms....then that could actually make it worst.

What about people with no symptoms that eventually develop symptoms...you really feel they are going to report themselves and go in a state Q? NO, they will still go and mingle with the public and spread their germs.

People will NOT strictly adhere and officials themselves are incompetent to ensure the citizens comply.

If they really want people to self Q, then an aggressive and stern approach is needed.

Will see how it goes.

eitech

Postby eitech » August 26th, 2020, 3:43 pm

MaxPower wrote:Anybody check on Slim aka matr1x?

Where is he?

Im getting worried as i know he has possible heart and breathing problems.

Ent he wanted covid or a hurricane sometime ago?

elec2020

Postby elec2020 » August 26th, 2020, 3:47 pm

^ if true. U should never wish bad on others as it may come back onto u.

killercow

Postby killercow » August 26th, 2020, 3:47 pm

K74T wrote:Scotiabank Princes Town closed after employee tests positive for COVID -19

August 26, 2020

The Scotiabank Princes Town branch has been closed until further notice after an employee tested positive for COVID-19.
In a press release issued this afternoon, bank officials said employees who work in the branch are in the process of being tested and are self-isolating for the stipulated 14 days.
Senior Vice President and Managing Director Stephen Bagnarol said: “Our top priority is the health and safety of our employees and customers.” We have taken immediate action and will work with the authorities, including the Ministry of Health to ensure we adhere to the measures prescribed.”

The branch will undergo stringent deep cleaning and sanitization before reopening to safeguard the health and wellbeing of employees and customers.

- via CNC3
Aite so lemme see if I understand this situation (and many others like it). A person who has been in quarantine for an undisclosed amount of days prior has just received confirmation of a +ve result and now the bank has chosen to close to sanitise? So in the space of time the worker has been quarantined at home to the confirmation of the + result, the bank has been operating as usual. If there was a presence of the virus in that time, there's a strong chance others could have been unknowingly infected. Unless the person started displaying flu-like symptoms the same day, the test was done the same day and results released the same day, why not just close and sanitise as soon as you find out the person is exhibiting flu-like symptoms?
I guess that might be too costly for a possible false alarm huh?

Postby aaron17 » August 26th, 2020, 3:51 pm

MaxPower wrote:I really dunno who you Trinis fooling with “self quarantine”.

So if the Govt wants people to self Q with no symptoms....then that could actually make it worst.

What about people with no symptoms that eventually develop symptoms...you really feel they are going to report themselves and go in a state Q? NO, they will still go and mingle with the public and spread their germs.

People will NOT strictly adhere and officials themselves are incompetent to ensure the citizens comply.

If they really want people to self Q, then an aggressive and stern approach is needed.

Will see how it goes.
Wait ..so we weren't self quarantine all the time?

Postby teems1 » August 26th, 2020, 3:56 pm

We are currently in a social distancing and practicing proper hygiene phase.

No crowd greater than 5, keep 6ft apart, wear mask and wash hands thoroughly etc.

Quarantine means you can't leave your house. Or even interact with those in the house. No trips for food, supermarket etc.
aaron17 wrote:

Will see how it goes.

Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 1384 cases, 15 deaths, 1177 active, 192 discharged in T&T

Postby MaxPower » August 26th, 2020, 4:05 pm

aaron17 wrote:

Will see how it goes.

Hello aaron17,

Some new developments.

https://www.cnc3.co.tt/cmo-green-lights ... -patients/

Starting from today, if you have the COVID-19 virus but do not have moderate to severe symptoms, you will be allowed to quarantine at home.

This from Chief Medical Officer, Dr Roshan Parasram, who was speaking at the Ministry of Health’s (MOH) press briefing on Wednesday morning.

Parasram said this is the latest stage of the MOH’s response to the virus, as this country now has 1,177 active COVID-19 cases. Parasram said those with moderate to severe symptoms will be hospitalised at either the Couva Hospital or the Caura Hospital.

Earlier on Wednesday, the MOH announced that 132 more people had tested positive for the virus.

Parasram said within the next two days, 400 people will be discharged from step-down facilities across the country, as he said the Ministry’s discharge procedure has also changed.

He said instead of needing one negative COVID test to be discharged, patients will now need to have no symptoms for ten days plus three days before being discharged.

Upon discharge, the patient will be made to sign a quarantine order, which confines them to their home for a further seven days before they can resume their normal routines.

Parasram said after these seven days have elapsed, the patient will no longer be able to spread the virus to anyone else.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » August 26th, 2020, 4:14 pm

Long traffic lines in St Augustine to get tested for Covid-19

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 1252 cases, 15 deaths, 1059 active, 178 discharged in T&T

Postby zoom rader » August 26th, 2020, 4:26 pm

sMASH wrote:
zoom rader wrote:The nation got Played well and proper
We played ourselves
On the advice of the powers to please themselves

screwbash

Postby screwbash » August 26th, 2020, 4:49 pm

remind me of the movie '28 days later" where the virus took 28 days ( the same amount of time the PM gave us) to kill most people turning them into zombies. after they turned quarantine areas into people killing people for what is left and who will control the resources.

Postby aaron17 » August 26th, 2020, 4:58 pm

aaron17 wrote:

Will see how it goes.

Hello aaron17,

Some new developments.

https://www.cnc3.co.tt/cmo-green-lights ... -patients/

Starting from today, if you have the COVID-19 virus but do not have moderate to severe symptoms, you will be allowed to quarantine at home.

This from Chief Medical Officer, Dr Roshan Parasram, who was speaking at the Ministry of Health’s (MOH) press briefing on Wednesday morning.

Parasram said this is the latest stage of the MOH’s response to the virus, as this country now has 1,177 active COVID-19 cases. Parasram said those with moderate to severe symptoms will be hospitalised at either the Couva Hospital or the Caura Hospital.

Earlier on Wednesday, the MOH announced that 132 more people had tested positive for the virus.

Parasram said within the next two days, 400 people will be discharged from step-down facilities across the country, as he said the Ministry’s discharge procedure has also changed.

He said instead of needing one negative COVID test to be discharged, patients will now need to have no symptoms for ten days plus three days before being discharged.

Upon discharge, the patient will be made to sign a quarantine order, which confines them to their home for a further seven days before they can resume their normal routines.

Parasram said after these seven days have elapsed, the patient will no longer be able to spread the virus to anyone else.
Thx

eitech

Postby eitech » August 26th, 2020, 5:14 pm

elec2020 wrote:^ if true. U should never wish bad on others as it may come back onto u.

Lol what are the odds of covid or a hurricane affecting only you.

Postby bluefete » August 26th, 2020, 5:18 pm

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:Anyone heard from/saw rspann recently?

Long time now I asking that question. He disappeared just before GE day.

Postby MaxPower » August 26th, 2020, 5:22 pm

Wishing my top lad rspann, the best auto painter in T&T all the best where ever he is.

Im sure he is safe, probably busy with work.

elec2020

Postby elec2020 » August 26th, 2020, 5:23 pm

eitech wrote:
elec2020 wrote:^ if true. U should never wish bad on others as it may come back onto u.

Lol what are the odds of covid or a hurricane affecting only you.

Not that it affects only u. But have u never heard from the elderly that when u wish bad on others. Don't be surprised when that same bad happens to u

Postby bluefete » August 26th, 2020, 5:31 pm

Some days ago, I posted and hoped this was not true. Apparently, it is.

LANGUAGE

Apparently, he held one of the 1st August

Postby K74T » August 26th, 2020, 6:15 pm

27 additional

FB_IMG_1598480110521.jpeg

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » August 26th, 2020, 6:17 pm

K74T wrote:27 additional

FB_IMG_1598480110521.jpeg

was wondering if we would cross the 200 mark today when i saw the 132 this morning

Postby K74T » August 26th, 2020, 6:19 pm

Yup wondered the same as well

Postby sMASH » August 26th, 2020, 6:19 pm

killercow wrote:
K74T wrote:Scotiabank Princes Town closed after employee tests positive for COVID -19

August 26, 2020

- via CNC3
Aite so lemme see if I understand this situation (and many others like it). A person who has been in quarantine for an undisclosed amount of days prior has just received confirmation of a +ve result and now the bank has chosen to close to sanitise? So in the space of time the worker has been quarantined at home to the confirmation of the + result, the bank has been operating as usual. If there was a presence of the virus in that time, there's a strong chance others could have been unknowingly infected. Unless the person started displaying flu-like symptoms the same day, the test was done the same day and results released the same day, why not just close and sanitise as soon as you find out the person is exhibiting flu-like symptoms?
I guess that might be too costly for a possible false alarm huh?
Further spanners in the works. Did the bank know about the testing in the first place? Whose responsibility is it it is to inform the employer of the testing, the employee or the ministry/authorities?

Ehat about all the people before the sample was taken, I. E. while the person started to show symptoms, and before when they would be presyptomatic but viral loaded enough to be infectious? Like the 7 days prior to the sampling...

The Pandora box is open.

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » August 26th, 2020, 6:37 pm

Screenshot_20200826_184102.jpg

Screenshot_20200826_183913.jpg
27 new cases but was it 153 or 132 cases from this morning?

ST Auto

Postby ST Auto » August 26th, 2020, 6:51 pm

132 according the the moh update

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » August 26th, 2020, 6:55 pm

ST Auto wrote:132 according the the moh update

Where express got their numbers from?

Postby paid_influencer » August 26th, 2020, 7:08 pm

Dohplaydat wrote:Screenshot_20200826_184102.jpg
Screenshot_20200826_183913.jpg27 new cases but was it 153 or 132 cases from this morning?

they probably report 10am to 10am, so they check yesterdays 6pm update (which was 68) and + today's 10am update (132).

they are a newspaper, so reporting 6pm to 6pm probably won't meet print time deadlines.

Postby bluefete » August 26th, 2020, 7:48 pm

MaxPower wrote:Wishing my top lad rspann, the best auto painter in T&T all the best where ever he is.

Im sure he is safe, probably busy with work.

Let's hope so, Max. Let's hope so.