Re: 3ne2nr fishermen

Postby pugboy » February 5th, 2017, 8:12 pm

they sweeter than carite or kingfish any day

offroadchic25

Postby offroadchic25 » February 5th, 2017, 8:32 pm

Check wat these fellas catch when they go diving. This is from mayaro they have some real cool pics on instagram.
https://www.instagram.com/p/BOIFYQwjfEe ... tcaribbean

altec

Postby altec » February 5th, 2017, 9:04 pm

aye fellas.... i keep seeing people fishing just before the chaguaramas boardwalk on the left of the kayak rental place and construction site. Is this a good place to try busting out the yozuri 3d minnow and daiwa sp minnow? What is actually caught there?

ryan99tt

3ne2nr fishermen

Postby ryan99tt » February 5th, 2017, 9:19 pm

offroadchic25 wrote:Check wat these fellas catch when they go diving. This is from mayaro they have some real cool pics on instagram.

Yea daz josh lewis...he along with christian reece and brett thompson are some of the best divers in trinidad for sure...they do alot of free diving to real insane depths...

offroadchic25

Postby offroadchic25 » February 5th, 2017, 10:48 pm

ryan99tt wrote:
offroadchic25 wrote:Check wat these fellas catch when they go diving. This is from mayaro they have some real cool pics on instagram.

Yea daz josh lewis...he along with christian reece and brett thompson are some of the best divers in trinidad for sure...they do alot of free diving to real insane depths...

Yeah they are real good ah.... they have a show coming about them in a few weeks too. Its all about fishing in Trinidad - called Wet I am excited to see it.

ryan99tt

Postby ryan99tt » February 5th, 2017, 11:02 pm

Actually they did the whole season already and a couple of the episodes are uploaded on the youtube channel...the remainder of the season wud be released this year...

Postby meccalli » February 6th, 2017, 7:34 am

altec wrote:aye fellas.... i keep seeing people fishing just before the chaguaramas boardwalk on the left of the kayak rental place and construction site. Is this a good place to try busting out the yozuri 3d minnow and daiwa sp minnow? What is actually caught there?

You could probably throw some metals if cultlass fish around but other than that, it's more of a bait and wait area where you get some small snappers at night.

Postby gastly369 » February 6th, 2017, 11:59 am

Them trawling boats fkin up north side ...

joelleena

Postby joelleena » February 6th, 2017, 9:31 pm

Looking for a 28 foot pirogue...no engine...anyone knows of any?

altec

Postby altec » February 7th, 2017, 10:00 am

Since i tried lure fishing I find it way more satisfying than bait and wait. I need places I can visit by myself to throw lures. Any where you guys recommend?

Postby dougla_boy » February 7th, 2017, 10:48 am

altec wrote:Since i tried lure fishing I find it way more satisfying than bait and wait. I need places I can visit by myself to throw lures. Any where you guys recommend?

expand on this lure fishing nuh

altec

Postby altec » February 7th, 2017, 1:54 pm

ok...
(from the web) A fishing lure is a type of artificial fishing bait which is designed to attract a fish's attention. The lure uses movement, vibration, flash and color to bait fish. Many lures are equipped with one or more hooks that are used to catch fish when they strike the lure.
I am only talking about casting and retrieving lures from a fixed place such as beach, or jetty (no boats) etc. People for example, use lures from the toco lighthouse rocks. What I have so far in the pic. I am going to try poppers and have one coming in through Websource. The pencil popper(one with feathers) in the picture have not caught fish as yet. I am not confident enough to use metals as yet because I am still feeling my way around.

Postby meccalli » February 7th, 2017, 6:56 pm

You can fish anywhere with plugs, the thing is being there when the fish are. For that, you really have to dedicate time into learning spots and fishing it hard to know when and where and recognize when conditions are in your favour (bait availability, feeding periods, beach structure, turbidity, salinity etc). I bought a bunch of surf gear a few years ago because I was planning to learn manzan and now I barely even go there anymore lol. North and East coasts are your best bets, I would probably go scout a couple locations particularly looking for some steep sloped beaches. There's a really rough spot around rampanalagas I always wanted to fish, looks particularly good for disorienting bait.

Hyperion

Postby Hyperion » February 8th, 2017, 6:32 am

Altec, once your wire leader has kinks you need to change it, the wire will snap and you will lose them expensive lures.

altec

Postby altec » February 8th, 2017, 7:32 am

I know, those lures been in that box a while now... wires would be changed before using. I never used to use wires with lures until last time I fished, gar took two in a short space of time.

Postby dougla_boy » February 8th, 2017, 10:17 am

hmmmm..... thanks for the info fellas... good info!

ryan99tt

Postby ryan99tt » February 8th, 2017, 3:20 pm

Usually gd spots to hit wit lures are rocky areas imo...any rock structure tend to hold more predatory fish which lure fishing is basically about...try different lures depending on the bait size in that area and what the fish generally find readily available...make sure u have a gd combo wit braided line to get maximum distance from casting...longer the bait is in the water, greater the chance a fish has at seeing it...try varying speeds of retrieve on your cast as well...different fish like different speeds...

Well yesterday i went and fish the mahi...caught a 700lbs with the biggest being about 22lbs...no monsters but still ah gd catch...

Hyperion

Postby Hyperion » February 8th, 2017, 5:57 pm

^^^ live bait, dead bait, or artificials?

ryan99tt

Postby ryan99tt » February 8th, 2017, 10:40 pm

All of the above...live bait, some on dead and some on lures...

reeLpACE

Postby reeLpACE » February 10th, 2017, 3:25 pm

Ryan ya reach boi
Into the blue IG... impressive
That's actually my favorite fishing show after Spanish fly, well done

Postby meccalli » February 10th, 2017, 3:43 pm

Postby pugboy » February 10th, 2017, 3:57 pm

Anybody ever jig lures for guabine ?
Have access to a lake which have plenty.

rere31

Postby rere31 » February 10th, 2017, 4:08 pm

Who fishes on the rock off the coast of San fernando?

Postby meccalli » February 10th, 2017, 4:40 pm

pugboy wrote:Anybody ever jig lures for guabine ?
Have access to a lake which have plenty.

Nah, but they do it all the time in brazil. They love live twospot sardines.

ryan99tt

Postby ryan99tt » February 10th, 2017, 4:54 pm

Yea i fish guabine wit lures...deh love spinners and small poppers...thanks guys i see dey posted the foto today...not my best foto though...

Went out today for ah half day tide an fished the mahi...got a 480lbs, was a hard day though but still caught some...

Hyperion

Postby Hyperion » February 10th, 2017, 7:10 pm

reeLpACE wrote:Ryan ya reach boi
Into the blue IG... impressive
That's actually my favorite fishing show after Spanish fly, well done

Spanish Fly was my favorite as well. Jose Wejebe was real.

Was real upset when he died.

ryan99tt

Postby ryan99tt » February 10th, 2017, 7:15 pm

Jose is always one of the best and one of my favorites...

ttphilip

Postby ttphilip » February 11th, 2017, 7:41 am

Ryan, you getting those mahi on a fad? Or just trolling around tide lines and debris?

Postby meccalli » February 14th, 2017, 11:49 am

Weedlines and fads all have one thing in common. They hold bait. Weedlines themselves aren't really a causation however, it's really the convergence of different bodies of water on the basis of nutrient content and temperature.

Hopefully will get to fish for carnival so doing some tuning up, fathom has gone through some grouper and pretty big rays so i've had it preset rather high. It's been a winch and so I wanted to check the integrity of the pinion bearing. Holding out just fine but I decided to pull the race shields and pack it with grease while I was at it since you have to take down the shift mechanism to remove the main gears that blocks the bearing recess in the sideplate.
ImageD71_6546 by meccalli, on Flickr

ImagePacked pinion bearing. by meccalli, on Flickr

ryan99tt

Postby ryan99tt » February 14th, 2017, 1:05 pm

We fish the mahi on floating debri and some fads....