COVID-19 in Trinidad & Tobago (Local Updates & Discussions Only)

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 1384 cases, 15 deaths, 1177 active, 192 discharged in T&T

Postby pete » August 26th, 2020, 12:01 pm

pugboy wrote:curve heading downwards
even an sea student could see we heading in right direction

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:from the MoH press conference this morning in the presentation by the CMO
blue is July and purple is August

Screenshot 2020-08-26 at 11.50.48 AM.jpg

It's a convenient way to spin the data. That data is up to the 20th, they're STILL running tests on samples obtained from the 18th to now so that graph will change as time goes on.

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 1384 cases, 15 deaths, 1177 active, 192 discharged in T&T

Postby pugboy » August 26th, 2020, 12:04 pm

you use the right word “spin”
clearly shows that the cmo is playing govt games as well

Rajeevr84

Postby Rajeevr84 » August 26th, 2020, 12:06 pm

Heading down is a good thing, however, we are not out of the woods yet and as complacency sets in we can still see cases rising all the way to the end of the year. And as some of you said before, not all the results have come yet so that graph can show a very different picture in a few days.

This was my prediction using Epidemiological models, however it assumes uniform behaviour across the population. Not everyone is mobile and out and about. As such, we may fall into a pattern similar to Russia or Peru.

Postby MaxPower » August 26th, 2020, 12:09 pm

What happens when the beds run out?

Postby pugboy » August 26th, 2020, 12:10 pm

i was just being sarcastic, that graph is pure bs

Postby zoom rader » August 26th, 2020, 12:11 pm

MaxPower wrote:What happens when the beds run out?
Best ask your Minster of health, they have it under control but citizens and kams to blame

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » August 26th, 2020, 12:13 pm

Hello Max

When the beds run out we will be advised to stay at home and self quarantine, similar to the US.

The decision to keep everybody in the hospitals who tested positive was based on the idea that Trinis would be considerate and right thinking by doing the right thing, washing their hands, wearing masks, social distancing etc therefore in the mean time keeping people at hospitals would allow us to eliminate covid in the early stages which worked until Trinis went back to their nasty ways. This proved to be but wishful thinking on the good doctor's part so now he must implement law to jail anybody caught without masks in public.

Postby redmanjp » August 26th, 2020, 12:16 pm

i hope the idea to home quarantine +ve ppl doesn't backfire when they infect their family members thus causing more spread and more ppl who need to be treated in the hospitals, more deaths and worse if they sneak out and expose the general public.

Postby goalpost » August 26th, 2020, 12:39 pm

The CMO will eventually be the bad guy in all this.

Postby pugboy » August 26th, 2020, 12:47 pm

terry seem confident that when ttps do the phone calls to make sure you home everybody will behave. only time will tell.

redmanjp wrote:i hope the idea to home quarantine +ve ppl doesn't backfire when they infect their family members thus causing more spread and more ppl who need to be treated in the hospitals, more deaths and worse if they sneak out and expose the general public.

Postby RedVEVO » August 26th, 2020, 12:49 pm

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:

Hello Max

When the beds run out we will be advised to stay at home and self quarantine, similar to the US.

The decision to keep everybody in the hospitals who tested positive was based on the idea that Trinis would be considerate and right thinking by doing the right thing, washing their hands, wearing masks, social distancing etc therefore in the mean time keeping people at hospitals would allow us to eliminate covid in the early stages which worked until Trinis went back to their nasty ways. This proved to be but wishful thinking on the good doctor's part so now he must implement law to jail anybody caught without masks in public.

:D :D :D

But the jails full ..

There is/was no plan for COVID , THEY just copy from foreign .

Just blame EVERYBODY.

But secretly THEY hid the real numbers .

If you are good with mathematics and statistics you will agree .

Postby K74T » August 26th, 2020, 12:53 pm

FB_IMG_1598460548243.jpeg
FB_IMG_1598460550437.jpeg
FB_IMG_1598460552743.jpeg

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » August 26th, 2020, 12:59 pm

Another nurse has tested +. She was attached to mt.hope. doctors and hurse in sfgh are feeling the pinch. Alot of bs going on down there

Postby pete » August 26th, 2020, 12:59 pm

The justification for being able to home quarantine is that as we already have community spread it's already out in public so doesn't really matter.

I dunno why they can't give people quarantining a fete band to keep on for the duration of their quarantine period. That way if you're in public people will know. (How did they know the policeman in Tobago was supposed to be quarantined?)

If at the end of your quarantine period your band is damaged or removed you get fined. If it's damaged ya need to call and someone will give you a new one etc.

Postby pugboy » August 26th, 2020, 1:00 pm

so a next shifts worth of docs and nurses gotta test and quarantine

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:Another nurse has tested +. She was attached to mt.hope. doctors and hurse in sfgh are feeling the pinch. Alot of bs going on down there

Postby RedVEVO » August 26th, 2020, 1:04 pm

The numbers were manipulated .

They hid the real data .

Postby redmanjp » August 26th, 2020, 1:06 pm

pugboy wrote:so a next shifts worth of docs and nurses gotta test and quarantine

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:Another nurse has tested +. She was attached to mt.hope. doctors and hurse in sfgh are feeling the pinch. Alot of bs going on down there

If they wearing ppe shouldn't have to

Postby RedVEVO » August 26th, 2020, 1:11 pm

redmanjp wrote:
pugboy wrote:so a next shifts worth of docs and nurses gotta test and quarantine

They hid the real data .

Postby pugboy » August 26th, 2020, 1:14 pm

some docs have already tested positive in similar scenario

redmanjp wrote:

Postby redmanjp » August 26th, 2020, 1:17 pm

pugboy wrote:some docs have already tested positive in similar scenario

redmanjp wrote:

are they wearing the N95 masks? and if so is it fitting properly so as to create a proper seal? or are they just as naive as the general population in wearing masks?

Postby redmanjp » August 26th, 2020, 1:19 pm

RedVEVO wrote:
redmanjp wrote:

They hid the real data .

now that they discharging +ve ppl they no longer have to count them- so number will go down artificially

ST Auto

Postby ST Auto » August 26th, 2020, 1:25 pm

Postby RedVEVO » August 26th, 2020, 1:26 pm

Guardian responder -
"Trinbago Patois" comments as follows:

" Unfortunately it took to long to lock down on liming and gatherings.

The horse had already left the stable by the time we acted. No liming and gatherings at best may hold the rate steady ,or give us the time to react to clusters, but not to deal with community spread. Due to our terrible lag in reporting cases we can't be too sure where we are. We are almost at the point where a complete lockdown may be necessary.

I would still try to leave open manufacturers/companies that earn foreign exchange plus the essentials from before. If the spread is as bad as it is now with full state quarantine,imagine if we have to move to home quarantine.
A recipe for disaster.

Trinbagonians have not inspired confidence in this regard. Can we test 1,000 a day,10,000 a day? Are we prepared for thousands of deaths if the virus runs its full course over the next 2 years? We must get the spread under control and then open back up minus the liming and gatherings. The HSF is there.An economy is 5 basic components top-down.

Banking,finance and utilities at the top,these are the things people owe.Landlords next.Businesses after and the people are the foundation.Handle the top and the bottom and the middle tends to be alright.Talk to the financials, negotiate a figure for survival.

Once affected businesses/people don't owe loans or mortgages their burden is eased.Postpone payments.They will still pay the full amount eventually.But,it will be like a couple of months never existed at all.In effect,literally buying time "

Postby goalpost » August 26th, 2020, 1:36 pm

Logical assessment. Who will implement?

elec2020

Postby elec2020 » August 26th, 2020, 1:37 pm

An economy is five basic components up down with public utilities at the top then landlords? Cause these groups generate foreign exchange and set the pace/tone for economic development. Who is this arm chair economist? The most important sector in amy economy is the government. They set the pace or develop the enviromment or delegate the resources to stimulate economic activity. That government then focuses on what business sector will be used as the flagship for economic growth (that is energy, tourism, finance, etc). The rest falls into place. My word if u dont have a background in economics dont talk about and try to give advise on it. Its like going to your grandmother to diagnose the cause of a fever. Stay in your lane. Also in this pandemic its not so simple as postponing loans. No loan payments mean profits for banks will fall. Less profits will lead to derisking (google derisking of canadian banks in the caribbean not going to go into detail on this development here). Urgh these 'specialists' are popping out of nowhere.

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 1252 cases, 15 deaths, 1059 active, 178 discharged in T&T

Postby sMASH » August 26th, 2020, 1:48 pm

redmanjp wrote:
sMASH wrote:
ron_28 wrote:
sMASH wrote:
ron_28 wrote:Some one where I work was tested on Monday the 10th, an only got their results on Monday the 24th, an it came back positive
So from the 10th to the results, they were moving normel?

when tested he was told to self quarantine. but who knows if he was moving normal. he wasn't showing any symptoms, he was a primary contact to a positive patient.
To sit down home for 2 weeks and not know nutten... Who supporting u, food income bills etc.

family, friends, etc should buy groceries for u. or do delivery where possible. we should perhaps make a list of supermarkets or other entities who do delivery of groceries & essential items so that ppl here would know they have options and not wonder out their home because they hungry. e.g. wieat i think is one. many bills can be paid online. i order kfc/dominoes pizza and they now have a portable linx machine so no worry about having cash

btw family should ideally mean extended family- as members of your household are exposed as well unless they take precautions.
The problem with that is, u might get the overly cautious thst would not want to interact and shun the person, and then u ge the people with the mask on they chin and back pocket. So leaving the support up to the layman would be inconsistent and most likely a secondary case.

Then u have those that living like bacchac, u just not getting that kinda isolation. thst is another family and extended family of cases there.

Trinidad don't have the health, economic and social infrastructures to do the new Zealand method.

We continue as is.

We can't even arrest people violating covid rules cause where u putting them?

Csuse if they don't have covid, u risk infection them by putting them in the system and a potential lawsuit, as well as making ur point moot.
And if they do have covid, ur system did not detect them, and only because of their actions did u detect a potential spreader.

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 1252 cases, 15 deaths, 1059 active, 178 discharged in T&T

Postby sMASH » August 26th, 2020, 1:49 pm

zoom rader wrote:The nation got Played well and proper
We played ourselves

Postby pugboy » August 26th, 2020, 1:50 pm

this ttps enforcing home quarantine is gonna be pure failure

police officers are not trained in this kind of roll call work and neither will they want to do it properly.
their job is to fight crime not manage patients.

Postby redmanjp » August 26th, 2020, 1:59 pm

pugboy wrote:this ttps enforcing home quarantine is gonna be pure failure

police officers are not trained in this kind of roll call work and neither will they want to do it properly.

yeah besides if u have hundreds of ppl that need to be in quarantine how they have time to go around to all? that is why i support gps trackers- u can monitor everyone 24/7. but let's hope that as ttps have everyone's names that it acts as a deterrent

screwbash

Postby screwbash » August 26th, 2020, 2:31 pm

redmanjp wrote:
pugboy wrote:this ttps enforcing home quarantine is gonna be pure failure

yeah besides if u have hundreds of ppl that need to be in quarantine how they have time to go around to all? that is why i support gps trackers- u can monitor everyone 24/7. but let's hope that as ttps have everyone's names that it acts as a deterrent

now hear a bank chaguanas endeavour operation currently sent home staff cause a member of staff tested positive and was in work up to last week and the bank sanitizing right now to reopen tomorrow and a tank driver that deliver the gas from a petroleum company in sea lots area also tested positive and other members of staff also positive. IDK what BIGWU and OWTU who represent these workers are doing to keep the workers sate or is this all being covered up to prevent a call for total shutdown.
Last edited by screwbash on August 26th, 2020, 3:03 pm, edited 1 time in total.