Local Covid Anti-Vaxxers vs Studies Spammers

So who won the pandemic debate?

Poll ended at August 3rd, 2023, 3:48 pm

Antivaxxers - Ah still alive! babylon cyah kill me!
43%
Covidians - Small pin does chook hard but it save the world.
43%
Me eh care - Allyuh keep arguing nah man, ah wining on dis bumper right here.
14%

Total votes: 14

Re: Local anti-vaxxers

Postby redmanjp » September 9th, 2021, 2:28 pm

88sins wrote:Update
2 of the 3 are out of ICU, and depending on how quickly they continue to recover may be going home to quarantine by maybe next Tuesday, if He doth so will it.

The 3rd patient, female, is still in ICU on O2. Her blood oxygen increased to 85 as of yesterday, & the patient has multiple clots in her lungs (2 large ones and several smaller ones), as well as liver damage.

glad that at least 2 doing well. hope the 3rd one pulls through.

For those who afraid the vax due to clots and other things, u now have an example right here of what the virus itself can do.

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » September 9th, 2021, 2:31 pm

Kenjo wrote:
88sins wrote:Update
2 of the 3 are out of ICU, and depending on how quickly they continue to recover may be going home to quarantine by maybe next Tuesday, if He doth so will it.

The 3rd patient, female, is still in ICU on O2. Her blood oxygen increased to 85 as of yesterday, & the patient has multiple clots in her lungs (2 large ones and several smaller ones), as well as liver damage.

When you say Icu are you sure they were intubated ? On cpap ? On just plain oxygen via a rebreathable mask ? Those statistics sound fantastic with 66% survival from icu !and out of icu and back him in a 5 days ?

Say nothing of the fact that 95% of ICU patients die locally, yet somehow 2 of 3 get discharged in days.

The odds of all 3 surviving ICU is at best 1 in 1000.

88sins please verify this story.

Postby 88sins » September 9th, 2021, 2:33 pm

[quote="st7"]man, that's good to hear about the 2. i hope the 3rd one pulls through as well. people would say 2% mortality rate this and that, but it's still 100% a person.[/quote]
This is something a whole lot of people can't comprehend.

And another thing, keep in mind, perception of risk is very subjective.
A pro vaccination person says "0.01% of vaccinated people catch the virus & end up in hospital/have an adverse reaction, the risk is very low"
Ask them, if they knew in advance that there was a 50% chance that they would be the ones to have that adverse reaction/hospitalization, if they would still be so comfortable with the statistics. Remember, you'd only be in the 0.005% of the population that happened to. Still liking them chances?

People as individuals will decide what they want for themselves. You can lead a horse to water, but unless you willing to almost drown him or are able to successfully force a tube down his throat, it's damn near impossible to make him drink. And if you try force it, well look how push back start & u gonna end up getting kick and bite for your efforts.

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » September 9th, 2021, 2:49 pm

st7 wrote:man, that's good to hear about the 2. i hope the 3rd one pulls through as well. people would say 2% mortality rate this and that, but it's still 100% a person.[/quote]
This is something a whole lot of people can't comprehend.

And another thing, keep in mind, perception of risk is very subjective.
A pro vaccination person says "0.01% of vaccinated people catch the virus & end up in hospital/have an adverse reaction, the risk is very low"
Ask them, if they knew in advance that there was a 50% chance that they would be the ones to have that adverse reaction/hospitalization, if they would still be so comfortable with the statistics. Remember, you'd only be in the 0.005% of the population that happened to. Still liking them chances?

People as individuals will decide what they want for themselves. You can lead a horse to water, but unless you willing to almost drown him or are able to successfully force a tube down his throat, it's damn near impossible to make him drink. And if you try force it, well look how push back start & u gonna end up getting kick and bite for your efforts.

You kinda defeating the whole point of statistics there. What point are you even trying to make?

Postby redmanjp » September 9th, 2021, 3:02 pm

risk of serious adverse reaction from the vaccine is much lower (less than 0.1%) than risk of hospitalization from covid (10-15%) if unvaxxed.

they will decide but it must be from an informed opinion or from actual facts, not hearsay or conspiracy theory.

and if they end up in ICU with covid they WILL have a tube down their throat!

Postby teems1 » September 9th, 2021, 3:19 pm

hover11 wrote:I think I will take my chances

If that's your decision since you're a risk taker, then so be it.

But you can't be angry with others who decide that they don't want you in their place of business as an employee or customer. Not everyone is as comfortable taking risks as you are.

Actions have consequences.

Postby st7 » September 9th, 2021, 3:21 pm

hover feel people want his money so he playing big shot lol

Postby hover11 » September 9th, 2021, 3:22 pm

So be it and will accept such, I will simply not patronize and order from Amazon or eBay as usual, it's cheaper anyway, more money in my pockets
teems1 wrote:

If that's your decision since you're a risk taker, then so be it.

But you can't be angry with others who decide that they don't want you in their place of business as an employee or customer. Not everyone is as comfortable taking risks as you are.

Actions have consequences.

ed360123

Postby ed360123 » September 9th, 2021, 3:30 pm

FB_IMG_1631185996755.jpg
The issue here is that it's not just you. Even if you get COVID and survive, you can still pass it on to the people who are more susceptible to dying from it. No one lives in a bubble, and your choices affect more than just yourself.

Also, this '99% survival rate' BS comes up so much. You *are* aware that there are more negative effects outside of death right? Look into 'Long Covid', people who had Covid and survived, but several months later can still barely climb stairs without being out of breath. Harping on solely the 'survival rate' ignores all of this.

Postby aaron17 » September 9th, 2021, 3:39 pm

And putting more strain on the hospitals too ^^
But we all know we are lab rats......no longterm data since this virus is new. Only short term and we learn as time progresses.

Postby adnj » September 9th, 2021, 3:40 pm

redmanjp wrote:risk of serious adverse reaction from the vaccine is much lower (less than 0.1%) than risk of hospitalization from covid (10-15%) if unvaxxed.

they will decide but it must be from an informed opinion or from actual facts, not hearsay or conspiracy theory.

and if they end up in ICU with covid they WILL have a tube down their throat!
The risk of serious vaccine side effects is closer to 0.005% (1 out of 20,000).

Here’s how experts know the COVID-19 vaccines are safe

To date, the database contains just more than 50,000 reports of adverse reactions following the three vaccines currently authorized for emergency use in the U.S.: those from Pfizer-BioNTech, Moderna and Johnson & Johnson. Fewer than 8,000 of them are categorized as serious. That works out to a rate of about 50 reports per 1 million doses administered.

https://www.latimes.com/projects/covid- ... reactions/

Last edited by adnj on September 9th, 2021, 3:40 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby hover11 » September 9th, 2021, 3:41 pm

I hear what you saying but you do know vaccinated persons can still get covid....how do you know that they are immune to long covid as well, I don't want to hear about a short study that was done , show me a vaccinated person who contracted covid , study them for a year or 2 later , not weeks and see if they develop anything, the answer is we don't know , the virus is highly unpredictable regardless of vaccination or unvaxxed
ed360123 wrote:
FB_IMG_1631185996755.jpg
The issue here is that it's not just you. Even if you get COVID and survive, you can still pass it on to the people who are more susceptible to dying from it. No one lives in a bubble, and your choices affect more than just yourself.

Also, this '99% survival rate' BS comes up so much. You *are* aware that there are more negative effects outside of death right? Look into 'Long Covid', people who had Covid and survived, but several months later can still barely climb stairs without being out of breath. Harping on solely the 'survival rate' ignores all of this.

Postby adnj » September 9th, 2021, 3:47 pm

hover11 wrote:I hear what you saying but you do know vaccinated persons can still get covid....how do you know that they are immune to long covid as well, I don't want to hear about a short study that was done , show me a vaccinated person who contracted covid , study them for a year or 2 later , not weeks and see if they develop anything, the answer is we don't know , the virus is highly unpredictable regardless of vaccination or unvaxxed
ed360123 wrote:
FB_IMG_1631185996755.jpg

It is entirely without cause to expect that people with a significantly lower risk of contracting a disease would have anything other than significantly lower chance of long term effects of the same disease.

Vaccines available do not inject or expose you to the target disease. That method was used for smallpox and polio and has since been abandoned.

Postby hover11 » September 9th, 2021, 3:50 pm

You do know that persons who contracted chicken pox even with the chicken pox vaccine can still contract shingles the long term effect ....just leaving that there
adnj wrote:
hover11 wrote:I hear what you saying but you do know vaccinated persons can still get covid....how do you know that they are immune to long covid as well, I don't want to hear about a short study that was done , show me a vaccinated person who contracted covid , study them for a year or 2 later , not weeks and see if they develop anything, the answer is we don't know , the virus is highly unpredictable regardless of vaccination or unvaxxed
ed360123 wrote:
FB_IMG_1631185996755.jpg

It is entirely without cause to expect that people with a significantly lower risk of contracting a disease would have anything other than significantly lower chance of long term effects of the same disease.

Vaccines available do not inject or expose you to the target disease. That method was used for smallpox and polio and has since been abandoned.

Postby redmanjp » September 9th, 2021, 3:52 pm

Hover, u don't develop long covid a year or 2 later. u simply don't recover fully after the infection. and that's if unvaxxed. far less vaxxed. it can happen but it is less likely to as u are already less likely to get infected to start with. it also turns out even some who have long covid and then took the vaccine seemed to recover from long covid.

you have a weird way of seeing risk.
Last edited by redmanjp on September 9th, 2021, 3:56 pm, edited 3 times in total.

ed360123

Postby ed360123 » September 9th, 2021, 3:54 pm

ed360123 wrote:
FB_IMG_1631185996755.jpg

For the billionth time, Yes, I am aware that vaccinated people can get Covid
The whole thing is they are *significantly less likely to do so*. If you can't understand that by now then you are intentionally being obtuse.

Postby hover11 » September 9th, 2021, 3:55 pm

Exactly so you understand.....significantly less is still a risk and possibility just as how breakthrough infections were significantly less and becoming more and more common today
ed360123 wrote:
FB_IMG_1631185996755.jpg

The whole thing is they are *significantly less likely to do so*. If you can't understand that by now then you are intentionally being obtuse.

ed360123

Postby ed360123 » September 9th, 2021, 3:59 pm

hover11 wrote:Exactly so you understand.....significantly less is still a risk and possibility just as how breakthrough infections were significantly less and becoming more and more common today
ed360123 wrote:
FB_IMG_1631185996755.jpg

80% protection against Covid > Literally just doing nothing and hoping.

Do you understand that?

Postby redmanjp » September 9th, 2021, 4:03 pm

hover11 wrote:Exactly so you understand.....significantly less is still a risk and possibility just as how breakthrough infections were significantly less and becoming more and more common today
ed360123 wrote:
hover11 wrote:I think I will take my chancesFB_IMG_1631185996755.jpg

of course, as more and more ppl get vaccinated u will hear more and more breakthrough infections, the point is its at a rate much less than unvaxxed ppl.

Antivaxxers:

Covid death rate 2%- 'I'll take my chances'
Vax adverse event rate 0.005%- 'It's still a risk'

Postby hover11 » September 9th, 2021, 4:05 pm

For how long though, the virus is adapting , yes it does not think and simply mutates , what do you think will happen when is mostly vaxxed persons are hosts, you see nothing could go wrong there well you know what ....like I said just to wait and see Mu is already vaccine resistant it is learning
redmanjp wrote:
ed360123 wrote:

of course, as more and more ppl get vaccinated u will hear more and more breakthrough infections, the point is its at a rate much less than unvaxxed ppl.

Antivaxxers:

Postby adnj » September 9th, 2021, 4:13 pm

hover11 wrote:You do know that persons who contracted chicken pox even with the chicken pox vaccine can still contract shingles the long term effect ....just leaving that there
adnj wrote:
ed360123 wrote:
FB_IMG_1631185996755.jpg

You just literally repeated what I said. You just don't understand what you said.

Postby adnj » September 9th, 2021, 4:15 pm

ed360123 wrote:
FB_IMG_1631185996755.jpg

See there's stupid, like Rainman. And then there's seventh level of Hell stupid like of pitiful little friend here.

Postby hover11 » September 9th, 2021, 4:15 pm

I do , I just emphasized for persons who didn't know that fact
adnj wrote:
hover11 wrote:You do know that persons who contracted chicken pox even with the chicken pox vaccine can still contract shingles the long term effect ....just leaving that there
adnj wrote:
ed360123 wrote:
FB_IMG_1631185996755.jpg

You just literally repeated what I said. You just don't understand what you said.

Postby redmanjp » September 9th, 2021, 4:17 pm

hover11 wrote:For how long though, the virus is adapting , yes it does not think and simply mutates , what do you think will happen when is mostly vaxxed persons are hosts, you see nothing could go wrong there well you know what ....like I said just to wait and see Mu is already vaccine resistant it is learning
redmanjp wrote:
ed360123 wrote:

Antivaxxers:

it's only mutating because it has a bunch of unvaxxed ppl to give it fuel- most variants arose long before vaccinations

Postby hover11 » September 9th, 2021, 4:19 pm

https://www.google.com/amp/s/www.cbsnew ... accinated/

Yea guess it doesn't matter that a vaxxed and unvaxxed carry the same viral load allowing for the same chances of mutation
redmanjp wrote:
hover11 wrote:For how long though, the virus is adapting , yes it does not think and simply mutates , what do you think will happen when is mostly vaxxed persons are hosts, you see nothing could go wrong there well you know what ....like I said just to wait and see Mu is already vaccine resistant it is learning
redmanjp wrote:
ed360123 wrote:

Antivaxxers:

it's only mutating because it has a bunch of unvaxxed ppl to give it fuel- most variants arose long before vaccinations

Postby redmanjp » September 9th, 2021, 4:24 pm

hover11 wrote:https://www.google.com/amp/s/www.cbsnews.com/amp/news/covid-vaccine-delta-variant-infections-carry-same-virus-load-unvaccinated

nothing to do with viral load. and vaxxed are infectious for a shorter time. the more infections there are the more likely a mutation will happen- there are less infections among and spread from vaxxed so do the math

Postby hover11 » September 9th, 2021, 4:26 pm

Still possible to infect though.....I guess doctors should ask sir were you infected by a vaccinated or an unvaccinated person, please try to remember so we would know how to treat you. It doesn't matter same chances to mutate and same chances to infect, the only thing the vaccine does is lessen your chances of death and hospitalization for the individual
redmanjp wrote:
hover11 wrote:https://www.google.com/amp/s/www.cbsnews.com/amp/news/covid-vaccine-delta-variant-infections-carry-same-virus-load-unvaccinated

nothing to do with viral load. and vaxxed are infectious for a shorter time. the more infections there are the more likely a mutation will happen- there are less infections among and spread from vaxxed so do the math

Postby adnj » September 9th, 2021, 4:31 pm

hover11 wrote:Still possible to infect though.....I guess doctors should ask sir were you infected by a vaccinated or an unvaccinated person, please try to remember so we would know how to treat you. It doesn't matter same chances to mutate and same chances to infect
redmanjp wrote:

You have completely and incorrectly rationalized how infectious risk is tabulated. You continue to ignore the knock-on effect of diminished population infection by reduction of R0.

Apparently, you are being purposefully obtuse at this point to fuel your narrative.

Postby hover11 » September 9th, 2021, 4:40 pm

You are using predictability and precedents against a virus that is highly unpredictable and against the norm so be it .....let's see which one of us will be right in the end
adnj wrote:
hover11 wrote:Still possible to infect though.....I guess doctors should ask sir were you infected by a vaccinated or an unvaccinated person, please try to remember so we would know how to treat you. It doesn't matter same chances to mutate and same chances to infect
redmanjp wrote:

You have completely and incorrectly rationalized how infectious risk is tabulated. You continue to ignore the knock-on effect of diminished population infection by reduction of R0.

Apparently, you are being purposefully obtuse at this point to fuel your narrative.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » September 9th, 2021, 5:09 pm

CNC3: ANTI-VAXX MARCH Police appear to have stopped the planned Anti-Vaxx March at the Queen's Park Savannah.
https://www.facebook.com/watch/?v=1073281130077526

0c4de8a2-2506-48d9-b952-47e5bc9e5276.jpg

241536047_10226220872897487_3687858333088174641_n.jpg