The official tropical weather thread 2018

Re: The official tropical weather thread 2018

Postby sMASH » October 20th, 2018, 8:36 am

Zachery wrote:Few incidences of Above Average should not result in such disaster. We are in 2018 50B budgets yearly and no significant improvements wrt waterways. Just look at THE CAPITAL.
I agree with that. But, maintenance of what water courses we have currently will not help.

We need massive redesign of everything.
Not no box drain business.

Why I am pushing for massive redesign, is that imagine if this happens because of a hurricane. Many people, like ed's neighbor down the road on the roof, may not be alive cause water levels may go higher AND no help at all, because its during a hurricane.

U need to invest in systems that can handle at least this, because when hurricane hits, nobody would be able to move around.

Also, u can expect this kinda of rainfall at least 4 times for the year. So, to go through this repeatedly is retarded.

Zachery

Postby Zachery » October 20th, 2018, 8:39 am

Keyser Soze wrote:hearing 11 people died in greenvale.... unconfirmed report.
not sure of the number but some people did drown there.

Someone said something about Whining.... you're part of the problem!!!

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » October 20th, 2018, 8:43 am

tardissubie wrote:
EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:Anybody knows if you could pass Mausica to come St Helena? we trying to get a toddler to Trincity by her parents.

The father is willing to hire a container truck, the air filter in those container trucks connect above the truck I don't think its even possible for those trucks to shutdown in flood.
How does the water look by you? Is it subsiding? It might be best to be patient if you have supplies and wait for the water so subside for safety.

This is a video I just took, the water is going down but it is still insanely high enough to drown you, no Hilux or 3 ton can pass here, only a container truck will be able to come here assuming he could even get somebody willing to make that drive with one.

I guess he should wait for the water to go down, but my neighbor is afraid that it may start raising again like what happened yesterday. He panicking cause of the toddler with him and how he trapped by us

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » October 20th, 2018, 8:44 am

Every major road in grande impassable
2018-10-20 08.36.15.jpg
2018-10-20 08.37.14.jpg
2018-10-20 08.35.56.jpg
2018-10-20 08.36.31.jpg
2018-10-20 08.36.52.jpg
2018-10-20 08.38.21.jpg
2018-10-20 08.38.44.jpg

Keyser Soze

Postby Keyser Soze » October 20th, 2018, 8:47 am

Bredren, panicking might cause allyuh to make a stupid move that could endanger the toddler and/or the grandparent. Tell him relax until either a water vessel could safely move the youth or till the water go down a bit.
now aint no time for political affiliation and that kinda crap, gotta be your neighbor's keeper g

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » October 20th, 2018, 8:52 am

Grande police station and environs flooded....so people literally stranded in grande

Postby K74T » October 20th, 2018, 9:35 am

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » October 20th, 2018, 9:44 am

mero wrote:Rip south tuners.... Up north dry-ish

R.I.P. in peace north tuners...down south no flood-ish.

Musical Doc

Postby Musical Doc » October 20th, 2018, 9:46 am

K74T wrote:Image

Is this currently happening or was this yesterday?

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » October 20th, 2018, 9:47 am

Musical Doc wrote:
K74T wrote:Image

Is this currently happening or was this yesterday?

Looks like today. Lines up with a slew of vids sharing this morning.

Blossom

Postby Blossom » October 20th, 2018, 9:53 am

ImageImageImage

Grande

rebound

Postby rebound » October 20th, 2018, 9:54 am

Keyser Soze wrote:hearing 11 people died in greenvale.... unconfirmed report.
not sure of the number but some people did drown there.
Thats scary man...sad situation. Every one needs to pitch in now to help.

Postby K74T » October 20th, 2018, 9:58 am

Highway pics are of this morning

Postby ismithx » October 20th, 2018, 10:01 am

Heard caroni River running across the highway

Postby Dizzy28 » October 20th, 2018, 10:04 am

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:Yup people...grande is totally fcked...standby for pics
My pardner in Guaico ok. But his sister and thier in laws been posting pics from Ojoe Road side. Water covering car scenes.

Ramnath Terrace side also bad.

Postby toyolink » October 20th, 2018, 10:04 am

So far so good this morning in Couva.
I really hope this weather system looses steam quickly.
All reports suggest a repeat of yesterday would effectively shut us down.

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » October 20th, 2018, 10:04 am

Yep cars cannot go thru

Postby pugboy » October 20th, 2018, 10:06 am

Water from yesterday now running off

Blossom

Postby Blossom » October 20th, 2018, 10:06 am

Most ppl can not get access to the Sangre Grande hospital (I work there). I live close by but still was not able to pass with my car but someone with a van assisted me. I do not know how anyone who is in need of medical attention will be able to get to the hospital. Most of the staff can not get to work and many night staff either left early and some are stuck there.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » October 20th, 2018, 10:12 am

Just watched the live interview with Rowley he said he sending the coast guard in St Helena / El Carmen because only boats can come here presently.

He confirmed that the maintenance of the watercourse wasn't the issue he said this happens once in every 20 years so we won't have to worry about anything like this for a long time again.

Postby teems1 » October 20th, 2018, 10:15 am

People should stay at home unless absolutely necessary.

The highway is near impassable but makes it even more difficult for emergency vehicles to get to their destination.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » October 20th, 2018, 10:19 am

teems1 wrote:People should stay at home unless absolutely necessary.

The highway is near impassable but makes it even more difficult for emergency vehicles to get to their destination.

yes a reporter just told Rowley in the interview that the Wymar River or however its spelled has just burst its banks and the highway is getting flooded out.

kstt

Postby kstt » October 20th, 2018, 10:22 am

Guess which contractor built Green Vale Housing??????

RHL - Rahael Housing Limited

Musical Doc

Postby Musical Doc » October 20th, 2018, 10:23 am

Live RADAR

More rain?

tardissubie

Postby tardissubie » October 20th, 2018, 10:27 am

Yea man don't panic. Stay put if you can safely and hope for no more rain. Even though it was not a hurricane there may still be hazards similar to such with respect to debris and issues with utilities. If you are stranded try to contact anyone in your area so if rescue passing through and you feel unsafe they can let them know you are stranded and vice versa.

airuma

Postby airuma » October 20th, 2018, 10:28 am

^^Guymere, I think

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » October 20th, 2018, 10:34 am

Even if we can't prevent it, dredging the caroni river more make the river bigger if you have to is what will reduce the severity of this kind of flood.

This is why we have Excavators, when Manning was PM he had excavators working overtime along that caroni river bank widening it etc I really hope this is a wake up call for the government this time around.

What I frighten about is that forecast for more rain, we can't handle that hoss what on earth would happen if an actual hurricane hit us? the government needs to wake the fck up

Postby sMASH » October 20th, 2018, 10:38 am

looks like south gonna get it next rounds...

green vale housing, talk last night was that the project was objected to becuase of this same scenario. but it was still approved. somebody responsible for putting people there to live.

the minister of national security said in a press conference wehn asked yesterday, that he cant tell people to stay home, but to use thier best judgement.
obviously people will want to go to work.

it should be standard procedure, after today, that when there is heavy rains in north, like yesterday, that the CG be made ready with their boats, and the army with their high trucks to enter around the caroni flood plains.
also, when u sure that it have so much rain and the floods start, issue the red , close of the highway for public access, to allow the utilities easy passage.

it is observed that the rivers crossing the highway tend to block the highway the day after, around 12 hrs after the major rainfall event, so a primary red alert with the highway closed for normal traffic be issued, and then when it is sure that it safe to drive, it be reopened. with a down grade. close the highway as a precaution for the emergency access to not be hindered, until no more threat is expected.

The official tropical weather thread 2018

Postby K74T » October 20th, 2018, 10:51 am

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:What I frighten about is that forecast for more rain, we can't handle that hoss what on earth would happen if an actual hurricane hit us? the government needs to wake the fck up

Yet last yr...

brainchild

Postby brainchild » October 20th, 2018, 10:53 am

K74T wrote:
EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:What I frighten about is that forecast for more rain, we can't handle that hoss what on earth would happen if an actual hurricane hit us? the government needs to wake the fck up

Yet last yr...
Was thinking bout that earlier...smh