Re: Business Ventures.

Postby src1983 » September 2nd, 2014, 9:19 pm

Workers the hardest thing to get.....

Postby Slartibartfast » September 2nd, 2014, 9:38 pm

uten wrote:
ABA Trading LTD wrote:farm 5 acres by yourself?

you looking for an early grave

not really, I am working on a solution to automate farms so one person can effectively run a 5 acre farm. Trying to get funding now to prove feasibility. I'm competing in a grant program for some funding, you can see the idea and vote for it here: http://bit.ly/vote4dmitri
Better to work smart than to work hard but it look like you doing both :D :D :D

Postby pugboy » September 2nd, 2014, 9:45 pm

party boat is very lucrative business now
boats make around 25K per trip and bar money is insane
fishnet crowd buying drinks by the bottle instead of cup now
profits of $400+ per bottle

uten

Postby uten » September 3rd, 2014, 10:02 am

Slartibartfast wrote:
uten wrote:
ABA Trading LTD wrote:farm 5 acres by yourself?

you looking for an early grave

not really, I am working on a solution to automate farms so one person can effectively run a 5 acre farm. Trying to get funding now to prove feasibility. I'm competing in a grant program for some funding, you can see the idea and vote for it here: <span class="skimlinks-unlinked">http://bit.ly/vote4dmitri</span>
Better to work smart than to work hard but it look like you doing both :D :D :D

it's all about efficiency, at some point you will have to work hard and other points it will be walk in the park. But having the tools to make you as efficient as possible, and using them is what counts.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » September 3rd, 2014, 10:07 am

aidan wrote:wa bout amway, ah hear u cud become a millionaire overnight

please doh get catch like them other fools

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » September 3rd, 2014, 10:09 am

RASC wrote:
gt4tified wrote:Lease about 5 acres of agricultural land.Plant crops, both long term (cassava, peas, corn) and short-term (for operating cash). Dig a pond, get some tilapia fingerlings and in no time at all, you rolling in a nice income.

Most trinis too lazy to do this ^^ or to make the sacrifice or effort in general to start any business that involves work.

What type of crops for the short term do you recommend?

cucumbers,it could make you or break you...

Postby Slartibartfast » September 3rd, 2014, 10:12 am

uten wrote:it's all about efficiency, at some point you will have to work hard and other points it will be walk in the park. But having the tools to make you as efficient as possible, and using them is what counts.
Yup. That's the right thinking there. I have a friend who studied agri in UWI and want to get started on some hyrdoponics when he get the chance.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » September 3rd, 2014, 10:14 am

hydroponics is good once you have the $$$.In order to make good money out of it you would need to do it big.

Here is a hint: incorporate tilapia farming with hydroponics and yuh inside

uten

Postby uten » September 3rd, 2014, 10:41 am

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:hydroponics is good once you have the $$$.In order to make good money out of it you would need to do it big.

Here is a hint: incorporate tilapia farming with hydroponics and yuh inside

yeah that's what I am aiming to do with my project, setting up 11 acres and already have huge fish tanks. Going to do high density fish farming, use the waste water to fertilise the plants. The plants are being grown via hydroponics, can reuse the water to go back to the fish. Here in Jamaica we had a serious drought this year and it will help reduce costs to truck water and buy fertiliser. I'm hoping to win this grant to set it up. I already bought some microcontrollers and sensors to start the automation.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » September 3rd, 2014, 11:06 am

you're a boss^ you have the idea...hope all goes well.

Postby Slartibartfast » September 3rd, 2014, 11:19 am

Yup that was exactly what my friend was telling me. Sound like you have a plan.

uten

Postby uten » September 3rd, 2014, 11:53 am

thanks, this is just the first project, I'm using it to prove the effectiveness of my team. We will later on be catering to SME's in developing regions to build solutions that make them more efficient and competitive. Are there any needs you guys have identified? Maybe I can suggest a solution

also please don't forget to vote for my startup: http://bit.ly/vote4dmitri

fallen_angel

wtk: how to open a casino or members club?

Postby fallen_angel » December 11th, 2014, 12:33 pm

guys...ne1 kno how to do this?
looking for some insight....

Re: wtk: how to open a casino or members club?

Postby j.o.e » December 11th, 2014, 12:35 pm

Prepare to see pressure with the banks...banks have been slowly refusing to do business with casinos and members clubs. Make sure you are very, very, very liquid to start off.....like loadad

fallen_angel

Postby fallen_angel » December 11th, 2014, 12:36 pm

how much so it would cost to setup?

roadhog

Postby roadhog » December 11th, 2014, 12:40 pm

10 million

fallen_angel

Postby fallen_angel » December 11th, 2014, 12:42 pm

i cant get one cheaper than that....

srs talk guys...jus tryin 2 get n idea of how d setup works...

if d chinese cud leave china n come here n do it...why we cant do it....

Postby Rory Phoulorie » December 11th, 2014, 12:54 pm

fallen_angel wrote:. . .if d chinese cud leave china n come here n do it...why we cant do it....

You seem to forget, or perhaps do not know, that the The Chinese Association of Trinidad and Tobago "supports" a lot of those Chinese immigrants who come here. Nothing in life is for free.

roadhog

Postby roadhog » December 11th, 2014, 12:57 pm

For every chip you have on the floor and machine you have be it one arm bandits or othe electronic games. You need to have a certain about of cash stored. Think about it . 10 million is a small casino.

Postby Habit7 » December 11th, 2014, 12:59 pm

first start out with a chinese restaurant, eventually you will get there.

Postby j.o.e » December 11th, 2014, 1:01 pm

10 million is actually a reasonable figure OP....think of it as a 'float'. Overall the house always wins in the end buy you must have cash to sustain the hits...especially when you now start. You also need to have a lot of security, personnel and cameras...the thieves will present themselves as employees and customers and slowly eat you out if you not careful.

Postby zoom rader » December 11th, 2014, 1:03 pm

Rory Phoulorie wrote:
fallen_angel wrote:. . .if d chinese cud leave china n come here n do it...why we cant do it....

You seem to forget, or perhaps do not know, that the The Chinese Association of Trinidad and Tobago "supports" a lot of those Chinese immigrants who come here. Nothing in life is for free.

Most of these chinese immgrants are virtual slaves. They have to work to pay off there debt in getting here.

Sumana.00

Postby Sumana.00 » December 11th, 2014, 1:26 pm

Call a lawyer.

Get advice.

Open club.

Postby Spitfir3 » December 11th, 2014, 1:38 pm

you have to be a millionaire to start this venture op those chinese you see opening big casinos don't come here with a $1 in their pocket and im not talking about the peasant workers they import

playerskrew

Postby playerskrew » December 11th, 2014, 7:09 pm

Just pull the door. Duh.

Postby pete » December 11th, 2014, 7:44 pm

Could just start off with some machines from GTech like what there are in bars all over the place. They get commission on profits though but at least it's a start.

Rota fan

Postby Rota fan » December 11th, 2014, 8:21 pm

Is anyone even questioning the long term implications of all these Chinese nationals coming to our shores, getting citizenship, accessing our already strained healthcare system, slowly taking over our local businesses, monies being funneled back overseas, not supporting the local economy etc? Instead of deporting our caricom neighbors, I think the min. Of national security needs to look at the Chinese immigrant influx quite seriously.

Postby sharkman121 » December 11th, 2014, 9:11 pm

if yuh even have to ask...that mean is not for you. Think bout it,