Where has the best Gyros/Burgers/ Street food in T&T?

Re: Economical food places in Trinidad

Postby crazybalhead » January 25th, 2012, 7:06 am

OHGOOOOOD! Ah jess remember the bake and shark people in curepe! the little short street between Rapsey and Lyndon streets. Geez, can't remember now, has a nice highly seasoned bake and shark for $20 (I think), again they started off at $8.00 mid 90's, but sign o de times I guess.

It's no Richaud's shauknbake, it's real shark, without the need for all the toppings. Comes with a lasherific pepper sauce too.

Postby pugboy » January 25th, 2012, 7:10 am

dopsons moved higher up north on maraval road

Postby RBphoto » January 25th, 2012, 7:13 am

crazybalhead wrote:Like yuh pick up hoss???

That UWI roti shop mentioned earlier used to sell that giver and lizard roti for 7:50 in my day :( I getting ole oui.

That was so they beat the 8:00am rush :| :lol:

Nah.. D bess is by the lady was opposite the hardware in mayaro, with the green shed. One day I buy a roti there, tell she is the best roti I ever eat. Next day I roll in early, she say sorry, but the food will take aout half an hour again and duck back in the back.... so I say, I not in any hury, work starting late in the PM, I will chill. 15 mins later somebody come to buy some kurma or something... she was like..."you still here?" I said the roti worth the wait. For the next 15 minuites... the oman ignore customers and turn pot in the back to make ah food fast eh :lol: She make an extra big roti for me and really stuffed it with curry goat.... tell me doh bother to pay for it either.

Skanky

Postby Skanky » January 25th, 2012, 9:08 am

If you sign up with Boomers and Mario's you get a free coupon for a 12" sub of your choice and a personal pizza with one topping of your choice redeemable only on your birthday.
I think it's a great deal.Check out their websites.

gundelero

Postby gundelero » January 25th, 2012, 10:46 am

Endorsed...good stuff here.

Nasrallah

Postby Nasrallah » January 25th, 2012, 11:05 am

crossdrilled wrote:Dopsons on the corner of maraval and Tragreete close dong? I usually go there every time I put gas and for a while they have not been open at 8:00am :?

They've moved higher up Maraval Road just before Warner Street where Quiznos/Popeye's used to be.

Was never a fan of Dopson's curry but Hott Shoppe's closure, Shiann's hike in prices and Patraj's customer 'service'. Dopsons it is.

Postby 1UZFE » January 25th, 2012, 11:08 am

Nasrallah wrote:
crossdrilled wrote:Dopsons on the corner of maraval and Tragreete close dong? I usually go there every time I put gas and for a while they have not been open at 8:00am :?

They've moved higher up Maraval Road just before Warner Street where Quiznos/Popeye's used to be.

Was never a fan of Dopson's curry but Hott Shoppe's closure, Shiann's hike in prices and Patraj's customer 'service'. Dopsons it is.

Bess curry in POS for me is Vinusthas in Uptown mall...

Postby Trini Hookah » January 25th, 2012, 11:11 am

Hott Shoppe's mini Chicken roti after school...mmmmm :D

Postby 1UZFE » January 25th, 2012, 11:14 am

Tried the new fry chicken place in Charlieville they we good and realtively cheap.

starlinejobs

Postby starlinejobs » January 25th, 2012, 11:26 am

JAPS Opened in St. James (near 'Zone' bar..) looks clean get a free drink with a meal!

Postby wagonrunner » January 25th, 2012, 11:28 am

oh sheit. forgot trini flavor opposite the gas station on park street.
good / cheap breakfast and lunch.

Postby Dizzy28 » January 25th, 2012, 12:24 pm

Also, this place:
IMG00148-20110920-1017.jpg

Corner of boundary rd ext. and highway in El Socorro.

One morning around 10 I bounce in and she now finish stew chicken, so not much else on menu. Oman say hold on a few minuites... she will fix me up. She went and made a fry bake, stuff it with nearly half chicken, (leg thigh, back, neck and a set of breast meat) and a side of fresh salad. I ordered a malta to go with it. Oman charge me $20.00 :shock:

Elsie's too sometimetish though. Plenty times passed there and they close. Breakfast and lunch time.

Postby dougla_boy » January 25th, 2012, 1:11 pm

Also, this place:
IMG00148-20110920-1017.jpg

Corner of boundary rd ext. and highway in El Socorro.

One morning around 10 I bounce in and she now finish stew chicken, so not much else on menu. Oman say hold on a few minuites... she will fix me up. She went and made a fry bake, stuff it with nearly half chicken, (leg thigh, back, neck and a set of breast meat) and a side of fresh salad. I ordered a malta to go with it. Oman charge me $20.00 :shock:

Elsie's too sometimetish though. Plenty times passed there and they close. Breakfast and lunch time.

for breakfast she is aite.....kinda expensive tho......but her fodd tastes good! but yall need to try island cuisine....bought a piece of grilled fish and it taste sooooooo good eh!!!! i was left wanting more

Postby black start » January 25th, 2012, 1:29 pm

wagonrunner wrote:I like the el Pecos food by the lb.
pork (rarely get any bone), 2 sides and salad just around $40.

Preysal - Geera pork roti. (feel i going for one now yes) $25.

South -
Wing on, food bess, price great.
Even Amin's in duncan village is a good deal. $20 meals. beef / potato / rice / salad.

the el pecos real nice....1lb of meat for 35...cyah get bbter than dat....

wait who was talking bout the vege to meat ratio dey?when i go peco's my ratio (when inputed in calc.) equates to

Postby Dave » January 25th, 2012, 1:34 pm

but the real question is, how good/healthy is the food that is being bought that is economical?

[X]~Outlaw

Postby [X]~Outlaw » January 25th, 2012, 1:37 pm

Home cooked food :D :D

Postby crazybalhead » January 25th, 2012, 1:41 pm

Dave wrote:but the real question is, how good/healthy is the food that is being bought that is economical?

Not part of the equation here.

Postby Dave » January 25th, 2012, 1:44 pm

I know but begs the question, saving a buck but at the risk of your health?
X Outlaw has said it!

Postby Dizzy28 » January 25th, 2012, 1:50 pm

Dougla Boy
You referring to Island Cuisine with the Chinese guy selling in the back ah El Socorro? Cuz i find he real expensive.

Postby ronsin1 » January 25th, 2012, 2:06 pm

wagonrunner wrote:oh sheit. forgot trini flavor opposite the gas station on park street.
good / cheap breakfast and lunch.

That was the breakfast place most mornings 8-)

Postby wagonrunner » January 25th, 2012, 2:13 pm

Dave wrote:I know but begs the question, saving a buck but at the risk of your health?
X Outlaw has said it!

die wid yuh belly full or live long unhappy but supposedly healthy.

Postby black start » January 25th, 2012, 2:16 pm

Dave wrote:I know but begs the question, saving a buck but at the risk of your health?
X Outlaw has said it!

spoken like ah man who loves he belly.....

*approved*

Postby Dave » January 25th, 2012, 2:57 pm

Black Start wrote:
X Outlaw has said it!

*approved*

point missed....u still eating but buy your groceries and prepare your stuff for work :idea:

Postby wagonrunner » January 25th, 2012, 3:05 pm

Dave wrote:point missed....u still eating but buy your groceries and prepare your stuff for work :idea:

really?
point noted. but kitchen time doesnt work for me unless it's recreational.
And im not yet in the range to afford a vehicle with both fridge and microwave, when i'm on the road. so maybe one day.

Postby black start » January 25th, 2012, 3:10 pm

Dave wrote:
Black Start wrote:
X Outlaw has said it!

*approved*

point missed....u still eating but buy your groceries and prepare your stuff for work :idea:

thank god i is a student....

Dave wrote:point missed....u still eating but buy your groceries and prepare your stuff for work :idea:

really?
point noted. but kitchen time doesnt work for me unless it's recreational.
And im not yet in the range to afford a vehicle with both fridge and microwave, when i'm on the road. so maybe one day.

didnt know evo's came with the fridge and "micalwave" package doh :lol: :lol: :lol:

Postby Habit7 » January 25th, 2012, 3:20 pm

You can live off the cheap diet of doubles and roti, and use the money you saved for your future health bills.

Postby Dave » January 25th, 2012, 3:21 pm

me neither, again another feature i was cheated out off :-(

the buy and cook doesn't apply to road warriors, hard luck there karl

Postby wagonrunner » January 25th, 2012, 3:22 pm

Black Start wrote:didnt know evo's came with the fridge and "micalwave" package doh :lol: :lol: :lol:

nareshseep

Postby nareshseep » January 25th, 2012, 10:46 pm

neocyst wrote:
wagonrunner wrote:Preysal - Geera pork roti. (feel i going for one now yes) $25.
Where in Preysal? Thanks
Pass the entrance to preysal secondary school, and it's the next street on the right. (borders the play field)

http://wikimapia.org/#lat=10.4166361&lon=-61.4131236&z=18&l=0&m=s

It's first bar (two bars side by side) on that street on the right hand side.

Oho! The lil' bar next to Sandeana's! I try ah wings from them a lil' while back and it lash.

Is Alpine Rest. n Bar u all talkin bout?

http://www.facebook.com/pages/Alpine-Re ... 5870780197

for the money you get alot of food that taste great, cutters does lash too!

Postby nervewrecker » January 27th, 2012, 2:12 pm

silent_riot wrote:I haven't eaten Peter's food in about 4 years. It was cheaper back then like $20-25, and all was sold out before 12noon. He could move with pace in there, dred.
Back then I used to check a hole in the wall on Warner street too.
slackerjack, nah the one closer to Pembroke St.- $13 rice & chicken; $15 noodles & chicken...or was it $11 & $13...anyway it was cheap.

bought lunch there earlier this week & today again.
rice, chow meain & chicken for $16.00.
food tastes good & my dogs dont run away from the left overs.