Speed guns in effect in Trinidad & Tobago

JF.K

Re: RE: Re: Speed guns in effect from Monday

Postby JF.K » June 30th, 2016, 11:17 am

eliteauto wrote:Even in the wee hours of the morning, I've seen a lot more drivers taking it down, even those going past 80 aren't passing me with the scary fast speeds I've seen almost daily, driving habits are changing and that's a good thing

Well speed detection is easy wuk for the popo

Meanwhile whats the murder rate?

ZR like u not keeping up with the times?
The definition for "Serious Crimes" has now been changed.

Postby zoom rader » June 30th, 2016, 12:15 pm

JF.K wrote:
hong kong phooey wrote:Any one seeing them any where else except on the north/sound highway

Last weekend at around 8pm, they were stationed in a very dark spot..
Highway, West Bound Lane - just before Pricesmart O'meara.

The crew with the gun had it on a tripod on the road, to the back of a police xtrail suv.
From a distance it just looked as though a vehicle was 'shut down' or changing a flat on, the shoulder.

The next crew, who were stopping the speeders, were by the Pricesmart lights with some glow sticks (like what they use to direct planes on the runway).
Had two SUVs at this point with about 6 police.

Three vehicles flew past me just before the tripod crew. They were bumpering each other; real speed and recklessness. At the Pricesmart lights though they only pulled over 2. The third one who was in the back, get away.

Yep seen this on the Ste Madeleine stretch of the north bound highway. Tripod was in the back of Jeep and further up they were pulling folks over.

drchaos

Re: Speed guns in effect from Monday

Postby drchaos » June 30th, 2016, 1:27 pm

Would it be harder for them to catch you if you accelerate to 130+ after they tag you initially?

Postby hustla_ambition101 » June 30th, 2016, 2:01 pm

drchaos wrote:Would it be harder for them to catch you if you accelerate to 130+ after they tag you initially?

you can try, just remember there are ways and means of tracking down drivers. Saw a guy get hit with 5 tickets yesterday because he try smart thing while pulling bull on a taxi stand.......and I hear he permit was expired too

eurotuner

Postby eurotuner » June 30th, 2016, 2:11 pm

hustla_ambition101 wrote:
drchaos wrote:Would it be harder for them to catch you if you accelerate to 130+ after they tag you initially?

you can try, just remember there are ways and means of tracking down drivers. Saw a guy get hit with 5 tickets yesterday because he try smart thing while pulling bull on a taxi stand.......and I hear he permit was expired too

I think so, you should actually floor it. No way they catching you
And yes i've seen it before and they do nothing (i'm one) Well.....unless one of them is on a motorbike
you're pretty much screwed

Postby rollingstock » June 30th, 2016, 2:48 pm

Go strong, lots of long weekend to go knocking on doors.
Won't make a difference though lol accelerating to 130km/h in your pieceofshit trying to outrun a commodore makes so much sense.

drchaos

Postby drchaos » June 30th, 2016, 2:52 pm

Also since they out alot at night ... What if I remove the bulbs that illuminate the number plate?

Will it be harder for them to spot you as well down the line?
Last edited by drchaos on June 30th, 2016, 9:37 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby rollingstock » June 30th, 2016, 2:54 pm

You have bulbs that illuminate your front licence plate?

You a special breed of stupid or yuh reverse along the highways?

drchaos

Postby drchaos » June 30th, 2016, 3:00 pm

rollingstock wrote:Go strong, lots of long weekend to go knocking on doors.
Won't make a difference though lol accelerating to 130km/h in your pieceofshit trying to outrun a commodore makes so much sense.

Is not about outrunning them ... its about making the police think that its not worth it.

I spoke to an officer who used to do speed traps when they timed you. He said it is a very dangerous procedure to track down people when they get called further down from the trap. It was indicated in the convo that they may actually ignore you if they think its too dangerous to try and stop you. So the likely people to be caught are the ones driving on the left lane who are not breaking the speed limit by much.

This was just from one guys experience from donkey years ago ...

Ey meh 2.0T eh no POS eh ...

Postby rollingstock » June 30th, 2016, 3:06 pm

Why run down a driver that intends to escape?
Well several reasons, one being that you may be carrying illegal items, in which case they'll call it in and then you'll have to deal with arseholes like me who may think you have drugs or firearms in the vehicle.

And if you do get away at that blistering speed of 130km/h in your 2.0T what are you gonna do about the fact that the police had tangible evidence from the trucam, and will just simply have s summons issued for you to attend court coupled with additional charges, eg dangerous driving where your permit can be suspended?

Postby Habit7 » June 30th, 2016, 3:13 pm

drchaos wrote:
drchaos wrote:Still seems to be a large number of accidents on the road ways ... how come the police only focusing on road death statistics is this just smoke and mirrors? Where are the statistics for serious/critical injuries from road accidents?

habit7 say he feels safer

Habit does live in T&T? lol

I live in reality. According to Arrive Alive 55% of road traffic accidents are a result of speed. Fatal road traffic accidents are down by 7% for the corresponding time this year.

So as I said before is not about how you feel or whatever anecdote you have, that statistics show lives being saved.

Postby BrotherHood » June 30th, 2016, 3:24 pm

We'll see if that remains the same for Christmas and Carnival next year.

Postby SR » June 30th, 2016, 4:44 pm

Anybody ever see how hinds does drive.....

ek4ever

Postby ek4ever » June 30th, 2016, 5:41 pm

With fewer accidents is it too much to expect that insurance rates will go down???

Postby hustla_ambition101 » June 30th, 2016, 6:48 pm

ek4ever wrote:With fewer accidents is it too much to expect that insurance rates will go down???

Fatal accidents are down, there are many accidents still on a daily basis just no deaths

kamakazi

Re: Speed guns in effect in Trinidad & Tobago

Postby kamakazi » June 30th, 2016, 8:01 pm

Tangible evidence... You get tagged doing 90... Man is suggesting to accelerate after being tagged.... Is there another device to measure speed after you pass the tripod mounted trucam

Postby pugboy » June 30th, 2016, 8:20 pm

Hinds talking thru he backside about raising fines,
Man really have nothing to do.
If anything he should make drivers pay for damage to cable barriers etc to further encourage safer habits

Postby De Dragon » June 30th, 2016, 8:57 pm

Habit7 wrote:
drchaos wrote:
drchaos wrote:Still seems to be a large number of accidents on the road ways ... how come the police only focusing on road death statistics is this just smoke and mirrors? Where are the statistics for serious/critical injuries from road accidents?

I live in reality. According to Arrive Alive 55% of road traffic accidents are a result of speed. Fatal road traffic accidents are down by 7% for the corresponding time this year.

So as I said before is not about how you feel or whatever anecdote you have, that statistics show lives being saved.

Yes, every single thing is better now with the PNM.

tourniquet

Postby tourniquet » June 30th, 2016, 9:10 pm

if some people fretting now, wait till the other cameras get here and 40 and 50 km/h limits are enforced :lol:

drchaos

Postby drchaos » June 30th, 2016, 9:25 pm

Habit7 wrote:
drchaos wrote:

"According to Arrive Alive 55% of road traffic accidents are a result of speed" That's your problem right there .....

drchaos

Postby drchaos » June 30th, 2016, 9:37 pm

rollingstock wrote:Why run down a driver that intends to escape?
Well several reasons, one being that you may be carrying illegal items, in which case they'll call it in and then you'll have to deal with arseholes like me who may think you have drugs or firearms in the vehicle.

And if you do get away at that blistering speed of 130km/h in your 2.0T what are you gonna do about the fact that the police had tangible evidence from the trucam, and will just simply have s summons issued for you to attend court coupled with additional charges, eg dangerous driving where your permit can be suspended?

How they gonna have tangible evidence from a trucam that you going above 130, if they tag you before you accelerate to 130+? Like we in the same litter for that special breed of stupid.

Joshie23

Postby Joshie23 » June 30th, 2016, 9:43 pm

tourniquet wrote:if some people fretting now, wait till the other cameras get here and 40 and 50 km/h limits are enforced :lol:

:shock: This.. :? :(

drchaos

Postby drchaos » June 30th, 2016, 9:59 pm

What roads are 40 KPH?

scotty_buttons

Postby scotty_buttons » June 30th, 2016, 10:10 pm

Just saw them out by Cipriani College, Valsayn, heading east tonight.

Re: RE: Re: Speed guns in effect in Trinidad & Tobago

Postby nervewrecker » June 30th, 2016, 10:14 pm

Joshie23 wrote:
tourniquet wrote:if some people fretting now, wait till the other cameras get here and 40 and 50 km/h limits are enforced :lol:

:shock: This.. :? :(

I'll be buying lanate and drinking

Postby eliteauto » June 30th, 2016, 10:27 pm

drchaos wrote:

How they gonna have tangible evidence from a trucam that you going above 130, if they tag you before you accelerate to 130+? Like we in the same litter for that special breed of stupid.

ummm the trucam already has you pegged over 80 so your summons is sure, your actions after that will earn you the other charges

Postby rollingstock » June 30th, 2016, 10:34 pm

You even bother to explain that to stonehead?
Doh study elite hoss, remove your front id lights so the trucam can't tag your vehicle.

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » June 30th, 2016, 10:37 pm

Lol. That VW real bad. Front plate lights.

drchaos

Postby drchaos » June 30th, 2016, 10:46 pm

eliteauto wrote:
drchaos wrote:

ummm the trucam already has you pegged over 80 so your summons is sure, your actions after that will earn you the other charges

Did'nt know a trucam tagging you at over 80 does get you a summons to court ... Its a good ting we have smart fellars like allu around to inform people ...

drchaos

Postby drchaos » June 30th, 2016, 10:48 pm

rollingstock wrote:You even bother to explain that to stonehead?
Doh study elite hoss, remove your front id lights so the trucam can't tag your vehicle.

An you cah read simple english when ah man say accelerate after the Trucam peg you ...

but somehow you is smarter than me ... illiteracy is really high in this country yes esp with the police.