Diversification! Oil prices falling!

Re: Diversification! Oil prices falling!

Postby Redman » September 7th, 2017, 6:20 pm

That's not true...
There is a rent based on the area that is paid to TnT

We have many because we remain a wonderfully located massive natural harbor.

The ideas above can and should all be developed and explored.
In addition to expanding the onshore sector.

All should be done simultaneously.

Postby nervewrecker » September 9th, 2017, 11:11 pm

Nothing is ever going to happen and no change is ever going to come until the miserable, incompetent, greedy, power hungry old farts step down and let some younger, eager and up to date young blood take the wheel.
The old farts rose to the top via senority and cant even operate a computer. They want to impose their primitive and prehistoric way of life on the population while being resistant to change.

Postby Redman » September 10th, 2017, 5:14 am

I have seen 3 world class new tech, concieved and developed by Trinis...here.

None have gotten any support here.

We have no mechanism for nurturing innovation in any field.

Postby RedVEVO » September 10th, 2017, 8:44 am

adnj wrote:The economy is currently diverse trending. Trinidad is an energy exporter. Using the energy locally for manufacture of export items (manufactured goods, packaged foods). Use the educated work force for service jobs (higher education institutions, banking services, shipping services, administrative services).

Grow the trade surplus by improving housing and infrastructure to attract foreign companies. Offer taxation relief to those foreign offices that become housed here that service countries outside of Trinidad.

Tax relief to foreign companies usually turns out to be a disaster.

They come and exploit TT and then leave.

Better to give locals TT people tax relief and see diversification .

Postby adnj » September 10th, 2017, 12:08 pm

RedVEVO wrote:
Tax relief to foreign companies usually turns out to be a disaster.

They come and exploit TT and then leave.

Better to give locals TT people tax relief and see diversification .

Burger King is in Canada
Apple is in Ireland
Budweiser is in South Africa
Medtronic is in Ireland
Purina is in Switzerland

You want to incentivize new companies and new industries (pharmaceuticals, electronics, medical devices, automotive parts, etc.) that sell outside of Trinidad to relocate so as to increase employment numbers and average wages. Not pay a foreign company to build a road or a hospital or a stadium.

By driving up wages, an increase in after tax discretionary income will result. Do this while companies are producing export goods and services.

If taxes are cut for currently profitable export companies, only about 30% of those cuts will be reinvested into the company. The rest will be used for shares buy-back or added to cash reserves. You cannot directly increase diversity and export surpluses by cutting local taxes.

Postby hydroep » January 5th, 2018, 8:33 pm

Rise due to the Iranian unrest, though the projection is for a downward correction in the coming months.

Just keep an eye on the trends so allyuh know what going on when Sh!tkicker singing his song of doom and gloom eh.

http://www.nasdaq.com/markets/crude-oil.aspx?timeframe=5y

D Diesel Report

Postby D Diesel Report » January 6th, 2018, 1:17 am

Redman wrote:I have seen 3 world class new tech, concieved and developed by Trinis...here.

None have gotten any support here.

We have no mechanism for nurturing innovation in any field.

that's because the top people don't like newcomers in the party and messing with their profits. If anyone is going to innovate and exploit it, it's them!

Ask them about cryptocurrencies, they'll scoff at you because they don't understand it and hate how accessible it is to people 'below them'. :drinking: :drinking:

Postby The_Honourable » January 6th, 2018, 1:49 am

As we on the topic... we started to diversify into anything yet? or dey still waiting for energy prices to go up and hope to make it to 2020 elections?

Postby zoom rader » January 6th, 2018, 4:39 am

The_Honourable wrote:As we on the topic... we started to diversify into anything yet? or dey still waiting for energy prices to go up and hope to make it to 2020 elections?
PNM is what I call a go lucky mob of ppl.
They are hoping on energy prices to go up.

Other governments ran this country when oil was at a near $9us a barrel.

Postby hydroep » January 10th, 2018, 7:54 am

Higher still... :|

Postby desifemlove » January 10th, 2018, 3:57 pm

nervewrecker wrote:Nothing is ever going to happen and no change is ever going to come until the miserable, incompetent, greedy, power hungry old farts step down and let some younger, eager and up to date young blood take the wheel.
The old farts rose to the top via senority and cant even operate a computer. They want to impose their primitive and prehistoric way of life on the population while being resistant to change.

As an educated man, what happened to your strong diction? I guess police doh do dat, eh?

Postby RBphoto » January 10th, 2018, 4:16 pm

The world over it has been shown that only technology will increase GDP. Many nations with few natural resources but highly capable technical workforce can import raw materials and produce products for export at a very high value-added premium. Education and innovation will never occur in a land where our tradesmen rather work ceepep, and our university and technical school graduates are funneled into either broken public institutions or multinationals corporations who are primarily in the extractive industries using or re-selling foreign tech and not producing new and innovative goods.

Postby The_Honourable » January 10th, 2018, 4:20 pm

Dr. Farrell quits

Dr Terrence Farrell has quit as head of Government's Economic development Advisory Board.

This was disclosed in a statement from the Office of the Prime Minister on Wednesday afternoon.

According to the statement, Prime Minister Dr Keith Rowley on Monday accepted the resignation of Dr. Farrell as Chairman of the Economic Development Advisory Board with immediate effect.

Source: http://www.trinidadexpress.com/20180110 ... rell-quits

Poor fella... he tried but Imbert and dem hoping for energy prices to go up :(

Postby De Dragon » January 10th, 2018, 4:30 pm

The_Honourable wrote:Dr. Farrell quits

Dr Terrence Farrell has quit as head of Government's Economic development Advisory Board.

This was disclosed in a statement from the Office of the Prime Minister on Wednesday afternoon.

According to the statement, Prime Minister Dr Keith Rowley on Monday accepted the resignation of Dr. Farrell as Chairman of the Economic Development Advisory Board with immediate effect.

Imbecileert is the worse kind of incompetent. The kind that knows that they are incompetent but still ploughs ahead regardless :? :?

Postby nervewrecker » January 10th, 2018, 9:28 pm

desifemlove wrote:
nervewrecker wrote:Nothing is ever going to happen and no change is ever going to come until the miserable, incompetent, greedy, power hungry old farts step down and let some younger, eager and up to date young blood take the wheel.

As an educated man, what happened to your strong diction? I guess police doh do dat, eh?
You have the right to remain silent

Postby zoom rader » January 11th, 2018, 3:44 am

The cracks are now showing

racedriverpro

Postby racedriverpro » January 11th, 2018, 5:43 am

The cracks are now showing
The CJ ain't complaining

Postby desifemlove » January 12th, 2018, 2:07 pm

desifemlove wrote:

silent for what? you being a nookie, aged 40, who don't like comeback?

Postby zoom rader » January 12th, 2018, 2:53 pm

desifemlove wrote:

Places ingore desi, she is not a trini and does not live here. Plus she is anti Hindu and has a racist agenda

Miktay

Postby Miktay » January 12th, 2018, 3:33 pm

WTF Vasant really recommending Yuan?

Fadder help us.

http://www.cnc3.co.tt/business-watch/bu ... esignation

Postby sMASH » January 12th, 2018, 3:36 pm

why not?

Miktay

Postby Miktay » January 12th, 2018, 5:40 pm

sMASH wrote:why not?

How will you buy it?

Postby The_Honourable » January 12th, 2018, 6:22 pm

So while Imbert waiting for energy prices to recover...

St. Vincent to launch US Multi-Milliondollar Medicinal Cannabis Industry

(By Sean Rose) – St. Vincent and the Grenadines is on a path to establish a modern medicinal cannabis industry.

A trained attorney specializing in  legislative  drafting-  Mrs  Petrona  Sealey-Browne has provided
support to the initial consultative process on some possibilities regarding the  crafting  of a homegrown piece of legislation to establish the Industry and to address ancillary matters. St.  Vincent  and the Grenadines has historically been regarded by some neighboring Islands as the exporter of cannabis illegally.

The globally evolving medicinal cannabis industry has provided a lucrative opportunity for producers, manufacturers and exporters to re-think environmentally unsustainable methodologies and embrace practices throughout the value chain which has the potential of benefiting all stakeholders.

The issue  of deforestation from cannabis mountainside cultivation has negatively impacted on downstream activities; habitats for many endemic species; and has proven to be the major cause of significant landslides along the island’s mountain ranges. Local, regional and international entrepreneurs  have shown a keen interest in the establishment of investment in both production and marketing medicinal cannabis.

Hon. Saboto Caesar, the island’s Minister  of Agriculture, Forestry, Fisheries, Rural Transformation, Industry and Labour and Chair of the National Medicinal Cannabis Industry Committee highlighted that
the rst overall objective is the establishment of a medical  industry which  will explore  not only extracts from cannabis  but also other plants which possess medical properties.

When asked what exactly  the legislation will look like, Min. Caesar noted, “I do not wish at this point to preempt the legal advisors and comments  which will emanate  from consultations on the issue but  will note that the quest is to establish a thriving medicinal cannabis industry with equity for all stakeholders, reflecting both the social and environmental responsibility needed.”

The issue of medical cannabis has risen in importance over the last decade for discussion in the hemisphere with the  United States of America and Canada blazing the trail on developing Industries in different States and Provinces.
It is anticipated that there will be a widespread consultation over the upcoming months on the subject matter  of  what will be the  best platform for a  medicinal cannabis industry in St. Vincent and the Grenadines. These discussions will address the  decriminalization  of the use of cannabis for medicinal purposes in exceptional circumstances.

Other issues to be addressed include  the establishment of an eligibility criteria identifying the diseases and medical symptoms for which access to medicinal cannabis by a patient may be authorized by a medical doctor; the provision of the procedure for registration and regulation of medical doctors who would wish to authorize the use  of medicinal cannabis in relation to their patients whose diagnosis fall within the eligibility criteria; and the prescription for the role of the medical doctor in managing the use of medical cannabis by patients.

St. Vincent and the Grenadines with  the aid of local farmers and foreign investors  can become the epicenter of the Caribbean’s medical cannabis industry. The Global Medical Cannabis Market is expected to reach a value of 55.8 billion US by 2025, and the Cannabis Industry as a whole is expected to outpace jobs in manufacturing by 2020.

Europe is set to become the largest cannabis market in the World within the next five years with a market of over 739 million people, and a healthcare spending of € 1.49 trillion.

Source: https://news784.com/feature/st-vincent- ... -industry/

Postby sMASH » January 12th, 2018, 8:45 pm

^^ we already have significant productivity in that segment, a shame to not monetize it.

the problem isnt selling the yuan, the chinese self will buy it. the problem is getting something to sell, that foreigners willing to buy,, in what ever currency.

Miktay

Postby Miktay » January 13th, 2018, 3:55 am

sMASH wrote:^^ we already have significant productivity in that segment, a shame to not monetize it.

the problem isnt selling the yuan, the chinese self will buy it. the problem is getting something to sell, that foreigners willing to buy,, in what ever currency.

If the Chinese or other entities will give yuan in exchange for TT$ why aren’t they doing that now?

Postby sMASH » January 13th, 2018, 6:10 am

TTtd is worthless and useless on the international scenes.
a currency is only in demand, if the goods or services that u want to procure, are purchased with that currency.... we have very few things, besides oil and gas, that foreigners would want to purchase.
yes, they would usually pay with USd, but when we get the USd, we will be able to use that to make our purchases of foreign goods.
we buy a lot of stuff from China, so the locals could go across and purchase directly with YUAN, if they have it. but we have nothing that the chinese would want to buy from us, that they will be willing to pay for in USd or YUAN. so, how we getting it, or an currency?

don't really fight up, at this point, with any specific preferred currency, cause the de-facto international currency is usually USd, and anybody willing to sell their own to get USd.

the primary conundrum is getting people to give us money,,, what ever popular currency. we have to get them to give us money in the first place, and then we could exchange as necessary.
why would they give us money, are we selling them oil or gas, agricultural produce, fish, agriculture and fish products, minerals or pitch, other natural resources. are we selling them tourism, carnival, ecotourism, cultural tourism, medical tourism? are we selling manufactured goods, machines, machine components, manufacturing raw materials, manufacturing machinery?
are we selling professional services of oil/gas industry professionals, engineering, technicians, nursing, geriatric, accounting, management, economists, artists, craftsmen, culinary experts and artists?

dont mind if a local get qualified and trained and go abroad to work, they will send money back home, and the family will spend it here, and prop up the local economy. the money will be exchanged here, and there will be foreign currency available when sold locally.

when they do leave, that will be one less crab looking for work here, in this already cramped barrel.

that is why, when they decided to cut GATE for the industrial courses, and people didnt sign up again, it was a SHEIT move. u forcing the people to be less internationally attractive.
yes, it needed to be streamlined, but it was a SHEIT move, because they left a number of theological programs to be GATE approved... how much preachers do we need? how many qualified preachers do we need?

so now, when raj and randolph could have gone to become engineers in UTT, then get hired locally and got experience, and then ship out to argentina, america, canada, england, angola, middle east, australia, and ply their oil/gas skills else where and send money back home for mama, they decided to sell doubles, alloo pie, and mix concrete on week ends...

it happened... uwi and utt did put out that their sign ups this academic year had dropped.

u see all this crime that tnt have, the police not getting a handle on it, it is affecting tourism. shamfa is mum on the situation. but she is probably waiting on the next asteroid to hit, so murder is small ting for she.

Postby desifemlove » January 13th, 2018, 6:29 am

desifemlove wrote:

Places ingore desi, she is not a trini and does not live here. Plus she is anti Hindu and has a racist agenda

telling irony, ent?

drchaos

Postby drchaos » January 13th, 2018, 9:09 am

Oil heading back up and cocaine has been propping up our currency/economy ever since so no need to stress fellars.

Why legalize weed??? ... we should just legalize cocaine that's where the real money is.

Postby zoom rader » January 13th, 2018, 9:26 am

desifemlove wrote:

telling irony, ent?
Go deal with your county own problems, Muslims already taking over the UK, Londonstan in full swing.

Postby sMASH » January 13th, 2018, 9:27 am

Well, cocaine isn't legally accepted in any market we would wish to sell to, so we would it be able To Sell it. Trinidad doesn't use cocaine, it merely passes through here on the way to the real destination.

there are other preferred source of energy now, so demand will remain low for oil, and thusly the price.
Most u might reach is a $80 and that if is reall madness goes on in the middle east, but if thing only go a little more badly, then I thinking $70 is reasonable to asume