As at November 27th, Dr Kublalsingh would not have had any food to eat or water to drink for 13 days.
The health and potentially the life of Dr. Kublalsingh remains significantly at risk.
[X]~Outlaw wrote:Do you understand the concept of personal responsibility...you know, taking responsibility for your own actions?
Oh wait leme guess...you is one ah dem dat go have 10 million children and blame the government then say that it was the government fault in the first place.
If you going to take drastic actions like a hunger strike to get your point across
1. You are a dumb a$$ since you can't think of any other creative way of doing so
2. You should follow your action to the end otherwise you're just an attention whore
Next time yuh ask for ah raise and yuh boss say no...go on a hunger strike and tell us how well that worked out for you.
[X]~Outlaw wrote:As at November 27th, Dr Kublalsingh would not have had any food to eat or water to drink for 13 days.
13 days without water dey say yuh know.......right rightThe health and potentially the life of Dr. Kublalsingh remains significantly at risk.
This is the fault of?
maj. tom wrote:If the British had allowed Gandhi to die from his hunger strikes, then they would have martyred him for the entire population toward something they all wanted, their independence. If Kublalsingh dies from his hunger strike, the PP government will be seen by some as cruel or not caring enough about a citizen, but the majority of the population is FOR this highway.
This government will get voted out sometime and the next government will continue progress. This man dies or lives, he really is not making an impact on people's lives in this country for the immediate better. I'm not going to think of him as any martyr of any sort. Not many people, including myself can align themselves to his cause in the long run, not many people are bothered by his extremist stance and more people are disgusted by it actually. This man is taking up the news and looking ghastly like the pictures from Treblinka in 1945. Pushing these things upon the majority of a nation that does not accept his views. What do you call that?
j.o.e wrote:De Dragon wrote:j.o.e wrote:Whether u agree with Kubs or not, his measure although drastic has been successful. People are talking and looking at this project. Not even south people really paid much attention to this project now its on the news constantly. Its only a matter of time before he gets the international media to notice.
Then the folks who are neither here nor there with the highway are paying attention to KPB,JW and Moonilal's responses.
Just look at the length of this thread in less than 2 weeks, the PP is handling this poorly. I always say politics is chess and this Government is playin checkers.
Successful? Was the highway rerouted? Stopped?
The only "success" is drawing attention to himself, and T&T pretty hard up now for entertainment, but when Christmas swing into full gear, he'll just be another 9 day wonder.
Really?
Four members of civil society delivered a proposal to Prime Minister Kamla Persad-Bissessar’s office yesterday in an attempt to intervene in the impasse between the Government and the Highway Re-route Movement over the Mon Desir section of the Point Fortin Highway. The four groups are:
• The Joint Consultative Council (JCC)
• The T&T Transparency Institute
• The Women Working for Social Progress (Working Women)
• The Federation of Independent Trade Unions and NGO’s (Fitun).
President of JCC Afra Raymond said yesterday the proposal was based on the restoration of public trust, because public trust was being slowly eroded on all sides. In March this year, the Highway Re-Route Movement and environmental activist Dr Wayne Kublalsingh asked the Government for an independent technical review on the Mon Desir section of the Point Fortin Highway.
rest of article here:http://guardian.co.tt/news/2012-11-29/civil-society-groups-call-independent-review
De Dragon wrote:j.o.e wrote:De Dragon wrote:j.o.e wrote:Whether u agree with Kubs or not, his measure although drastic has been successful. People are talking and looking at this project. Not even south people really paid much attention to this project now its on the news constantly. Its only a matter of time before he gets the international media to notice.
Then the folks who are neither here nor there with the highway are paying attention to KPB,JW and Moonilal's responses.
Just look at the length of this thread in less than 2 weeks, the PP is handling this poorly. I always say politics is chess and this Government is playin checkers.
Successful? Was the highway rerouted? Stopped?
The only "success" is drawing attention to himself, and T&T pretty hard up now for entertainment, but when Christmas swing into full gear, he'll just be another 9 day wonder.
Really?
Four members of civil society delivered a proposal to Prime Minister Kamla Persad-Bissessar’s office yesterday in an attempt to intervene in the impasse between the Government and the Highway Re-route Movement over the Mon Desir section of the Point Fortin Highway. The four groups are:
• The Joint Consultative Council (JCC)
• The T&T Transparency Institute
• The Women Working for Social Progress (Working Women)
• The Federation of Independent Trade Unions and NGO’s (Fitun).
President of JCC Afra Raymond said yesterday the proposal was based on the restoration of public trust, because public trust was being slowly eroded on all sides. In March this year, the Highway Re-Route Movement and environmental activist Dr Wayne Kublalsingh asked the Government for an independent technical review on the Mon Desir section of the Point Fortin Highway.
rest of article here:http://guardian.co.tt/news/2012-11-29/civil-society-groups-call-independent-review
Lemme see:
JCC - Afra Raymond still toting about the food he eh get to eat on that and several other projects.
TTTI - Mary King old outfit
FITUN - OWTU and CWU are affiliates
WWFSP - Who? Prolly Kubs 'mainly women supporters" belong to this group.
Next you'll tell me that the PNM,MSJ,and other such 'neutral' groups submitting a proposal as well.How does Afra Raymond deem public confidence and trust to be eroding? Did he do a survey, poll or otherwise?
rfari wrote:Dragon so because someone.has affiliations or toating feelings that means u disregard what they have to say on a matter like this? Whatever happen to listening to what is being said and make an informed decision after?
De Dragon wrote:rfari wrote:Dragon so because someone.has affiliations or toating feelings that means u disregard what they have to say on a matter like this? Whatever happen to listening to what is being said and make an informed decision after?
But, where were they when there was smelter talk, uncontrolled quarrying in the Northern Range, and many other projects that had potential environmental implications?
16 cycles wrote:Is the project on halt because of hunger strike?
If so, what's the running costs so far?
brams112 wrote:16 cycles wrote:Is the project on halt because of hunger strike?
If so, what's the running costs so far?
Nobody cares about our tax money pal,heard some one on 105fm this morning talking about kubs looking out for our tax money in this project,i laffed oui.
j.o.e wrote:De Dragon wrote:rfari wrote:Dragon so because someone.has affiliations or toating feelings that means u disregard what they have to say on a matter like this? Whatever happen to listening to what is being said and make an informed decision after?
But, where were they when there was smelter talk, uncontrolled quarrying in the Northern Range, and many other projects that had potential environmental implications?
short term memory: http://www.trinidadexpress.com/news/Ant ... 09739.html
http://www.trinidadexpress.com/news/Kub ... 00034.html
https://alutrint.wordpress.com/category ... gh/page/7/
The man has been consistent...so now that that is aside..what other problem u have with the guy?
j.o.e wrote:The reason why the others there is because the issue has moved far,far beyond an environmental issue... If people light a tyre in Trinidad they get dialogue,block a road, hold a placard. More and more people want the Gov't to just state the facts.
Why not just hold a press conference and lay out the Gov't side...with a panel of experts. Instead we get JW and Moonilal talking sheit in Debe. This is not looking good.
How can ppl not see that? This is not about agreeing or not agreeing with the hway route anymore, its about if you want a Gov't that is accountable.
That is what this has turned into..if this was dealt with properly it would just be about where the hway passing and no one would care as much.
De Dragon wrote:j.o.e wrote:The reason why the others there is because the issue has moved far,far beyond an environmental issue... If people light a tyre in Trinidad they get dialogue,block a road, hold a placard. More and more people want the Gov't to just state the facts.
Why not just hold a press conference and lay out the Gov't side...with a panel of experts. Instead we get JW and Moonilal talking sheit in Debe. This is not looking good.
How can ppl not see that? This is not about agreeing or not agreeing with the hway route anymore, its about if you want a Gov't that is accountable.
That is what this has turned into..if this was dealt with properly it would just be about where the hway passing and no one would care as much.
No, it's still all about a highway being or not being built, and about one man's irrational act to get publicity. Anyone who wants to turn it into a David vs Goliath type battle is pro-Kublalsingh, or anti Government or was deluded into so thinking. The Government has made its position known, Kublalsingh et al have made their position known, and neither will budge or back down.
j.o.e wrote:so why not publish the said report? its starting to look like there's none.
The average layman cant really make a judgement in terms of ecological damage,difference in costs, displacement of ppl etc...so if there is a report which justifies the Gov't side publish it.
Issue done
De Dragon wrote:j.o.e wrote:so why not publish the said report? its starting to look like there's none.
The average layman cant really make a judgement in terms of ecological damage,difference in costs, displacement of ppl etc...so if there is a report which justifies the Gov't side publish it.
Issue done
So fling a set of stats that people can't make sense of rather than just say the report was done and it justifies the route/cost etc? I believe this was already done.
rfari wrote:De Dragon wrote:j.o.e wrote:so why not publish the said report? its starting to look like there's none.
Issue done
So fling a set of stats that people can't make sense of rather than just say the report was done and it justifies the route/cost etc? I believe this was already done.
It wasnt made public. We have sections in society that would be able to make sense of it. No worries