Re: ***THE FARMERS CHED***

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » November 21st, 2015, 1:58 am

York wrote:
EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:
York wrote:shud mix some gramoxone with the swiper and spray that tall grass. or just hit the parts that recovering with the gramoxone for now. be careful when spraying this. or just spray the ends or sides you can reach from outside every couple of days.

ok scene I go put in gramoxone and give them a dose.

Someone was telling me these poison chemicals kill the PH value in the soil and the nutrients etc. Any truth to this?

Maybe but with all d rain, it will run off in rivers to d sea and dilute to nothing. Plus these are organic and fertilizers are inorganic. Doh study it, just use pre-emergent spray like ronstar a few days before planting or cheaper brands that will kill grass seeds for non-planted areas or areas around citrus or coconut, trees nah. Must use chemicals otherwise u will be cutting grass half d time!!

Ooh nice thanks :D

Yeah this some nasty thick grass I feel like is quick sand I was sinking in when I was walking through it to spray. It not touch in 25 years and cutting that eh go make sense, go grow back real quick. So that spray not even getting chance to reach the dirt, I must say it feels nice seeing that big grass dry down.

I does plant cucumber and stuff in between the coconut plants so thats why I was asking. So I go gee he fyhaz with gramoxone while it the rainy season still upon us. Go buy a gallon and done cause is 1.25 Acres I clearing down.

ADONI

Postby ADONI » November 21st, 2015, 2:39 pm

So I am looking for one month old Mule ducks. About 300 so. Thanks 7121135

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » November 21st, 2015, 5:38 pm

Had a slight accident today, used a small 1 gallon spray can for pesticide for my cucumbers. But didn't realize my brother used it earlier to spray swiper poison for the edge of the yard. I did wash it out though, but didn't realize there was swiper poison in the pump also didn't even think anyone had used it for grass poison.

I filled it up with dazolin pesticide and spray the cucumbers, when I realized what happened I went quick before 30 minutes and used a watering can to water the cucumber plants to try and save it just in case. I wonder if this would likely cause an issue?

Anyone ever had an accident like this before? any problems because of this?

Postby Chimera » November 21st, 2015, 6:35 pm

All dem thing dead

York

Postby York » November 22nd, 2015, 4:58 am

Pal, i use 3 spray cans - herbicide, pesticide and fungicide/bactericide.

If u washed before and then rinsed before it dried, they may survive. Always rinse out d pump when u cleaning dan.

Still the best thing for ur thick grass wud be to cut with tractor and then spray when d grass grows back. If u planning to plant u shud consider ploughing and rotavating to loosen up d soil. U wud need good drainage or u will may have fungus / bacteria issues. Look at how much u wud spend on chemicals and labour to spray all dat grass.

York

Postby York » November 22nd, 2015, 5:05 am

I used Surf-Ac spreader sticker with some glyfosate yerterday, was really effective!

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » November 22nd, 2015, 1:49 pm

^ well it has beds and stuff for proper drainage the only thing I didnt do was tractor it. Because I just wanted to plant about 200 cucumbers for an experiment.

You see is first time I planting, I don't even know if people go come and thief it out cause its 3/4 mile from my house so I can't see it to monitor it all the time. I was saying if I make money off these short crops I would use it to plough. But yeah more than half acre still has grass so I may just use a tractor for that.

I will go today and see if them plants still living, fingers cross.

vidane

Postby vidane » November 22nd, 2015, 7:58 pm

Sighz. Remember the time it to see the effects of swiper on the grass. So expect the same wait to know how bad the damage was. Swiper is a systemic herbicide so based on the quantity of residue left in tank, it may kill or most likely staunt. One sprayer can be used for all operations (intensive sterilization of sprayer required) however it's not advisable especially for commercial farming. About planting with the moon, never studied it in depth however I won't knock what I have never throughly investigated, have found little parts of it that really coincided with scientific facts, but I share the sentiments of one farmer who said, "if I had to wait on the moon to plant 5 acres of corn what would be my situation?"

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » November 22nd, 2015, 8:46 pm

^Ooh yeah swiper takes 3 days to start to show little signs, 1 week to see serious effects. I went today and I notice the Ocra that was a few cm actually have grown an extra couple centimeters AFTER I sprayed it.

So perhaps this is a good sign? maybe the 30 minute time frame where I went and water all after realizing what happened, probably helped? I can say for certain the plants that spray are actually growing.

I will know for sure in 1 week. I will point out I did wash the tank properly, but there was residue from the actual pump that was leaking out, I should have pumped and rinsed thoroughly. Worst case scenario is $20 in seed I lost and 3 weeks. I go check it back in a few days again to see if any damages were done.

Next time I buying a separate spray can for pesticides yes.

Postby Redman » November 23rd, 2015, 7:33 am

If there was residue in the pump and hose ...check the first thing you sprayed...

Also...how much is commonly paid for used flour bags..the 45kg size..?

thanks

ADONI

Postby ADONI » November 23rd, 2015, 10:10 am

My neighbour does sell the used feed bags for $2. I believe it is 45kg as well.

Postby Redman » November 23rd, 2015, 2:50 pm

Thx Adoni...its the same bags.

Pointman-IA

Postby Pointman-IA » November 23rd, 2015, 5:04 pm

Anybody planting hot peppers?

York

Postby York » November 23rd, 2015, 7:40 pm

Pointman-IA wrote:Anybody planting hot peppers?

Nah, too much diseases in dis weather, pimento for it!

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » November 25th, 2015, 6:45 pm

So the great thing is all the plants alive and kicking so I get away.

Wanted to ask how far do you all have coconut trees growing from your bound? I plant about 15 trees today with about 8 of them 2 feet from the bound. But I am wondering if this would be an issue when it starts to grow since the tree branches does stretch quite a bit. lol

The man house roof is like 4 feet from where I plant it though but further down the back end of his yard I planted it like 2 feet from the bound. He eh have nothing there except a dog kennel. Is there some kind of law stating how much feet you need to plant?

I studying next thing the tree get big and a nut fall one day and kill the man.

Pointman-IA

Postby Pointman-IA » November 25th, 2015, 6:58 pm

Where did you source the coconut trees?

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » November 26th, 2015, 2:40 am

^ I have old friend of my grandfather from long ago who allow me to have his plants. They are special bolee nuts, a coconut is almost the size of a basketball. Some are a bit smaller, but all of them are significantly larger than 95% of nuts you find in Trinidad. Its a sort of jungle area you got to pass through to get to the tree but meh say what, it also stays hidden from others who would otherwise steal it.

I have 2 yellow Chiney Nut tree home aswell and plenty common nuts, Chiney is nice quality aswell but not as big but still good size and really sweet water, I still use chiney nuts for plants since it would take years to get 150 bolee nut plant from just 1 tree.

You interested in buying chiney nut plants? I got excellent quality chiney nuts some of the best, but Iwon't be able to sell plants till maybe next year this time. I still need over 100 plants and my brother needs 100 again also. The only plant I have right now that I could sell is common nuts.

Postby Chimera » November 26th, 2015, 9:03 am

You Have Any Pics Of Any Of These Things U Planting Effectic?

York

Postby York » November 26th, 2015, 9:49 am

Plant yuh nuts 10 ft from d bound, so even if u not taking care of it (for some reason or another) and the dry branches fall naturally, they will fall on ur land. Not to mention all the dog mess and bacteria that may contaminate your trees and mess up your plants.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » November 26th, 2015, 11:24 am

ABA it has a next one shooting out soon I go take apic of it before I dig a hole. The rest buried in the dirt so you won't see the size of the nut next time I go take a pic and post it up for you to see, its quite something.

York thanks I will do that, going today and dig them out, 2 feet was really too close. Ah go take some pics aswell.

lipstick war

Postby lipstick war » November 28th, 2015, 12:30 am

Fellas where can I buy grapes & apples wholesale?

G-DUB

Postby G-DUB » November 28th, 2015, 5:53 am

^^^Plenty places to check. Bunny Import, Coolkut Trading Limited, there is a place when you turn onto El Socorro Extension Rd No1. on your left, another place you can check is on Pasea Ext Rd, 3rd street down on your right close to Harry`s auto electrical if that helps.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » November 29th, 2015, 7:18 pm

Was wondering something there are no directions on the swiper poison bottle. I cut a 20 oz coke bottle in half and I put it full of poison in 1 spray can the 4 gallon ones.

I am thinking maybe this is too much? so its like 11 Oz of poison per 4 gallon but I filled the can extra so it was really 4.5 gallons. Thats probably 275ml of poison per 4.5 Gallon of water.

TriniAutoMart

Postby TriniAutoMart » November 30th, 2015, 1:33 am

Anyone knows if this is available locally? -->http://www.amazon.com/dp/B00WWBWTRC?psc=1

York

Postby York » November 30th, 2015, 8:06 am

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:Was wondering something there are no directions on the swiper poison bottle. I cut a 20 oz coke bottle in half and I put it full of poison in 1 spray can the 4 gallon ones.

I am thinking maybe this is too much? so its like 11 Oz of poison per 4 gallon but I filled the can extra so it was really 4.5 gallons. Thats probably 275ml of poison per 4.5 Gallon of water.

A little more would be better like 350ml just to make sure the grass is eradicated...google and see if u get the directions.

York

Postby York » November 30th, 2015, 8:07 am

TriniAutoMart wrote:Anyone knows if this is available locally? -->http://www.amazon.com/dp/B00WWBWTRC?psc=1

What we need is one tape for insect pests and another for human pests!!!

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » November 30th, 2015, 3:27 pm

York wrote:
EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:Was wondering something there are no directions on the swiper poison bottle. I cut a 20 oz coke bottle in half and I put it full of poison in 1 spray can the 4 gallon ones.

A little more would be better like 350ml just to make sure the grass is eradicated...google and see if u get the directions.

Interestingly I found this

http://www.garden-counselor-lawn-care.c ... iller.html

Weed killer does NOT work better with a stronger concentration. It is better to spray again, rather than go with a heavier dose which can have negative consequences.
(You probably need to spray twice, so why waste extra product that you didn‘t want to spend money on in the first place?

If we go by roundup also

One quart makes up to 10 gallons of spray at the 3 oz./gal. rate.

So I suppose I was correct on the amount I didn't waste it.

York

Postby York » November 30th, 2015, 3:59 pm

Well 4.5x3=13.5ozx30=405ml for 4.5gal. I think gramaxone has a higher rate for taller grass.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » November 30th, 2015, 8:49 pm

OW ho hmm yeah you are right. I go be so glad once this grass dries down, never letting it get beyond 6 inches again nah.

York

Postby York » November 30th, 2015, 9:06 pm

The one I using say to use 200ml per 4gals, that's 48% glyfosate. U shud be ok. D good thing is that it takes 30-40 days to dry grass completely. So it would last almost 3 months before grass grows back!