Official 2NR | GT 5| Thread

Rensh

Re: Official | Gran Turismo 5 |Thread| Redbull X1 Giveaways

Postby Rensh » January 15th, 2011, 8:55 pm

Last night was madness. TriniNinja, you know we accustom racing RM cars mixed with street cars normel normel. I think that last night had too many NEW people that didn’t know the usual rules. So that caused the drama, as well as EVERYBODY being able to edit the regulations. That’s like 75% of the tuner community with moderator status… can you imagine that? It will result in chaos! The person that created the lounge should be in full control... and the rest of people give their input and suggestions.. NOT be changing settings all the damn time. We used to have a nice set of races.. personal cars, stock cars, same cars, mixed in with some creative races. Now is just 500 600 700 right thru... that was lame. :?

I feel sorry for the new guys that joined last night and witnessed that chaos… men like Yeo, Devi, Dragon etc. It’s not usually like that fellas. And Yeo, sorry for telling you about the race car thing boy lol… was just trying to equalize the races… cus last night was bacchanal and too much complaining.

Duane, that is exactly what I was trying to explain to my partners, about the penalty thing. Those FIA rules helped me explain it better lol. And if you making a lounge, make it in the Open Lobby, not community… that would sort out the issue with everybody being able to change settings. Yes random internet men would join, but we have the power to kick them if desired.

And Bizkit, how much you selling that caterham for? :D

Yeo

Postby Yeo » January 15th, 2011, 9:52 pm

Rensh wrote:
I feel sorry for the new guys that joined last night and witnessed that chaos… men like Yeo, Devi, Dragon etc. It’s not usually like that fellas. And Yeo, sorry for telling you about the race car thing boy lol… was just trying to equalize the races… cus last night was bacchanal and too much complaining.

Lol, no scene, now I know. Looking forward to later tonight.... weather change anyone? :lol:

novastar1

Postby novastar1 » January 15th, 2011, 11:10 pm

honda hoe wrote:Novastar.. I hafta wait til tomorrow before I can send a next one

Add me and I will send it to u

Got one from Nitrous racer.
Thanks anyways.
Seems like it took a while for me to actually receive it after he sent it

ShIvAm

Postby ShIvAm » January 15th, 2011, 11:20 pm

wam rensh yuh forget meh owa?

MadCrix

Postby MadCrix » January 16th, 2011, 12:38 am

aite i out till the 25th fellars.....

lens decide to crap out when loading up this afternoon.
replacemnet on its way.. but i hadda twiddle my thumbs until it reach and i install it. :(
call meh name is all i can say :(

DEVI

Postby DEVI » January 16th, 2011, 12:43 am

chaos is right boy Rensh, i get bounce an spun around on the tight tracks like Monaco and Nurburgring til i thought it was donut time, was still great fun...check you guys sun or mon night?

Bacon

Postby Bacon » January 16th, 2011, 1:13 am

I agree..........Upforce FTW!!!

My lil mazda takin flight.....
Last edited by Bacon on January 16th, 2011, 3:51 am, edited 1 time in total.

Bacon

Postby Bacon » January 16th, 2011, 1:22 am

ShIvAm wrote:
daz a full carbon fiber skyline i seeing day! :shock:

Almost.....dey left the roof stock.....did not want to overdo nah :wink:

2004 Carbon R by amuse

xauss

Postby xauss » January 16th, 2011, 12:02 pm

xauss wrote:i think i gonna leave out them X1 races...i had to spend literally a million credits to fix back meh X1 after the last online tuner battle...engine rebuild half a mil and chassis restoration was half mil too...so...it park up in d garage to look pretty right now lol....
i doh understand that, the damage you get in online racing is not permanent AFAIK

Check this
GTplanet wrote:Mechanical damage arrived via a patch 1.03

"UPDATE: The servers are back online and an in-game news notice has been posted, but it mentions nothing of exactly what changes v1.03 contains. However, as can be seen in the online “My Lounge” options for an online race, a new “Mechanical Damage” setting is available for the event with three settings, as described by the scrolling information bar on the bottom of the screen:

“None” – No mechanical damage.
“Light” – Mechanical parts can be damaged, but will “automatically be repaired after a short time has passed.”
“Heavy” – Mechanical damage will be more severe, and can only be repaired by making a pit stop. Damaged parts will be indicated with on-screen icons."
I mean technically you dont need to spend $1mil, just drive into the pit in an online race to repair the car.

I do know that after racing with a car for quite a few races an engine overhaul ads back lost HP. I had seen my car drop about 30HP and an engine overhaul brought it back - not sure that was because mechanical damage was on in online racing or if GT5 just "wears" the engine on your garage cars based on mileage.

Can anyone confirm?

Duane, since GT introduced oil change..GT2 i believe, there has been the horsepower loss with normal usage of the car...with GT5..the engine overhaul and chassis restoration work in much the same way...once a certain amount of usage (be it online or offline) happens...then you'll need to go do an engine overhaul and a chassis restoration to restore lost hp and chassis rigidity...its doesn't work the same as actual damage to the car...it works as a sort of wear and tear factor that applies regardless of if you crashed etc.....I've already had to do rebuilds and restoration 3 times on the evo IV...i think it gets more severe the higher tuned the car is...anyway...I still have to find that 1 mil to bring back my car 1poor :(

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » January 16th, 2011, 12:42 pm

^ ok cool 8)

iDynamic

Postby iDynamic » January 16th, 2011, 2:09 pm

^ nice! the racing gets better when more ppl join - last night was good!!! I start getting fatigued by 1am though and end up coming last or second to last consistently , I feel next time I going to try some redbull or coffee!

NiTrOuS RaCeR wrote:
apparently race modding a car to race in a tuner lobby is a crime so dont waste any money like me by race modding ur cars , jus modify d engine
I can understand what you are saying.

initially we said if we racing street cars then we racing street cars and no race cars allowed in those races. However after some thought, once your car is under the HP limit and over the minimum weight limit I don't see any valid reason why you can't race with it. At first when I have my factory Evo IX with engine, transmission and suspension mods and I see Devi come out to race me with a Calsonic Impul GT-R (R35) I say BWTMC, but his car is over 1000kg and under 550hp and that's the regulations of the race - so be it, I ent see nutting wrong there - even though I getting licks , regulations are regulations. However the race cars and even the RM cars still have serious advantage in that there is downforce tuning that the self modified street cars don't have - so the no race car argument is at stalemate. IMO I'd still at least allow the RM cars, not race cars, since you can modify you street car to RM level if you wanted, you cannot however modify your street car to race car level. Depends on the other competitors in the room and what rules they want to set I guess...

what I have beef with is the driving aids and driving line.
IMO turn off all the driving aids as this levels the playing field and allows us to improve on setting our cars up WRT suspension, camber, traction etc etc and helps us all the improve our driving. So I suggest we leave them all OFF.
Similarly I suggest leave ON the driving line - last night we turned it off for a Nurburgring event and men were all over the place crashing into each other upsetting even guys who were innocently keeping their lines, you get pushed off in a S bend and next thing you know you get a short cut penalty cause you got shoved off cause the guy behind you didnt know the track too well.
The driving lines helps us all to learn the tracks, learn lines and keep the newer drivers in line.

I already hear the argument: "online racing is for racing, not for learning, if yuh want to learn go practice in the game", however the opponents in the game dont drive, react or retaliate like another human - which is why racing online teaches you to drive so much better.

All this is just my opinion - its up to the majority of people who are racing in the room to decide what the race settings are. In other words if yuh jump een a room with ppl racing already and TCS and driving line are off, respect that. Yuh could always ask though.

WRT the penalties... I think Polyphony needs to sort somethings out - but I hear guys saying "he bonx me but I get the penalty!!!", remember that on a racetrack there is a driving line with the right-of-way. The apex racing line is the right-of-way, so if you are not in that line and you get in the way someone who is taking that line, then you are wrong when they hit you and you will get the penalty!

Also read this:
FIA Regualtions wrote:
The 1999 FIA Formula One World Championship Sporting Regulations cover overtaking under "incidents":

"Incident means any occurrence or series of occurrences involving one or more drivers, or any action by any driver, which is reported to the stewards by the race director (or noted by the stewards and referred to the race director for investigation) which:

- caused an avoidable collision;
- forced a driver off the track;
- illegitimately prevented a legitimate overtaking manoeuvre by a driver;
- illegitimately impeded another driver during overtaking.

The stewards may impose a 10 second time penalty on any driver involved in an Incident."

This quite clearly bans using physical contact to overtake and prohibits blocking a driver attempting to overtake.
Now before allyuh start laughing that I quoting FIA regulations, this is what the game uses and it's the primary reason for setting penalties in the game and understanding why you got a penalty. Granted it is impossible to see who is on the side of you in bumper cam view (I think most of us race using this view), it doesnt change the rules of the game.

I think we should introduce strict rules :

-no race cars unless everyone is using them

- Weight and Hp limit , false start check , Strong Penalties , Light Damage , Grip Reduction Real

- All driving aids OFF unless the race is in rain , only a selected few should be authorized.

-Races 10 laps and more boost should be on high so it will be an exciting race and the entire grid wont be "skin out" all over the track (my opinion).

-Introduction Of more Nascar Races 20 laps and over since this involves more strategy in terms of when to pit and how to save tires instead speeding like crazy then then having to pit every 5 laps.

-Shuffle races , Where everyone gets a random standard slow car thats fairly matched on comfort soft tires

-Also would be great if we can get rally races , snow races and strict drag racing with hp limit where all the racers line up and run 2 cars at a time in the tunnel.

-We need to make use of every aspect of the game since some people may be more skilled and have a greater ability to tune cars for different types of racing other than circuit racing.

wuh is driving aids?
advanced motor HIV?

:| :fadein:

dhal power evo IV...finally fully tuned...ready fuh some racing tonight...d kermit d frog yaris gettin a re-tune on the suspension and drivetrain as well...so ah good for a 200hp and a 500hp race...btw...i think i gonna leave out them X1 races...i had to spend literally a million credits to fix back meh X1 after the last online tuner battle...engine rebuild half a mil and chassis restoration was half mil too...so...it park up in d garage to look pretty right now lol....on another note...RB26DETT being tuned to 800hp....coming soon...hopefully by tomorrow night

xauss wrote:
i think i gonna leave out them X1 races...i had to spend literally a million credits to fix back meh X1 after the last online tuner battle...engine rebuild half a mil and chassis restoration was half mil too...so...it park up in d garage to look pretty right now lol....
i doh understand that, the damage you get in online racing is not permanent AFAIK

Check this
GTplanet wrote:
Mechanical damage arrived via a patch 1.03

"UPDATE: The servers are back online and an in-game news notice has been posted, but it mentions nothing of exactly what changes v1.03 contains. However, as can be seen in the online “My Lounge” options for an online race, a new “Mechanical Damage” setting is available for the event with three settings, as described by the scrolling information bar on the bottom of the screen:

“None” – No mechanical damage.
“Light” – Mechanical parts can be damaged, but will “automatically be repaired after a short time has passed.”
“Heavy” – Mechanical damage will be more severe, and can only be repaired by making a pit stop. Damaged parts will be indicated with on-screen icons."
I mean technically you dont need to spend $1mil, just drive into the pit in an online race to repair the car.

I do know that after racing with a car for quite a few races an engine overhaul ads back lost HP. I had seen my car drop about 30HP and an engine overhaul brought it back - not sure that was because mechanical damage was on in online racing or if GT5 just "wears" the engine on your garage cars based on mileage.

Can anyone confirm?

as far as i believe , u don't need to waste money to repair ur car because it still runs the same way , only if your hp drops , simply change the oil , thats my 250$ solution :|

I was online last night and no one said they were racing
Is there a special 3ne2nr room or something?

Hondahoe: I still waiting on customs to clear my X1

cleared but while it was being delivered we got pulled over in 3 separate roadblock which caused this delay , i do apologize .

Last night was madness. TriniNinja, you know we accustom racing RM cars mixed with street cars normel normel. I think that last night had too many NEW people that didn’t know the usual rules. So that caused the drama, as well as EVERYBODY being able to edit the regulations. That’s like 75% of the tuner community with moderator status… can you imagine that? It will result in chaos! The person that created the lounge should be in full control... and the rest of people give their input and suggestions.. NOT be changing settings all the damn time. We used to have a nice set of races.. personal cars, stock cars, same cars, mixed in with some creative races. Now is just 500 600 700 right thru... that was lame.

Duane, that is exactly what I was trying to explain to my partners, about the penalty thing. Those FIA rules helped me explain it better lol. And if you making a lounge, make it in the Open Lobby, not community… that would sort out the issue with everybody being able to change settings. Yes random internet men would join, but we have the power to kick them if desired.

And Bizkit, how much you selling that caterham for?

This is exactly what i was about to say , create an Open lobby , Let everyone join and if random people join and we need space , simply kick the random tourists this would resolve 2 problems :

1- The chaos caused with many people changing the settings
2- You would no longer have to be the host friend to join the lobby

and we can always post up the lobby code on tuner for those who cannot access the lobby under community , the lobby code looks similar to this :

1234-1844-4321-1234-5678-2314

Postby wagon r » January 16th, 2011, 6:48 pm

^ some points valid....but i if iwant to run a RWD car, which i'm beginnin to prefer, i want the TSC or skid recovery on....otherwise it's a one type drivetrain race....

ShIvAm

Postby ShIvAm » January 16th, 2011, 7:12 pm

one type drivetrain race sounds good :)

Postby pete » January 16th, 2011, 8:56 pm

Last night I ran my evo at 480hp in the rain with all driving aids off. That was a tough race :lol:

Definitely wouldn't be able to control a RWD in the rain without them and high hp RWD are a handful in the dry.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » January 16th, 2011, 9:01 pm

wagon r wrote:^ some points valid....but i if iwant to run a RWD car, which i'm beginnin to prefer, i want the TSC or skid recovery on....otherwise it's a one type drivetrain race....
the counter argument there is that is you chose to drive a RWD when everybody else has AWD or FWD. If yuh say in a race with only Shelby Cobras the TCS should be ON, then I'd say ok that makes sense - otherwise I'd say doh bring a knife to a gun fight.

*hides from all the FR and MR men*

ShIvAm

Postby ShIvAm » January 16th, 2011, 9:40 pm

i gonna build some rwd cars jus fuh saying da!

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » January 16th, 2011, 11:01 pm

^ lol - I building a RX-7 and a S2000 right now actually!

ShIvAm

Postby ShIvAm » January 16th, 2011, 11:17 pm

i gonna do the same :D

Yeo

Postby Yeo » January 17th, 2011, 12:54 am

MadCrix wrote:aite i out till the 25th fellars.....

lens decide to crap out when loading up this afternoon.
replacemnet on its way.. but i hadda twiddle my thumbs until it reach and i install it. :(
call meh name is all i can say :(

Like yuh having withdrawal symptoms :lol:
Whole Sunday afternoon, "Madcrix is online"... "Madcrix is offline" over and over :lol: :lol: :lol:

Rensh

Postby Rensh » January 17th, 2011, 3:36 am

wagon r wrote:^ some points valid....but i if iwant to run a RWD car, which i'm beginnin to prefer, i want the TSC or skid recovery on....otherwise it's a one type drivetrain race....
the counter argument there is that is you chose to drive a RWD when everybody else has AWD or FWD. If yuh say in a race with only Shelby Cobras the TCS should be ON, then I'd say ok that makes sense - otherwise I'd say doh bring a knife to a gun fight.

Yeah.. once it under 350, rwd cars are controllable-ish. just gotta take your time on corner exit and don't let the back tires touch the grass.. omfg!

Tonight's small lobby was good man. me, dev, pyong, chadee, ninjah, crix, wagon and random interweb men. 8-)

Yuh see that Opera S2000.. that is pressure. I dunno how I ain't win one of those. :(

Wait, duane actually going to own more than 1 car?? :shock:

Tsuchiya

Postby Tsuchiya » January 17th, 2011, 6:55 am

^^yeah the runs were really nice, seems the 300 - 400 hp gap is the most competitive without any driving aids or powertrain config. At least 3 cars stayed racing door to door throughout the 5 laps.
Most 1st laps were composed of jump-start penalty cars being shuffled to the back, then the 1st corner bump-off as 5 into 1 cannot and everybody leaned on the outer car and nudged the car in front to go jus that bit faster. then there'd be a 5 - 10 seconds of calm as cars got into line but then the occasional tyre smoke/dust cloud of someone being swatted off.
TriniPyong mistimed a corner and jus had to slow to make it thru...obviously leaving a gap on the inside, of which i filled momentarily :twisted:
Devi also fell victim but it was due to not being able to see who's directly alongside, he left half a car's width on the inside so i put half my car there and the other half on the grass/curb. But he got me back....man i get pitch OFFFF :lol: and after that is like the car fraid to go close

oh and doh mess with the phantoms of the opera 0X

Postby wagon r » January 17th, 2011, 9:07 am

^ tell dem.....pullin some spanner on mine later...that night race showed a few flaws....it not running like she was in th GT4...

Postby wagon r » January 17th, 2011, 9:12 am

Rensh wrote:

Yeah.. once it under 350, rwd cars are controllable-ish. just gotta take your time on corner exit and don't let the back tires touch the grass.. omfg!

Tonight's small lobby was good man. me, dev, pyong, chadee, ninjah, crix, wagon and random interweb men. 8-)

Yuh see that Opera S2000.. that is pressure. I dunno how I ain't win one of those. :(

Wait, duane actually going to own more than 1 car?? :shock:

....the TSC arguement vs HP has some merit....came in handy for my 3rd gen on the 'ring pushin 500hp. the TSC should be for anything over 400hp. ....i will run RWD given the chance.

MadCrix

Postby MadCrix » January 17th, 2011, 9:17 am

wagon teh opera appeared in my used car garage right after we ran the special stages. bought it one time.

full mods already done. had to rerun some a spec championship races to build credit. for some reason i cah pass 500k in credit before it dwindle to 10k lol

i see cars, i buy cars, i upgrade them lol
i buy a pickup in used car and max it out on mods.... 250-300k in mods, van up to 500hp, but cah pass 180k lol
only thing left to do is buy gearbox for 20k

MadCrix

Postby MadCrix » January 17th, 2011, 9:19 am

yeo i was troubleshooting meh ps3, eventually i get ti to ork, was not lens but the drive loading mechanisms. righ tnow the drive open and i manually placing the disc in it to play. will get it repaired by weekend.

gt5 withdrawal symtomps make me sit for 5 hours fiddling until i get it to work to play last night.
went ot bed 3ish.. PRESSURE
who playing tonight, 9am i will create the lobby!!!

Postby wagon r » January 17th, 2011, 9:25 am

^ you created the lobby already....????

wow...yuh real desperate Crix.... :lol: ...

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » January 17th, 2011, 9:28 am

^ I think he means 9PM - like he still sleepy :lol:

Postby honda hoe » January 17th, 2011, 9:30 am

pyong invited me last nite but i didnt bother to come cuz i usually only see about 2 ppl.. everyone else is invisible to me :?

will try to switch to flow this week

DEVI

Postby DEVI » January 17th, 2011, 9:42 am

lol...crix i won the opera S 2000 for something cant remember....sigh...doknow how long i will have visa for these late nights....they grumpy this morn :(

MadCrix

Postby MadCrix » January 17th, 2011, 10:00 am

yea when i checked the cars u can win, i eh see it on anybodys list online so i buy it. was only 123k

yea 9pm :)
i real sleepy here dred