*** THE OFFICIAL HOME THEATER & AUDIO THREAD**

triniangie

Re: *** THE OFFICIAL HOME THEATER & AUDIO THREAD**

Postby triniangie » November 9th, 2010, 2:08 pm

...ok, maybe i missed it if you guys spoke about it already n can direct me to the page - but how do you all keep the wires/cable neat?

i still playing around with the tv placement - but i really wanna find a way to hide wires/cable as it jus make the area look 'messy'

will love to see some more pics of the set up u guys have as well...

triniangie

Postby triniangie » November 9th, 2010, 2:17 pm

pioneer wrote:pvc wall trunkin if is concrete walls?...u cud paint them to match the wall color...easily paintable

u got the satellites?

nope :(

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » November 9th, 2010, 3:02 pm

pre-planning, I ran my wires in the walls using electrical conduit - it's not a good idea to run the wires in the same conduit that you have power however

the ones that I had to run surface I used a glue gun and put the wire in the corner where the wall meets the floor

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » November 9th, 2010, 3:17 pm

^ nope foundation blocks

triniangie

Postby triniangie » November 9th, 2010, 3:25 pm

i gotta hole in a concrete wall...piece of pvc with the cable coming out of it... draping across to meet the tv -_-

i was thinking about using a glue gun n run it along the corners....but jus gotta be sure of where im placing the TV

D - where is all ur wires from behind the TV? how did u get it to look so 'neat' n 'clean'?

Chiney

Postby Chiney » November 9th, 2010, 3:26 pm

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:^ nope but I want to get one in a case like this

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16811204037

I woulda buy a Thermaltake DH101 but I doh think I need to spend US$300 on a case alone

I want to go intel

I want sound and video out of the HDMI

gimme a price nuh

check PM

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » November 9th, 2010, 4:21 pm

triniangie wrote:i gotta hole in a concrete wall...piece of pvc with the cable coming out of it... draping across to meet the tv -_-

i was thinking about using a glue gun n run it along the corners....but jus gotta be sure of where im placing the TV

D - where is all ur wires from behind the TV? how did u get it to look so 'neat' n 'clean'?

they are inside the wall :idea:

I really think I took this photo with the wrong lens, that's a 58" plasma and it looks so small in the photo!!! :oops:

Soundwave

Postby Soundwave » November 9th, 2010, 5:30 pm

you need to get a smaller wall...

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » November 11th, 2010, 12:03 am

it doh look as small from here

Chiney post the prices here so that anyone else interested can contact you

Humes

Postby Humes » November 11th, 2010, 12:59 am

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:I really think I took this photo with the wrong lens, that's a 58" plasma and it looks so small in the photo!!! :oops:

Yeah, it does. I was watching it and wondering why you based such a great set-up on such a smallish TV. Thought it was some sort of mediaphile acquired taste or something.

Humes

Postby Humes » November 11th, 2010, 1:04 am

pioneer wrote:i might jus go wid a WD Live Plus...don't really need a HTPC

pioneer, if you got it already, tell me how it works out.

I looking to get one for Christmas for my trusty old SDTV.

Btw, they released one with a gig of storage for $199 recently.

rmtuner

Postby rmtuner » November 11th, 2010, 12:13 pm

Anyone know who selling the Onkyo TX-NR708 or TX-NR808 home theater receivers?

Humes

Postby Humes » November 11th, 2010, 5:45 pm

pioneer wrote:Well i rem i see u post it...so i was hopin u woulda buy it first :lol:

:?

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » November 11th, 2010, 6:03 pm

rmtuner wrote:Anyone know who selling the Onkyo TX-NR708 or TX-NR808 home theater receivers?
those are NICE receivers!

have you tried Radio Shack? though they don't usually stock the higher end Onkyo locally and they will have one for ~$TT10,000 or more

you might want to buy it from Amazon or Best Buy and ship it to Trinidad.

RapToR
Location: Wholesaler & Reseller --- FREE Delivery<--Almost Anywhere!

Postby RapToR » November 11th, 2010, 6:06 pm

rmtuner wrote:Anyone know who selling the Onkyo TX-NR708 or TX-NR808 home theater receivers?

by order only

6 months warranty

Onkyo TX-NR708 7.2-Channel Network Home Theater Receiver - $6500.00

Onkyo TX-NR808 7.2-Channel Network Home Theater Receiver - $7500.00

prices can change at any time

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » November 11th, 2010, 6:11 pm

^ bess price and warranty thurrr

crazychinee

Postby crazychinee » November 13th, 2010, 9:12 pm

Picked up an Onkyo ST3300 (woi raptor)

Connected the xbox and ps3 via hdmi.
Hdmi out to the TV
I tried connecting the Cable box to the Cable/sat composite connectors, and set onkyo accordingly.
When I try and tune to that input, I get the audio very crackled but without any video at all.

Any ideas?
Do I need now to use a separate video out from the receiver-> tv? Or can I just take the video input from the cable box--> tv directly and works just as well?

Chiney

Postby Chiney » November 14th, 2010, 2:22 am

^^ nice receiver.. its got DTS-HD Master built in good there!

but..... ur weak point in ur speakers... sorry i cant help u there with ur TV, but i wuda jus route the video like normal and leave the audio where is..

look what i jus got here!

source :: yamaha rx-v467 - $350US ( this lil bad boy...is a bad boy..lol )

Speakers:: Klipsch Quintet SL 5 - $450 US ( these things dont make joke..

http://www.klipsch.com/na-en/products/q ... -overview/

my brother in law had them for a VERY short time then he wanted to upgrade
so he got these:
Klipsch Reference 82 towers
http://www.amazon.com/Klipsch-Reference ... B000TDAOAY

those mudda f$ucker are TALL..and HEAVY!...they produce a bass u wont need a sub for...

but comparing it to the quintet sl5 i just got...u wont hear the difference that easy AT ALL.... in my opinion.. KLIPSCH is de shizzzzzzz
i really dont like the limitation in sound and options these HTIB provide..sorry

so the z5500 sub,control unit and remote gonna sell now....and the money gonna fund this:

http://www.parts-express.com/pe/pshowde ... tab=1#Tabs

Chiney

Postby Chiney » November 14th, 2010, 2:22 am

^^ nice receiver.. its got DTS-HD Master built in good there!

but..... ur weak point in ur speakers... sorry i cant help u there with ur TV, but i wuda jus route the video like normal and leave the audio where is..

so he got these:

those mudda f$ucker are TALL..and HEAVY!...they produce a bass u wont need a sub for...

but comparing it to the quintet sl5 i just got...u wont hear the difference that easy AT ALL.... in my opinion.. KLIPSCH is de shizzzzzzz
i really dont like the limitation in sound and options these HTIB provide..sorry

so the z5500 sub,control unit and remote gonna sell now....and the money gonna fund this:

ru$$ell

Postby ru$$ell » November 14th, 2010, 5:08 am

Chiney wrote:^^ nice receiver.. its got DTS-HD Master built in good there!

so he got these:

nice eq there,the RF82's are more geared to Audio usage,thats why you couldnt probably hear the difference,with some SACD's then you could really tell the difference.Cant go wrong with klipsch.Would love to hear those 82's though,i think i've outgrown my 52's and they didnt even make a year yet :oops:
Been looking at some focal Chorus 726 v's or some B&W Nautilus 804's and a mark levinson 23 amp,but i'll have to save a shitload to get those,so i'm content with what i have....for now.

biggy82

Postby biggy82 » November 14th, 2010, 6:15 am

not much of a home audio expert, so i went with some HTIAB stuff (thanks Raptor 8-) ):

for the living room:
http://www.samsung.com/us/video/tvs/PN50C8000YFXZA
+
http://www.samsung.com/us/video/home-th ... C6730W/XAA

the TV is equipped with the "Anynet+" system which can turn on/off the blu ray, PS3, wireless input etc all from 1 remote. and the 7.1 is simply and amazingly LOUD! blu ray FTW

for the bedroom:
http://www.samsung.com/us/video/tvs/LN46C630K1FXZA
+
http://www.bestbuy.com/site/Sony+-+BRAV ... t=HT-CT150 &cp=1&lp=1

didnt need a loud sound system for the b/room. this was highly rated in the small HT category.

crazychinee

Postby crazychinee » November 14th, 2010, 8:52 am

crazychinee wrote:Picked up an Onkyo ST3300 (woi raptor)

Connected the xbox and ps3 via hdmi.
Hdmi out to the TV
I tried connecting the Cable box to the Cable/sat composite connectors, and set onkyo accordingly.
When I try and tune to that input, I get the audio very crackled but without any video at all.

Any ideas?
Do I need now to use a separate video out from the receiver-> tv? Or can I just take the video input from the cable box--> tv directly and works just as well?

allyuh get that 3300 at a DAMN good price...i check radioshack yesterday and they have it for $5750 :|

They see raptor price and have it on sale for $4800 now :lol: :lol:

Chiney

Postby Chiney » November 14th, 2010, 6:04 pm

ru$$ell wrote:

so he got these:

nice eq there,the RF82's are more geared to Audio usage,thats why you couldnt probably hear the difference,with some SACD's then you could really tell the difference.Cant go wrong with klipsch.Would love to hear those 82's though,i think i've outgrown my 52's and they didnt even make a year yet :oops:
Been looking at some focal Chorus 726 v's or some B&W Nautilus 804's and a mark levinson 23 amp,but i'll have to save a shitload to get those,so i'm content with what i have....for now.

price on the 52s ?

RapToR
Location: Wholesaler & Reseller --- FREE Delivery<--Almost Anywhere!

Postby RapToR » November 15th, 2010, 8:04 pm

pioneer wrote:Is there a hazmat fee for speakers if bringing through skybox?

call and find out :?

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » November 15th, 2010, 8:32 pm

crazychinee wrote:Connected the xbox and ps3 via hdmi.
Hdmi out to the TV

Any ideas?

change your composite cables. When I connected my calbe box at first the quality was terrible, I bought good quality composite cables and the quality increase of the signal on for cable TV was tremendous.

Also you should check your receiver and set it to upscale the cable TV signal to HD. You wont get full HD quality from FLOW SD but it will be pretty darn good, especially for channels like Nat Geo, BBC and SPEED that broadcast in HD quality.

NEVER contemplate plugging any source into your TV directly when you have such a nice receiver and such decent speakers!!!

so he got these:

NICE! those are the same speakers I have, they sound good!

What sub are you using with them though? I have a Klipsch Sub-10

Chiney

Postby Chiney » November 15th, 2010, 9:35 pm

which speakers are you refering to?

the reference-82s or the qunitet sl5 ?

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » November 16th, 2010, 12:09 am

^ the Quintet SL5

Chiney

Postby Chiney » November 16th, 2010, 12:44 am

oh yes!!
very good speakers

and very honest.. side by side with the reference 82s...u CANNOT hear the difference..
so today..we picked up the reference 82s center.. its the RC-62 .. heavy as f#k... and well....

blown away!!

but the SL 5 are the shiz!!!

i waz gonna have mine built...but i dont need to nah!!

however i have realized that the housing for the quintet's has alot of vibration when in play..alot of resonance i believe its called.. and adding them in a firmer enclosure shud render way better sound.
i am thinking of 5/8 sheets of MDF and some customer wall..or standing towers FTW..as always.. TIME

the sub my bro in law is using with the RS-82s is the Klipsch Synergy 12 .... mad bass..but still cannot compare to the reference 10" klipsch..

i`m sorry yamaha and onkyo and sony..and jvc...and so on fans..but when it comes to receivers..i`ll give YAMAHA its jacket..

but speakers..... Klipsch is all wats its for..

and they are VERY expensive!

russell...PM price of the reference since u out grow them nah?? LOL

crazychinee

Postby crazychinee » November 16th, 2010, 6:43 am

Oh...wicked.

But I tried using the old composite cables, got the audio through the receiver--> speakrs, but no video.
Which is why i was thinking I may need a video out from the receiver's composite section to my tv?

i was under the impression that he HDMI out should of worked for both the hdmi and composite inputs.

Postby crazybalhead » November 16th, 2010, 7:00 am

ut speakers..... Klipsch is all wats its for.

Ok den. I disagree, but to each his own yes.