COVID-19 in Trinidad & Tobago (Local Updates & Discussions Only)

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 930 cases, 13 deaths, 752 active, 165 discharged in T&T

Postby pugboy » August 22nd, 2020, 10:56 pm

Terry burst prematurely with that oxford report

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 930 cases, 13 deaths, 752 active, 165 discharged in T&T

Postby paid_influencer » August 22nd, 2020, 11:03 pm

pugboy wrote:Terry burst prematurely with that oxford report

that oxford report was about "readiness to reopen"

i.e., oxford was telling us the first lockdown lasted too long.

now we have lockdown fatigue

Numb3r4

Postby Numb3r4 » August 23rd, 2020, 12:02 am

Wasn't that report put out on the 30th of April???

Also the numbers that report was based on at that time were they good?

Have they put out anything since then?

Postby redmanjp » August 23rd, 2020, 2:08 am

Phone Surgeon wrote:They gonna have to borrow some money from china again. Let them hold the keys to the pitch lake as collateral.

they really should just GIVE the money- they hid the virus from the world and silenced doctors who spoke up about it and now the world including T&T in a mess

Lou Screuz

Postby Lou Screuz » August 23rd, 2020, 3:58 am

Phone Surgeon wrote:They gonna have to borrow some money from china again. Let them hold the keys to the pitch lake as collateral.

we will get gifts

https://www.theatlantic.com/magazine/ar ... ce/614197/

off topic but interesting

https://communistcrimes.org/en

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » August 23rd, 2020, 10:15 am

Im hearing of another death

ST Auto

Postby ST Auto » August 23rd, 2020, 10:17 am

33, 1 more death
118280543_3634827136547068_9101275206622512576_o.jpeg
118404199_3634827013213747_7549860842104387493_n.jpeg

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » August 23rd, 2020, 10:23 am

^ and 1 more in ICU

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 963 cases, 14 deaths, 784 active, 165 discharged in T&T

Postby Dizzy28 » August 23rd, 2020, 10:29 am

6 in ICU.

I saw a report for the UK that for covid there was a 33% mortality for patients in ICU. Wonder what ours is.

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 963 cases, 14 deaths, 784 active, 165 discharged in T&T

Postby goalpost » August 23rd, 2020, 10:30 am

I presume the death was a person from ICU. Therefore there's really 2 more in ICU this morning?

Postby K74T » August 23rd, 2020, 10:36 am

Damn

Postby pugboy » August 23rd, 2020, 10:43 am

numbers didn’t slow up this weekend

Postby paid_influencer » August 23rd, 2020, 10:49 am

is 6 the full ICU capacity ?

Postby Chimera » August 23rd, 2020, 10:53 am

I think in april I read they had 400 ICU beds....

Postby goalpost » August 23rd, 2020, 11:29 am

Also, I thought they promised there would be no more backlogs

fokhan_96

Postby fokhan_96 » August 23rd, 2020, 11:33 am

These numbers are just statistics now. Just like our murder rate, we have just become tolerant to it.

Postby pugboy » August 23rd, 2020, 11:46 am

papers say they gonna subcontract a private lab
so they admitting there are testing issues at this stage so the situation must be bad

goalpost wrote:Also, I thought they promised there would be no more backlogs

Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 963 cases, 14 deaths, 784 active, 165 discharged in T&T

Postby MaxPower » August 23rd, 2020, 11:53 am

I can just imagine the number of people avoiding calls from the Ministry to get tested.

I understand that some people are even omitting family members/friends from the contact list.

I guess no one wants to go in some of these stink public facilities after hearing the horror stories with food, washroom and laundry sharing, lack of cleanliness etc.

I can understand to an extent, but the same people that are avoiding being tested and the same people who are not adhering to the New Norm procedures.

A Trini self quarantine is NO self quarantine and is deemed a hazard to society.

Postby paid_influencer » August 23rd, 2020, 11:56 am

Phone Surgeon wrote:I think in april I read they had 400 ICU beds....

that's unpossible. ICU beds require a dedicated medical team and 24/7 monitoring. ICU personnel are specialized and can't be spread beyond a few beds (unlike regular wards that can share one doctor to 10+ beds). ICU capacity is usually severely restricted and could never reach into the hundreds for a single hospital.

it is a single or double-digits number. The exact number, I do not know

Postby 88sins » August 23rd, 2020, 12:06 pm

Tolerant, maybe
Accept it and fail to take personal responsibility for it? We can't.

Because people failing to realize a few key facts about this pandemic.

One being, if you're infected and recover, you can get it again in a few months when your body's immune system stops producing antibodies. And a studies suggest that many people that get a second infection fare worse than they did with their first. That equates to an increased risk of secondary health problems as well as death.
The other being, even if a viable effective vaccine is developed and has minimal side effects, unless it is proven to be 100% effective and we're guaranteed that those effects endure the span of at least 6 months, vaccinated patients WILL BECOME RE-INFECTED while they are thinking they have immunity, and go about their lives unknowingly spreading the disease persons that were never exposed to it before or never vaccinated, thus perpetuating the cycle.

At this point, the only real easily applicable measures we can take, are for each and every individual to avoid physical proximity to all other humans with an unknown status, take the necessary personal precautions such as washing hands, sanitizing, etc., looking out and helping those that may be at greater risk of suffering the more serious symptoms and effects of the disease.

Postby bluefete » August 23rd, 2020, 12:29 pm

pugboy wrote:numbers didn’t slow up this weekend

I said on Friday to keep your eyes on the 2nd page of the Ministry updates and that there would be no slow down.

Things are ramping up and I am hearing that the waiting time for results is increasing.

There are approximately 600 COVID-19 samples left to be tested, as of Saturday morning.

https://www.looptt.com/content/600-covi ... ar-backlog

Postby redmanjp » August 23rd, 2020, 1:18 pm

By d time u get results from dat batch u done recover. Then u going to hospital after recovering get tested again to see if u negative and waiting days for that test

The lab supposed to be switching to a 24 hour operation app I hope that clears it up but they also have to have the staff for it.

Postby 88sins » August 23rd, 2020, 1:24 pm

They say approximately 600, but take what I telling you.
It ain't 600, from what I was told, it's much, much more than that.

Postby redmanjp » August 23rd, 2020, 1:34 pm

Dizzy28 wrote:6 in ICU.

I saw a report for the UK that for covid there was a 33% mortality for patients in ICU. Wonder what ours is.

As if I remember at one point we had 4 in ICU then we got 4 deaths and none in ICU. So 100% at that point ?!!

Won't be surprised because we doh have any drugs being used atm except if u take part in a drug trial.

Postby Kenjo » August 23rd, 2020, 1:38 pm

redmanjp wrote:
Dizzy28 wrote:6 in ICU.

As if I remember at one point we had 4 in ICU then we got 4 deaths and none in ICU. So 100% at that point ?!!

Won't be surprised because we doh have any drugs being used atm except if u take part in a drug trial.

We or the world ? What do people understand is an ICU ?

Postby aaron17 » August 23rd, 2020, 2:10 pm

Public transport: unknowns ^^

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » August 23rd, 2020, 2:26 pm

redmanjp wrote:By d time u get results from dat batch u done recover. Then u going to hospital after recovering get tested again to see if u negative and waiting days for that test

The lab supposed to be switching to a 24 hour operation app I hope that clears it up but they also have to have the staff for it.

Right so my has been waiting since Aug 11th for her test results. Tuesday will make it a full 14 days she hasn't had her results. If positive (likely as she was a bit ill), would she require to go into state quarantine?

My neighbor tested on Thursday and they told her on Monday she'll have her results, let's see what happens tomorrow.

As for my symptoms, it's not getting worse, but whatever I have, it's such a weird virus that lingers and makes you feel so lethargic, constantly feeling chills, not much coughing but I do have a cough right now. Absolutely no phlegm, mucus, sore throat as well.

Postby K74T » August 23rd, 2020, 2:57 pm

FB_IMG_1598208880377.jpeg

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » August 23rd, 2020, 3:13 pm

K74T wrote:FB_IMG_1598208880377.jpeg

is this 7 in addition to the the 33 this morning or inclusive of it?

Postby zoom rader » August 23rd, 2020, 4:18 pm

redmanjp wrote:tobago should block all trinis from coming across
Well true but I prefer they get independence