Gulf of Paria Underwater Welders Deaths: Lawsuits Filed

Val

Re: Gulf of Paria Underwater Welders Deaths: Commision of Enquiry.

Postby Val » January 12th, 2023, 12:33 pm

pugboy wrote:how you measuring pressure on inner/other side of the plug ?
you would have to put a gauge on the far side of the pipe I guess
even so with the undulations and pockets of air/fluid it could be somewhat inaccurate to do that

are there plugs which have nipples which run to the far side of the plug ?

I believe, it would've been attached to something like a nozzle while deflating, and when it got sucked in, whatever it was tethered to could've pulled on it and broken it out.

Postby 16 cycles » January 12th, 2023, 12:41 pm

basic maths to determine amount of hydrocarbons to remove from the pipe was lacking....instead of removing 30barrels, they removed 300barrels meaning that the void in the pipeline was that much larger than there ought to be....

AlphaMan

Postby AlphaMan » January 12th, 2023, 9:10 pm

This contract from Paria to LMCS was worth 5 million.
How much would each diver get for work on that specific day?
Who would get the lion's share of cash?

Val

Postby Val » January 13th, 2023, 12:22 pm

Report to be submitted by April.

Paria, LMCS should've completed their reports but haven't due to the political interference.

Yet Paria is operating as normal, this is worrying.

Animal Pak

Postby Animal Pak » January 13th, 2023, 2:39 pm

I wish I could have read the osha report on this.

Postby sMASH » January 13th, 2023, 2:52 pm

Animal Pak wrote:I wish I could have read the osha report on this.
And the ttps'

ttphilip

Postby ttphilip » January 13th, 2023, 11:43 pm

I believe those reports are on the commission website in evidence bundles… coe2022.com

Postby hover11 » January 14th, 2023, 7:24 am

The only intelligent man on this whole COE. If he had the powers every man jack should be charged for manslaughter for the very least. It works similar to that of murder , you don't have to pull the trigger or you could simply be the getaway driver, everyone involved goes down for the murder charge. These managers colluded, they all participated in this plot through their actions/ inactions and got their stories straight while some folded but nonetheless they were all accountable for these divers and their untimely demise
FB_IMG_1673695263231.jpg

Postby pugboy » January 14th, 2023, 8:04 am

anybody get lockup after the clico coe ?
the biggest pyramid scheme the country ever had
asking for a friend

Postby sMASH » January 14th, 2023, 10:53 am

CoE is just govt sponsored tori session. No legal ramifications.
Is for the authorities to take the zeppo and act accordingly.

matix

Postby matix » January 15th, 2023, 6:02 am

sMASH wrote:CoE is just govt sponsored tori session. No legal ramifications.
Is for the authorities to take the zeppo and act accordingly.

Hoping this is where the DPP will step up after the report becomes available.

Postby Chimera » January 15th, 2023, 6:59 am

Aren't all the paria execs PNM appointed persons?

You feel it gonna have a backlash?

Doh ever forget a&v

Postby sMASH » January 15th, 2023, 7:31 am

Well, we can hope.

Cause I really didn't expect the CoE to be this transparent and forth comming.
I thought it would be a way to bury the facts, but it didn't.

Let's see if lightening could strike twice and criminal charges get laid.

Prolly a good avenue to test the plea bargaining.
Charge them for murder, and offer them manslaughter via gross negligence.

matix

Postby matix » January 15th, 2023, 7:47 am

Phone Surgeon wrote:Aren't all the paria execs PNM appointed persons?

You feel it gonna have a backlash?

Doh ever forget a&v

Correct, all appointed and unqualified muffler bearings.

Val

Postby Val » January 15th, 2023, 9:13 am

There is a political tinge to this.

In general, it could be exploited as a 2025 elections campaign for the UNC as it could be seen as the State (PNM) vs 4 young indian families (widely represented as the UNC electorate).

I think this CoE will be picketed for a while, if only for the above, and the fact it investigated very public direct deaths rather than loss of money.

That being said, Carnival is around the corner, and like Noah's flood, it will wash away most if not all memories of the events (probably why there are no restrictions coming up).

Postby Chimera » January 15th, 2023, 10:24 am

A pnm dpp and pnm commissioner of police never going to charge these pnm appointed execs.

Postby hover11 » January 16th, 2023, 7:36 am

While a meaningless COE is in process , the cows starving while the grass growing
FB_IMG_1673868859007.jpg

snatman

Postby snatman » March 5th, 2023, 5:46 pm

A youtube personality covered the disaster with a surprisingly cohesive narrative.

Postby The_Honourable » March 5th, 2023, 6:55 pm

When the feed went dark still gives me that eerie feeling... :|

Postby pugboy » March 5th, 2023, 8:04 pm

that youtuber very consise

Postby ruffneck_12 » March 6th, 2023, 9:04 am

1 million views in 1 day

Jeezannnn, this gonna get some worldwide coverage in a few months. (Ik it already known, but it gonna be KNOWN KNOWN)

Postby matr1x » March 6th, 2023, 11:45 am

That's an excellent breakdown of the events. I see pnm and paria "staff" in the comments.

Postby De Dragon » March 6th, 2023, 8:24 pm

ruffneck_12 wrote:1 million views in 1 day

Jeezannnn, this gonna get some worldwide coverage in a few months. (Ik it already known, but it gonna be KNOWN KNOWN)

Black Jack Fack JUHN Scarfy eh give ah fack. He pardnas and dem like AV and Newman hadda get through

Postby MaxPower » March 6th, 2023, 8:31 pm

ruffneck_12 wrote:1 million views in 1 day

Worldwide coverage?

Lol

Postby The_Honourable » March 16th, 2023, 9:47 am

Their last breath of fresh air’

FINAL PIECE OF EVIDENCE: The hyperbaric chamber at Pointe-a-Pierre

DURING the six-month Commission of Enquiry into the Berth 5 tragedy, witnesses testified about what may have happened inside the hyperbaric chamber which led to five men being sucked into an underwater pipeline, from which only one emerged alive.

But it was only yesterday, 13 months after it happened, that the chamber was seen by members of the commission who consider it the final piece of evidence towards a report that will be ready in April.

“That space…was their last breath of fresh air,” said commission chairman Jerome Lynch, as he explained the importance of being able to examine the chamber.

The 13-tonne chamber, which is about the length of a bus, broke free and sank to the seabed during a botched rescue operation to reach the divers.

It was retrieved on February 11 this year, taken on a barge to Chaguaramas, and trucked back to Paria’s Pointe-a-Pierre compound.

Among those who came yesterday was LMCS Ltd’s managing director Kazim Ali Snr who fought back tears after viewing the chamber in which his son Kazim Ali Jnr, Yusuf Henry, Fyzal Kurban, and Rishi Nagessar were working the afternoon of February 25, 2022.

It was the first time since losing his son that Ali Snr saw the chamber, which was covered in decaying barnacles, with a high scent of decomposition.

Only Christopher Boodram survived being pulled into the 30-inch diameter pipe operated by Paria Fuel Trading Company. The others may have been alive for hours before running out of air and drowning, according to two separate autopsies and witness accounts.

It was Boodram’s evidence, the video footage from a camera inside the chamber, and video from the GoPro camera being worked by Ali Jnr, which informed the commission about what was taking place when the water rushed in.

However, Chairman Lynch asked to view the chamber to better understand the dimensions of the space in which the men were working, and the mechanical plug they extracted shortly before the differential pressure event.

This was facilitated on Wednesday by Paria, which allowed members of the media to accompany attorneys, Commissioner Gregory Wilson, and Chairman Lynch, who allowed Kazim Ali Snr to visit the site only with his company’s attorney Kamini Persaud-Maraj.

At the site, Lynch noted and asked that photographs be taken of the livestreaming camera inside the chamber, the air hoses, and the limited space (an 8x8x8 feet cube) in which the men were working.

Why the visit?

Lynch told reporters the chamber was “clearly manufactured for a slightly different job.

“Obviously, it was not suitable. It was a very small space to be working, particularly if three or four men were in that chamber at the same time. It allows me to get some sense of scale, and what was being required of the men in this confined space (so that) once the differential pressure was created, it inevitably dragged everything, including those men. One can see how that might have happened, given that small space they were actually in”.

He said this would be the final piece of evidence to be considered by the commission.

He said he had already started the process of writing the report that would go to the Office of the President with a recommendation that it go public.

“It’s going to take a little while. It’s a vast body of evidence, of course a great deal more than what the public has seen. We have tens of thousands of pages to sift through.”

He said that the promise of delivering the report by April would likely be delayed by a week or two.

Lynch said he had reserved an additional day of hearing in the event the commission needed to hear further evidence but it was not necessary

“I considered whether or not we should hear legal arguments in relation to one issue that remain crucial, and that was to do with whether there is any separate legal liability that might arise from a failure to rescue. I have received substantial submission made from various parties and it didn’t seem to be necessary.”

Regarding allowing Kazim Ali Snr to be at yesterday’s site visit, Lynch said “I’m not entirely sure why he came today, but I gave him some private time, with his counsel, on his own, to go to the habitat”.

The chamber

According to the witness evidence of Kasim Ali Snr, the chamber was constructed by his company based on habitats used previously by the predecessor companies of Paria – Trintoc and Petrotrin.

He said each time the chamber was used, there were light modifications to fit the layout of the job required.

According to Ali, the chamber consists of a cube 8 feet by 8 feet by 8 feet, with an open bottom constructed from quarter-inch-thick steel plate reinforced with mild steel C sections and angle iron.

On the top of the cube is a 50-inch diameter pipe extending 24 feet high above the cube.

At the top of this 50 feet pipe is a pair of flange consisting of a slip-on flange and a blind flange which can be removed to provide access for placement and removal of material or emergency access.

This is the opening through which the part of the pipe that is cut from the riser is taken out by a crane.

Source: https://trinidadexpress.com/news/local/ ... be2e5.html

Postby The_Honourable » May 10th, 2023, 10:45 am

News Conference hosted by Commission of Enquiry

eKeith

Postby eKeith » July 3rd, 2023, 6:27 pm

Postby shogun » July 3rd, 2023, 7:31 pm

Good find snatman. Had no idea MrBallen covered it.

Christopher is a straight up G by the way.

Postby maj. tom » July 24th, 2023, 12:05 pm

‘Angry and hurt’
Families lament $15m CoE price tag

Lone Paria diving tragedy survivor Christopher Boodram and relatives of the deceased divers have expressed their pain and disappointment that $15 million has been spent on the commission of enquiry while they struggle to survive without assistance.

The Sunday Express yesterday reported that $15 million has so far been spent by the Office of the Prime Minister (OPM) on the commission of enquiry (CoE) into the tragic deaths of four divers.

On February 25, 2022, five LMCS divers—Kazim Ali Jnr, 36; Fyzal Kurban, 57; Yusuf Henry, 31, Rishi Nagassar, 48, and Boodram, 38, were conducting undersea maintenance works on a pipeline owned by Paria Fuel Trading Co Ltd in Pointe-a-Pierre when they were sucked into the pipeline.

Four of them died.

In response to a Freedom of Information request, the OPM stated a total of $14,538,511.40 in bills have so far been accumulated for the CoE.

Of that figure, over $10 million in legal fees were accrued, the lion’s share going to CoE chairman Jerome Lynch, KC, ($3.4 million), senior counsel Ramesh Lawrence Maharaj ($3.2 million) and junior counsel ($2.2 million).

The Express yesterday spoke to Boodram and relatives of Henry and Nagassar who noted that while the CoE report is yet to be delivered there continues to be silence from Paria in rendering any help.

Boodram said the trauma he experienced has impacted him and he cannot return to diving for work.

His wife at present is the sole breadwinner to their family which includes their three children 15, 11 and 5.

“No one will understand our trauma, pain and suffering. Reading this story makes me realise that the nightmare didn’t end in the pipeline. Up to now, no one from the Government has bothered to extend a helping hand while I struggle to take care of my family in these hard times. If my wife wasn’t working I don’t know how we would have survived,” he said.

“We thought that this commission of enquiry would somehow bring closure and help us heal and move on. Instead, to find out that the Government spent over $15 million on the enquiry adds insult to injury. When I asked for some financial assistance so I could have legal representation, I was told that I should go to legal aid,” he added.

Boodram said they have survived on the wings of kindness from strangers who offered assistance from their own savings.

“The report is taking so long that we are fast losing hope. No one seems to care about us and we have to fend for ourselves. I am happy for those who made their millions. My disappointment lies in the fact that while taxpayers are footing this bill, they would have also wanted the Government to show some compassion towards us,” he said.

“I am so angry and hurt that it’s best I had never left that pipeline. The voices still haunt me every night and stories like this put me back in that dark hole whilst the Government is shining its torchlight away from us…They have taken advantage of our suffering to profit those who were not in need and this is sad and painful,” he added.

High cost of living

Afeisha Henry, sister of deceased diver Yusuf Henry, said her brother was the father of four children ages 12, 11, 8 and 3 and it has been a challenge for them to cope with their loss.

“The cost of sending them to school is not easy for the mothers to bear. Yet to date, instead of helping the families, the Government has chosen to help their legal friends.

“This is a classic case of the grass growing high for some to feed while the victims are meant to watch on and starve,” she said.

An upset Henry said that Boodram’s testimony was “all that was needed to unearth the truth” as he was present when disaster struck.

“My brother died in that pipeline. Paria treated us like dogs - as if we were not human. I replay Christopher’s testimony in my head every night. Contrary to the narrative the Government and Paria were pushing, my brother and his friends were alive inside that pipeline.

“They met the most horrible and painful death one can imagine. Instead of helping to rescue them, Paria and the Coast Guard prevented rescue efforts and left them to die,” she said.

Henry said she lost three brothers in three months.

She said she can accept two of her brothers died from natural causes but she believes that Yusuf’s death could have been prevented.

Vulgar and insulting

Vanessa Kussie, wife of deceased diver Rishi Nagassar, said this $15 million expenditure was vulgar and insulting.

Kussie is the United National Congress’(UNC) local government election candidate for Couva West/Roystonia.

She is the mother of three, youngest being four years old.

Kussie said the $15 million bill is “vulgar and obscene” and an “expensive political pappyshow” that was to benefit PNM friends and family.

“The wives and children of the men who died in that pipeline have been struggling to take care of the children. This has been an especially hard time because of the high cost of school books and uniforms and yet no one from the Government has bothered to reach out to us to offer any assistance.

“We have been trying with our own little fundraisers but how much can you ask of your relatives and community after they have supported so much?” she said, noting that the $15 million does not include Paria’s own expenditure.
https://trinidadexpress.com/news/local/angry-and-hurt/article_19671e2e-29c4-11ee-ad5e-6b5da0811f59.html

Postby VexXx Dogg » July 24th, 2023, 12:28 pm

connected lawyers does real eat.