Foreign Currency Usage Limits on Credit Cards

Postby MaxPower » August 15th, 2025, 7:58 pm

Black market usd is how much 10 so now?

Re: Foreign Currency Usage Limits on Credit Cards

Postby bluefete » August 15th, 2025, 8:11 pm

I went Piarco today and with meh fass self decided to stop by the cambio office to see how much US$ was selling for.

I almost dropped when it came up at US$1 = TT$9.00 and sterling was sterling = TT$12.75

So tell me how we have a shortage but these people and the black market have US$ in abundance?

Postby pugboy » August 15th, 2025, 8:22 pm

cambio is not true representation though
they always skewed badly in their favor with a huge spread black market was around $8 in recent times
will surely go to $8.25-8.50

Postby The_Honourable » August 15th, 2025, 8:30 pm

Yeah cambio in piarco was always higher

Black market averaging between 7.5 to 8, favorable rate if is big boy transactions.

fokhan_96 wrote:Amazon and Temu free delivery to T&T hurting the 1% real bad.

MMMMMMMM!!!!

Supra GT-FOUR

Postby Supra GT-FOUR » August 15th, 2025, 8:41 pm

bluefete wrote:I went Piarco today and with meh fass self decided to stop by the cambio office to see how much US$ was selling for.

I almost dropped when it came up at US$1 = TT$9.00 and sterling was sterling = TT$12.75

So tell me how we have a shortage but these people and the black market have US$ in abundance?
Welcome to a "managed float" buddy.

Sent from my 2311DRK48G using TriniTuner mobile app

Postby mero » Yesterday, 10:05 am

MaxPower wrote:This USD situation disgusting yes.

Sorry for all who used to use their full $5K for business transactions every cycle.

Who rocking the FCB infinite card? We 8k limit safe??
Fcb limits still safe for most ppl, for now. Wwgd?

Only those who get the automatic upgrade from classic to platinum not getting the 7500 jump. Still better than the others.

But i thought Tancoo and Howai come to free up the forex. Dreams?

Postby MaxPower » Yesterday, 10:26 am

mero wrote:
MaxPower wrote:This USD situation disgusting yes.

Sorry for all who used to use their full $5K for business transactions every cycle.

Who rocking the FCB infinite card? We 8k limit safe??
Fcb limits still safe for most ppl, for now. Wwgd?

Only those who get the automatic upgrade from classic to platinum not getting the 7500 jump. Still better than the others.

But i thought Tancoo and Howai come to free up the forex. Dreams?

When UNC wins, everybody wins.

They didn’t specify who everybody was.

So have to commend them for not lying.

Postby bluefete » Yesterday, 10:49 am

Supra GT-FOUR wrote:
bluefete wrote:I went Piarco today and with meh fass self decided to stop by the cambio office to see how much US$ was selling for.

Welcome to a "managed float" buddy.

Sent from my 2311DRK48G using TriniTuner mobile app

LOL. Definitely. It floats between TT$6.80 - TT$9.00

Postby bluefete » Yesterday, 10:49 am

Word is that FCB going and cut soon.

Postby pugboy » Yesterday, 11:28 am

they giving trouble to issue new cards same time as other banks
you will only get a card if you have big loan financing with them

bluefete wrote:Word is that FCB going and cut soon.

Postby st7 » Yesterday, 11:43 am

paid_influencer wrote:
Dave wrote:Rbl just set their max limit on cards to $2.5k USD.

all who playing they going disney world and thing... play now nah.
hotel, airfare, car rental, food, tickets, etc for a family of 4... over $2500 USD long time
black card DENIED
lack of funds
stay in d chithole and say
yellow is hte code

but u is the one who campaigning hard for them for elections this yr.

typical flip flopper

neilsingh100

Postby neilsingh100 » Yesterday, 12:03 pm

Leaving these charts here since this country is running out of foreign reserves and will be knocking on the IMF door soon.

Credit cards are by far the largest user of FX so no surprise credit card limits will continue to be reduced.

If T&T energy sector does not turnaround soon credit card limits could go to US$500/month by end of next year.

The country really only has two options:
1. Devaluation i.e. free float that will most likely result in the exchange rate in the range 8-10
2. Exchange Controls like Barbados where each person is allocated US$10k/year.

foreign_reserves.png

fx_usage.png

Postby MaxPower » Yesterday, 12:22 pm

Weyyz sorry for Trinis that depend heavily on their credit cards for their business.

Postby pugboy » Yesterday, 12:28 pm

source of these charts?

it is not really practical to just say “credit card usage”
because credits are being used to run many businesses
eg automobiles even though automobiles is categorized separately

neilsingh100 wrote:Leaving these charts here since this country is running out of foreign reserves and will be knocking on the IMF door soon.

Credit cards are by far the largest user of FX so no surprise credit card limits will continue to be reduced.

If T&T energy sector does not turnaround soon credit card limits could go to US$500/month by end of next year.

1. Devaluation i.e. free float that will most likely result in the exchange rate in the range 8-10

foreign_reserves.png
fx_usage.png

Postby mero » Yesterday, 1:11 pm

neilsingh100 wrote:Leaving these charts here since this country is running out of foreign reserves and will be knocking on the IMF door soon.

foreign_reserves.png

fx_usage.png
Yup, sweetening we up with no property tax and hikes in utilities. See how state enterprises being attacked too? CEPEP was just the beginning.

While the dUNCe crew applauses

Postby MaxPower » Yesterday, 3:39 pm

pugboy wrote:because credits are being used to run many businesses

Quite alot.

Trinis making their name on Amazon and Shein etc and utilizing skyboxes and doorstep delivery services.

Rel merchandise advertising on social media.

Men used to order a few phones etc well worth thousands of american dollars and side hustling. Thas a nice change a month.

All who “taking orders” have to cut back as well.

Rel men bread and butter will get affected.

Postby pugboy » Yesterday, 3:57 pm

not only regular consumer spending items
but many businesses like foreign used parts, electronics, gourmet food items
suppliers are paid with cards

pugboy wrote:because credits are being used to run many businesses

Quite alot.

Trinis making their name on Amazon and Shein etc and utilizing skyboxes and doorstep delivery services.

Rel merchandise advertising on social media.

Men used to order a few phones etc well worth thousands of american dollars and side hustling. Thas a nice change a month.

All who “taking orders” have to cut back as well.

Rel men bread and butter will get affected.