Property Tax in Trinidad & Tobago

Monkey Man

Re: Property Tax in Trinidad & Tobago

Postby Monkey Man » May 5th, 2017, 1:14 pm

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:Aaah boy this mc Kamla eh, we give this woman a2/3 majority to repeal and replace this facking thing to something that is more fair she had a 2/3 majority she could ah even reform local government one time so this would ah end up being a good thing.

But all she do was drink rum and it have people who will still defend this woman to this day. And this next jackass woman who own a shop up by me telling me yesterday how is not Kamla fault because EBC stole the election with the 1 hour and if they hadn't stolen the election she would ah be in power to do it.

People have the nerve to be this dotish.

i was thinking of using you for my web design. But seeing you behave in this manner i dont want to do business with you.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » May 5th, 2017, 1:19 pm

^ Kamla does drink rum and people who believe the EBC stole the election are dotish, Kamla had 5 years and a 2/3 majority and instead of repealing this thing she drink rum. And unless UNC is reformed and Kamla and the Cabal goes we will have 20 years PNM rule in we rectum.

Suck it up, facts are facts.

Postby pete » May 5th, 2017, 1:25 pm

If you think about it, it would have been throwing away a trump card. If they had repealed it would they have won the election? hellz no. They used it like "we are giving an amnesty but if you put PNM back in they will implement it" people STILL chose the PNM so now we hadda take it.

sinister_14

Postby sinister_14 » May 5th, 2017, 1:41 pm

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:^ Kamla does drink rum and people who believe the EBC stole the election are dotish, Kamla had 5 years and a 2/3 majority and instead of repealing this thing she drink rum. And unless UNC is reformed and Kamla and the Cabal goes we will have 20 years PNM rule in we rectum.

Suck it up, facts are facts.

Are u brain dead solider...???...both parties give us dog sheit its not one of them fault its both of dem fault...but u look like a die hard pnm...if u cud support pnm still after all this sheit dey doin....u r just as stupid as all those who put them they in the first place...we need to get rid of both parties be wise not a jackass....

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » May 5th, 2017, 1:54 pm

I don't think I am a "die hard PNM" far from it considering I didn't even vote PNM in 2015 and I even supported UNC in 2015 though I didn't vote for any of them.

Both parties do good and bad, but you seem to miss my point which is we elected Kamla in 2010 because of the same property tax issue and she promised to repeal it and she never did, she drink rum and we know this because she was drunk all the time. And if she remains as opposition leader the UNC will not see office again, I want her and the cabal gone from the UNC for the greater good.

This is the big difference, Rowley was still honest enough to tell everybody he was bringing back property Tax if he won the election and so said so done. The only promise Rowley didn't hold was local government reform which is my major issue with this tax because I am of the firm belief that they want this money to run racket, I have no proof of this but this is what always happens in this country and I cannot think of any logical reasoning for not implementing local government reform.

Monkey Man

Postby Monkey Man » May 5th, 2017, 2:03 pm

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:I don't think I am a "die hard PNM" far from it considering I didn't even vote PNM in 2015 and I even supported UNC in 2015 though I didn't vote for any of them.

Both parties do good and bad, but you seem to miss my point which is we elected Kamla in 2010 because of the same property tax issue and she promised to repeal it and she never did, she drink rum and we know this because she was drunk all the time. And if she remains as opposition leader the UNC will not see office again, I want her and the cabal gone from the UNC for the greater good.

This is the big difference, Rowley was still honest enough to tell everybody he was bringing back property Tax if he won the election and so said so done. The only promise Rowley didn't hold was local government reform which is my major issue with this tax because I am of the firm belief that they want this money to run racket, I have no proof of this but this is what always happens in this country and I cannot think of any logical reasoning for not implementing local government reform.

people does actually have your name at the bottom of their website? they will be appalled!

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » May 5th, 2017, 2:06 pm

My customers are PNM

With that said you need to come to terms with reality that Kamla does only drink rum, she always drunk and she is unfit to be opposition leader. When the UNC decides to remove her as leader then we can realistically talk about voting out the PNM.

While the Ramesh and Pandey UNC didn't last long it was the best party this country ever had and the best time to live in this country.

Padner I not arguing with you I am on your side you should read more of my posts on this thread condemning this tax, but you need to deal with the facts I am only interested with facts and the facts are that Kamla has us in this position, this was all part of her plan. If she had repeal this tax which we gave her a 2/3 majority the PNM would have had to bring it back to parliament and it would be legible for scrutiny and lots of opposition, it would not be this bad and we could have made the case for local government reform before the property tax.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » May 5th, 2017, 2:35 pm

sMASH wrote:talking bout talking...

property tax protest this saturday,
11 am, at Pierre road recreation grounds.

If they had any kinda basic intelligence, they'd keep it on a Sunday, in PoS at the QPS, & the entire procession would march to the PM's residence.

That protest as is only serves to show the UNC how many chupidees would potentially vote for them in the next GE

^^ THIS!!

sinister_14

Postby sinister_14 » May 5th, 2017, 3:01 pm

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:
sMASH wrote:talking bout talking...

property tax protest this saturday,
11 am, at Pierre road recreation grounds.

If they had any kinda basic intelligence, they'd keep it on a Sunday, in PoS at the QPS, & the entire procession would march to the PM's residence.

That protest as is only serves to show the UNC how many chupidees would potentially vote for them in the next GE

^^ THIS!!

Its a start people now start to get wise...the government wanna implement taxes that a first world country has...so the people have to think like first world country if dey dont like wat the government is doin...protest...roit...when prices of things go up...stop buy...force the companies to reduce their prices....

Postby RedVEVO » May 5th, 2017, 4:46 pm

sMASH wrote:Wait, tax everybody, to buy gym equipment?
That making sense?

Yes - The Plan.

Do you know what your health surcharge tax is financing ? Better health care ? No.
Do you know where online tax going ? Better quality or prices ? No.
What about increase cost in gas/diesel ? Better diesel ? No.
Do you know what the HSF withdrawal is going to fund ? No.
What about the VAT exempt backpedal ? Life better ? No.
Can you get US or any foreign $$ to travel or continue your business ? No.

The plan is to tax and tax and tax . Better quality of Life ?

Property tax information is a sinister attempt of finding out what people own, or have and $$$ earning .

Postby rspann » May 5th, 2017, 7:46 pm

In reality, the tax is for amenties related to the property such as garbage collection , sidewalks, better roads etc ,so that the person living in the property should be responsible for paying the tax seeing that they are the ones who are enjoying the services.
I own a lot of rental properties a,but i have decided not to pass on the tax to my tenants. They are the ones who can least afford additional burdens right now. Landlords want to make the same amount they are making now, so I hear a lot of them saying they are going to raise the rent by a hundred or two per month. When you calculate it they will be making profit on it too.
If you have an eight apt. building at $3000 to $3500 each ,you pull in $24000 to $28000 per month, If you take out for repairs (which are mostly minor if you built properly) Insurance and routine maintenance, you still have over $250000 left. Whats the big deal in paying the tax?

Postby sMASH » May 5th, 2017, 7:51 pm

spann for prime minister!!!!!!

Postby pete » May 5th, 2017, 7:52 pm

If you're renting 25k a month you supposed to be paying like $4800 a month in income tax. Property tax is the least of your worries.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » May 5th, 2017, 8:11 pm

It have some renters up by me who I would like to see gone they are always destroying people living with their animals them renting and eh have no place to mine anything but them mining one set ah goat and cow letting it loose in other people property and they are also dirty tossing their trash in other people property. If this property Tax force them to leave I go build ah temple and do artie and puja over a picture of Rowley everyday.

That is the only positive thing I can think off when it comes to this tax, lets see how it plays out.

Postby 88sins » May 5th, 2017, 10:04 pm

Those types of scenarios are common, but most ppl really don't consider how dangerous cattle/goats running free in the road can be.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » May 5th, 2017, 10:53 pm

88sins wrote:Those types of scenarios are common, but most ppl really don't consider how dangerous cattle/goats running free in the road can be.

earlier this year up by me here a kiss truck knock down a cow, weird thing is for some reason when a cow crossing a road they does just catch a vaps and run back the opposite direction into the middle of the road after you feel them done cross.

By me is Agriculture area but still that is real carelessness with some of these people the amount of Goat and Sheep that get knock down up here eh you won't believe. And that does mash up vehicle badly, but if this property tax force them people to leave I would be very happy.

Postby RedVEVO » May 6th, 2017, 12:26 am

RedVEVO wrote:
Many people live from pay check, to pay check with little or no savings.
Many people are in denial.
Basically they give up and live one day at a time.

They have the power to protest . But they do not .

So the Gov't takes advantage hence tax and tax and tax .

THIS is the problem. & this is why I say, the vast majority of Trinis are gutless sheep. This cowardice was programmed into them, & these halfwit politicians know this all too well. The have no fear of 2/3 the population marching into PoS to kick their backsides out when they do crap, because they know Trinis go say "well wha we go do, is d gorvament say so, so it hadda be so"
If a march is organized, is bottle & spoon & tassa & rum & roti, is never a real protest with Trini's, is ALWAYS a party.

Yes ..

And that is why richie rich will always get richer and sufferers always think they rich but thieving milo and bottle water and condense milk and single ply toilet paper .. with no shame :wink:

On the other side however , Roget protest the other day and Gov't give up within hours !

Opposition could mobilize a serious protest and stop property tax ..

and I NOT filling out any &%$# form ..

Postby RedVEVO » May 6th, 2017, 2:37 am

rspann wrote:In reality, the tax is for amenties related to the property such as garbage collection , sidewalks, better roads etc ,so that the person living in the property should be responsible for paying the tax seeing that they are the ones who are enjoying the services.
I own a lot of rental properties a,but i have decided not to pass on the tax to my tenants. They are the ones who can least afford additional burdens right now. Landlords want to make the same amount they are making now, so I hear a lot of them saying they are going to raise the rent by a hundred or two per month. When you calculate it they will be making profit on it too.
If you have an eight apt. building at $3000 to $3500 each ,you pull in $24000 to $28000 per month, If you take out for repairs (which are mostly minor if you built properly) Insurance and routine maintenance, you still have over $250000 left. Whats the big deal in paying the tax?

Property Tax makes Government our Landlord. We all renting.

It is the combination of the taxes . Tax plus tax plus tax to the power of tax.

Gov't should allow people to generate income and reduce taxes as an incentive .
They should reward people for owning a house, building or land or a business.
Forex going to special interest groups . There is no scarcity . We just lend Barbados
U$$$ to support their tourism and shut down ours.

As a private Landlord your problems will soon begin. Talking in general.
All the policies nowadays confines ALL people to an economic wheelchair.

First as Gov't see people "fortunes $$ in a database" you will be targeted with more
tax $ and tax $ and tax $. The tax collected goes into the "general tax basket" so you do not know if
it is for purposes you outlined. Elderly who build a small apartment to supplement income - tax, tax.
Squatter- tax, tax. Farmer - tax, tax. Apartment owner - tax, tax.

Maybe Gov't wants to build another BL stadium. A Tobago boat . Benz and Art works. Give corrupt contracts. We do not know where it is going .You have no control with Gov't spending - there is no real accountability.

But now they want your money NOT oil money. So is tax and tax and tax.

Government have been collecting massive and mind-blowing $$$$$ oil revenues for many years.
We should look and act like Dubai or Hong Kong or Singapore even Miami.
But we look and act like Haiti.

Gov't lost the BP contract - technology transfer lost - employment opportunities lost.
Tourism in Tobago or with Sandals is just ole talk.
Petrotrin is a white elephant. Mital pack up and gone.
And these are just a few that the media has highlighted .

The tax, tax, tax will continue since Gov't finds it easier to tax people.

They have failed to increase ANY external revenues other than tax the population to
poverty.

Gov't are now Landlords. We all renting.

Postby Redman » May 6th, 2017, 5:25 am

:shock: :roll: :roll:

Postby matr1x » May 6th, 2017, 6:17 am

If you don't pay the tax, you have 6 months to do so. Failing which you have 5 years to do so, while those years worth plus penalty and interest. If you should fail to do so, a notice will be sent, after which an ad will be taken out in the local gazette where the property will be stated as being unpaid and in arrears.

Failing this, the said property will be placed along with others in a list to be seized by the state. The list will be sent to the president of the state for official signature.

Please pnm people, please try to defend that nonsense. I am going to enjoy crushing your souls.

christopherwilliams2

Postby christopherwilliams2 » May 6th, 2017, 6:52 am

Squatters to pay that 20 dollars tax now....hmmm ...occupy land-pay tax-land is mine!

Premchand1976

Postby Premchand1976 » May 6th, 2017, 7:03 am

christopherwilliams2 wrote:Squatters to pay that 20 dollars tax now....hmmm ...occupy land-pay tax-land is mine!

^^^^^^ this can cause real Bacchanal now.........dem.fellas dotish with a capital D yes

Postby Redman » May 6th, 2017, 9:22 am

Matrix you have a link to the law you quoting?

urbandilema

Postby urbandilema » May 6th, 2017, 9:44 am

rspann wrote:In reality, the tax is for amenties related to the property such as garbage collection , sidewalks, better roads etc ,so that the person living in the property should be responsible for paying the tax seeing that they are the ones who are enjoying the services.

U sir is a gem but what's your take on the income tax rumor circulation

Postby rspann » May 6th, 2017, 9:49 am

When they know your property info they also know your tax liability. So you have four apartments brining in twelve grand, they know your property tax but they also know your income. Go look up the words surreptitious and clandestine.
I pay my taxes. Lots of expenses though. When the revenue authority is established ,as I'm sure it is going to be, and everything is linked, banks ,Inland Revenue ,Vat ,assessment rolls, legal affairs etc., there are going to be some big changes in revenue collection.

Postby matr1x » May 6th, 2017, 10:11 am

Redman wrote:Matrix you have a link to the law you quoting?

It's in the land tax bill 2010. Don't have it on me.

I want government people to address those whose lands have not been regulurized as yet, and rpo lands which take months to process . I swear it's morons leading the ship.

I have answers to the money shortage. But my advice does not come for free.

Postby 88sins » May 6th, 2017, 12:12 pm

RedVEVO wrote:On the other side however , Roget protest the other day and Gov't give up within hours !

Notice the location of that protest?
It hard to ignore when ppl in front yuh office door

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » May 6th, 2017, 12:28 pm

I see UNC motorcade now pass by me here advertising the Sunday rally, it must be have like 12 vehicles in this one, Tim Gopeesingh have a pre recorded message on a mic saying "This vicious and wicked property tax has to stop, do not let anyone into your homes, do not fill out any forms, they want to take your agriculture land to build houses, UNC is the only party that will repeal this property tax"

And the first thing that came to my mind is look at these mc liars nah. Them is the only party that will repeal this? not from what I saw....

Postby toyolink » May 6th, 2017, 12:40 pm

What is a reasonable income one should expect after bearing the cost of the land and building (say 2.5 million)?

Postby rspann » May 6th, 2017, 12:59 pm

You could get from $20g to $40 g per month depends on what and where you build. It could range from 1br apts ,2br apts, townhouse ,commercial units or a warehouse.