Where has the best Gyros/Burgers/ Street food in T&T?

silent_riot

Re: Economical food places in Trinidad

Postby silent_riot » January 24th, 2012, 5:57 pm

rfari wrote:yeah fellas. peter still opens but not everyday. still 30 dollars and still small cup of drink included.

Peter on Maraval Rd?

Postby pugboy » January 24th, 2012, 6:00 pm

pete used to be $17 around 1999

TriP

Postby TriP » January 24th, 2012, 6:01 pm

silent_riot wrote:
rfari wrote:yeah fellas. peter still opens but not everyday. still 30 dollars and still small cup of drink included.

Peter on Maraval Rd?

weyzz ..Good question..?..long time i aint go by Peter...i remember..he for he 7-Pod Whole Peppers he use to have on top of the food..in he lil small place..!!

TriP

Postby TriP » January 24th, 2012, 6:05 pm

Who could remember Pat on Maraval Rd ..with the food in the back of the bar ..opposite TTT,,The rastaman,,use to run the bar in front

Obi-Wan

Postby Obi-Wan » January 24th, 2012, 6:30 pm

Food court upstairs Town Centre Mall,
Chinese - rice, veg, chicken $24
Gyros $22-25

only thing tho is that they get close down a couple times...

Postby rfari » January 24th, 2012, 6:35 pm

correct. peter on maraval road. he had closed for about a week and a half late last year cus a relative died and after that he hasn't been opening as regular. still have the pieces of pepper and the tasty pepper sauce. the steam ochroes are the best IMHO

Postby nervewrecker » January 24th, 2012, 6:42 pm

silent_riot wrote:Samo's on Abercromby St, Japs, Chinese restaurant on Park St. with the $13/$15 lunch special.

le chinese rest is in the vicinity of the cinema? if that be the one, then yes, food does lash but seems prices raise (was $11.00 a few years back)

Conrad

Postby Conrad » January 24th, 2012, 7:26 pm

Pholourie Factory - 6 heavy pholourie and sauce for $1.00 :lol:

Unfortunately they're closed as of the latter part of last year until the guy recuperates.

Postby wagonrunner » January 24th, 2012, 7:38 pm

oho. lil bit after the garage the v8 boys use in mt. lambert on maloney broome street.
excellent beef roti for $ i think it was

6 pfft. :lol:
maracas, just outside the car park. 25 phoulourie for $5, and excellent tamarind sauce

Sumana.00

Postby Sumana.00 » January 24th, 2012, 7:46 pm

16 cycles wrote:Roland's - Golconda....small shop...

bought a dhalpurrie and aloo there for $6

prices real reasonable and tastes good too...

Gyro place near republic in POS used to have a chicken special for $25

Dobsons was reasonable too in the old location - haven't tried the new one as yet..

Where's the gyro place?

Conrad

Postby Conrad » January 24th, 2012, 8:07 pm

wagonrunner wrote:oho. lil bit after the garage the v8 boys use in mt. lambert on maloney broome street.
excellent beef roti for $ i think it was

6 pfft. :lol:
maracas, just outside the car park. 25 phoulourie for $5, and excellent tamarind sauce

Tambarand sauce FTW but I doubt it worth me losing 5 heavy ass lourie.

silent_riot

Postby silent_riot » January 24th, 2012, 8:12 pm

I haven't eaten Peter's food in about 4 years. It was cheaper back then like $20-25, and all was sold out before 12noon. He could move with pace in there, dred.
Back then I used to check a hole in the wall on Warner street too.
slackerjack, nah the one closer to Pembroke St.- $13 rice & chicken; $15 noodles & chicken...or was it $11 & $13...anyway it was cheap.

haseib786

Postby haseib786 » January 24th, 2012, 8:16 pm

wagonrunner: wha about Knicks and Nads duncan village sando, jus as u pass len hap heading to the interchange on the left hand side, food rell bess. Stew chicken,channa aloo,punkin,mango,mudainlaw, buss up shut whoppin $20.00... They charge for Rice,pie. chicken and they say beans and callalloo free....they rell bess... They also have the $2.00 pie place in penal with free channa.....lol..

Postby DFC » January 24th, 2012, 8:27 pm

i can vouch for Nic Nads in penal and duncan village.
Their prices very reasonable and food is quality & quantity.

In point lisas, main road. there is a chinese food place, i cant seem to remember the name of the place though. but half of the building is a restaurant and the other half is a hideaway bar.

its close to the entrance to touch and taste.

so while my $20 veggie special is being made, me and my friend down 3 or 4 beers and head back to work !

Postby wagonrunner » January 24th, 2012, 8:27 pm

haseib786 wrote:wagonrunner: wha about Knicks and Nads duncan village sando, jus as u pass len hap heading to the interchange on the left hand side, food rell bess. Stew chicken,channa aloo,punkin,mango,mudainlaw, buss up shut whoppin $20.00... They charge for Rice,pie. chicken and they say beans and callalloo free....they rell bess... They also have the $2.00 pie place in penal with free channa.....lol..

had food from there twice. never me again.
like that goat was fed up with the curry and sour it. i stay away to be honest.

but just my preference. i prefer the chick next to he upholsterer beef roti, but it's months i haven't bought that either.

Postby AllTrac » January 24th, 2012, 8:32 pm

1UZFE wrote:Manos.

manos does sell a decent fish broth for $24, all their soups are $24

Postby AllTrac » January 24th, 2012, 8:34 pm

vrampersad14 wrote:
crossdrilled wrote:Non Town:
Nita's on the SMR between chase village and chag. Bess roti.

Nah bai, best roti is on Caroni Savannah Rd. , next to the hardware...no long wait either

you is ah mad man, good luck on your e. coli :lol:

Postby nervewrecker » January 24th, 2012, 8:38 pm

I shall go check that place out tomorrow silent riot, I have to buy lunch lol

Postby AllTrac » January 24th, 2012, 8:45 pm

toyota2nr wrote:
16 cycles wrote:'Nick's' (felicity) still have the cheese and channa ?

Same thing I asking.

thats not in felicity, its on Caroni Savannah road, yes he still has his cheese and channa.

Postby kurpal_v2 » January 24th, 2012, 10:18 pm

haseib786 wrote:wagonrunner: wha about Knicks and Nads duncan village sando, jus as u pass len hap heading to the interchange on the left hand side, food rell bess. Stew chicken,channa aloo,punkin,mango,mudainlaw, buss up shut whoppin $20.00... They charge for Rice,pie. chicken and they say beans and callalloo free....they rell bess... They also have the $2.00 pie place in penal with free channa.....lol..

had food from there twice. never me again.
like that goat was fed up with the curry and sour it. i stay away to be honest.

but just my preference. i prefer the chick next to he upholsterer beef roti, but it's months i haven't bought that either.

THIS! Quality hasnt dropped over the years IMO.

St.Agustine-next to uwi grocery, there is a lil roti shop with a few tanties, $10 potato roti is bountiful. I think the gizzard and liver is $15 iirc, one of that and yuh foldup for the evening.

Finding it hard to find a good gerra pork in the curepe/gustine area doh, anyone could help?

Postby De Dragon » January 24th, 2012, 11:23 pm

wagonrunner wrote:I like the el Pecos food by the lb.
pork (rarely get any bone), 2 sides and salad just around $40.

Preysal - Geera pork roti. (feel i going for one now yes) $25.
South -
Wing on, food bess, price great.
Even Amin's in duncan village is a good deal. $20 meals. beef / potato / rice / salad.

Where in Preysal? Thanks

Postby Trini Hookah » January 24th, 2012, 11:30 pm

AllTrac wrote:
vrampersad14 wrote:
crossdrilled wrote:Non Town:
Nita's on the SMR between chase village and chag. Bess roti.

Nah bai, best roti is on Caroni Savannah Rd. , next to the hardware...no long wait either

you is ah mad man, good luck on your e. coli :lol:

All dat in de taste dan :|

Postby wagonrunner » January 25th, 2012, 12:38 am

wagonrunner wrote:Preysal - Geera pork roti. (feel i going for one now yes) $25.
Where in Preysal? Thanks
Pass the entrance to preysal secondary school, and it's the next street on the right. (borders the play field)

http://wikimapia.org/#lat=10.4166361&lon=-61.4131236&z=18&l=0&m=s

It's first bar (two bars side by side) on that street on the right hand side.

speedaholic

Postby speedaholic » January 25th, 2012, 1:25 am

AllTrac wrote:
toyota2nr wrote:
16 cycles wrote:'Nick's' (felicity) still have the cheese and channa ?

Same thing I asking.

thats not in felicity, its on Caroni Savannah road, yes he still has his cheese and channa.

nicks still opens? few time i pass and he was closed...! :(

anyways...
juman's roti shop Jackson St. curepe... beef roti for $23 does relll lash..
Max grill house, St. helena... 2 sides and a lil more than 1/4 chicken and fresh salad $30... does eat lunch and dinner from this..
Try It food hutt.. Dow village, california... closer to UTT side... roti and lunches $25!

Postby De Dragon » January 25th, 2012, 2:18 am

wagonrunner wrote:Preysal - Geera pork roti. (feel i going for one now yes) $25.
Where in Preysal? Thanks
Pass the entrance to preysal secondary school, and it's the next street on the right. (borders the play field)

Oho! The lil' bar next to Sandeana's! I try ah wings from them a lil' while back and it lash.

Postby rfari » January 25th, 2012, 2:46 am

Bess info in ched here. Dunno half of these places tho.

neocyst
Location: lookin' for love in all the wrong places....and lovin' it!

Postby neocyst » January 25th, 2012, 3:34 am

Where in Preysal? Thanks

Oho! The lil' bar next to Sandeana's! I try ah wings from them a lil' while back and it lash.

Is Alpine Rest. n Bar u all talkin bout?

http://www.facebook.com/pages/Alpine-Re ... 5870780197

Postby goalpost » January 25th, 2012, 6:24 am

There's a place on Patino Street Diego Martin owned by a rasta man. He sells some great tasting creole food (especially the fish) all for a total of $20 - $25.

Postby RBphoto » January 25th, 2012, 6:50 am

Dopsons on the corner of maraval and Tragreete close dong? I usually go there every time I put gas and for a while they have not been open at 8:00am :?

Also, this place:
IMG00148-20110920-1017.jpg

Corner of boundary rd ext. and highway in El Socorro.

One morning around 10 I bounce in and she now finish stew chicken, so not much else on menu. Oman say hold on a few minuites... she will fix me up. She went and made a fry bake, stuff it with nearly half chicken, (leg thigh, back, neck and a set of breast meat) and a side of fresh salad. I ordered a malta to go with it. Oman charge me $20.00 :shock:

Postby crazybalhead » January 25th, 2012, 7:03 am

Like yuh pick up hoss???

That UWI roti shop mentioned earlier used to sell that giver and lizard roti for 7:50 in my day :( I getting ole oui.