Speed guns in effect in Trinidad & Tobago

Re: Speed guns in effect from Monday

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » June 25th, 2016, 8:48 pm

I've seen the flashing lights. Good warning if done for a decent stretch.

Postby j.o.e » June 25th, 2016, 8:51 pm

Habit7 wrote:I am sorry, as a regular south driver I kinda like driving on a safer highway and returning home to my family.

Slow down.

Yea I pretty much obey it 95% of the time and after that close call, I stopped playing cat and mouse. As a north to south driver I like that every day is not a catastrophic accident to cause traffic. And at 80 you don't spend any extra time on the road a s a rush hour driver.

kamakazi

Re: RE: Re: Speed guns in effect from Monday

Postby kamakazi » June 25th, 2016, 8:59 pm

Habit7 wrote:I am sorry, as a regular south driver I kinda like driving on a safer highway and returning home to my family.

Slow down.

You actually feel safer with the type of driving being exhibited now. I for one cannot express the same.... It is worse in my opinion

Joshie23

Postby Joshie23 » June 25th, 2016, 9:46 pm

kamakazi wrote:

Slow down.

You actually feel safer with the type of driving being exhibited now. I for one cannot express the same.... It is worse in my opinion

Agreed. It is a little worse actually. Even on main roads, drivers seem to be taking out the aggression they can't let out on the highway anymore.

hong kong phooey wrote:
yes i leave my head light on if i see them in the opposite lane
because drivers not protesting and shutting down the highway they will do nothing to change the laws
Quick to change the laws without public consultation when it in their interest

And then with drivers like ^this guy^, the intelligence of the nation's drivers leaves much to be desired..

Postby rspann » June 25th, 2016, 10:55 pm

They now catch a lot of speeders in Gasparillo by the Brian Lara. Another squad coming down the highway in Caroni ,the big caravan and some vitaras.

hong kong phooey

Postby hong kong phooey » June 25th, 2016, 11:44 pm

Joshie23 wrote:
kamakazi wrote:

Slow down.

Agreed. It is a little worse actually. Even on main roads, drivers seem to be taking out the aggression they can't let out on the highway anymore.

hong kong phooey wrote:
yes i leave my head light on if i see them in the opposite lane
because drivers not protesting and shutting down the highway they will do nothing to change the laws
Quick to change the laws without public consultation when it in their interest

And then with drivers like ^this guy^, the intelligence of the nation's drivers leaves much to be desired..

How does this affect my intelligence ?
One minister actually said that, the population is not protesting , this means they are happy.
There was a petition that was signed and delivered to the minister. His response story we have to have consultation blah blah blah , which is understandable. Has any thing been done?
This speed limit is causing drivers to panic. It is very frustrating and hectic now to drive on the highway.
I always hear/see about the police on the UBH and the CRH but I have yet to see them on the Foreshore or have heard about them being on the Diego Martin highway (i have no reason to drive there)
I stick by my statement "because drivers not protesting and shutting down the highway they will do nothing to change the laws "

drchaos

Postby drchaos » June 25th, 2016, 11:46 pm

Nothing has really changed ...

Except the lane hoggers at 80 now feel they have justification to do so.

Postby Habit7 » June 25th, 2016, 11:54 pm

Joshie23 wrote:
kamakazi wrote:

Slow down.

I care little for anecdotes.

The cold hard facts are road traffic accidents are down.

That makes me "feel" safer.

Re: RE: Re: RE: Re: Speed guns in effect from Monday

Postby adnj » June 26th, 2016, 8:46 am

Habit7 wrote:
Joshie23 wrote:

This is not necessarily true. Traffic accidents and fatalities are a statistical aggregate. The enforcement has not been in place long enough to show whether there is a true effect that can't be explained by weather or even chance. The only thing that can be concluded is that more than $1M in fines will be levied before the end of the year.

drchaos

Postby drchaos » June 26th, 2016, 9:18 am

adnj wrote:
Habit7 wrote:
Joshie23 wrote:

This is not necessarily true. Traffic accidents and fatalities are a statistical aggregate. The enforcement has not been in place long enough to show whether there is a true effect that can't be explained by weather or even chance. The only thing that can be concluded is that more than $1M in fines will be levied before the end of the year.

This is so true! There are actually people among us that believe accurate statistics can be had from such a short period of time.

Joshie23

Postby Joshie23 » June 26th, 2016, 9:23 am

adnj wrote:
Habit7 wrote:
Joshie23 wrote:

Just for the record..you're quoting the wrong person..I said no such thing..

Postby eliteauto » June 26th, 2016, 12:45 pm

Even in the wee hours of the morning, I've seen a lot more drivers taking it down, even those going past 80 aren't passing me with the scary fast speeds I've seen almost daily, driving habits are changing and that's a good thing

Postby zoom rader » June 26th, 2016, 1:28 pm

eliteauto wrote:Even in the wee hours of the morning, I've seen a lot more drivers taking it down, even those going past 80 aren't passing me with the scary fast speeds I've seen almost daily, driving habits are changing and that's a good thing

Well speed detection is easy wuk for the popo

Meanwhile whats the murder rate?

konartis

Postby konartis » June 26th, 2016, 1:40 pm

Fatalities are actually down, easier to control ur car at lower speeds....plus, those idiotic ford ranger/hilux drivers who bumper the sheit out of u to pass....they are ALOT slower now.....

Jade_Inc.

Postby Jade_Inc. » June 26th, 2016, 2:05 pm

konartis wrote:Fatalities are actually down, easier to control ur car at lower speeds....plus, those idiotic ford ranger/hilux drivers who bumper the sheit out of u to pass....they are ALOT slower now.....

U obviously haven't reached down princess town to Mayaro side

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » June 26th, 2016, 5:09 pm

When people start applying brakes in front of you on the right lane with nothing in front of them cause they don't understand how to control the throttle pedal...That is not safe.

Some people want to give the government money and done set that aside.

I am observing this new trend where people are deliberately matching the speed of the driver in the other lane to keep other drivers behind them. I don't know if they are trying to get back at the driver for tailgating or whatever the reason.... But I'm seeing this unhealthy practice occurring more and more

mark2.0

Postby mark2.0 » June 26th, 2016, 6:21 pm

kamakazi wrote:When people start applying brakes in front of you on the right lane with nothing in front of them cause they don't understand how to control the throttle pedal...That is not safe.

I am observing this new trend where people are deliberately matching the speed of the driver in the other lane to keep other drivers behind them. I don't know if they are trying to get back at the driver for tailgating or whatever the reason.... But I'm seeing this unhealthy practice occurring more and more

^^^true^^^

drchaos

Postby drchaos » June 26th, 2016, 7:01 pm

I will sometimes make a move to block/close the gap on someone running up the left lane if they are driving dangerously because I don't want them coming up and merging dangerously.

If I end up noticing them to late I will slow down to give a larger gap to pass.

I have noticed alot of crazy people will try to merge even if there is no space expecting you to notice them and slow down.

viedcht

Postby viedcht » June 26th, 2016, 10:06 pm

drchaos wrote:I will sometimes make a move to block/close the gap on someone running up the left lane if they are driving dangerously because I don't want them coming up and merging dangerously.

If I end up noticing them to late I will slow down to give a larger gap to pass.

I have noticed alot of crazy people will try to merge even if there is no space expecting you to notice them and slow down.
daz joke... father's day a hilux and ah black almera feel the stretch after Macaulay on the southbound was Camden strip. Almera overtake on the shoulder I sure at 110plus. Hilux barely squeeze thru me and the car on the right. Dotish driving still happening.

drchaos

Postby drchaos » June 26th, 2016, 10:15 pm

viedcht wrote:
drchaos wrote:I will sometimes make a move to block/close the gap on someone running up the left lane if they are driving dangerously because I don't want them coming up and merging dangerously.

daz joke... father's day a hilux and ah black almera feel the stretch after Macaulay on the southbound was Camden strip. Almera overtake on the shoulder I sure at 110plus. Hilux barely squeeze thru me and the car on the right. Dotish driving still happening.

You make 110 KPH sound dangerous! LoL

but yeah dem bioches be crazy.

viedcht

Postby viedcht » June 26th, 2016, 10:18 pm

Well we could barely make ah 85 or is shaft if we get ketch...

hong kong phooey

Postby hong kong phooey » June 27th, 2016, 1:13 am

kamakazi wrote:When people start applying brakes in front of you on the right lane with nothing in front of them cause they don't understand how to control the throttle pedal...That is not safe.

Actually this is a good way to save money. i have 3000+ in the fund used some to make some modification to the vehicle

konartis

Postby konartis » June 27th, 2016, 10:45 am

Jade_Inc. wrote:
konartis wrote:Fatalities are actually down, easier to control ur car at lower speeds....plus, those idiotic ford ranger/hilux drivers who bumper the sheit out of u to pass....they are ALOT slower now.....

U obviously haven't reached down princess town to Mayaro side

hopefully they start using the guns in stations soon, ever district should have a trained person and a radar gun

drchaos

Postby drchaos » June 30th, 2016, 8:20 am

Still seems to be a large number of accidents on the road ways ... how come the police only focusing on road death statistics is this just smoke and mirrors? Where are the statistics for serious/critical injuries from road accidents?

Postby zoom rader » June 30th, 2016, 9:40 am

drchaos wrote:Still seems to be a large number of accidents on the road ways ... how come the police only focusing on road death statistics is this just smoke and mirrors? Where are the statistics for serious/critical injuries from road accidents?

habit7 say he feels safer

JF.K

Postby JF.K » June 30th, 2016, 10:13 am

Morpheus wrote:
DFC wrote:i've noticed they don't come out when its raining.

thats your loophole.

That is normal...

LOL @ this...
There is your "loop hole" fellas!

So you free to Speed when it raining...
Sense!

Postby Morpheus » June 30th, 2016, 10:20 am

^^^Bad combination indeed

drchaos

Postby drchaos » June 30th, 2016, 10:39 am

drchaos wrote:Still seems to be a large number of accidents on the road ways ... how come the police only focusing on road death statistics is this just smoke and mirrors? Where are the statistics for serious/critical injuries from road accidents?

habit7 say he feels safer

Habit does live in T&T? lol

Postby eliteauto » June 30th, 2016, 10:54 am

Same way people focus on murders despite other crimes being down according to the police, it can't work 2 ways. The focus of any initiative is to address to most serious statistic, all stats are available from the TB and they do release them on an annual basis

JF.K

Postby JF.K » June 30th, 2016, 11:01 am

hong kong phooey wrote:Any one seeing them any where else except on the north/sound highway

Last weekend at around 8pm, they were stationed in a very dark spot..
Highway, West Bound Lane - just before Pricesmart O'meara.

The crew with the gun had it on a tripod on the road, to the back of a police xtrail suv.
From a distance it just looked as though a vehicle was 'shut down' or changing a flat on, the shoulder.

The next crew, who were stopping the speeders, were by the Pricesmart lights with some glow sticks (like what they use to direct planes on the runway).
Had two SUVs at this point with about 6 police.

Three vehicles flew past me just before the tripod crew. They were bumpering each other; real speed and recklessness. At the Pricesmart lights though they only pulled over 2. The third one who was in the back, get away.