Habit7 wrote:mrtrini45 wrote:Rowley just trying to hush up the media against him
Are you really that deluded?
Anil sued Gumbs-Saniford and just this week VAT blamed the media for misrepresenting her.
Either VAT is right and she didn't make rape claims against Rowley, which would justify Rowley suing those make the rape claims.
Or VAT is wrong and she did make rape claims against Rowley, so those who repeat it outside of parliament will have to defend in court taking a PP minister word as true.
BTW journalists who are attacked by the PP like Anika Gumbs-Sandiford and Asha Javeed are the Press.
Commentators like Morgan Job, Wendell Eversley, Gladiator and PEA are not the Press to which we guarantee freedom.
Well the courts will determine if what they said is libel and slander.De Dragon wrote:The true measure of press freedom is the degree to which these commentators, once not libeling/slandering are protected to say whatever they want.
Habit7 wrote:Well the courts will determine if what they said is libel and slander.De Dragon wrote:The true measure of press freedom is the degree to which these commentators, once not libeling/slandering are protected to say whatever they want.
Did you cry Press Freedom when Anil Robert file PAP against journalist Ankia Gumbs-Sandiford?
Habit7 wrote:Well the courts will determine if what they said is libel and slander.De Dragon wrote:The true measure of press freedom is the degree to which these commentators, once not libeling/slandering are protected to say whatever they want.
Did you cry Press Freedom when Anil Robert file PAP against journalist Ankia Gumbs-Sandiford?
zoom rader wrote:Habit7 wrote:Well the courts will determine if what they said is libel and slander.De Dragon wrote:The true measure of press freedom is the degree to which these commentators, once not libeling/slandering are protected to say whatever they want.
Habit7 take a rest and stop defending these PNM fable authors.
UML wrote:It is said the best way to shut up a PNM supporter is to ask them to....
LIST THE ACCOMPLISHMENTS OF DR. ROWLEY AS MP OF DIEGO MARTIN WEST.
Well?
UML wrote:UML wrote:It is said the best way to shut up a PNM supporter is to ask them to....
LIST THE ACCOMPLISHMENTS OF DR. ROWLEY AS MP OF DIEGO MARTIN WEST.
Well?
rfari wrote:Where exactly are the boundaries of Diego martin west?
Get serious, Rowley
THAT meeting between Keith Rowley and Ken Gordon should never have taken place at the latter’s home, with no other Integrity Commission official present and no official minutes taken. It presented a picture of coziness between the two which will linger. The Government has pounced with expected glee on this political gift that makes sitting ducks of Rowley and Gordon, now the target of the Attorney General’s devastating aim and accuracy.
Gordon erred in inviting Rowley and Rowley’s error was in accepting the invitation. It is cause of deep dismay that two holders of such high office, two of our best and brightest, failed to discern the impropriety of the meeting; it speaks volumes about the “validating elites’’ of this nation.
And they compound their error by protesting their rectitude, two more public officials who feel they must pose as infallible. To err is human and the public could be forgiving if they accept their mistake. They didn’t murder or commit treason. Remorse could ameliorate the consequences. But the more they defend the indefensible, the more opportunity they provide for the Government to beat them in public, making their mistake a gift that keeps on giving political advantage to their political opponents.
Of the two, the more tragic figure is Keith Rowley. He continues to mismanage the e-mail matter, with four missteps thus far. Firstly, he kept the e-mails in his possession for six months without any serious attempt at authentication. Then, without doing homework, he used the high profile route of a no-confidence motion to present raw meat for the consumption of the population, when he could have revealed the e-mails in other ways. A lesser PNM official could have exposed them. Why the leader to “buss the mark’’? Now with three motions of no confidence, he has completely squandered critical armoury. The third misstep was the very reactive position taken by his lawyer Faris Al Rawi which Dr Rowley allowed to escalate into confrontation with the police, giving the impression of unwillingness to cooperate, when by contrast, the Government appeared to be the model of cooperativeness with the law. But the PNM has recovered somewhat from this, having dropped the talkative, confrontational approach. The fourth mistake is the meeting at Gordon’s home. Lately, Dr Rowley seems to accept his error, saying, “put the blame on my shoulder” because Gordon had “no idea what I wanted to raise with him”. But surely the latter would have known the “urgent’’ matter would deal with public affairs involving their public offices. Yet he agreed. Worse for Dr Rowley, he hadn’t yet brought the matter to the Integrity Commission. So why did he want to engage the chairman on the issue? Dr Rowley is digging himself into a hole. The best he could do is apologise for the meeting. But that and God’s face you will never see.
It gives me absolutely no pleasure to say it, but this entire e-mail affair fuels valid concerns about Keith Rowley as leader of the People’s National Movement. True, he inherited a wreck that needed re-engineering for revitalisation and roadworthiness. Yet, it is a telling reflection of his leadership that after three years of a most incompetent and untrustworthy Government of glaring errors and inadequacies, there can be no rational forecast of a PNM victory if a general election were to be held any time soon.
Though Dr Rowley set about on the correct course of constitutional change in the PNM, the approach was woefully deficient. He failed to engage the entire nation on the way forward for the country’s oldest party. This should not have been a closed party affair, and as I wrote earlier, the PNM should have had the country “buzzing with discussion, from living rooms to rum shops, in malls, offices and taxis, about proposed changes. How will you excite the people about the party if you don’t involve them in shaping its future? How will you encourage national ownership of the organisation if you alienate the population from the discussion?” I also warned that “a golden opportunity would have been lost to excite the population, increase interest and membership, encourage new talent, bring back those who left”.
But even after the historic constitutional changes that reduced the power of the maximum leader, the party still failed to capitalise. Again I warned that “constitutional changes alone would not suffice, that the leadership must ensure that the spirit and significance of these changes permeate the entire body of the party. All must understand this is cultural, not cosmetic. The PNM must rise from intellectual inertia and expand its consciousness to be the big tent, its goal at inception. The leaders must travel throughout the land, and with rousing speeches to party and country, preach the new gospel; summon the party’s spirit; call for the membership to wake up to its responsibilities after decades of sleepwalking. No longer should everyone always be choir children, singing from the same hymn sheet, praising God and the captain, even when the ship is sinking. Now all cultish characteristics must go. Now open the gates of Balisier House for many thousands of all creeds and colours, races and roots, longing for the promised land, too long delayed in Trinidad and Tobago”.
Had Dr Rowley led the PNM to that new height, he would not be as hurt by his latest error. And if, in addition to renewing the PNM, he had already given the nation a taste of his vision, particularly for governance and the economy, the confidence he would have engendered in the people would have helped him overcome this serious stumble. But he has again raised concerns over his leadership. Worse, time is running out. Dr Rowley must get serious.
http://www.trinidadexpress.com/commenta ... &smobile=y
Rowley outlines plans for T&T to energy execs
Kevon Felmine
Published:
Thursday, April 16, 2015
In outlining his plans should he become the next Prime Minister of T&T, Opposition Leader Dr Keith Rowley says he will strengthen diplomatic relations with Caricom and the international community so as to expand T&T's energy industry. Speaking on his intentions for the challenged energy sector at the Energy Chamber’s conference at Cara Suites Hotel and Conference Centre yesterday, Rowley promised to open new doors for both state and private sector companies with the signing of several Memorandums of Understanding (MOU).
Special focus will be placed on the United States, United Kingdom, Venezuela, Ghana, Germany, China, Saudi Arabia, India and Caricom members. He hinted at seeking a possible MOU with the Barbados government for offshore hydrocarbon exploration with T&T being a processing market. “We expect from a PNM standpoint to be the next government of Trinidad and Tobago and I commit very early to lead the requisite delegations to Ghana, in particular, where we lost some significant opportunities; Suriname, Guyana and Barbados to ensure we get those opportunities.
Especially in Suriname, Guyana and Barbados, I am going to make sure that we offer them a platform where we can work together so when they do put out the energy that we have now, Trinidad and Tobago can play a significant role in it, from use of our technical expertise,” Rowley said.
He added, “With the advent of shale gas and the impact it will have on the global energy sector, the discovery of substantial natural gas reserves in Africa—Tanzania, over 60 tcf, Mozambique over 150 tcf—the development of new technologies that will allow natural gas to become the feedstock for products traditionally associated with oil such as transportation fuels, including diesel and gasoline [and] the plastic industry, Trinidad and Tobago may be presented an opportunity to increase its role in the global energy industry.
One of his challenges will be the remodelling of major state companies such as the National Gas Company and Petrotrin, which he said had spent substantial funds outside their core business that should have been used on investment programmes. He said key roles would be assigned to those companies in expanding the sector.
He also hinted at a human resource shake-up, saying that his government would put the best people to head state companies, while the Ministry of Energy and Energy Affairs would be staffed with experienced and qualified professionals.
http://www.guardian.co.tt/news/2015-04- ... ergy-execs
UML wrote:Rowley outlines plans for T&T to energy execs
Kevon Felmine
Published:
Thursday, April 16, 2015
In outlining his plans should he become the next Prime Minister of T&T, Opposition Leader Dr Keith Rowley says he will strengthen diplomatic relations with Caricom and the international community so as to expand T&T's energy industry. Speaking on his intentions for the challenged energy sector at the Energy Chamber’s conference at Cara Suites Hotel and Conference Centre yesterday, Rowley promised to open new doors for both state and private sector companies with the signing of several Memorandums of Understanding (MOU).
Special focus will be placed on the United States, United Kingdom, Venezuela, Ghana, Germany, China, Saudi Arabia, India and Caricom members. He hinted at seeking a possible MOU with the Barbados government for offshore hydrocarbon exploration with T&T being a processing market. “We expect from a PNM standpoint to be the next government of Trinidad and Tobago and I commit very early to lead the requisite delegations to Ghana, in particular, where we lost some significant opportunities; Suriname, Guyana and Barbados to ensure we get those opportunities.
Especially in Suriname, Guyana and Barbados, I am going to make sure that we offer them a platform where we can work together so when they do put out the energy that we have now, Trinidad and Tobago can play a significant role in it, from use of our technical expertise,” Rowley said.
He added, “With the advent of shale gas and the impact it will have on the global energy sector, the discovery of substantial natural gas reserves in Africa—Tanzania, over 60 tcf, Mozambique over 150 tcf—the development of new technologies that will allow natural gas to become the feedstock for products traditionally associated with oil such as transportation fuels, including diesel and gasoline [and] the plastic industry, Trinidad and Tobago may be presented an opportunity to increase its role in the global energy industry.
One of his challenges will be the remodelling of major state companies such as the National Gas Company and Petrotrin, which he said had spent substantial funds outside their core business that should have been used on investment programmes. He said key roles would be assigned to those companies in expanding the sector.
He also hinted at a human resource shake-up, saying that his government would put the best people to head state companies, while the Ministry of Energy and Energy Affairs would be staffed with experienced and qualified professionals.
He eh get the wuk yet but he ready tuh FIRE indian.....just like they did at PetroSingh.
rfari wrote:UML wrote:Rowley outlines plans for T&T to energy execs
Kevon Felmine
Published:
Thursday, April 16, 2015
He eh get the wuk yet but he ready tuh FIRE indian.....just like they did at PetroSingh.
U want affirmative action for Indians? Like ' yeah yuh duncey but because u issa Indian we go hire u'?
rfari wrote:He hiring? Who is responsible for hiring? No wonder u confused. UNC minister directly hire ppl. As I say, study ur book and gain experience. The days of reshmi hadda stop
zoom rader wrote:rfari wrote:He hiring? Who is responsible for hiring? No wonder u confused. UNC minister directly hire ppl. As I say, study ur book and gain experience. The days of reshmi hadda stop
PNM made a big mistake by hiring Reshmi first.
rfari wrote:zoom rader wrote:rfari wrote:He hiring? Who is responsible for hiring? No wonder u confused. UNC minister directly hire ppl. As I say, study ur book and gain experience. The days of reshmi hadda stop
Unlike UNC, pnm does not discriminate on the basis of race, creed or political affiliation. Wrong is wrong
zoom rader wrote:rfari wrote:zoom rader wrote:rfari wrote:He hiring? Who is responsible for hiring? No wonder u confused. UNC minister directly hire ppl. As I say, study ur book and gain experience. The days of reshmi hadda stop
Unlike UNC, pnm does not discriminate on the basis of race, creed or political affiliation. Wrong is wrong
PNM does hire 1 injun in a hundred and that injun has tobe a PNM.
Just like they had only 1 injun cepep contactor out of a 100
Redman wrote:actually the CEPEP contractors I know were Indian....under the PNM
UML wrote:Rowley outlines plans for T&T to energy execs
Kevon Felmine
Published:
Thursday, April 16, 2015
PNM caused Minister’s downfall says Roberts
Yvonne Webb
Published: Thursday, June 30, 2011
Sports Minister Anil Roberts said Carolyn Seepersad-Bachan has no one but herself to blame for her removal from Energy to the Public Administration Ministry, because she surrounded herself with PNM advisors, contrary to advice from him and others. Speaking on a joint Congress of the People (COP) leadership meeting in Avocat, Fyzabad, on Monday night, Roberts defended Seepersad-Bachan’s successor Kevin Ramnarine, a former junior minister in her ministry. Saying he had a detailed knowledge of the situation, Roberts described Seepersad-Bachan as a very intelligent woman in the energy field and very qualified.
“However, politically, she was very naive. It was not Minister Ramnarine who undermined Madam Seepersad-Bachan. Despite my protestation over a four-month consistent period, she decided to keep Andrew Jupiter as an advisor.” Roberts explained. “Andrew Jupiter was a PNM advisor to Ken Julien. She kept telling me Jupiter was friendly with her in 1988. “She kept on others like Frank Look Kin, PNM advisor to Ken Julien, (and) she hired Curtis Williams (former journalist) to write her speeches. “So who undermine our Minister? It is the PNM who did it, and I am sorry she allowed the PNM to do it to her,” Roberts said.
Speaking on crime and security, another candidate in the July 3 election, Legal Affairs Minister Prakash Ramadhar, said he agreed with the letter of dissatisfaction sent off to Prime Minister Kamla Persad-Bissessar about Seepersad-Bachan. Ramadhar said her removal was painful to the COP and to her, because she had made a stellar contribution. Attorney Vernon De Lima took umbrage with Robert’s denouncement of PNM people, saying they were citizens too. He told Roberts he was out of place to chastise the PNM, when they were both former members of that party.
http://m.guardian.co.tt/news/2011/06/29 ... ys-roberts
rfari wrote:zoom rader wrote:rfari wrote:zoom rader wrote:rfari wrote:He hiring? Who is responsible for hiring? No wonder u confused. UNC minister directly hire ppl. As I say, study ur book and gain experience. The days of reshmi hadda stop
PNM does hire 1 injun in a hundred and that injun has tobe a PNM.
Just like they had only 1 injun cepep contactor out of a 100Redman wrote:actually the CEPEP contractors I know were Indian....under the PNM
See how ppl does ketch u lying ZR?
shogun wrote:"Roberts defended Seepersad-Bachan’s successor Kevin Ramnarine, a former junior minister in her ministry. Saying he had a detailed knowledge of the situation, Roberts described Seepersad-Bachan as a very intelligent woman in the energy field and very qualified. However, politically, she was very naive."
Lol @ Anil accused others of political naiveté.
Too bad he didn't also seek to have a "detailed knowledge" in the goings on in his Ministry, in the years to come.