3ne2nr fishermen

ryan99tt

Re: 3ne2nr fishermen

Postby ryan99tt » June 14th, 2010, 7:11 pm

HaRdCoRe_YoUtH wrote:Had some pathners went DDI last friday and they caught about 130lbs of king fish and a 60lbs cavali.

I will try to get the pics from them.

we jus went on ah spot on ah island...i hear d fish biting up dat side so i guh organise an go banking next weekend...will let u guys no how it goes...

kl122

Postby kl122 » June 17th, 2010, 12:06 pm

went ddi sunday, wasnt very successful. sumthing huge took the thinnest line, but he burst it....i think the boat man didnt know of the "good spots" lol...

jsali

Postby jsali » June 17th, 2010, 12:18 pm

fellas,

this saturday (night) there's a competition at coast guard base in Chaguaramas. I wont be able to make it but I say lemme tell allyuh so allyuh good go have some fun lol.

I have no more details on it....but from the last competition, the rules were:
teams of 3 persons
no rods
$150 registration fee
no slippers (proper footwear)
fish must be atleast 8" to be registered.

I was told this comp will be bigger than the last so they might be more strict regarding stuff like footwear etc...so beware. Be there for atleast 6pm.
Will post if i get more information.

happy fishing to you all :cry:

EDIT: there may also be a fish broth competition so walk with yuh stuff

ryan99tt

Postby ryan99tt » June 17th, 2010, 4:55 pm

great...will try my luck...

FD3S

Postby FD3S » June 17th, 2010, 6:52 pm

Anyone ever fished tobago? Last week I was over there and right in Pigeon point beach, to my surprise I saw a few young sharks about 2 feet long in less than 1 foot water. I had some basic fishing gear on me and shrimp bait. Between me and my pops, we got about 5 strikes but could not land any. Hooks were too small i believe, or probably bad technique, but the sharks aways fought free.
Soo vex i didnt walk with my casting net.

Sabot

Postby Sabot » June 17th, 2010, 8:37 pm

Tobago :o
Last edited by Sabot on July 1st, 2014, 7:22 am, edited 1 time in total.

ryan99tt

Postby ryan99tt » June 17th, 2010, 9:20 pm

manualmx wrote:Tobago has some of the best fishing compared to Trinidad imo. Was up there last week and got 2 hrs fishing from the shore at Pigeon Pt in the lagoon area. Got a 6lb black snapper/pargue and a 5 lb snook. Prior to that I have been spooled of over 250yds of line by giant tarpon and cavali from the surf. From pigeon pt to plymouth there is excellent fishing to be had especially at Grange Bay when the bait are around. BTW its artificial bait only so not sure about the bottom fishing scene in bago. I have seen the biggest snook and tarpon in the surf in Tobago. Snook over 50lbs and tarpon over 100lbs and counting.

wat artificials yuh use? d popper?

wall

3ne2nr fishermen

Postby wall » June 17th, 2010, 11:34 pm

Last edited by wall on June 17th, 2010, 11:34 pm, edited 1 time in total.

FD3S

Postby FD3S » June 18th, 2010, 12:29 am

manualmx, I was fishing pigeon point on a rising tide where the boats are usually parked. Tried my usual drop shot rig with shrimp and no bite. What more fustrating is the endless bait fish in the water that stealing the bait in no time.
Tried my rapala and bomber artificial for about an hour with no luck. Only when i noticed the sharks in the shallow i had some fun. The sharks were swimming along the coastline, so i dropped my bait a few feet ahead of them. When they smell the fresh, they circle it and then strike. Was real jones. Just couldned land any.

Sabot

Postby Sabot » June 18th, 2010, 7:41 am

ryan99tt wrote:
manualmx wrote:Tobago has some of the best fishing compared to Trinidad imo. Was up there last week and got 2 hrs fishing from the shore at Pigeon Pt in the lagoon area. Got a 6lb black snapper/pargue and a 5 lb snook. Prior to that I have been spooled of over 250yds of line by giant tarpon and cavali from the surf. From pigeon pt to plymouth there is excellent fishing to be had especially at Grange Bay when the bait are around. BTW its artificial bait only so not sure about the bottom fishing scene in bago. I have seen the biggest snook and tarpon in the surf in Tobago. Snook over 50lbs and tarpon over 100lbs and counting.

wat artificials yuh use? d popper?

Snapper 8-)
Last edited by Sabot on July 1st, 2014, 7:22 am, edited 1 time in total.

ryan99tt

Postby ryan99tt » June 18th, 2010, 11:33 am

nice fish man...

wall

3ne2nr fishermen

Postby wall » June 19th, 2010, 1:58 am

Last edited by wall on June 19th, 2010, 1:58 am, edited 1 time in total.

Skanky

Postby Skanky » June 19th, 2010, 8:21 am

wall wrote:went tarpon fishing this afternoon and ended up in the nursing home with a treble hook stuck in my arm.il post pics of it n the fish tmrw.

I'm sure this will make for a good story in the years to come.

For those going beach...went up Grand Rivere yesterday and eeeeeeef you see jellyfish in the water.I dont know how it is elsewhere but they jellyfish(not man-o-war) were endless.

Postby Razkal » June 19th, 2010, 1:10 pm

made a turn up north coast yesterday, caught some small grunt (blehh..), ONE red snapper and two strawberry groupers and one jewfish grouper...

groupers weren't all that big, biggest was one of the strawberries, 9" long. could have been better but i didn't stick around too long..

caught some small (reaaaaally small, like 3" kinda small lol) cavali, kept two for bait and caught the groupers using that...caught the small cavali using pieces of a cigarette pack foil and tiny hooks lol...

got two ridiculous bites that took off with line but apparently the hook was too small or didn't set at all.

ryan99tt

Postby ryan99tt » June 19th, 2010, 7:04 pm

where yuh went on d north?

Postby Razkal » June 19th, 2010, 7:15 pm

past maracas bay, down at the bay at the front of Nanan's Waterfront Resort. There's a sign on the main road and then a drive downhill to the bay, normal mission, nothing outta timin'..its about 15 mins drive past maracas.

there's boatmen around the area and contacts posted there as well, apporx. $100/hr and it's worth it once the fish are biting...they're familiar with the close banks.

ryan99tt

Postby ryan99tt » June 19th, 2010, 11:13 pm

u fish from the shore? i lookin for those 2 groupers for my marine predator tank dred...

Postby Razkal » June 19th, 2010, 11:42 pm

ryan99tt wrote:u fish from the shore? i lookin for those 2 groupers for my marine predator tank dred...

well i've fished from the shore there before, the catch is 98% juvenile 100% of the time :|
but the rare catches are good!...i caught the groupers just off shore with meh boatman bredren.

- i'd LOVE to see pics of your predator setup and some info on the actual setup and long term maintenance :)

- you should have posted your want for these two species earlier man!! the two strawberries were alive and well till we came back to shore and were kicking up on ice when i got back to trincity an hour or so later...they'd have definitely made it in my live bait bucket! the jewfish aren't so hardy plus it got hooked badly, damaging its gills a bit...so that cap out in the earlies..

i'll keep your need in mind when next i'm up there in the zone where i caught those

ryan99tt

Postby ryan99tt » June 20th, 2010, 1:04 pm

oh shox man...well next time...

wall

3ne2nr fishermen

Postby wall » June 20th, 2010, 5:45 pm

[
Last edited by wall on June 20th, 2010, 5:45 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby Rooki3 » June 20th, 2010, 7:20 pm

:sick: :sick:

HaRdCoRe_YoUtH

Postby HaRdCoRe_YoUtH » June 20th, 2010, 7:47 pm

wall WTF thats u? That sheit hurts doesnt it? I could imagine! cause i had my share of hooks stuck in my hand but not that size! Thats an artificial..

Worst part is... thats just half the pain....

ryan99tt

Postby ryan99tt » June 20th, 2010, 9:31 pm

dat real knarly but i already had one ah dat...had ah big ass hook gone tru d webbing between my thumb and index finger, right tru...lol...i feel ur pain man...

haydn28

Postby haydn28 » June 20th, 2010, 10:03 pm

sry to sidestep the fishing for 1 post , but does any one knows where sells hollow point pellets ? :)

Postby X_Factor » June 20th, 2010, 10:29 pm

ouch!!
that reminds me the time a spear gun with those 3 pronged tips slipped and went through my fathers palm!!

wall

Postby wall » June 20th, 2010, 10:38 pm

Last edited by wall on June 22nd, 2010, 3:32 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Sabot

Postby Sabot » June 21st, 2010, 7:31 am

haydn28 wrote:sry to sidestep the fishing for 1 post , but does any one knows where sells hollow point pellets ? :)

Jaggernaths on Lower High St. in San Fernando has, or normally has.
Buckshots in Tunapuna also used to sell but good luck in getting them to open the door to let you in :lol:

jsali

Postby jsali » June 21st, 2010, 11:37 am

so anybody went the competition on Saturday?

Postby Razkal » June 21st, 2010, 12:19 pm

I didn't. Reeeeeeeeeally wanted to though, but had family plans for father's day. Hope atleast some guys made it. I think, seeing as we have insider info on the tetron competitions, we should organise a group of tuners and head down chag for the next tourney at the base...what say you?

lancer3

Postby lancer3 » June 21st, 2010, 12:53 pm

manualmx wrote:
haydn28 wrote:sry to sidestep the fishing for 1 post , but does any one knows where sells hollow point pellets ? :)

Jaggernaths on Lower High St. in San Fernando has, or normally has.
Buckshots in Tunapuna also used to sell but good luck in getting them to open the door to let you in :lol:

Got some interceptor at Jaggernaths 2months ago

http://www.bsaguns.co.uk/pellets.php#interceptor