The official tropical weather thread 2017

HSA

Re: The official tropical weather thread 2017

Postby HSA » June 19th, 2017, 9:16 am

Wat allyuh worried for....god is ah trini...

novastar1

Postby novastar1 » June 19th, 2017, 9:20 am

PariaMan wrote:Barbados has discontinued warning

Barbados is the new Trinidad
God iz ah Bajan

uncle sam

Postby uncle sam » June 19th, 2017, 9:26 am

novastar1 wrote:
PariaMan wrote:Barbados has discontinued warning

Barbados is the new Trinidad
God iz ah Bajan

NO! Trini only

Postby hydroep » June 19th, 2017, 10:02 am

A lady tell mih this morning "Trini is a blessed island, is jus' it have the wrong people on it."...:lol:

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » June 19th, 2017, 10:22 am

I agree the system has not been named as yet but it is very sad to see how disorganized we are...Gov't issued tropical storm warning but not one station give details about shelters, who to call if distressed, etc etc...

I just wish this thing pass through good and proper so people would get a wake up call.....right now rowly and he people safe and with not one care in the world about the less fortunate...

Postby bluefete » June 19th, 2017, 10:24 am

Electricity now gone in Champs Fleurs.

Practice for later or what?

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » June 19th, 2017, 10:25 am

#armchairmeteorologist. The rain is only 2 to 4 inches. The wind is not even a depression strength . I really do not think it is going to be that serious

Postby bluefete » June 19th, 2017, 10:29 am

PariaMan wrote:#armchairmeteorologist. The rain is only 2 to 4 inches. The wind is not even a depression strength . I really do not think it is going to be that serious

Let us really, really hope that you are right.

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » June 19th, 2017, 10:30 am

Not a hope the facts state that unless it develops it is not dangerous

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » June 19th, 2017, 10:33 am

Also it is fast moving so the rain will not be for long

bluesclues

Postby bluesclues » June 19th, 2017, 11:00 am

Just looked at live satellite data and it looks like the rains will begin here in the next few hours. Lightly at first and get very heavy into tuesday early morning hours. The storm passing directly over us will create extended period of rain for 5-16hrs straight as the gulf can cause the system to slow down it's westward movement and may linger over west trinidad before moving on. The system has become better organized but chances are it wont reach cyclone status until it is already passing trinidad. Nevertheless 67km winds are breaking the speed limit for open tray vehicles on the highway and those winds may strengthen over the next 24hrs as the system becomes better organised.

Forecast: heavy extended showers and strong winds with a 70% chance of flooding in flood prone areas. Flooding to a smaller extent may also prop up in some unexpected areas.

Postby pugboy » June 19th, 2017, 11:03 am

When is high tide ?
That affects flooding

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » June 19th, 2017, 11:11 am

1000 dollars that it is a flop. NHC says 2 to.5 inches of rain. Stick you hand out at 65 km ph is not hard .The sky will not fall down

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » June 19th, 2017, 11:16 am

PariaMan wrote:Not a hope the facts state that unless it develops it is not dangerous

Are you taking any precautionary actions at all just in case?

novastar1

Postby novastar1 » June 19th, 2017, 11:19 am

PariaMan wrote:1000 dollars that it is a flop. NHC says 2 to.5 inches of rain. Stick you hand out at 65 km ph is not hard .The sky will not fall down

Explain this 65km/hr wind theory to me please

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » June 19th, 2017, 11:20 am

Of course regular stuff. Full tank of gas. Food for at least 3 days. Cash on.hand . Secure around house. But that is normal for hurricane season. But looking at the maps and the projected rains does not seem that bad

bluesclues

Postby bluesclues » June 19th, 2017, 11:22 am

pugboy wrote:When is high tide ?
That affects flooding

High tide is at approximately 12hr intervals. Next hightide is around 12:40pm today and 12:50am tonight/tues-morning.

Postby janfar » June 19th, 2017, 11:24 am

Here's to hoping my neighbor latrine get blow down.

bluesclues

Postby bluesclues » June 19th, 2017, 11:29 am

PariaMan wrote:Of course regular stuff. Full tank of gas. Food for at least 3 days. Cash on.hand . Secure around house. But that is normal for hurricane season. But looking at the maps and the projected rains does not seem that bad

I think it depend where you live and how fortified your location and structures are. Not everyone have ringbeam steel roof. Not everyone build on a high foundation. Not everyone feels secure from abnormal weather.

It not bad at all for me either. Where i am have no flooding, i have 0 risk of water entering my house. The structure is secure enough to withstand a hurricane without problem etc.

Other people will need to set their tv on the high counter tonight just to be safe.

Postby Chimera » June 19th, 2017, 11:31 am

Them groceries mus be ram out today. I wonder if ppl who in mayaro/manzan for the weekend getting out of the area

Postby Chimera » June 19th, 2017, 11:44 am

Hopefully all them big clean up campaigns they had recently...will.ease up things. The farmers gonna get it tho. They done get flood out twice in the last month

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » June 19th, 2017, 11:53 am

novastar1 wrote:
PariaMan wrote:1000 dollars that it is a flop. NHC says 2 to.5 inches of rain. Stick you hand out at 65 km ph is not hard .The sky will not fall down

Stick you had out your vehicle driving at 65 kmph and that is how the hardest breeze in the tropical.disturbance will feel. That's not real hard

novastar1

Postby novastar1 » June 19th, 2017, 11:56 am

PariaMan wrote:
novastar1 wrote:

Stick you had out your vehicle driving at 65 kmph and that is how the hardest breeze in the tropical.disturbance will feel. That's not real hard

Have you ever walked through a gust of wind?
I don't mean just having you hand in it

gencon

Postby gencon » June 19th, 2017, 12:00 pm

Boy the eye of that thing passing right over my house. I just went out the road by some doubles and come back home

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » June 19th, 2017, 12:01 pm

65 kmph is 65 kmph

gencon

Postby gencon » June 19th, 2017, 12:02 pm

Freeport side.

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » June 19th, 2017, 12:07 pm

And that is sustained at 65 kmph
Which will.be stronger than just a gust

silver

Postby silver » June 19th, 2017, 12:26 pm

American cancelled flights today and tomorrow and Caribbean cancelled today's flights

bluesclues

Postby bluesclues » June 19th, 2017, 12:26 pm

Lol

Postby bluefete » June 19th, 2017, 12:34 pm

http://www.accuweather.com/en/hurricane/atlantic

Potential Tropical Cyclone Two approaching the southern Windward Islands; Development likely near the Yucatan by tomorrow
6/19/2017 11:10:00 AM

We are currently monitoring two areas in the Atlantic Basin for development that may both form into tropical cyclones within the next 24 hours.

The first system we are watching is Potential Tropical Cyclone Two which is around 400 miles east-southeast of Trinidad. The system is moving quickly to the west at 23 mph. With this quick movement, the center of this potential tropical cyclone will pass over or near Trinidad tonight.

Potential Tropical Cyclone Two has sustained winds near 40 mph but does not have a complete low-level circulation at this time. Until this forms, it will not be classified as a depression or storm. However, expect the potential cyclone to become a tropical storm later today or tonight at the latest. This system will bring heavy rainfall of 2-4 inches and stronger wind gusts around 50 mph for the southern Windward Islands as it moves through tonight into tomorrow morning. Some property damage, isolated power outages, flash flooding and mudslides are all possible across the southern Windward Islands tonight and tomorrow morning.

As the system moves farther west into the central Caribbean later this week, higher amounts of wind shear should cause the system to weaken and eventually dissipate by the end of the week.