The | Apple Inc.  | Thread - WWDC 2025

mojosodope

Re: The | Apple Inc. | Thread

Postby mojosodope » September 13th, 2012, 9:24 am

regardless of of the naysayers, the phone is sexy, it's an apple product, and it has the hardware to back it up, yeah they're phones on the market with better hardware etc but at the end of the day you know apple is going to come out on top of the sales chart.

another thing, to those saying its a disappointment, what else do you want? nfc? wireless charging? I agree nfc would have made passbook 10x more useful (not locally), wireless charging STILL requires you to plug in the charging pad, and what else was there to want, a better camera? buy a dslr mayne. :rant:
Last edited by mojosodope on September 13th, 2012, 9:28 am, edited 1 time in total.

firstchoicett

Postby firstchoicett » September 13th, 2012, 9:26 am

mojosodope wrote:regardless of of the naysayers, the phone is sexy, it's an apple product, and it has the hardware to back it up, yeah they're phones on the market with better hardware etc but at the end of the day you know apple is going to come out on top of the sales chart.

could not of said it better :-)

Strauss

Postby Strauss » September 13th, 2012, 9:33 am

mojosodope wrote:regardless of of the naysayers, the phone is sexy, it's an apple product, and it has the hardware to back it up, yeah they're phones on the market with better hardware etc but at the end of the day you know apple is going to come out on top of the sales chart.

The individual device is just one piece of the puzzle. It's about, and has always been, the ECOSYSTEM.

An iPhone by itself (or Android) are just good phones. But an iPhone with iCloud, an AppleTV, iMac, iPad in your house... it's just something that can't be truly explained unless you in the ecosystem to appreciate it. The user experience is what keep people coming back.

Not to mention the products LOOK GREAT. As an artist, I can't use a PC because of the crappy aesthetics. The ones that DO look good, resemble Apple or Sony products. Look at even the PS3 and the Xbox in terms of design. It really shows off the industrial design superpowers of Sony.

mojosodope

Postby mojosodope » September 13th, 2012, 9:36 am

well yeah I agree with you there, I have a mac and iCloud works perfectly for me and with 10.8.2 and iOS 6 it fills all the gaps, I've been using Mac osx for the last 4 years and honestly I can't go back to windows, you can achieve some sort of continuity and uniformity with other devices but in most cases you have to install third party apps/services etc and there's no straight forward way to do so. iCloud just simply 'works' at least it has for me.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » September 13th, 2012, 10:10 am

I know someone who got an iPhone 4S two days ago
showed them what the phone can do with AppleTV and they were blown away

now more and more wireless speakers and even car stereos and home receivers are coming with AirPlay built in.

AirPlay FAR exceeds the capabilities of bluetooth

SRASC

Postby SRASC » September 13th, 2012, 10:11 am

Wondering about the factory unlocked iPhone 5 pre-order availability in the US.

Strauss

Postby Strauss » September 13th, 2012, 10:47 am

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:I know someone who got an iPhone 4S two days ago
showed them what the phone can do with AppleTV and they were blown away

now more and more wireless speakers and even car stereos and home receivers are coming with AirPlay built in.

AirPlay FAR exceeds the capabilities of bluetooth

Yea and if you have an Apple Airport Express router... AIRTUNES !!! So your music collection on your Mac can be played to any speakers in your house, via your iPhone in your hand :)

No 3rd party software. No special downloads. Just tap, click.. enjoy.

sentraman

Postby sentraman » September 13th, 2012, 10:51 am

So how much will it cost me to have all this functionality you speak of in my home. Ball park figure since I own none and want this experience.

mojosodope

Postby mojosodope » September 13th, 2012, 10:55 am

SRASC wrote:Wondering about the factory unlocked iPhone 5 pre-order availability in the US.

Called them, no answer but most likely mid-late November like the 4S

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » September 13th, 2012, 11:11 am

sentraman wrote:So how much will it cost me to have all this functionality you speak of in my home. Ball park figure since I own none and want this experience.
depends on what you want

you can get an iPhone 4 or 4S or the new 5 when it starts selling or even a much cheaper iPod touch or even go for an iPad

an AppleTV is US$99

assuming you already have an HDTV at home, that's it.

Postby Stephon. » September 13th, 2012, 11:52 am

Strauss wrote:The more I look at the design and innards, I'm truly blow away by the engineering that went into packing all that crap into something 7mm thick throughout the entire body. Wow !!

The lines are definitely more refined to give a solid, professional and really appeals to the designer in me. Someone who really appreciate the arts and industrial design will understand what I'm talking about.

So happy Apple didn't bring out some brick in your hand. This is how phones should be getting : smaller and smaller. Although I love a large screen, I really can't use anything larger than 4.5inches comfortably.

Would also love to experience the new games on this phone. Of course if you got a large flat screen TV/Apple TV it mirrors wirelessly, so your iPhone/iPad/iPodTouch becomes a controller in your hand.

Wow this was a very depressing read.

Strauss

Postby Strauss » September 13th, 2012, 12:03 pm

Stephon. wrote:
Strauss wrote:The more I look at the design and innards, I'm truly blow away by the engineering that went into packing all that crap into something 7mm thick throughout the entire body. Wow !!

The lines are definitely more refined to give a solid, professional and really appeals to the designer in me. Someone who really appreciate the arts and industrial design will understand what I'm talking about.

So happy Apple didn't bring out some brick in your hand. This is how phones should be getting : smaller and smaller. Although I love a large screen, I really can't use anything larger than 4.5inches comfortably.

Would also love to experience the new games on this phone. Of course if you got a large flat screen TV/Apple TV it mirrors wirelessly, so your iPhone/iPad/iPodTouch becomes a controller in your hand.

Don't appreciate fine art and design I see.
The other hundreds of millions do, however. :wink:

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » September 13th, 2012, 12:03 pm

the Lumia, S III and iPhone 5 are very similar spec wise.
Just the OS is different: Windows Phone, Android and iOS respectively.
It is great to know that consumers have a choice of 3 top phones with 3 different OS platforms to choose from. Choice is good!

What i think is going to make the difference here is the ecosystem.

Apple already has the AppStore and iTunes plus the "works with iPhone / iPod" that tons of 3rd party electronic come with including most new cars.
Then added to that the whole AirPlay thing which is leaps ahead of bluetooth sharing - AirPlay lets you share HD video also (listening to a song or movie on your phone and you show it on your TV with one click with zero setup)
and AirPlay is now being offered on wireless speakers, A/V receivers, car stereos, HDTVs etc

And then there is the tablet market that will create a "larger screen experience" for the phone users.Sure WP will work great with MS Surface, and Galaxy SIII with a Galaxy Tab, but iPad has over 85% of the tablet market and 94% of the corporate tablet market according to Forbes.

The iPhone 4 and 4S already syncs wirelessly to mac or pc without plugging it in.

So with all 3 devices almost the same, the battle will be with the ecosystem that supports the phone.

SRASC

Postby SRASC » September 13th, 2012, 12:08 pm

mojosodope wrote:
SRASC wrote:Wondering about the factory unlocked iPhone 5 pre-order availability in the US.

That is highly disappointing.

dredman1

Postby dredman1 » September 13th, 2012, 12:11 pm

I was somewhat disappointed with the iPhone 5 launch. That's nothing bad against the phone, because almost all of what they brought out was being broadcast in the rumor mill for the last few weeks which I was following, so it's more like being not surprised than disappointed.

But to say that it isn't impressive is incorrect. It is in many aspects. Things like that 8mp camera in such a slim body, as well as approx 2x the speed and processing power as the 4S. Although it's still only a dual core processor, while others like the S3 and HTC come with quad cores (which is a bit of a let down for me personally), the efficiency of iOS combined with the A6 processor should be enough for it to at least keep pace with them (still to be determined first hand though).

Also, the minor hardware features and details that most won't take notice of such as the dedicated dual mics for active noise cancellation and the screen which has the touch-sensing layer built into it rather than as a separate layer, as well as others which aren't really publicized like dual band (2.4 and 5Ghz) wifi connectivity, are very uncommon for a smartphone. Being a techie, I appreciate those things.

The ergonomics, stylish look and superior build quality are some of the things it uses to set it apart, although this is a matter of personal taste. But in the end, it's as Strauss and Duane said:
The individual device is just one piece of the puzzle. It's about, and has always been, the ECOSYSTEM.
I have to admit that I've always admired the iPhone for years, but never got the "urge" to take the plunge to go buy one for myself - never saw the need to pay so much for a phone. Then I bought my wife an iPad2 for her birthday (the 1st Apple device in the house), which I used a couple times and it was way cool, but I was still able to resist the urge to buy the iphone. But then I saw the Airplay and mirroring in action for the first time, and within a couple months I'd bought myself a 4S and the Apple TV. And then with the ability to easily incorporate the phone with the functionality of so many things around your home, office and car via the many apps - it's like crack.

Don't get me wrong - the Galaxy S3 is an amazing phone, and being a techie I personally want one because of it's impressive hardware specs, the vast majority of which are better than the iPhone 5, not to mention that amazing screen. I'd definitely say that, in itself, the S3 is superior to the iPhone 5. That phone is like technology porn for me :lol:

But it also comes down to user preference. I've had the opportunity to use an S3, and have to say that I was a bit taken aback by the Android OS. The features, ability and options available to customize the phone to your taste is almost mind boggling, but it's not as intuitive (personally) as the admittedly simpler iOS. Did I mention though that the screen was amazing? :oops:

All in all the iPhone 5 is still an amazing device, and the Apple quality and total user experience are what has people going back to it. That's the point people are trying to make, which I totally get.

RapToR
Location: Wholesaler & Reseller --- FREE Delivery<--Almost Anywhere!

Postby RapToR » September 13th, 2012, 12:19 pm

just got one of these

SRASC

Postby SRASC » September 13th, 2012, 12:24 pm

SRASC wrote:
mojosodope wrote:

That is highly disappointing.

Unless this article ends up telling the truth
http://www.christianpost.com/news/iphon ... buy-81558/

kg494EJ-1

Postby kg494EJ-1 » September 13th, 2012, 12:36 pm

I have been sitting back and reading this thread for a while now and as someone who lives with both a Samsung Galaxy SIII and iPhone 4s a daily basis along with "ecosystems to support both I appreciate what apple creates and their designs but I find myself constantly going back.

Yes the interface is beautiful and features are plentiful and easy to use but at the end of the day I can't justify why spend more on less, this presentation has not impressed me is it stopping me from purchasing the device,no, apple provides a user experience like no other but the matter of the fact is I will know eventually the glitter will wear off and I will be back same goes for my computers multimedia I stick to my mac, everything else windows/linux.

At the end of the day its the user experience and preference.

mojosodope

Postby mojosodope » September 13th, 2012, 12:41 pm

that article is flawed, $950 for the 32GB?, yeah right. Tomorrow we will know for sure but I strongly disbelieve those quoted prices.

VSI Concepts

Postby VSI Concepts » September 13th, 2012, 12:41 pm

RapToR wrote:just got one of these

iLIKE :)

Postby Stephon. » September 13th, 2012, 12:45 pm

Strauss wrote:
Stephon. wrote:

Don't appreciate fine art and design I see.
The other hundreds of millions do, however. :wink:

I highly doubt all he Guidos and college girls would be buying he iPhone 5 because of the engineering lol. Apple have made themselves known which is smart of them because if you walk in a room full of teenagers and mention the iPhone 5, they would get wet simply because of the name. Apple doesn't even have to try to be different anymore, all they do is play catch up and they still get panties wet when their commercials come on, making their boring phones look way more than it actually is, and making people believe that other phones that are already out there, aren't doing what they are now attempting.

Postby kurpal_v2 » September 13th, 2012, 1:06 pm

IMO

White i5 is epic win

SRASC

Postby SRASC » September 13th, 2012, 1:14 pm

mojosodope wrote:that article is flawed, $950 for the 32GB?, yeah right. Tomorrow we will know for sure but I strongly disbelieve those quoted prices.

I agree that the prices are steeper than they would eventually be. When the iPhone 4S was made available in the US factory unlocked it was $649 at minimum.
I saw that the Canadian price increased by $50 to $699 so if anything the US price may also increase to $699. Of course you would have to add whatever taxes to that cost to get the total.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » September 13th, 2012, 1:38 pm

Stephon. wrote:I highly doubt all he Guidos and college girls would be buying he iPhone 5 because of the engineering lol. Apple have made themselves known which is smart of them because if you walk in a room full of teenagers and mention the iPhone 5, they would get wet simply because of the name. Apple doesn't even have to try to be different anymore, all they do is play catch up and they still get panties wet when their commercials come on, making their boring phones look way more than it actually is, and making people believe that other phones that are already out there, aren't doing what they are now attempting.
which apparently is also why YOU keep posting in here :lol:

Jade_Inc.

Postby Jade_Inc. » September 13th, 2012, 1:51 pm

VISHALL wrote:

iLIKE :)

dat wicked! ah love it

Postby pete » September 13th, 2012, 2:04 pm

Another thing that would be nice in iOS is a Swype keyboard. now that I have gotten accustomed to it I really can't go back to touch typing on a phone.

With Allshare and a smart TV you don't need to configure or install anything to stream movies wirelessly to your TV either. Granted those TVs are expensive now, they should not be for long. While companies have made components compatible for IPhones etc, due to the popularity of Android you should start seeing more of the same for Samsung devices soon.

Postby Stephon. » September 13th, 2012, 2:12 pm

Stephon. wrote:I highly doubt all he Guidos and college girls would be buying he iPhone 5 because of the engineering lol. Apple have made themselves known which is smart of them because if you walk in a room full of teenagers and mention the iPhone 5, they would get wet simply because of the name. Apple doesn't even have to try to be different anymore, all they do is play catch up and they still get panties wet when their commercials come on, making their boring phones look way more than it actually is, and making people believe that other phones that are already out there, aren't doing what they are now attempting.
I have no response to this.

Well its not like I am an apple hater. I always thought that they set the bar for other phones in the past, but when people pretend that apple is still ahead of the competition, is when I need to show the bigger picture and not what apple wants everyone to see.

Postby M_2NR » September 13th, 2012, 3:00 pm

Code: Select all

[img]https://fbcdn-sphotos-g-a.akamaihd.net/hphotos-ak-ash4/260174_10152102903010302_287071340_n.jpg[/img]

[img]https://fbcdn-sphotos-b-a.akamaihd.net/hphotos-ak-ash4/227834_10152102902000302_372955745_n.jpg[/img]

[img]https://fbcdn-sphotos-a-a.akamaihd.net/hphotos-ak-ash4/465113_10152102899835302_1176235880_o.jpg[/img]

Good for when yuh taking a... shhh :lol:

triniangie

Postby triniangie » September 13th, 2012, 3:04 pm

German court backs Apple in patent fight with Motorola

(Reuters) - A court in Munich ruled on Thursday that Motorola Mobility, owned by Google Inc, had infringed an Apple Inc patent and ordered that all tablets and smartphones containing the technology be recalled.

Judge Peter Guntz said Motorola had infringed Apple's "overscroll bounce" technology, which enables users to move documents over the screen of their device and let them bounce back to the centre after releasing their fingers.

A spokeswoman for the court said the ruling was not likely to have an immediate impact as Apple would have to specifically request a ban on the product and Motorola could also appeal against the ruling.

Apple and Google did not immediately reply to requests for a comment on the ruling.

Google bought lossmaking Motorola Mobility for $12.5 billion last year, in its largest acquisition ever, aiming to use the company's patents to fend off legal attacks on its Android mobile platform and expand beyond its software business.

Other technology companies have also invested billions of dollars in buying up patent portfolios that they can use against rivals and have also ploughed money into litigation in the United States and Europe.

Last month Apple scored a landmark legal victory over Samsung Electronics Co Ltd when a U.S. jury found the Korean company had copied critical features of the iPhone and iPad and awarded Apple $1.05 billion in damages.

Germany has become a major battleground in the global patent war between makers of mobile phones, tablet computer devices and their operating software, as court actions there have proved to be relatively cheap and speedier than in other jurisdictions.

http://www.reuters.com/article/2012/09/ ... 2W20120913

Bezman

Postby Bezman » September 13th, 2012, 3:50 pm

after actually watching the keynote and not just photos and excerpts from the live blog, i must say that i am intrigued a little..

The features i personally wanted to see (in no particular order):

1) Homescreen widgets (for weather, twitter and facebook)
- But I see why apple has not bothered with this, as you can easily swipe down and bring up dashboard and access updates from these apps. but it would be nice to see time, date and weather all on once screen next to some of my most used apps.
2) Themes.. this dates back to the days of jailbreaking, Summberboard, Winterboard etc.. I just wanna customize my icons etc..
3) Favorites/Speed Dial folder.. I dont know how may of you remember Stacks for jailbroken iPhones, but i was able to create custom speed dial stacks for my favorites and could access them from the homescreen.. was really cool and useful ( i know some are just going to say do this - http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wC5jh66i_j0 )
4) Custom Dashboard. I would like to change the info displayed here, I would love to replace weather with a surf report (or twitter feed or whatever from your fav app), also a richer facebook and instagram feed in dashboard, showing photos, like button etc..

and lots of other things i wanted to see, but cant come to mind right now... most off all the software is what makes Apple products stand out, along with impecable build quality, holding a S3 in my hand yesterday i was reminded how plastic it felt. reminded me of my old 3GS... dont like that.. i am sure the new iPhone 5 feels light and well built like all previous products..

The S3 size... this is a big jumbie for me, whenever i put it in my pocked i cringe.. and i am a one handed texter/phone user, the S3 is hard to type with one hand using your thumb without moving the phone in your hand..

what i like about the S3 is what i also hate about it. I love the customization of the homescreen and os, but i hate that sometimes it looks like the OS was designed in corel draw.. so all in all, the new iphone 5 is growing on me and even though up to yesterday i was about to go get a S3, i think I wanna wait till i hold the iPhone5 in my hand on iOS 6 and see how i like it..