.::The Official General Election 2015 Thread::.

Which major party will you be voting for in G.E. 2015?

Poll ended at April 9th, 2014, 7:52 pm

People's National Movement
26%
People's Partnership
53%
Independent Liberal Party
2%
Neither/Abstain
20%

Total votes: 388

Re: .::The Official General Election 2015 Thread::.

Postby UML » September 18th, 2015, 8:37 pm

1442623042476.jpg

Postby shogun » September 18th, 2015, 8:41 pm

The UNC really on a mission to alienate themselves into oblivion.

Postby RASC » September 18th, 2015, 8:49 pm

UNC on a suicide mission!

Postby Habit7 » September 18th, 2015, 9:02 pm

When UNC was in govt they lost the St. Joseph by-election, they lost the St. Joseph general elections, now they in opposition they still think they have a chance?

Postby K74T » September 18th, 2015, 9:04 pm

They're blinded by "faith".

Sanctifier

Postby Sanctifier » September 18th, 2015, 9:12 pm

^ ^ ^ @ UML..... YAWN!!!...
RASC wrote:UNC on a suicide mission!
Nope!... Just a smoke screen for Kamla to avoid "The Night of the Long Knives" before the next UNC internal election.
That will be a fitting end for trying this asinine move to pervert the election results!... :deadhorse:

When Kamla loses 2016 Local Gov't Election (again); "Coonilal" will be in his glee for UNC internal election!
Same thing happened to Panday... & by the same people too!... :evilbat:
"Karma iz ah b!tch!"... ent, Kamla? :drinking: ... :lol:

Postby The_Honourable » September 18th, 2015, 9:21 pm

The UNC has been granted leave to challenge the September 7th elections in 6 marginal constituencies. The United National Congress officially filed their "Election Petition" tonight at the High Courth before Judge Mira Dean Armorer. The UNC is challenging election results in the marginals of: St Joseph, Tunapuna, La Horquetta/Talparo, Toco/Sangre Grande, Moruga/Tableland and San Fernando West.

Postby The_Honourable » September 18th, 2015, 9:38 pm

Although by-elections could be called in 9 months to a year, if it goes to the court of appeal, that might take another year (i stand corrected). That would fall around the 2 1/2 year mark or "mid-term" where universally, there is a dip in government popularity. So we might see by-elections in 2017.

Dr. Rowley and the PNM have to be careful. No "mis-stepping" like the PP, and then we have the world economy on fragile ground. If decisions are made that would hurt the citizens pocket in any way (for the greater good or for bad), best believe he will get the shaft and eternally vilified like Robinson if the UNC get their way.

antlind

Postby antlind » September 18th, 2015, 9:40 pm

Why Kams and her cabal don't accept the results. Give the PNM a chance to run the country without all these distractions.

Postby Habit7 » September 18th, 2015, 10:12 pm

I guess this was before they realized they lost 11 seats

Lee: Polling stations open late
By Richardson Dhalai Tuesday, September 8 2015

Claiming two polling stations within the Pointe-a-Pierre constituency had not opened at the scheduled 6 am time, UNC Pointe-a-Pierre candidate David Lee wrote the Elections and Boundaries Commission, (EBC), requesting that both stations be granted an extension to allow voters to be able to cast their ballots.

Coincidentally, the EBC did just that not because of Lee’s complaint but because heavy afternoon showers delayed many voters across the country and the commission allowed votes to be cast up until 7 pm.

However, earlier yesterday, Lee, speaking at his Paraiso compound, Claxton Bay offices, said the letter had been drafted by his election agent Nyree Alfonso and sent to EBC chairman Dr Norbert Masson and returning officer, Hubert Ramnarine.

“We had a couple of hiccups this morning about 6 o’clock, two issues, one a polling division didn’t open until 6.30am and then the other one was an issue about a ballot box, and the keys they didn’t bring the keys to open the ballot box, so we wrote a letter to the returning officer about those two issues,” Lee said.

The polling divisions are are the Union Claxton Bay Secondary School and the Pointea- Pierre Government School respectively.

He said another issue which developed was regarding one of their sub agents who was not allowed onto the polling station compound.

“They weren’t allowing our sub agent to enter one of the polling divisions because there was a miscommunication about the rule of a sub agent being allowed to enter a polling divisions. They were assuming it was 10 minutes for the entire day but is 10 minutes at a time, his role is just to go in and collect the information and come out,” Lee explained.

Lee said he had cast his ballot at 6.15 am at Maple Leaf School in Petit Valley saying the process was “normal” expressed confidence that the UNC would recapture the Pointe-a- Pierre constituency.

“We feel very confident, the numbers are very strong at this point in time, the numbers appear to be a very high turnout out so far, we’ll wait and see,” he added.

http://www.newsday.co.tt/politics/0,216740.html

eurotuner

Postby eurotuner » September 19th, 2015, 12:02 am

Smh, ill vote against em just for wasting my time to go BACK and vote.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » September 19th, 2015, 12:08 am

meccalli wrote:Jump high or low, the need for an imminent, efficient mass transit system is a daily reality and unfortunately, non existent. The sooner that plans begin to manifest into work, the better..cuz i hate driving lol.

For far too long people have been suffering in traffic, pushing down old people pulling out knife and stabbing people in city gate just to get into a maxi taxi only to hear the driver shout at them because they will damage the door trying to get in.
Kamla and her Cabal will NOT stop this rapid rail dream from becoming a reality. I don't see how anybody would vote them back in.
Last edited by EFFECTIC DESIGNS on September 19th, 2015, 12:31 am, edited 2 times in total.

Postby j.o.e » September 19th, 2015, 1:10 am

KPB is going to further alienate the party from the country. Even supporters don't think she should contest the result. People just want to move on.

Postby RASC » September 19th, 2015, 2:07 am

First they blamed Rodney Charles,now I wonder who they're gonna blame?

UNC legal team? Ramlogan? Lalla? Moonilal?

Everyone else EXCEPT kamala! Watch and see the longer this drags on-the more distance right thinking people would want to have from that party.

Lance

Postby Lance » September 19th, 2015, 5:15 am

Imagine the cloud of unjustified uncertainty this brings to investor confidence.

Postby pugboy » September 19th, 2015, 5:26 am

they probably hoping that the budget will have cuts which will sway voters

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » September 19th, 2015, 6:22 am

j.o.e wrote:KPB is going to further alienate the party from the country. Even supporters don't think she should contest the result. People just want to move on.

I don't know why she insists on doing this but I suspect its really the cabal and not her. Its long been known that the cabal is the ones running the UNC and they control Kamla like a puppet. She only worked 3 days a week, was never informed, had no clue what was going on in her own party.

I have defended the lady time and time again even here on this site, but really wrong is wrong. The people are just fedup of her and the cabal, people want to dream big not dream box drains. we are close very close to a long overdue railway. We do not want to spend $60 billion on box drains again.

Daran

Postby Daran » September 19th, 2015, 6:23 am

If these by elections are held in 9 months expect pnm to lose most.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » September 19th, 2015, 6:31 am

Daran wrote:If these by elections are held in 9 months expect pnm to lose most.

doubt it. The best thing honestly is for Kamla and the Cabal to take a rest and just let the PNM run the country so we can see if they really will deliver or if they were on sheit, only time will tell. UNC had their opportunity and they screwed up big time.

But besides that Daran ask yourself this, do you seriously want to see or hear from Moonilal and Rambachan again? I don't think anyone wants to except maybe 50 people who profited big time.

Trinispougla

Postby Trinispougla » September 19th, 2015, 6:45 am

Firstly, this is a simply an allowance for the UNC to fight their case. Secondly even if the ebc went outside its remit, it isn't enough to annul the election in those seats. Under sec 35 rep of the people act, the election cannot be cancelled on that basis. They would have to prove before the courts that they were ahead at 6pm. They can't use exit polls because those are illegal here. To prove that is the difficult part

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » September 19th, 2015, 7:28 am

Which report you didn't read to come up with this opinion?

Postby shogun » September 19th, 2015, 7:33 am

You think that the average voter that is concerned about putting food on their tables, avoiding being a crime statistic and hoping for a solution to the traffic problem won't take retribution against an administration that is more concerned with holding on to office\power, in the face of all the opposition throughout the country, even within their own camp, and distracting and dragging the country through more anxiety?. They better hope they don't end up with less leverage than they have now. Elections are over. It's time to let the country move on and heal from the wounds of the last election season.

Postby Habit7 » September 19th, 2015, 8:05 am

If the UNC take this 5 years to sit back and build their party they stand a chance of returning to power in 2020

But if they go down this path of nastiness again and lose again, and lose in Local Govt Elections they are basically handing the PNM 2 terms.

No bye election can turn the tide of Sando West, Tunapuna and Toco/Sangre Grande.

Postby desifemlove » September 19th, 2015, 8:48 am

people never lie to pollsters....and people still in voting booths at 6pm....cool story, Kams..

Postby desifemlove » September 19th, 2015, 8:51 am

people never lie to pollsters....and people still in voting booths at 6pm....cool story, Kams..

EmilioA

Postby EmilioA » September 19th, 2015, 10:01 am

Habit7 wrote:What govt service is still only located in POS and causing everyone to go there? Since decentralisation is supposed to solve our problems.

A lot of Govt services have limited access.
Eg High Court is either POS or San Fernando,
All them agencies like NIPDEC, EFCL, NIDCO, EMA, is only POS or San Fernando.
If you want access drugs from the State half the time MT Hope out of stock and is either POS or San Fernando GH you have to go,
I gone Passport office in Chag and they send me to POS,
I gone Planning Division in Tunapuna and they send me to POS.
I have to go POS to see about my parents pensions.

Ideally there should be 6 -13 Full services locations. At least POS, Tunapuna, Arima, Chaguanas, San Fernando and Point Fortin . Each of those areas would have a catchment area of 200,000 citizens

If possible also --Diego Martin, San Juan , Couva, Princes Town, Penal, Sangre Grande and Rio Claro to reduce the catchment areas to 100,000. (Less for Rio Claro)

And of course the biggest reason people go POS--jobs. If everyone's HQ is in POS then thats where a lot of the jobs will be .

Postby wagonrunner » September 19th, 2015, 10:19 am

Postby Habit7 » September 19th, 2015, 11:03 am

EmilioA wrote:
Habit7 wrote:What govt service is still only located in POS and causing everyone to go there? Since decentralisation is supposed to solve our problems.

If you want access drugs from the State half the time MT Hope out of stock and is either POS or San Fernando GH you have to go,

Ideally there should be 6 -13 Full services locations. At least POS, Tunapuna, Arima, Chaguanas, San Fernando and Point Fortin . Each of those areas would have a catchment area of 200,000 citizens

If possible also --Diego Martin, San Juan , Couva, Princes Town, Penal, Sangre Grande and Rio Claro to reduce the catchment areas to 100,000. (Less for Rio Claro)

And of course the biggest reason people go POS--jobs. If everyone's HQ is in POS then thats where a lot of the jobs will be .

Well what you are saying is that there should be an improvement of efficiency of the current offices outside the capital. Because we are surely not in lack of services outside the capital.

EmilioA

Postby EmilioA » September 19th, 2015, 11:19 am

Habit7 wrote:
EmilioA wrote:

Well what you are saying is that there should be an improvement of efficiency of the current offices outside the capital. Because we are surely not in lack of services outside the capital.

How many Govt services are available outside POS and San Fernando ?

bluesclues

Postby bluesclues » September 19th, 2015, 11:51 am

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:

doubt it. The best thing honestly is for Kamla and the Cabal to take a rest and just let the PNM run the country so we can see if they really will deliver or if they were on sheit, only time will tell. UNC had their opportunity and they screwed up big time.

But besides that Daran ask yourself this, do you seriously want to see or hear from Moonilal and Rambachan again? I don't think anyone wants to except maybe 50 people who profited big time.

theres very little room for doubt. with the instant upsurge in crime. if pnm dont get a handle on it they could get evacuated quite quickly. but i believe ppl will vote ilp. not unc.