.::The Official General Election 2015 Thread::.

Which major party will you be voting for in G.E. 2015?

Poll ended at April 9th, 2014, 7:52 pm

People's National Movement
26%
People's Partnership
53%
Independent Liberal Party
2%
Neither/Abstain
20%

Total votes: 388

Re: .::The Official General Election 2015 Thread::.

Postby rfari » September 15th, 2015, 7:27 pm

Ting to close this election chapter. Well said fellas

Postby shogun » September 15th, 2015, 8:08 pm

Raffique Shah wrote: "And on Election Day, UNC bloggers wrote of “exit polls” showing the coalition having a “commanding lead.” Really? Who conducted this US-style exercise, circus clown Rodney Charles?

Maybe it was he who had Kamla Persad-Bissessar saying that her party was leading at six o’clock but losing at seven!

Off with his head, Kamla: he made you look delusional in defeat."

Raffique went all in. :lol:

nutty4u2c

Postby nutty4u2c » September 15th, 2015, 11:29 pm

desifemlove wrote:PNM no better than UNC.

But PNM winning both Tobago seats, and ALL of North Trinidad, bar perhaps Prakass's seat. And Sando West, Pointe a Pierre and MAYBE Rio Claro/Mayaro (I cyah see it, but it been marginal for some time).

So PNM to me getting 23 perhaps 24 seats. COP 1, UNC 16/17, TOP 0. ILP 1 (cyah see he losing dat seat, he's a God for all he do for dey..)

Looking back this guy had it dead to right. Yuh good boy

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » September 15th, 2015, 11:32 pm

nutty4u2c wrote:
desifemlove wrote:PNM no better than UNC.

But PNM winning both Tobago seats, and ALL of North Trinidad, bar perhaps Prakass's seat. And Sando West, Pointe a Pierre and MAYBE Rio Claro/Mayaro (I cyah see it, but it been marginal for some time).

So PNM to me getting 23 perhaps 24 seats. COP 1, UNC 16/17, TOP 0. ILP 1 (cyah see he losing dat seat, he's a God for all he do for dey..)

Looking back this guy had it dead to right. Yuh good boy

A broken clock is right twice a day.

eitech

Postby eitech » September 16th, 2015, 1:15 am

ImageUploadedByTriniTuner1442382230.738114.jpg

Postby RASC » September 16th, 2015, 5:19 am

After all of this the blame rests squarely on the shoulders of KAMALA.
She is the leader, she is the one in charge and the buck stops with her.
I am and tired of her deflecting blame, others deflecting blame and most importantly her cult like deity worship whereby she can do no wrong-she is not leadership material-she cannot control her team and her judgement is severely lacking!

Postby De Dragon » September 16th, 2015, 6:36 am

RASC wrote:After all of this the blame rests squarely on the shoulders of KAMALA.
She is the leader, she is the one in charge and the buck stops with her.
I am and tired of her deflecting blame, others deflecting blame and most importantly her cult like deity worship whereby she can do no wrong-she is not leadership material-she cannot control her team and her judgement is severely lacking!

Do you deliberately misspell the former PM's name?

Postby sMASH » September 16th, 2015, 7:17 am

Trying to avoid lawsuit.

Btw, talk about blurring party and government lines: this is PNM country. Break out the balisier ties.

Postby RASC » September 16th, 2015, 8:03 am

Nothing wrong with the tie. Embrace it & Embrace life.

Sanctifier

Postby Sanctifier » September 16th, 2015, 8:47 am

^ ^ ^ Before another smoke screen starts and the Image flows...
It might help to remember that Dr Rowley was NOT in favour of wearing the "Baliser tie" in Parliament.
I don't remember him using it during the campaign either.
Last edited by Sanctifier on September 16th, 2015, 5:43 pm, edited 2 times in total.

Postby RASC » September 16th, 2015, 8:49 am

Why are you bothering to answer them :lol:

Postby sMASH » September 16th, 2015, 4:15 pm

I did not reference rowley.

Sanctifier

Postby Sanctifier » September 16th, 2015, 5:10 pm

RASC wrote:Why are you bothering to answer them :lol:
^ ^ ^ Maybe because it's not about "US ... vs. THEM".
Maybe because the only thing that really matters... is the TRUTH!

Today is the 16/09 and the election was TEN days ago... Time to fix the problems that face us all.

Yup, I voted PMN... but I'm NOT defined by my political allegiance.
I leave that choice to my common sense when election time comes around.

For those who really need to define my "race"... it's "the human race"... & I am a Trinbagonian, a Father (and a 2nr :wink:)
IMHO nothing else matters. 'Nuff said!

Postby Redman » September 16th, 2015, 6:27 pm

http://trinidadexpress.com/20150916/new ... -pm-rowley

Former Prime Minister Kamla Persad-Bissessar yesterday noted criticism about her delay in congratulating Prime Minister Dr Keith Rowley on his election victory last Monday, saying she could not recall not doing it.
Persad-Bissessar had failed to congratulate Rowley while delivering her concession speech at her Penal constituency office on election night, prompting heavy criticism from the public.

DAFUQ :|

Postby RASC » September 16th, 2015, 6:59 pm

"I do not recall, I will be seeking council on this issue and I shall be advised accordingly"-Kamala

bluesclues

Postby bluesclues » September 16th, 2015, 7:33 pm

Postby sMASH » September 17th, 2015, 7:55 am

:roll::grin:

Postby Morpheus » September 17th, 2015, 9:26 am

Redman wrote:http://trinidadexpress.com/20150916/news/kamla-cant-recall-not-congratulating-pm-rowley

Former Prime Minister Kamla Persad-Bissessar yesterday noted criticism about her delay in congratulating Prime Minister Dr Keith Rowley on his election victory last Monday, saying she could not recall not doing it.
Persad-Bissessar had failed to congratulate Rowley while delivering her concession speech at her Penal constituency office on election night, prompting heavy criticism from the public.

DAFUQ :|

LoL really?

Postby Redman » September 17th, 2015, 9:34 am

Like.She practicing her testimony....

b14inb12

Postby b14inb12 » September 18th, 2015, 6:36 am

we need this
train.jpg

Postby pete » September 18th, 2015, 8:23 am

I wouldn't even bother comparing the size of the US or China.

Sanctifier

Postby Sanctifier » September 18th, 2015, 1:28 pm

^ ^ ^ Yes Pete, T&T IS much smaller and that is the problem.... lack of land space & cost of future roads.
The local media recently mentioned that T&T has the 2nd HIGHEST number of cars per capita in the world :!: (Second only to the USA.)
Without a MAJOR intervention, the traffic problem can only be addressed by banning "foreign used" and limiting "new" imports for YEARS... or introducing "Tolls"... Taxes"... or "Car Pooling Fines" etc.

The proposed alternatives of "driving on the shoulder"... or adding "Super Buses" to the existing gridlock... or making an "express middle lane"... or "banning heavy trucks to off-peak hours" are much less effective than adopting a completely separate, MONORAIL (or similar) which DOES NOT ADD to the congestion that now exists.
Sanctifier wrote:IMHO the gridlock can be reduced by the following:
A MONORAIL system (built OVERHEAD to reduce expensive land acquisition issues)... built in phases with IADB low-interest loan (affordability), & owned & operated by a public/"foreign private" joint-venture company (via Gov't Bonds or domestic IPO?) ... & initially maintained by "foreign supplier" in early stages (phased out over specific timeframe.)
That way the IADB loan can be amortised over time while still allowing domestic financial participation...

A combination of "reduced quotas for "foreign-used" imports"...

"Higher taxes on new cars" (not commercials)...

Temporary re-introduction of the Road Tax (to maintain existing road network during this period of low oil revenue.)

It's not perfect, because I'm no expert... but it's a start.
My Image

Postby pete » September 18th, 2015, 4:01 pm

Love the idea.

One thing.

Honolulu Rail Project. The City and County of Honolulu is in the process of building a $5.2 billion elevated rapid-transit line that will cover approximately 20 miles from East Kapolei to Ala Moana Center. The planned route passes through Ewa, Waipahu, Pearl City, Aiea, Kalihi, downtown Honolulu and Kakaako.

I'm not saying that rail can never work here. It would be great but how long will it take to build? We need a solution NOW. So rapid bus transit is something that can be done in the short term. Cut the fuel subsidy and put that money into an account to build the roads/rail and buy the buses. As they become available people will be flocking to use them.

Acquire a stretch of land to run the buses (and eventually the train next to it) and build that road first. In the mean time have bus lanes for them to get around faster than the cars.

Sanctifier

Postby Sanctifier » September 18th, 2015, 4:56 pm

^ ^ ^ Only one problem... Where will the Buses fit?... & more important, even if they institute "an express lane" those buses will still be limited to the speed (or lack thereof) of the surrounding gridlocked traffic.

This is T&T... Unfortunately Trinis are only "disciplined" when they live abroad! You know that the buses will be stuck in the gridlock too.
The Police can't be "everywhere at once"... and there are very few true highways that will have the space for "express lanes" to be effective.

They'll attempt lesser options because "something must be done!"... but IMHO the sooner the better for a Monorail.
pete wrote:...I'm not saying that rail can never work here. It would be great but how long will it take to build? We need a solution NOW. So rapid bus transit is something that can be done in the short term. Cut the fuel subsidy and put that money into an account to build the roads/rail and buy the buses. As they become available people will be flocking to use them.

Acquire a stretch of land to run the buses (and eventually the train next to it) and build that road first. In the mean time have bus lanes for them to get around faster than the cars.
fuel subsidy... That's much lower, now that oil prices are down the toilet.
Premium Unleaded is pretty close to "zero"... Diesel is the "killer"... but higher transport costs will have a negative impact on the cost of living. :roll:

Acquire a stretch of land to run the buses... There should be NO EXCESSIVE land acquisition with a Monorail.
Most of the infrastructure will be OVERHEAD... there will be a much reduced "need" for a "dedicated road system" (or ground-level train-line) as well.
My Image
Last edited by Sanctifier on September 18th, 2015, 5:11 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby Morpheus » September 18th, 2015, 5:01 pm

Mankind will be "taking ah chance" on the bus lane.
No police in sight so why obey simple rules?

/Trini mentality

Postby janfar » September 18th, 2015, 5:39 pm

Take a chance?

Caught on bus lane. $10000 and 3 month suspension on license.

Institute a toll on the use of the highway and see how fast people will start taking the bus.

Sanctifier

Postby Sanctifier » September 18th, 2015, 5:57 pm

^ ^ ^ Sounds good... for most of us... but as I said, this is T&T. There are HUGH fines for driving drunk right now...

In spite of that, recently quite a few idiots with suspended licences were still driving... and driving blind drunk again too.

Yup, one more Court case... and one more idiot who will totally ignore the Law anyway.
So I don't think that big fines will work any better this time around either.

BTW if the "opposition" already complains about the cost of a "Rapid Rail"... then ADDING unnecessary costs for interim roads for buses & future "ground level" train-lines will only inflate an already expensive mega-project. Hence my suggestion of an overhead Monorail... for (hopefully) lower costs in the long term.

My Image

Postby Redman » September 18th, 2015, 6:06 pm

Seems that the problem is that we can't wait on the rail...

Reduce the need for so many people to be on the road at the same time.

Decentralize.....and I mean everywhere...

Better schools outside the population centers.
Govt services online and distributed
Water taxi expansion
Flexi time
Better bus service.
Car pooling

If we want a different result ...try something different.

Postby Habit7 » September 18th, 2015, 6:50 pm

What govt service is still only located in POS and causing everyone to go there? Since decentralisation is supposed to solve our problems.

Postby meccalli » September 18th, 2015, 7:08 pm

Jump high or low, the need for an imminent, efficient mass transit system is a daily reality and unfortunately, non existent. The sooner that plans begin to manifest into work, the better..cuz i hate driving lol.