COVID-19 in Trinidad & Tobago (Local Updates & Discussions Only)

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 686 cases, 12 deaths, 534 active, 140 discharged in T&T

Postby K74T » August 20th, 2020, 10:09 am

44 new

FB_IMG_1597932515621.jpeg
FB_IMG_1597932519040.jpeg

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 686 cases, 12 deaths, 534 active, 140 discharged in T&T

Postby goalpost » August 20th, 2020, 10:11 am

44 more? wtf.

we real happy in this place, oui.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » August 20th, 2020, 10:14 am

goalpost wrote:44 more? wtf.

You aint see nothing as yet...The real figure very close to 1k. As ive said before, they gradually releasing figure

elec2020

Postby elec2020 » August 20th, 2020, 10:15 am

bluefete wrote:So the problem I initially had with the video is that none of the alleged 1%-ers had on masks. I also was not sure if it was a party before Covid hit - ddi.

But the next shots with the Zessers also showed no one wearing any masks. Take it anyhow you want.

TTPS working. Lock up the 99 % the 1 % can do no wrong. 5 more years of GG (interestingly enough he quiet on this whole issue and what the hell happen with respect to the shooting of the 3 fellas that was caught on video?) Ah boy this back to front banana republic.

tropi_flakes

Postby tropi_flakes » August 20th, 2020, 10:20 am

So basically they got a bunch of confirmed people just sitting home waiting to be collected....
shake d livin wake d dead wrote:

You aint see nothing as yet...The real figure very close to 1k. As ive said before, they gradually releasing figure

Postby The_Honourable » August 20th, 2020, 10:20 am

bluefete wrote:So the problem I initially had with the video is that none of the alleged 1%-ers had on masks. I also was not sure if it was a party before Covid hit - ddi.

But the next shots with the Zessers also showed no one wearing any masks. Take it anyhow you want.

Apparently this is not the actual incident. It was a birthday party that happened over a month ago. Only time you will see syrian/lebanese "partying" is in the guardian.

But yeah... no masks, no social distancing, etc.

ron_28

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 730 cases, 12 deaths, 578 active, 140 discharged in T&T

Postby ron_28 » August 20th, 2020, 10:21 am

we now have more active cases than china ( according to their reports)

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » August 20th, 2020, 10:23 am

tropi_flakes wrote:So basically they got a bunch of confirmed people just sitting home waiting to be collected....

Yes sir

ron_28

Postby ron_28 » August 20th, 2020, 10:24 am

an de-lie-sing was saying some time ago in a press conference that the health sector has 900 and something beds dedicated to dealing with covid patients.

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 730 cases, 12 deaths, 578 active, 140 discharged in T&T

Postby Dizzy28 » August 20th, 2020, 10:27 am

WRT to the 1% vs zessers argument.

The covid law does not cover private events on private property.
Were the 1%ers on public property?

However it doesn't change stupidity could be legal.

Postby goalpost » August 20th, 2020, 10:36 am

ron_28 wrote:we now have more active cases than china ( according to their reports)

which is most likely not true.

Postby pugboy » August 20th, 2020, 10:47 am

that too, but these stuck folks likely due to inefficiencies in the system

tropi_flakes wrote:So basically they got a bunch of confirmed people just sitting home waiting to be collected....

Postby pugboy » August 20th, 2020, 10:48 am

so families of 6 safe

Dizzy28 wrote:WRT to the 1% vs zessers argument.

Postby The_Honourable » August 20th, 2020, 11:03 am

I noticed that whenever TTT on their facebook page share the MoH releases, on the caption they don't state the total number of cases but only "active cases" which is lower.

Postby pete » August 20th, 2020, 11:21 am

Active cases is the most important figure right now..

Postby bluefete » August 20th, 2020, 11:25 am

And people are not paying attention to the info on that 2nd page. It gives you a heads up of what is coming next.

Postby redmanjp » August 20th, 2020, 11:29 am

Dizzy28 wrote:WRT to the 1% vs zessers argument.

once u have members of the public the law applies

https://www.facebook.com/PoliceServiceTT/posts/3500818843270105

August 18th, 2020

MEDIA RELEASE
32 Arrested for breaching Covid-19 Regulations

Thirty-two persons who were gathered at a house in Valsayn and arrested for breach of the Public Health Ordinance Regulations, were all granted station bail in the amount of $500 each and are due to appear at the Tunapuna Magistrates’ Court on Monday 24th August, 2020.

During an anti-crime exercise on Thursday 13th August 2020, police received information which resulted in a party of officers proceeding to a home on C.P Alexander Drive, Valsayn South, at around 11.30pm.

Upon arrival, the party of officers observed several persons gathered inside the location with loud music playing. A count was conducted, which amounted to 32 persons. PC Hall then informed the said persons of the offence committed, namely breach of regulations due to the Covid-19 Pandemic, cautioned them, and with the assistance of the party of officers, arrested the 32 persons and conveyed them to various stations within the Northern Division for safekeeping.

The exercise was co-ordinated by Snr Supt (Ag) Ramkhelawan, ASP Gyan, Insp (Ag) Pitt and supervised by Cpl (Ag) Gordon, Cpl (Ag) Ali, PC Hall and included a party of officers of the Major Operations Unit.

Investigations are continuing.

Corporate Communications Unit
August 18th, 2020

END

From that post:
Trinidad and Tobago Police Service:- Quacy, if you open your private home to members of the public, which will ultimately supersede the initial capacity of the home per its residents, this can now be deemed a public place or public gathering, which breaches the Public Health Regulations.

Postby bluefete » August 20th, 2020, 11:40 am

So when the Zessers cuss way Gary on FB video, he could find them quick quick using the same videos.

But when the 1% videos allegedly come out, he making excuses by saying " we need witnesses not videos".

Well, if people did not think before ...

https://newsday.co.tt/2020/08/19/cop-on ... 2NNwV8gppc

NEWS
CoP on covid party rumours: We need witnesses, not videos

Police Commissioner Gary Griffith said the police cannot be expected to investigate every video alleging violations of the public health regulations, and is urging witnesses of these breaches to come forward and make a formal report to the police.

Speaking with Newsday on Wednesday, Griffith responded to rumours that a recent party down the islands had more than ten guests.

It was alleged that a guest was infected with the coronavirus and it subsequently spread.

He said while videos of parties and other events continued to be circulated on social media, there was no evidence to suggest that these recordings were taken while the current health regulations were in place.

Griffith also said witnesses should be willing to testify if they wanted the police to investigate these reports.

"We only operate using credible information. That video, for all I know, was taken years ago, or months before the public health regulations were put in place. Is it that the police are expected to rush in and charge people on the basis of that video alone?

"If anyone can come forward and confirm that they were there at an event, and there was a violation in the public health regulations, we will act, but the police doesn't have a time machine or a teleporter that can beam us over to the island as it was happening.

"We will act on anyone who violates the public health regulations, regardless of who they are, but there must be witnesses or real-time videos to show that something is in progress, not after-the-fact information."

Griffith also said in the past when events were shut down, the police were able to witness the violations firsthand as they were happening.

Postby pugboy » August 20th, 2020, 11:44 am

church on st behind has underground parking
so nobody can tell how many persons inside
every evening i hear loud singing of surely 10+

msgs to gg go without action

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » August 20th, 2020, 11:47 am

sheit so as of last night I'm starting to show some symptoms, low grade fever, headache, tired AF, no cough yet. But it's early days. The only person I could have gotten this from is my neighbor as she is sick at the moment. But we literally had a chat for 5 mins while we both wore masks. How freaking contagious is this thing?

Are we still backlogged with state testing?

I can self isolate easily and I work from home. But if i do test positive, then I'll be forced to quarentine? I don't think I need to take up that space unless it gets worse. I know space is already short and if others are in more need, then I won't go.

But the rules as it stands is that if you test positive by the state you have to go into quarentine? I assume those rules don't hold if I test privately?

Postby pugboy » August 20th, 2020, 11:51 am

so if u had to go test, you driving yourself ?

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » August 20th, 2020, 11:57 am

pugboy wrote:so if u had to go test, you driving yourself ?

Yes why?

Postby pugboy » August 20th, 2020, 12:17 pm

if somebody taking u
they need to be safe
Dohplaydat wrote:
pugboy wrote:so if u had to go test, you driving yourself ?

Yes why?

Postby redmanjp » August 20th, 2020, 12:32 pm

^ also if someone didn't have a car they would be exposing ppl in a taxi/maxi etc.

once u test +ve u go to the hospital or now for mild cases the step down facilities- they doh want u to stay and infect your family

daring dragoon

Postby daring dragoon » August 20th, 2020, 12:49 pm

Dohplaydat wrote:sheit so as of last night I'm starting to show some symptoms, low grade fever, headache, tired AF, no cough yet. But it's early days. The only person I could have gotten this from is my neighbor as she is sick at the moment. But we literally had a chat for 5 mins while we both wore masks. How freaking contagious is this thing?

I can self isolate easily and I work from home. But if i do test positive, then I'll be forced to quarentine? I don't think I need to take up that space unless it gets worse. I know space is already short and if others are in more need, then I won't go.

But the rules as it stands is that if you test positive by the state you have to go into quarentine? I assume those rules don't hold if I test privately?

you take any medication to see if they symptoms go away? i just had a slight sore throat was feeling feverish but multiple thermometers had it a 36.1 to 36.7 over from sat to wed. i take 2 advil cold an sinus and i normal. i studying if to go an get swabbed or leave it so as i not getting any worst such as high fever,runny nose, loss of smell/taste,vomiting etc.

your neighbor sick with the flu ? she got swabbed? if so she woulda be warned not to mix with anyone. get some immune booster with ginger, cinnamon, orange peel, fever grass and garlic.

Postby redmanjp » August 20th, 2020, 12:54 pm

still get tested- u could infect your family

Postby redmanjp » August 20th, 2020, 12:55 pm

Dohplaydat wrote:

all tests including private are reported to MOH so yes they apply

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » August 20th, 2020, 12:57 pm

I live alone most of the time, self isolation isn't a problem for me. More concerned about my neighbor if she has it. She lives with her elderly mom, brother his wife and their daughter.

Postby pugboy » August 20th, 2020, 12:58 pm

the actual “pickup” varies reportedly
eg could be a good few days

redmanjp wrote:
Dohplaydat wrote:

all tests including private are reported to MOH so yes they apply

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » August 20th, 2020, 1:01 pm

daring dragoon wrote:
Dohplaydat wrote:sheit so as of last night I'm starting to show some symptoms, low grade fever, headache, tired AF, no cough yet. But it's early days. The only person I could have gotten this from is my neighbor as she is sick at the moment. But we literally had a chat for 5 mins while we both wore masks. How freaking contagious is this thing?

you take any medication to see if they symptoms go away? i just had a slight sore throat was feeling feverish but multiple thermometers had it a 36.1 to 36.7 over from sat to wed. i take 2 advil cold an sinus and i normal. i studying if to go an get swabbed or leave it so as i not getting any worst such as high fever,runny nose, loss of smell/taste,vomiting etc.

your neighbor sick with the flu ? she got swabbed? if so she woulda be warned not to mix with anyone. get some immune booster with ginger, cinnamon, orange peel, fever grass and garlic.

She got swapped today, they told her she'll have her results by Monday. Her symptoms are far worse than mine right now.

Right now, I don't feel that bad. The worse thing is just the fatigue and headache.