.::The Official General Election 2015 Thread::.

Which major party will you be voting for in G.E. 2015?

Poll ended at April 9th, 2014, 7:52 pm

People's National Movement
26%
People's Partnership
53%
Independent Liberal Party
2%
Neither/Abstain
20%

Total votes: 388

Re: .::The Official General Election 2015 Thread::.

Postby eliteauto » September 13th, 2015, 9:46 am

took her 6 days to wake up, wonder how long it will take her dotish (yes I said it) supporters on their FB page to realise the tripe they are posting alienates the party even further and all the claims of "inclusiveness" are now proven to be a fallacy. In their loss the party has gone into full core mode with racist, classist utterances targeting Blacks, Syrian, Business, Tobago and anything else they could think of. The PP would do well to accept the results as any attempt to go back to the polls will guarantee an even greater loss

intern

Postby intern » September 13th, 2015, 10:07 am

She is writing this hypocritical letter on FB while her "lawyers" gear up to take EBC to court. What sort of 2-faced action is this?

Postby desifemlove » September 13th, 2015, 11:49 am

http://www.looptt.com/content/former-pm ... -letter-tt even out of office, iz a daily baccahanl wit she...

Postby De Dragon » September 13th, 2015, 2:01 pm

In the very unlikely event of fresh elections, the anger directed at the PP will make them wish for 23-18. Regroup, analyse the stats and try to start to rebuild from now would be the best way forward IMHO. Does anyone know who this 'legal advice' came from?

intern

Postby intern » September 13th, 2015, 5:04 pm

Larry Lalla apparently, as we highlighted above.

Postby K74T » September 13th, 2015, 5:19 pm

ImageUploadedByTriniTuner1442179121.309736.jpg

LOL, these idiots continue to amuse. :lol:

b14inb12

Postby b14inb12 » September 13th, 2015, 6:05 pm

The Hindu Women's Organisation of Trinidad & Tobago
PRESS RELEASE
The Hindu Women’s Organisation of Trinidad and Tobago extends its warmest congratulations to the People’s National Movement and the Honourable Dr. Keith Rowley on their victory in the general elections of 2015 and his subsequent appointment as Prime Minister of Trinidad and Tobago.
Our membership joins the majority of Trinidad and Tobago in wishing our new Prime Minister every success as he strives to address issues of the economy, crime and social cohesion. We look forward to working with the new administration in improving the lives of women and children in our country.
Additionally, we take this opportunity to denounce the many racist and bigoted comments being posted on social media and wish to identify such as primitive and uncivilized behaviour. We issue a call for these discriminatory and segregationist remarks by all the participants in this atrocity to come to an end immediately.
Let us all embrace the aspirations of our national anthem and as patriotic citizens commit to making Trinidad and Tobago a truly unified nation, where every creed and race finds an equal place.
Respectfully submitted by
Brenda Gopeesingh
Vice President
The Hindu Women’s Organisation of T&T
September 11th 2015

Postby De Dragon » September 13th, 2015, 6:22 pm

^^ Well done even if a slight bit tardy.

EmilioA

Postby EmilioA » September 13th, 2015, 8:44 pm

Well in my little superficial analysis of the 2015 numbers I've come to this conclusion. The PP has fallen back to the combined UNC/COP numbers of 2007 , while all those NEW votes they picked up in 2010 instead of returning to the "not voting" column instead shifted to the PNM in this election.

This is an unexpected development. it means that for the first time there really is a swing vote in Trinidad.

Usually the PNM has a stable fixed number of votes and the question is whether the ULF/UNC can ally with the ONR/NAR/COP in the corridor and DAC/NAR/TOP in Tobago to win the election.

Now there is a 5th factor in the election. A swing vote that can move 8-10 seats.

Postby Habit7 » September 13th, 2015, 9:01 pm

Why are my YouTube videos still being interrupted by Vasant Bharath asking for me to vote for him and Kamla?

Postby shogun » September 13th, 2015, 9:10 pm

EmilioA wrote: Now there is a 5th factor in the election. A swing vote that can move 8-10 seats.

Good. I don't want EITHER party to have a base that they can take for granted to win elections. This should help keep the elected office holders' feet to the fire and the public might FINALLY be able to win in this whole equation. Hopefully, as the electorate matures past tribal/party allegiances, we can have even more of the public become 'swing voters'... then all these political beatup cheds will become obsolete.

Postby Dizzy28 » September 13th, 2015, 9:57 pm

So today candidates took to the streets to give thanks to constituents. Ramadhar won in my area and the best he could do is have a mike man pass with a prerecorded message. Alisha Romano who lost walked the street and thanked everyone personally even those who may not voted for her.

Well played PNM. Classy move.

Postby Chimera » September 13th, 2015, 10:27 pm

Avinash singh also had a mike man passing with prerecorded message

Postby dougla_boy » September 14th, 2015, 7:34 am

desifemlove wrote:
bluefete wrote:
RASC wrote:Rambarran should be updating his LinkedIn all now looking ah wuk overseas. Is only a matter of time before the hammer fall.

Terrence Farrell is being lined up for his position.

I hold no love for Jwala(still can't get my own US from UTC) but his position is supposed to be non partisan and free from politics. His contract isn't ending soon and to fire him without solid evidencial reasons means the PNM has interfered where there are not supposed to. There is a fine line between new regime and witchhunt.

what he done wrong? he stood up to Kamla and provided reports that the economy has not grown. i doh see he as a sap/sycophant/eat ah food. and two wrongs don't make a right...jus cos UNC does appoint toadies, PNM shouldn't go down dat root.

fudge man...u done speaketh a lot of filth...and to come an spell filth too? :evil:

Postby Redman » September 14th, 2015, 8:20 am

EmilioA wrote:Well in my little superficial analysis of the 2015 numbers I've come to this conclusion. The PP has fallen back to the combined UNC/COP numbers of 2007 , while all those NEW votes they picked up in 2010 instead of returning to the "not voting" column instead shifted to the PNM in this election.

This is an unexpected development. it means that for the first time there really is a swing vote in Trinidad.

Usually the PNM has a stable fixed number of votes and the question is whether the ULF/UNC can ally with the ONR/NAR/COP in the corridor and DAC/NAR/TOP in Tobago to win the election.

Now there is a 5th factor in the election. A swing vote that can move 8-10 seats.

The swing is obvious in the numbers back to 1986.

Both parties have sufficient hardcore votes to 'own' 30-40% of the electorate,but not enough to take it past the post.
based on the low point for the PNM in 86 and low point for the UNC after the 1st term

What will win the election is the swing vote...that takes the party past the post.

both parties have to worth to attract the additional votes to win...the 'xyz till ah deds'..are dying out

the COP provided that as a continuation of the head they built from 2007 a place for the swing vote to be .....the demographic that voted COP was an issues based,non hardcore, disenfranchised by traditional PNM/UNC dynamic voter who was willing to try something new.

Obviously a COP voter would not be seeking to have a party in POWER per se...but was voting for a core group of principles...that the COP campaign vocalized up to 2010.

Post 2010.

Prakash seemed to fold and began singing for his supper.....IMHO the COP could have stood strong and voted according the core values outlined...yes they might have lost the MINISTERIAL positions...but the MPs would have stayed in their seat....

Instead the CoP began the old process of compromise for political reasons...and lost their demographic's support.

The PNM campaign was the only one that vocalized principles that were attractive to this wandering demographic.

Postby RBphoto » September 14th, 2015, 8:23 am

Just asking, when are local government elections due constitutionally?

Postby rfari » September 14th, 2015, 8:44 am

RBphoto wrote:Just asking, when are local government elections due constitutionally?

Next year

York

Postby York » September 14th, 2015, 8:48 am

Close thread, re-open when it gets to court. Otherwise, discussion on ancient history.

Postby RBphoto » September 14th, 2015, 9:53 am

rfari wrote:
RBphoto wrote:Just asking, when are local government elections due constitutionally?

Next year

Thanks.

York

Postby York » September 14th, 2015, 11:28 am

Kamla tells Rowley congrats
Six days after polls...
Published on Sep 13, 2015, 9:06 pm AST
By Leah Sorias
leah.sorias@trinidadexpress.com

Almost a week after the People's Partnership was defeated at the polls by the People's National Movement (PNM), former prime minister and United National Congress political leader Kamla Persad-Bissessar has congratulated new Prime Minister Dr Keith Rowley.
In a statement posted on her Facebook page yesterday, Persad-Bissessar said it is her hope that Rowley follows her lead, which is to use his office and power “for the betterment of people's lives”.
She noted: “Democracy truly is a precious thing and the result of an election is an expression of the will of the people. All persons who are elected should take those responsibilities very seriously indeed and I congratulate the hundreds of thousands of you who exercised your right to vote and made this possible.
“Again, I take this opportunity to congratulate my opponent Dr Keith Rowley on his victory.”
Persad-Bissessar, who had not previously acknowledged the PNM's success, went on to wish Rowley the best “for the sake of all our people”.
Noting that citizens of this country deserve competent and effective governance, Persad-Bissessar said she hoped the new government will continue the People's Partnership's legacy of performance and delivery.
She noted that she was proud of the many promises delivered during her government's term in office and pointed out that the People's Partnership left Trinidad and Tobago “in a far better position today than what we inherited in 2010”.
“I hope the new Prime Minister will use all that has been achieved thus far, and build on it so as to ensure that development continues,” she said.
“My passion was to serve in public office because I wanted to make a difference — because I want to make a difference and improve lives. As the saying goes, with power comes responsibility. I held office and power and used both for the betterment of people's lives. For the sake of our country, let us all hope Keith Rowley now follows that lead.”
Persad-Bissessar said while her party may not be in power, it will do its best to be patriotic citizens and an effective Opposition.
“Rest assured the United National Congress and the People's Partnership will be back stronger than ever before. In the meantime, we will do our patriotic duty as members of the Opposition and we will prepare a programme that puts people at the centre and our country at the front.”

Postby Redman » September 14th, 2015, 11:51 am

steups
such gracious insincerity

antlind

Postby antlind » September 14th, 2015, 12:29 pm

Redman wrote:steups
such gracious insincerity

Gracious insanity.

EmilioA

Postby EmilioA » September 14th, 2015, 2:39 pm

Redman wrote:
EmilioA wrote:Well in my little superficial analysis of the 2015 numbers I've come to this conclusion. The PP has fallen back to the combined UNC/COP numbers of 2007 , while all those NEW votes they picked up in 2010 instead of returning to the "not voting" column instead shifted to the PNM in this election.

The swing is obvious in the numbers back to 1986.

Both parties have sufficient hardcore votes to 'own' 30-40% of the electorate,but not enough to take it past the post.
based on the low point for the PNM in 86 and low point for the UNC after the 1st term

What will win the election is the swing vote...that takes the party past the post.

both parties have to worth to attract the additional votes to win...the 'xyz till ah deds'..are dying out

the COP provided that as a continuation of the head they built from 2007 a place for the swing vote to be .....the demographic that voted COP was an issues based,non hardcore, disenfranchised by traditional PNM/UNC dynamic voter who was willing to try something new.

Not exactly. The NAR got about 100,000 new voters in 1986. But in 1991 and thereafter those voters stopped voting. So there was no swing vote. It was a question of if the anti PNM could unite against the PNM.

This election is new becuase the 90,000 or so new voters that showed up for the PP in 2010 stayed and voted this rounds for the PNM, instead of not voting.

It is also new becuase from 1981 to 2010 the PNM vote barely shifted. Even in 1986 they were only 20,000 votes less than they got in 1981. In 2010 they actually got slightly more votes than in 2007.

This election is the first time the PNM has actually gained a new block of votes.

Postby The_Honourable » September 14th, 2015, 9:07 pm

Brilliant article by Raffique Shah. Because of its significance, i'm posting it in full.

Projections, not predictions: why the pollsters got it wrong

My last two columns, one titled “Rowley rising” and the other “Lament for a falling leader”, were seen by many of my readers as being almost prophetic in the wake of last Monday’s election results.

Had I made public another document in which I analysed the results in all 41 constituencies from 2007 onwards, using historical data and trends, and projecting the 2015 results—which I circulated only to close friends—I might have been accused of being an “obeahman” or “seer.”

As someone who steers clear of the spiritual world and who certainly does not believe in “obeah”, I must say that my accurate projections—not predictions—were based on a scientific analysis of hard data, on my ability to read the mood of the electorate by monitoring public meetings and similar indicators, by assessing the two contending parties, their strategies, their leaders, and most of all by being objective.

Note well that I had long dismissed Jack Warner and the ILP and wrote as much repeatedly, saying that if Jack polled 1,000 votes anywhere, I’d be surprised.

Essentially, I argued that the election will be won on the results from eight constituencies, ranked by degree of marginality as follows: San Fernando West, Tunapuna, St Joseph, Barataria/San Juan, Mayaro, Pointe-a-Pierre, Moruga/Tableland and Chaguanas East.

La Horquetta/Talparo and Toco/Sangre Grande were never marginal. They were won by the PP in 2010 in an extraordinary general election that saw the coalition ride a wave of popularity, taking other PNM strongholds such as Arima, Lopinot/Bon Air, the two Tobago seats, and scoring very well in all three Diego Martin seats as well as in other similar constituencies.

Following its manifest decline in popularity that showed up in the 2013 local government elections, which pushed the PP back into its base—and even there it was under threat—the UNC, with the COP being a spent force, went into this general election with 14 safe seats, having to fight to win all eight marginal and sub-marginal seats if it were to win the election.

The PNM, on the other hand, having wrested all of the East-West corridor corporations as well as San Fernando from the PP in 2013, now had 19 safe seats, and needed only two to take it over the top.

I saw those two as San Fernando West and Tunapuna, which it won comfortably. Anything beyond that was gravy—which it got in St Joseph (by over 1,500 votes) and Moruga/Tableland (a close 533).

By similar token, the UNC won Barataria/San Juan by 540 votes, and Pointe-a-Pierre and Chaguanas East by approximately 1,500 votes.

One constituency in which I was dead wrong is Mayaro. I thought Clarence Rambharat had done enough, and with the UNC finally naming its candidate on Nomination Day, the PNM stood a good chance of winning. Clearly, the reshuffling of polling divisions before the election benefitted the UNC, which won the seat by 2,900 votes.

Now that the dust has settled—we can forget the UNC’s spurious challenge: if they do get the courts to rule in their favour and the country has to return to the polls, people’s anger will wipe them off the map—there are some questions to be answered.

Among the recognised pollsters, only Louis Bertrand called it right. The well-respected Nigel Henry cannot claim accuracy, having categorised La Horquetta/Talparo and Toco/Grande as marginal on the eve of the election.

Also, to the end, he stuck with 30 percent of the electorate being undecided, and worse, with hours to go, he asked people who they would vote for if the election were called then. I think Nigel needs to study Trinidad’s voters—and Tobago’s (there are differences)—more closely.

Others like Vishnu Bisram (NACTA) and certain analysts and columnists lost all objectivity, calling the election results the way they wanted them, not the way they were seeing them.

If they were bad, UNC apologists were worse. One Kama Maharaj wrote of the “whooping (sic) 147,000-vote licks” the PP put on the PNM in 2010, decreeing there was no way the latter could overcome that.

Political scientist Dr Hamid Ghany saw the PP leading in St Joseph, Tunapuna, Point Fortin and Talparo, with only San Fernando West and Toco too close to call. Is this a case of the “nutty professor?”

And on Election Day, UNC bloggers wrote of “exit polls” showing the coalition having a “commanding lead.” Really? Who conducted this US-style exercise, circus clown Rodney Charles?

Maybe it was he who had Kamla Persad-Bissessar saying that her party was leading at six o’clock but losing at seven!

Off with his head, Kamla: he made you look delusional in defeat.

Source: http://wired868.com/2015/09/14/projecti ... -it-wrong/

Postby Morpheus » September 14th, 2015, 10:20 pm

Shah is a boss.....

supremacy_007

Postby supremacy_007 » September 15th, 2015, 7:43 am

Morpheus wrote:Shah is a boss.....

long time and always..... that's an intelligent man right there....

Postby desifemlove » September 15th, 2015, 7:55 am

http://www.looptt.com/content/san-francique-residents-stage-protest-over-flooding I thought UML and Zoom and company saying all of south fix up by Kams? hahahaaaaaahaha....is this new MP a relation of Dr. Gopeesingh?

Hyperion

Postby Hyperion » September 15th, 2015, 5:23 pm

The_Honourable wrote:Brilliant article by Raffique Shah. Because of its significance, i'm posting it in full.

Projections, not predictions: why the pollsters got it wrong

My last two columns, one titled “Rowley rising” and the other “Lament for a falling leader”, were seen by many of my readers as being almost prophetic in the wake of last Monday’s election results.

Had I made public another document in which I analysed the results in all 41 constituencies from 2007 onwards, using historical data and trends, and projecting the 2015 results—which I circulated only to close friends—I might have been accused of being an “obeahman” or “seer.”

As someone who steers clear of the spiritual world and who certainly does not believe in “obeah”, I must say that my accurate projections—not predictions—were based on a scientific analysis of hard data, on my ability to read the mood of the electorate by monitoring public meetings and similar indicators, by assessing the two contending parties, their strategies, their leaders, and most of all by being objective.

Note well that I had long dismissed Jack Warner and the ILP and wrote as much repeatedly, saying that if Jack polled 1,000 votes anywhere, I’d be surprised.

Essentially, I argued that the election will be won on the results from eight constituencies, ranked by degree of marginality as follows: San Fernando West, Tunapuna, St Joseph, Barataria/San Juan, Mayaro, Pointe-a-Pierre, Moruga/Tableland and Chaguanas East.

La Horquetta/Talparo and Toco/Sangre Grande were never marginal. They were won by the PP in 2010 in an extraordinary general election that saw the coalition ride a wave of popularity, taking other PNM strongholds such as Arima, Lopinot/Bon Air, the two Tobago seats, and scoring very well in all three Diego Martin seats as well as in other similar constituencies.

Following its manifest decline in popularity that showed up in the 2013 local government elections, which pushed the PP back into its base—and even there it was under threat—the UNC, with the COP being a spent force, went into this general election with 14 safe seats, having to fight to win all eight marginal and sub-marginal seats if it were to win the election.

The PNM, on the other hand, having wrested all of the East-West corridor corporations as well as San Fernando from the PP in 2013, now had 19 safe seats, and needed only two to take it over the top.

I saw those two as San Fernando West and Tunapuna, which it won comfortably. Anything beyond that was gravy—which it got in St Joseph (by over 1,500 votes) and Moruga/Tableland (a close 533).

By similar token, the UNC won Barataria/San Juan by 540 votes, and Pointe-a-Pierre and Chaguanas East by approximately 1,500 votes.

One constituency in which I was dead wrong is Mayaro. I thought Clarence Rambharat had done enough, and with the UNC finally naming its candidate on Nomination Day, the PNM stood a good chance of winning. Clearly, the reshuffling of polling divisions before the election benefitted the UNC, which won the seat by 2,900 votes.

Now that the dust has settled—we can forget the UNC’s spurious challenge: if they do get the courts to rule in their favour and the country has to return to the polls, people’s anger will wipe them off the map—there are some questions to be answered.

Among the recognised pollsters, only Louis Bertrand called it right. The well-respected Nigel Henry cannot claim accuracy, having categorised La Horquetta/Talparo and Toco/Grande as marginal on the eve of the election.

Also, to the end, he stuck with 30 percent of the electorate being undecided, and worse, with hours to go, he asked people who they would vote for if the election were called then. I think Nigel needs to study Trinidad’s voters—and Tobago’s (there are differences)—more closely.

Others like Vishnu Bisram (NACTA) and certain analysts and columnists lost all objectivity, calling the election results the way they wanted them, not the way they were seeing them.

If they were bad, UNC apologists were worse. One Kama Maharaj wrote of the “whooping (sic) 147,000-vote licks” the PP put on the PNM in 2010, decreeing there was no way the latter could overcome that.

Political scientist Dr Hamid Ghany saw the PP leading in St Joseph, Tunapuna, Point Fortin and Talparo, with only San Fernando West and Toco too close to call. Is this a case of the “nutty professor?”

And on Election Day, UNC bloggers wrote of “exit polls” showing the coalition having a “commanding lead.” Really? Who conducted this US-style exercise, circus clown Rodney Charles?

Maybe it was he who had Kamla Persad-Bissessar saying that her party was leading at six o’clock but losing at seven!

Off with his head, Kamla: he made you look delusional in defeat.

Source: http://wired868.com/2015/09/14/projecti ... -it-wrong/

He hit the nail on the head when he said that political analysts lost their objectivity, they tried all how to place doubt in the minds of voters in order to swing the election in the UNC's favour. They have lost what little respect they previously had. I watched this NACTA clown on election night correctly predict that the PNM would win, after he saw the trend! captain obvious if ever there was one.

The UNC as a political party did their very best to buy-out and insinuate themselves in every agency and body in this country. They placed their spies in key positions in agencies and then had these cronies hire their supporters at will, to the detriment of employees who would have been hired pre 2010. Never has a government placed so much emphasis on subterfuge and fear to rule. And what they couldn't control they tried to destroy. They blurred the lines totally between political party and government, real tribal mentality. I hope they never see the corridors of power again.

Postby Rory Phoulorie » September 15th, 2015, 5:42 pm

Hyperion wrote:. . . Never has a government placed so much emphasis on subterfuge and fear to rule. And what they couldn't control they tried to destroy. They blurred the lines totally between political party and government, real tribal mentality. I hope they never see the corridors of power again.

Excellent summary!

Postby RASC » September 15th, 2015, 6:30 pm

VERY well spoken^^^