Postby X_Factor » June 29th, 2016, 2:10 pm

1467223753836.jpg

got a few of these today and they are amazing...first time eating it
its a type of pompano rite?

Re: 3ne2nr fishermen

Postby meccalli » June 29th, 2016, 2:27 pm

Yeah, palometa, Trachinotus goodei, I used to catch those down macqueripe, lots on the east coast too down mayaro.

Miktay

Postby Miktay » June 29th, 2016, 2:44 pm

meccalli wrote:Where you living lol? No one is conducting research or collecting data to show the benefits of preserving our gamefish and fishing tourism. As far as tourism is concerned, ripping down mangroves and converting shoreline into hotels, malls and recreational parks are the priority. Our laws have had fishing regulations on size and species limits for years, just not enforced as was speed limits. Just look at what's taking place in Tobago.

Thats what i thought. :(

Anybody ever used one of these? Shimano TLD 25

Thinking of getting one for trolling/banking later this year.

Postby SMc » June 29th, 2016, 2:49 pm

We really lucky to have the variety of fish in TT waters, combination of the reefs, deep clear(ish) water on the North, mangrove for the fry, silt rich Orinoco into the gulf & the Atlantic on the east coast really makes it a real gem.

I travel a bit, and I have yet to see any country that has the variance of the amount of locally caught fish that we do..dont fcuk it up.

ryan99tt

Postby ryan99tt » June 29th, 2016, 3:18 pm

Miktay wrote:
ryan99tt wrote:Try an promote comservstion of tarpon...they are great fighting fish that bring alot of revenue to our country...we are ranked 3rd best tarpon fishery in the world and these fish do take real long to get to those sizes so try an release dem...have alot of better eating fish that you can get...just some words of wisdom...

Not disagreeing but the same arguments are made about game fish in other parts of the world. Hence size, bag, season limits on key species in developed countries 2 prevent over fishing and preserve the fishery.

Do we have any idea how much revenue iz brought in by our local tarpon fishery? ive not seen any stats.

And here u see ah typical trini mentality...fight back instead of trying to learn something that would eventually help in the long term...

mrlantra

Postby mrlantra » June 29th, 2016, 3:54 pm

SMc wrote:We really lucky to have the variety of fish in TT waters, combination of the reefs, deep clear(ish) water on the North, mangrove for the fry, silt rich Orinoco into the gulf & the Atlantic on the east coast really makes it a real gem.

I travel a bit, and I have yet to see any country that has the variance of the amount of locally caught fish that we do..dont fcuk it up.

This is what most people don't understand, we got a good thing and need to protect it not exploit and ruin it.

Postby X_Factor » June 29th, 2016, 4:21 pm

You cant only blame the fishermen
the consumers also need to take their fair share of the blame if they dont buy it the fishermen will know to release it or dont catch them on the whole
many times i see under 2-3lb mahi , barely 2lb king and carite selling like hot bread in the market
and those at that size that really dont taste good!

baigan

Postby baigan » June 29th, 2016, 6:40 pm

As we are on this topic ...why are so many baby sharks caught and eaten? :/
I see tons of people post up pictures of their catch which include several young to juvenile sharks.
Sharks are top-level predators, and have a lower population than other fishes. They produce very few offspring, have slow growth rates, and they mature late in life.
Why not toss them back in when you catch them? Esp the younger ones

Postby Gladiator » June 29th, 2016, 6:49 pm

Glad to see your thinking has changed.... Respect!

ryan99tt wrote:Try an promote comservstion of tarpon...they are great fighting fish that bring alot of revenue to our country...we are ranked 3rd best tarpon fishery in the world and these fish do take real long to get to those sizes so try an release dem...have alot of better eating fish that you can get...just some words of wisdom...

ryan99tt wrote:well guys, here is the long awaited vid for the channel on youtube...check it out, subscribe and like it for more...will be doin ah vid wen i go across tobago in ah few weeks and i wanna do ah gd one wen i charter ah boat for wahoo later on this year...hope u guys enjoy it...

http://www.youtube.com/user/FishingTrin ... ature=mhee

Gladiator wrote:
wraith wrote:Nice vid. but a question. Do most people eat the Tarpon?

Here in grenada it is not really eaten, I have tried it but personally do not like the flesh especially all the bones. It is a great fighting fish though.

Also has anyone tried Jigging for fish in the 150' to 200' range.? Am thinking of getting into it once i can get the boat engine repaired and get a good fish finder.

I am not really a conservationist but I must say, those Tarpons are really small and will not be good to eat (plenty bones). They are good game fish and should be caught and released to get more size... The big ones have plenty meat and I can understand keeping those (80lbs +)

I know a fisherman who caught 11 Tarpon, ranging from 100lbs to 250lbs. Ran out of storage and couldn't give away any so he ended up dumping 7 of them in the cane fields.... A couple months later he and his crew disappeared mysteriously, no boat was ever found till about a year later when a trawler dragged up the wreck. Nature has a way of getting back at you!!!

Usually when we catch we keep only the ones that are 100lbs and over and catch only enough for the family or to share with the village.

ryan99tt wrote:nice snook bro...all the tarpon dat we caught were given away within 2 days and those size tarpon are great size for eating...i dont find there are much bones and anyway any fish that lives in the water for a longer time have higher levels of lead in them, so dey ah little worst to eat...on the other hand, with jigging...i tried once so far with my new jigging tackle and i expect to catch sumthing big wen i go across tobago...dont forget to like and subscribe to my channel on youtube for more vids...

Postby X_Factor » June 29th, 2016, 6:51 pm

most of the time they are caught on long line or nets so they already dead by the time they are pulled in
some species dont get bigger than a a meter or so

lostboys crew

Postby lostboys crew » June 29th, 2016, 7:02 pm

Most sharks average 5 feet to 8 feet especially reef sharks like the black tips and sand tigers. So those lil pups you see the fishermen have are mostly newborn .

Then we also have the big boys like hammer heads and tiger that push 15ft plus . Would not want to hook one of those. My panda hooked a 10footer hammer head by the toco lighthouse but could not bring him up. A fishing boat was passing and they caught it in their net and took it lol.

Postby meccalli » June 29th, 2016, 7:12 pm

The problem isn't killing tarpon, just like any fish, It's about regulating fish that are taken based on their reproductive capacity. Tarpon aren't in shortage in Trinidad, what happens is the shift in population characteristics when a large majority of genetically superior mature fish (trophies) are taken out of the breeding pool in a short space of time. I would prefer to take undersized fish vs fully mature adults, and that's an exaggeration but naturally that's what happens naturally. Young and juvenile fish are more prone to being preyed upon, leaving those that reach maturity to spawn individuals like themselves. Commercial and recreational limits help to manage the strength of the fishery. When guys go out and kill trophy tarpon time after time, you begin noticing that mature fish tend to show trends of diminishing size over time.

Postby meccalli » June 29th, 2016, 7:32 pm

lostboys crew wrote:Most sharks average 5 feet to 8 feet especially reef sharks like the black tips and sand tigers. So those lil pups you see the fishermen have are mostly newborn .

Nah, like xfactor pointed out. Lots of smaller species are what's caught on palang. One species that makes up a large majority is the Caribbean sharpnose, Rhizoprionodon porosus.
"The maximum reported size for the Caribbean Sharpnose Shark is 110 cm ( 43 inches). The average adult size appears to be about 80-89 cm (31.5-35 inches). Both sexes seem to reach maturity at about 65-70 cm (25.6-27.5 inches) in length, and just over 2 years old. The life span is estimated to be about 8-10 years old."

ryan99tt

Postby ryan99tt » June 29th, 2016, 11:16 pm

Gladiator wrote:Glad to see your thinking has changed.... Respect!

ryan99tt wrote:well guys, here is the long awaited vid for the channel on youtube...check it out, subscribe and like it for more...will be doin ah vid wen i go across tobago in ah few weeks and i wanna do ah gd one wen i charter ah boat for wahoo later on this year...hope u guys enjoy it...

Gladiator wrote:
wraith wrote:Nice vid. but a question. Do most people eat the Tarpon?

Here in grenada it is not really eaten, I have tried it but personally do not like the flesh especially all the bones. It is a great fighting fish though.

Also has anyone tried Jigging for fish in the 150' to 200' range.? Am thinking of getting into it once i can get the boat engine repaired and get a good fish finder.

I am not really a conservationist but I must say, those Tarpons are really small and will not be good to eat (plenty bones). They are good game fish and should be caught and released to get more size... The big ones have plenty meat and I can understand keeping those (80lbs +)

I know a fisherman who caught 11 Tarpon, ranging from 100lbs to 250lbs. Ran out of storage and couldn't give away any so he ended up dumping 7 of them in the cane fields.... A couple months later he and his crew disappeared mysteriously, no boat was ever found till about a year later when a trawler dragged up the wreck. Nature has a way of getting back at you!!!

Usually when we catch we keep only the ones that are 100lbs and over and catch only enough for the family or to share with the village.

ryan99tt wrote:nice snook bro...all the tarpon dat we caught were given away within 2 days and those size tarpon are great size for eating...i dont find there are much bones and anyway any fish that lives in the water for a longer time have higher levels of lead in them, so dey ah little worst to eat...on the other hand, with jigging...i tried once so far with my new jigging tackle and i expect to catch sumthing big wen i go across tobago...dont forget to like and subscribe to my channel on youtube for more vids...

Thanks bro...i know inuse to kill tarpon before i actually knew about them...as a angler u learn and try and become better at conserving your fishery...there is a tarpon tournament which i fish that attract teams from all over the world to our waters and that brings alot of income to our country...just a bit of knowledge...

Postby dougla_boy » June 30th, 2016, 9:28 am

as yuh talking about sharks, was the brown one with no teeth are called?

Postby meccalli » June 30th, 2016, 9:49 am

I thinking you're referring to nurse sharks, they have teeth but not conventional shark dentition, more designed for rasping and crushing mollusks and crustaceans.

ryan99tt

Postby ryan99tt » June 30th, 2016, 10:44 am

19lbs kingfish held yesterday evening...

shottaz

Postby shottaz » June 30th, 2016, 11:03 am

Hey..was thinking of going down the islands to do some shore fishing this weekend. ..which island do u guys think would be better to fish from?? Any sweet spots you guys willing to share?? Oh..and does anyone has a link for a boatman that would take hire to drop and pick up??..

Postby SMc » June 30th, 2016, 12:01 pm

They have a fella called Boysie..think his last name is Singh, have not heard any complaints from people that have gone out wit him

Miktay

Postby Miktay » June 30th, 2016, 12:16 pm

ryan99tt wrote:19lbs kingfish held yesterday evening...

A 19lb kingfish and some vat.

Can't go wrong with that. :D

proton17

Postby proton17 » July 2nd, 2016, 6:54 pm

Wat all yuh hold today fellas....

Keshav1738

Postby Keshav1738 » July 2nd, 2016, 7:05 pm

ImageImage

Keshav1738

Postby Keshav1738 » July 2nd, 2016, 7:06 pm

4 koskurub and a gangi

baigan

Postby baigan » July 2nd, 2016, 7:15 pm

Is koskurub the same as nandidae and Polycentrus?

And is that a swamp eel?

Postby meccalli » July 2nd, 2016, 8:31 pm

baigan wrote:Is koskurub the same as nandidae and Polycentrus?

No, Cichlidae.

Keshav1738

Postby Keshav1738 » July 2nd, 2016, 8:45 pm

Koskurub I believe it's a type of cichlid and is known as an acara I think, and yes that's a swamp eel( which we find in drains)

baigan

Postby baigan » July 2nd, 2016, 9:37 pm

Thanks fellas

proton17

Postby proton17 » July 2nd, 2016, 10:11 pm

Keshav, earthworms for bait or wat...

lostboys crew

Postby lostboys crew » July 3rd, 2016, 2:47 am

Best bait for Cuskie is flour dough. When your mammy done knead the flour to make roti just thief a ping pong ball size and u have real bait.

Keshav1738

Postby Keshav1738 » July 3rd, 2016, 4:07 pm

Yeah we use worms, I know somebody with a manure heap nearby where I live, So whenever I have nothing to do I does just go and take up a couple hundred worms. It does last me some months if I feed them properly and maintain their soil moist and keep them in cool places