The GOOGLE | ANDROID Thread

rodfarva

Re: The GOOGLE | ANDROID Thread

Postby rodfarva » April 5th, 2014, 10:47 am

M_2NR wrote:dannnn. keep we informed after a month. I still have my n5 here. battery life got piss poor. I feel i need a full wipe/reflash. (Typical android woes)

Battery Update:
22 h 34m on battery - 66%
SOT 1 HR 45 Mins
(light tapatalk, light chrome, light gaming, light email, watched a music video, 20 mins on kindle, 5 mins of phone calls)

metalgear2095

Postby metalgear2095 » April 5th, 2014, 1:40 pm

rodfarva wrote:
M_2NR wrote:dannnn. keep we informed after a month. I still have my n5 here. battery life got piss poor. I feel i need a full wipe/reflash. (Typical android woes)

Battery Update:
SOT 1 HR 45 Mins
(light tapatalk, light chrome, light gaming, light email, watched a music video, 20 mins on kindle, 5 mins of phone calls)

That's excellent

Postby Trini Hookah » April 5th, 2014, 5:07 pm

Fellas if anyone in here runs or previously used the HydraCore Nirvana kernel...what settings you all ran?

I use interactive/noop or ondemand/noop, anyone recommend anything better?

Postby Ted_v2 » April 5th, 2014, 6:41 pm

Flash player no longer in the app store. Need to manually install thru the website. Got mines working

devon4786

Postby devon4786 » April 5th, 2014, 11:56 pm

Trini Hookah wrote:
devon4786 wrote:
Trini Hookah wrote:
purple_heart77 wrote:
Val wrote:
dman wrote:hi tuners

i have a samsung S2 GT i9100 the phone was working great up till sunday the battery was low and it cut off i charged it and when fully charged i turned it on it came on and said battery low and cut off and has never come on since

i borrowed a battery from a friend and it still didnt turn on but my battery turned on her S2

any ideas on what could be wrong or any reputable place i could carry it to ?

Insert the battery and hold the power button at the same time. You probably have to recalibrate the battery stats.

S2 was the best phone I ever owned, I miss it.

Additionally try power, volume up and center menu button, all three together. If you get it on in recovery mode, flash a custom rom. I would say try Cyanfox for the i9100. Good luck

He would have to flash a safe kernel before he does such. Unless he was on 4.4 before.

Fellas if you need help with any Android questions etc you can also check out my YouTube channel called T3CHSMASH and feel free to hit me up with any questions

Seeing as you started the reviews on YouTube, whats your day to day device, and why? If you dont mind me asking :oops:

Of COURSE not man...my daily device was the HTC one M8 running beanstalk 4.4 kernel...until about a week ago when I upgraded to the Nexus 5...chose it over the M8 for personal reasons...But I get AMAZING performance as well as battery life..using the same beanstalk 4.4 with default kernel for that ROM..I get around 5hrs screen on time on a charge with medium use..3-4hrs screen on time with heavy use...I actually did a video on it you can check it out..what are you using?

devon4786

Postby devon4786 » April 5th, 2014, 11:58 pm

rodfarva wrote:

Battery Update:
SOT 1 HR 45 Mins

Hey man..I run beanstalk 4.4.2 on my nexus 5 and I get reallll good battery life..so if you into flashing and stuff check that ROM out..if u can't find it lemme know I'll leave a link here.

Postby Trini Hookah » April 6th, 2014, 12:00 am

devon4786 wrote:
Trini Hookah wrote:
devon4786 wrote:
Trini Hookah wrote:
purple_heart77 wrote:
Val wrote:
dman wrote:hi tuners

i have a samsung S2 GT i9100 the phone was working great up till sunday the battery was low and it cut off i charged it and when fully charged i turned it on it came on and said battery low and cut off and has never come on since

i borrowed a battery from a friend and it still didnt turn on but my battery turned on her S2

any ideas on what could be wrong or any reputable place i could carry it to ?

Insert the battery and hold the power button at the same time. You probably have to recalibrate the battery stats.

S2 was the best phone I ever owned, I miss it.

Additionally try power, volume up and center menu button, all three together. If you get it on in recovery mode, flash a custom rom. I would say try Cyanfox for the i9100. Good luck

He would have to flash a safe kernel before he does such. Unless he was on 4.4 before.

Fellas if you need help with any Android questions etc you can also check out my YouTube channel called T3CHSMASH and feel free to hit me up with any questions

Seeing as you started the reviews on YouTube, whats your day to day device, and why? If you dont mind me asking :oops:

Of COURSE not man...my daily device was the HTC one M8 running beanstalk 4.4 kernel...until about a week ago when I upgraded to the Nexus 5...chose it over the M8 for personal reasons...But I get AMAZING performance as well as battery life..using the same beanstalk 4.4 with default kernel for that ROM..I get around 5hrs screen on time on a charge with medium use..3-4hrs screen on time with heavy use...I actually did a video on it you can check it out..what are you using?

Back to an N7000 myself, looking at potential upgrade to Note 3 or Z1.

Reason for Xperia: Camera and waterproof
And Note 3: Note capabilities, always appreciated the note line vs regular s3/4

devon4786

Postby devon4786 » April 6th, 2014, 12:01 am

Also is anyone else very disappointed in the sound quality they get from their nexus 5? Let me know..I fixed mine with software..its not PERFECT but much better..and I'm coming from an HTC one so sound quality was HUGE for me

metalgear2095

Postby metalgear2095 » April 6th, 2014, 4:54 am

Coming from an htc one you'd likely be disappointed with anything else. Lol

devon4786

Postby devon4786 » April 6th, 2014, 6:53 am

metalgear2095 wrote:Coming from an htc one you'd likely be disappointed with anything else. Lol

Hahaha true

Postby M_2NR » April 6th, 2014, 2:19 pm

stev wrote:hoss...i ended up getting rid of franco....went back stock!!!
i actually getting better battery on stock. :shock:

yunno i thinking of going stock a lil bit. Unless my dirty flash causing issues.

S_2NR wrote:since you was on iphone i could ask you this..
you prefer an iphone because it just works or android that you have to tinker with to get good battery life, fix issues, etc.
yes, its more customization but you think its worth it coming from apple?
idk if i should make my next phone an iphone and done. yes i like to tinker but after a while when the novelty wears off you just want a stable working device with good battery life and reliability.

for example, ..i had to flash the sheit out my s2 till i was happy with its battery life and acceptable stability balanced with the features i want. i see you and other users here tweaking that nexus 5 to earth and back to get good battery life when the 5s does this by default.

well, this might end up in a rant but here goes.
tl;dr: I on the fence and have been for quite some time.

When I had the HOX and up to the point just before i got the N5 i was ready to jump back for that same reason. Sometimes basic functions would be glitchy. But when I got the N5, I experienced android in another light. As rod said, it's far more stable, fluid, etc. Not iOS-like eh, but good enough. What i really enjoy about android is the fact that when i leave/enter my home it automatically does things. The most i may do is turn on wifi. In iOS I'd have to dig through settings to turn off things at will. Also, share cards and file management; the way android handles them; is much better since any app really can fill the share card list and you can access files from a single area.
The reason why i flashed PA was for the customizable tiles and a few other tweaks. One day I may go back stock, may be when 4.4.3 releases and probably flash a Xposed module (GravityBox) because it will have all of the mods i use. Thing is, it's almost like a jailbroken iOS. The more crap you do, the more unstable it becomes. For instance, I'm using test kernels from Franco and off and on i get issues, thankfully it hasn't affected any important calls. If i had an iPhone, although I am limited in what can/cannot be done, it preserves the user experience, everywhere and any time. And yes, I still am missing apps eg. a pharmacy app, and apps are still ugly. I guess because i have some time still, I play around with an android phone. If i didn't have the time, I may not have. Thing is though, when i travel, I carry and use an iPhone and I still on the fence about that for this year.

and devon, don't bother comparing any device wrt sound to HTC. Don't rely on the Nexus for recording either. You'll be in for a huge disappointment.

rodfarva

Postby rodfarva » April 6th, 2014, 7:45 pm

Battery Update
24% at 3pm this afternoon
54 hours of ontime
about 3 hours SOT
light to moderate use, plus a benchamark, and one firmware flash.
Had to plug in as I didnt want to run out while not at home.
Very happy with the battery life so far
:)

devon4786

Postby devon4786 » April 6th, 2014, 9:18 pm

M_2NR wrote:
stev wrote:hoss...i ended up getting rid of franco....went back stock!!!
i actually getting better battery on stock. :shock:

yunno i thinking of going stock a lil bit. Unless my dirty flash causing issues.

S_2NR wrote:since you was on iphone i could ask you this..
you prefer an iphone because it just works or android that you have to tinker with to get good battery life, fix issues, etc.
yes, its more customization but you think its worth it coming from apple?
idk if i should make my next phone an iphone and done. yes i like to tinker but after a while when the novelty wears off you just want a stable working device with good battery life and reliability.

for example, ..i had to flash the sheit out my s2 till i was happy with its battery life and acceptable stability balanced with the features i want. i see you and other users here tweaking that nexus 5 to earth and back to get good battery life when the 5s does this by default.

well, this might end up in a rant but here goes.
tl;dr: I on the fence and have been for quite some time.

When I had the HOX and up to the point just before i got the N5 i was ready to jump back for that same reason. Sometimes basic functions would be glitchy. But when I got the N5, I experienced android in another light. As rod said, it's far more stable, fluid, etc. Not iOS-like eh, but good enough. What i really enjoy about android is the fact that when i leave/enter my home it automatically does things. The most i may do is turn on wifi. In iOS I'd have to dig through settings to turn off things at will. Also, share cards and file management; the way android handles them; is much better since any app really can fill the share card list and you can access files from a single area.
The reason why i flashed PA was for the customizable tiles and a few other tweaks. One day I may go back stock, may be when 4.4.3 releases and probably flash a Xposed module (GravityBox) because it will have all of the mods i use. Thing is, it's almost like a jailbroken iOS. The more crap you do, the more unstable it becomes. For instance, I'm using test kernels from Franco and off and on i get issues, thankfully it hasn't affected any important calls. If i had an iPhone, although I am limited in what can/cannot be done, it preserves the user experience, everywhere and any time. And yes, I still am missing apps eg. a pharmacy app, and apps are still ugly. I guess because i have some time still, I play around with an android phone. If i didn't have the time, I may not have. Thing is though, when i travel, I carry and use an iPhone and I still on the fence about that for this year.

and devon, don't bother comparing any device wrt sound to HTC. Don't rely on the Nexus for recording either. You'll be in for a huge disappointment.

Haha yeah..btw iOS 7.1 is VERY buggy compared to KitKat..running that currently also so I compare all the time..my main phones are the HTC One, Nexus 5 and iPhone 5...I might do a comparison on YouTube soon comparing the bugs in iOS 7.1 and KitKat

Postby S_2NR » April 6th, 2014, 9:26 pm

What bugs ios7.1 have? First time I hearing that one and my gf has an iPhone

rodfarva

Postby rodfarva » April 6th, 2014, 9:30 pm

X2 .. I was on ios7 for a couple months before going nexus...noticed no real bugs...a couple little glitches but nothing like what I get on android

Postby M_2NR » April 6th, 2014, 9:43 pm

Sorry no bugs here either with 7.1 on a 4S (mind you this has been OTA'd since v6) and I have used countless iPhone 5 and a 5s with it and there were no issues. The 5s even had on all the unnecessary settings like Parallax etc. on 7.0.x and it was still smoother than my Nexus. The only bug I encounter is the screen size.

Swisha

Postby Swisha » April 6th, 2014, 11:05 pm

M_2NR wrote:The only bug I encounter is the screen size.

devon4786

Postby devon4786 » April 7th, 2014, 1:10 am

Swisha wrote:
M_2NR wrote:The only bug I encounter is the screen size.

haha @ screen size bug...Well it's probably my phone only lol..takes a MILLION years to open facebook and start browsing compared to my Nexus 5 which does it instantly, bluetooth pairing issues with headsets/car decks etc, Tethering glitches alot and while I don't have a 5S, alot of people report TouchID glitches out right after the update to 7.1. These bugs were found while communicating with people who watch my channel on YouTube via Twitter/forums/Facebook etc. And I experienced the GIANT FB lag as well as the bluetooth and tethering issues first hand. Its probly just a batch feel like not working properly whereas some work good. But overall you can't really compare iOS vs Android...its not the same category.

devon4786

Postby devon4786 » April 7th, 2014, 1:27 am

check this out fellas...dis is my Nexus 5...and why I use it as my daily driver and my iPhone as secondary..i find it a bit snappier at load times and actual daily use. https://www.facebook.com/photo.php?v=10 ... =3&theater

rodfarva

Postby rodfarva » April 7th, 2014, 10:16 am

The nexus 5 is blazing fast, no doubt about it, but lag isnt a bug.
iOS is rock stable because its a closed platform designed specifically for a very limited combination of hardware - iphones, ipads, ipods.
Android is going to be less stable because its designed to run on just about anything.
goes back to the windows/mac debate.

M_2NR...why not wipe everything and OTG Flash your ROM?

devon4786

Postby devon4786 » April 7th, 2014, 12:42 pm

True..what I love about iOS is their attention to detail and the little features that they include and don't even advertise..like the Clock icon being a live clock on the home screen. I actually did a blog post today about those unknown features..you can check it out here http://t3chsmash1.blogspot.com/2014/04/ ... users.html

sonygoup

Postby sonygoup » April 7th, 2014, 3:11 pm

Jus saw that Google teamed up with PhoneBloks for Project Ara which is basically the same concept of the original phoneblok running android

Posted in: Android, Mobile hardware, Mobile software
More insight on Google’s Project Ara: build your own smartphone

April 4th, 2014, 02:15 by Mustafa 49 comments

Google’s Project Ara is well on it’s way, and big G has revealed some more information about the exciting new build-your-own-smartphone adventure.

We’ve got video released straight from Google below, after the jump. Hit it to see the cool things the Californian search engine overlord has in store.

The video seems a bit like an introductory piece of footage, but we do catch some glimpses of the modular philosophy that is behind Project Ara.

We also are able to catch a glimpse of the three different sizes in the video, Google is planning to release: the medium, phablet, and mini models. Rumor has it that the mini starts as low as $50, so tinkerers in low-income areas might have the ability to try the phone out.

That’s about all the information available on Project Ara for now. If you want to know more about Ara, you’ll just have to wait, but not for long. April 15th will see Google first Ara Developer conference, so there will be more to report then.

The implications of a modular smartphone that users are able to upgrade over time are exciting. Back to our low-income area example: if someone can’t afford to save up for a high-end smartphone, but are able to swap out parts after saving up some money at different intervals, is an intriguing prospect, and may offer people the opportunity to get their hands on higher-quality tech than if they were purchasing a smartphone incapable of easy modification.

devon4786

Postby devon4786 » April 7th, 2014, 3:22 pm

sonygoup wrote:Jus saw that Google teamed up with PhoneBloks for Project Ara which is basically the same concept of the original phoneblok running android

Posted in: Android, Mobile hardware, Mobile software
More insight on Google’s Project Ara: build your own smartphone

April 4th, 2014, 02:15 by Mustafa 49 comments

Google’s Project Ara is well on it’s way, and big G has revealed some more information about the exciting new build-your-own-smartphone adventure.

We’ve got video released straight from Google below, after the jump. Hit it to see the cool things the Californian search engine overlord has in store.

The video seems a bit like an introductory piece of footage, but we do catch some glimpses of the modular philosophy that is behind Project Ara.

We also are able to catch a glimpse of the three different sizes in the video, Google is planning to release: the medium, phablet, and mini models. Rumor has it that the mini starts as low as $50, so tinkerers in low-income areas might have the ability to try the phone out.

That’s about all the information available on Project Ara for now. If you want to know more about Ara, you’ll just have to wait, but not for long. April 15th will see Google first Ara Developer conference, so there will be more to report then.

The implications of a modular smartphone that users are able to upgrade over time are exciting. Back to our low-income area example: if someone can’t afford to save up for a high-end smartphone, but are able to swap out parts after saving up some money at different intervals, is an intriguing prospect, and may offer people the opportunity to get their hands on higher-quality tech than if they were purchasing a smartphone incapable of easy modification.

I know right! this is AWESOME!...I JUST did a blog about this day before yesterday..Can't wait for this to be released to the public!

Postby Trini Hookah » April 7th, 2014, 3:36 pm

Nice, i'll be waiting on my Lego phone :lol:

rodfarva

Postby rodfarva » April 7th, 2014, 5:12 pm

Things may be looking good for the next nexus
http://www.inferse.com/14186/google-htc ... s-nexus-6/

Postby RASC » April 7th, 2014, 7:01 pm

Oh gawddddd no :(
More ultra pixel crap?

sonygoup

Postby sonygoup » April 7th, 2014, 8:00 pm

Nah phonebloks could be major if it gets the proper marketing and backing from other companies

Postby Trini Hookah » April 7th, 2014, 10:43 pm

Software work is secondary and can be updated, they need to fulfil hardware expectations first

rodfarva

Postby rodfarva » April 7th, 2014, 10:57 pm

Granted the htc camera is not up to scratch ...but better build quality and audio quality ... Plus lg's nexus cameras haven't been anything to shout about anyway

devon4786

Postby devon4786 » April 8th, 2014, 12:52 am

Hey everyone..I would really appreciate it if I can get your feedback on this. http://t3chsmash1.blogspot.com/2014/04/ ... -this.html